Proton Satria Neo R3 launched: RM61k-RM64k

Proton has introduced the Satria Neo R3, officially unveiling the hatch at the Proton Centre of Excellence earlier today. The car is essentially a Neo CPS 1.6 given the dress-up bits from the R3 Satria Neo from last year.

The RM80k R3 Satria Neo flaunted a good number of dress-up and go quicker items (read our report on it here), and at the heart of it all was the increase in power output on the 1.6 Campro CPS unit through Stage 2 performance upgrades, to 145 hp at 7,000 rpm and 168 Nm at 5,000 rpm.

There’s no change in the power output of the Satria Neo R3, which is the first R3 model to be built on a production line (incidentally, the hatch is now assembled in Shah Alam); the CPS unit delivers the stock 125 hp at 6,500 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,500 rpm. The suspension has also been left untouched.

What it does get is a R3 Design front splitter and rear spoiler, with titanium-coloured side protector mouldings. It also wears R3 Design six-spoke 16-inch alloys, finished in a gunmetal shade, wrapped with 195/50 profile Continental MC5 rubbers. All-round R3 badging completes the exterior work.

Inside, the edition gets R3 leather upholstery for the seats, as well as R3 floor mats and a double-DIN multimedia player with navigation. No red-themed contrast accents here – the interior is pretty much stock, aside from the upholstery. Safety kit is made up of dual airbags and ABS with EBD.

Unlike the R3 Satria Neo, which came only in a Fire Red exterior shade with a black painted roof, the Satria Neo R3 is available in three colours, these being Tranquility Black, Fire Red and GTi Silver.

The Satria Neo R3 Executive Line MT manual rolls in at RM61,250, with the Executive Line AT version going for RM64,250. Optional R3 upgrades performance upgrades abound, and at promotional prices until the end of the year – there’s a R3 Satria Neo ECU upgrade and full exhaust system (RM2,841), R3 belt and aluminium pulley (RM315) as well as a R3 lowering spring set (RM541).

Styling items include shoulder line and grille stripe decals (RM140), as seen on the launch examples. For bookings and registrations made by December 31, 2012, the signature R3 side stripe and front grille decal will be included free.

There was also a particular Satria Neo R3 example finished in yellow, replete with S2000 side decals to mimic the rally car. As I was told, the colour isn’t on the palette, so you can’t get one yet, but the company is mulling over including it in the shade lineup.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• what is this for?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 17
    • Looks kinda weird and ugly coz R3 mix with CPS ! of coz too expensive 4 this badge…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 28
      • drug dealer . com on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:41 pm

i dont think so it expensive .. this thing bettert than mirage 1.2 cvt ! which one worth us ? this thing also better than fiesta !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 137
        • half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Saya suka design ini sudah lama… Balik kampung senang jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
          • TooDumb! on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:05 am

Thanks for scooping up all the cow dung in the kampung with the low front lip of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
          • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:32 am

mcm recycled ayam goreng. Today goreng, can’t sell…so turn it into ayam goreng kari, still can’t sell…remove kari and goreng it to become ayam goreng berperisa kari…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 16
        • How is this better than Fiesta?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 36
          • unforgiven on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:03 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 253
          • Bongcs on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:37 am

Unforgiven:

Use the word HUMBLE instead of SHY. You’ll surely stumble across young drivers smoke here and there. Generally in a CAR.Ignore them mar.Still young blood. Even i will use my bicycle to smoke cats and dogs in my taman. But based on your comment, I’ll be laughing at my boss because he’s driving a Proton Waja to office on weekdays. and he’s shit shy man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 7
          • You should laugh at your boss actually and yourself too, for working with him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 89
          • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:39 am

u reminded me seeing a guy in KB a few year back driving a newly launched satria R3…alamak muke mcm bawak LP700….jalan mcm bapak dia yg punye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
        • Annihilated on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:46 am

If I’m not mistaken, DRB-HICOM has promised to come up with more details on the company’s plans for Proton by end of November 2012. So far, there is no official words from them. I think announcing a detailed plan for Proton fare better to save the company rather than launching this Satria Neo R3? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Probably it will be, DRB selling Proton to VW Group at 6billion ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • OMG…damn boring with this…come out with new design+engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:33 am

Why is it Proton, it always attract so many comments. Don’t people realise that Proton cars have very bad resale value. Within one year, the car becomes close to half the price. Better to go for Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
      • rather than myvi extreme?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • If really want the cool and good quality hot hatch,Megane rs,Ford Focus or VW scirocco…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 57
      • Edwin on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Please check the price of those 3 cars you mentioned. You know how big difference issit??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 12
      • carlos on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm

why not include aston martin too? or bugatti veyron? definitely faster, cooler and better quality than the three u mentioned! ( and of course, satria neo) !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 12
      • R3 Enthusiasts on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Alo… i… lu ni kurang cerdik lah. Quality Hot Hatch Megane RS, Ford Focus or VW mmg la bagus. harga oso bagus maa…. lu compare kereta xtaw kira harga ka? 60k la compare sama u listed all 200k… aiyoo.. kasi malu la bro

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 8
        • Octavian on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:23 pm

ford fiesta much better than neo…same price same value and much cheaper if NAP doesnt exist..kikiki.. ford focus w/out tax 72k..a lots better than neo..kikiki.. so, anybody would buy proton if no tax applied??kih2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 35
          • king kong on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:55 am

haiyaaa…if there is no tax…this neo will be around 30-35k maaaaa….there will still be a diff of about 30k…30k means 300 disposable income a month oooo….

• alldisc on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:16 pm

megane RS, focus ST/RS, scirocco 2.0, golf GTI all in the hot hatch region.

Satria R3 is only lukewarm. merely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • salgoodguy on Dec 02, 2012 at 9:14 pm

tak der malu lar..satria olso got rm500k value lar..( including plate price)..so who,s magane or rocco? tabik sama lu satria neo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • luqae on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:16 am

why not put in also compare it with ford focus rs500?

• Kenny Yun on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Dont forget Mazda 3 MPS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • ahleng on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

actually i agree with you. those hot hatches are quality made compared to plastic proton. and come on, the price? the tax is already sky high, if not those cars and proton would be in the same price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • MatLimMutu on Dec 03, 2012 at 11:20 am

cool and good quality hot hatch with RM61,000 la brother..

• anak malaya.. on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:51 am

be realistic man…..

• Instead of doing this boring souped up kits with boy-racer image, Proton should do a proper facelift to refresh the aging Satria Neo. At least put a real built-in Daytime Running Light with auto sensor, or a refresh tail-lights. Just take a look at how Mercedes do the facelift on their C-Class or how Honda do the facelift on Accord for US market. I do support Proton if they want to be a proper global player.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 8
      • boring on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:36 pm

proton just a lazy company, one model sell for 10year ,still current model can count in1 5 finger

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 18
    • Vader on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:06 pm

I remember the one of the potong top management said in the press that each potong car model life cycle will be 5 years to keep competency in the market..
      So, this dress-up bits from the R3 Satria Neo so call Satria Neo R3 will considered as new model?
      Alamak.. the legend of Wira continue..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 11
      • peyno on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:27 pm

i think this will be the last variant before the launch the new one..perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • Estimate new Proton 2 door hatchback in early 2015. Do expect Honda DNA in it…eheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • stock lama belum habis jual mah..life cycle kena extended loh…hehehe

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Satria Neo R3 vs R3 Satria Neo ???

I am reading the correct thing or what??

Instead of compete with P2, P1 now kill each other…..keep it up !!! Your demise is nearer….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • _xXx_ on Dec 01, 2012 at 11:42 am

juz to fill up the space…to avoid echoing in the hall. Hehe….

• for driving lorrrr

• KillBox1Alpha on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:37 pm

60k+ for this ? Who are they trying to rip off ? Oh yeah…forgot….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 21
  • doohhh on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:40 pm

must buy this overpriced proton!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 15
  • the driver on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:41 pm

As a citizen of this country, I want to support Proton badly but I just feel that they are beating an old horse. Newer cars are simply better in nearly every aspect. Handling, refinement, NVH, fuel economy, reliability, looks, etc. C’mon Proton, give us a new world beater! Prove to the world and M’sia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 6
    • well said, I completely agree with you. I always wanted to see Proton rise up to international standard.
      Unlike most automobile company, Proton was born from a vision of a politician. To me, this means profit is placed on top of the priority lists, where other auto manufacturer is born from a men vision, where the passion to make cars is what usually drive the company forward, eg: Honda and Chevrolet.
      To me, passion is what drives a car or any company forward, something I think Proton lacks. This are all based from my own assumption so I could be wrong. But Proton, 25+ years, still not much progress. common you represent Malaysia in the automotive world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
      • Other automobile company in their respective country, borne bcoz vision n passion of its people..boleh people had almost none watsoever…all depend on politician/gov….of cause they do for their benefit…how bout u suppose u ask yourself/myself..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • start-a-figt on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:50 am

does not make sense at all.

if a company born from a vision of a business man, yes. Then it is profit all along.
        if it come from a politician, just look at what happen in Korea and China. The different, people there appreciate their own product and care very much on their car. Us?

btw…………..
        if a company born from a vision of a car racer. It will be sold one day because to feed once desire will not suitable for the mass market. without mass market, a company could stumble down. (this what happen to Proton under TM era)

Lotus, Ferrari, Buggati, Porsche, Audi, and so on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • If it comes from a politics, heavy politics comes to play. And that’s not really good for bushiness.
          I heard this from someone the other day. The G wanted Proton to be a “Malaysian” car. So they heavily source parts from around Malaysia after the non-Mitsubishi Protons were introduced [Waja, Gen-2, etc…]. The result is the parts itself is sub-standard and low quality. And because it’s only from Malaysia these ‘suppliers’, without any international competition, tends to put the cost of these parts higher than market price. Weather this is true or not, I’am not sure. But I remember reading somewhere that until the Preve, all Protons come from the same supplier.
          And of course, when politics come to play, you can expect some unfairness in the local market. Politics also limit the international market for Proton. If that country has a bad relation with Malaysian market, even if it’s a big car market, Proton will avoid that market.
          Passion for cars makes better product because it’s a company desire to see their product be successful and loved by people. Why do you think the Koreans makes such good cars recently, because they want to see their product to be loved. And the designers are all trying to make something universally love(I know that, I am studying to be one)
          And the Korean and the Chinese are not born from politics, they are also a product of a businessman’s dreams. That’s why their cars still tries to maximize profit. But the Korean have passionate people in their team, Peter Schreyer and Chung Mong-koo.
          People in China also desire for European marques. But until they have the $, They are force to buy cheap Chinese cars like we buy Proton. Korean and China loved their own product and we don’t…..I don’t think so

• Kelvin on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Proton is born to simply boost up Malaysian GDP. GDP, GDP, GDP.

• When it comes to politics….. most malaysians have so much to talk about. Till morning also can… even in car blogs and forums.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • well that visionary politician drives a porsche instead, that really says it all.

• carlos on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Well, they are under going restructuring and and a new roadmap under DRB. I think they are more “private” now than ever before. Government is slowly disposing their interest and i think they may be heading in the right direction. Their tie up with honda is refreshing, knowing honda is not well known for collaboration – can only think of rover and McLaren! So to get honda to ink something with proton is enough to raise eyebrows. Lets see what they were up to by March next year. And I do believe malaysians do have talent and the skill. We just have to push them.

• I am not sure about that. Correct me if I’am wrong but DRB Hicom is abit of G influence. And I’am not very optimistic with the JV yet. I know Honda does well on collaboration, but we have’t heard nothing from the Japanese side yet on the collaboration.

• Another “right direction”. Always hear on radio and TV. Yea, we are heading the right direction….sooo syok sendiri.

• Also, what do we expect from their “tie up” with Honda apart from rebadging City?

• what’s with the yellow color one? eye catchy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • The silver reminds me off the original Satria GTI, arguably the best Proton produced

• carazy on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Pls Proton dont meke me confuse. R3 Satria Neo vs Satria Neo R3. What next, Neo Satria R3 perhaps??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 1
    • scenester on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:15 pm

…and Satria R3 Neo…and R3 Neo Satria…and Neo R3 Satria…so about 4 more models are coming… :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • scratching head on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Upcoming models: Satria R3 Neo & Neo R3 Satria and yes..Neo Satria R3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 02, 2012 at 10:30 pm

wokay, i tot i read it wrongly…..

Dumb and dumber…..

DRB and P1…..

• Xefron on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:47 pm

BORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 16
  • Severe Tyre Damage on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Looks good but poor pricing strategy, buyers will be tempted go for the RM65k Suzuki Swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
  • slimershine on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:52 pm

What is the different between R3 S.Neo and S.Neo R3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Proton?? on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:13 pm

slimershine, “the smarter ones go for either one”..
      phui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • CHEH, I thought it has supercharged but no.
    Dissapointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • MatLimMutu on Nov 29, 2012 at 5:54 pm

proton ohh proton, this is an old model. rm60k for this i think is it too expensive. i’ve been supporting you all these many years, WORK HARDER & SMARTER LAAA PROTON!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Is it worth to buy this 3 doors car amount RM60k? Better buy Preve laa. Got many features maa than this. Haihh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
  • 64k? Lol bro i rather get a nissan almera. 0-100 may be slower in 1-2 seconds, but the rest of the pros beat this car.. or with 64k i can get a second hand 1 year honda city wohoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
    • Grow up alex ah beng ah chai!!!
      WAHAHA u think city is a good car?? Second hand city is a good car?u r a honda die hard fan. You dont hv to love proton and you dont hv to love honda too.

• YeapyEvo on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Where is the supercharged Satria Neo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Gideon on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Too expensive! How come Proton do not produce on road Satria Neo S2000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • carazy on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:08 pm

shame move by proton, its like BMW names their car ‘M’ but the only changes is just bodykit and some leather interior!!! shame on you proton, used R3 division for the rubbish product… bad new management..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
    • stonebridges on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:05 am

this one 100% agree..!! come on la R3 you wont lose anything if you do better than this..

• tiadaid on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:05 pm

3 words – Vios TRD Sportivo. If you think this is a dissapointment then that car is an absolute disaster!

• Super White on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

I think you’re referring to BMW’s Msport trim. Even so, is has extra body kits, different suspensions, rims and interior.

And M car is a whole different kind of beast.

• mystvearn on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:09 pm

I like the idea of giving the normal satria a R3 facelift. Looks great. I only worry that the R3 branding will tarnish slightly as it is misused on a car which does not have any R3 performance parts on it. Then again, since the 2011 R3 is no more around, maybe the next SNR3 will be even better? I’m kind of exited to see what the proper R3 enhanced Neo will be.

Maybe they should rename it to Satria Neo Sports with R3 rather than put SNR3 which is misleading. People now have two choices: buy this new SNR3 or go for a used proper SNR3 2011 edition for slightly more money. Though you can feel slightly sorry for those people who spend RM80k for their 2011 SNR3 and now Proton decides to come out with a model that looks exactly like it.

Proton has a history of upgrading the Satria to look more garang. At the end of the old Satria’s life, there was an option to purchase the Satria GTi’s body on top of a normal Satria. That time we could see all kinds of Satria GTi body colours. This is the same here as well. If the same model is followed, I see that this current Satria Neo iteration will last until 2014/5 with a new model out probably by 2016. A hiatus in production will commenced in 2015. This is spot on with a 10-year development cycle for a 2-door low volume hatchback from Proton.

We all like to comment that Satria is not given proper TLC, problem is not a lot of people buying this car for Proton to seriously look at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • pelams on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:10 pm

back seat is too small.. m not going to buy this 3 door for rm80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Chris on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Oh no…. P1 have gone to P2 Myvi/Viva marketing gimmick….So whats next? Proton R3 economy? R3 racer wannabe? Makes me wonder who hire the sales and marketing guys to come up with this shitty marketing. This really giving R3 brand a bad name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • confused on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:42 am

P2 got so many varian Lagi Best Lagi Power Lagi Hebat Lagi Wahtsoever can sell maa..

But this P1. Itu ini versyun no one buy also.. Sigh P1..

• Hang tuah on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:12 pm

How many year this model in proton? Who want to buy give ‘like’ otherwise ‘dislike’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
  • CyberRanger on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Really don’t feel like a new model launching as it looks exactly like the current one. Proton…proton…when are you going to be mature and creative in designing?

• Johnny on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Looks like one last “push” before they officially phase out this car.

• lalalalala on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

hmmm….. honestly speaking the different between the r3 neo and the neo r3 is the performance different…
    SO in conclusion… this is a r3 without the “r3” performance…sooo it is a car for show only and no action compare with the r3 neo. supercharged sound nice for now and also show off to your kawan but after owning a supercharged and only 15 per 100km-20per 100km…end of the day u will end up crying all the way to the petrol station

• istof on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:26 pm

gune penyodok salji macam myvi extreme jugak ka?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Old engine with this price? C’mon larrr. Just like pussies do some make up. At least put a supercharged/turbocharged engine, and RAKYAT would be delighted to that. Then we will see more Neos running on PLUS highway smoking others. xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Just who exactly will be the target market for this car?

• nazri on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:46 pm

i need to read many times this article because proton differentiate satria neo r3 & r3 satria neo, for me this car only comestic change,why they don’t put CFE in this car? i miss DSZ era…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • 4g63tdsm on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:50 pm

So let me get this correct.

Proton wants an additional 3k over the CPS for the r3 badge, wheels and some carpets?

Who is the looser that will get suckered into getting this. the CPS is already way too expensive for what it is.

And as long we are on the subject of proton, why is isofix points not available other than on the top line preve CFE model? It’s not like its expensive to include.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Mondo on Nov 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Keta aku seat label airbag. Keta ni label dia R3 Design. Baguih lagi kot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Sirim on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Thanks for selling a 10 year old car as new in 2012 for 65k. And thanks for trying to always rip off the hard working rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
  • kev413 on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Thumbs up for the decades old satria

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • skiborne on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:24 pm

tak nak Proton. had enough with their issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • JeremyNg on Nov 29, 2012 at 7:51 pm

why introduce this ??!! while you can buy all those parts from R3 ??!! Not really sure what they trying to do ……….

• This is totally rubbish…. What is this left over compenets that need to clear because is been sitting in warehouse store toooo long……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • samuel on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Oh No

• and i thought proton has already determined to be reborn after launching Preve? what the hell is this????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Very expensive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Such a disappointment.

This will sell like hotcakes if they put CFE engine inside.

CPS – bosan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:42 pm

2 words for Proton…

1st word is DISSAPOINTED
    2nd word is OVERPRICED

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • kingkong on Nov 29, 2012 at 8:44 pm

interior so so ugly….. jurutera proton sangat malas…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Proton…proton. U will forever maintain an incompetent company. Gave u a chance when preve was launching. No more.. Bye bye..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:00 pm

My BLM 1.6 ‘Taxi’ Version is waaayyy more powerful than this…. Cheaper summore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • mayonis on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:01 pm

hahahah…see…i already said it. just special edition accessories that boost up RM4k extra. can we call it satria Neo CPS enchanted? :)

• daniel on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm

Sorry, my money goes to mivi lagi best 1.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
  • Exproton on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Total ripoff, old model revamp is not what we need. Some changes in the engine and looks. This is like wanna be riced R3. Pity the original neo r3 owners. Whats the point having a car with looks and without the power? Better buy something else more worth. Original price for H line satria neo after discount was 49k which was worth it. This? after 2006 not much changes rather than the cps engine and minor here and there.

• i think if Syed Zainal still CEO..he will never put old makeup horse in the market…somehow i feel proton will be in the dark ages again…Another fails idea from Dr Mahathir…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Lemonguy on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Really have to hire new consultant…..

• A

• Retard on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:18 pm

ayo…2 door car not practical laa..
    some more kuat makan petrol laa.
    better buy almera. people now look
    for fuel economy,hi tec, affordable car laa..
    somemore tis 2 door still use rubber belt timing
    no need to think first b4 u people buy tis car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Aiyoo. Why no proton chrome badge on the steering? Even Perodua have..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Wayangkulit on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:25 pm

If it fail to sell, it will be another good basis to ask for more protectionism policy from the government.

Still fail after that, ask for more money from the government to increase its competency and more money to give to their local supplier to increase their perceived quality and value.

Still fail get some foreign car company to give them money to collaborate, give them some models to rebadge to increase profit.

Rinse and repeat for another 20 years or so and keep giving excuses that other countries had a head start advantage.

• Tortoise on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:42 pm

More excitement watching water dry up.

• MoganRaj on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:50 pm

I was expecting CFE engine in this new model but no. Such a disappointment =.=

• No objective and theme, no focus. The interior is like Saga. Intention to resurrect the legendary Satria GTi? Not even close. Can you see a hot hatch or a hot-what?

• kindaboring on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:10 pm

nothing new to shout about. proton is best for it’s rebadge, rename, redesign, recycle, reuse re bla bla bla etc. nothing is PURE in proton. I would like to suggest proton’s next re bla bla model to be named ‘PROTON BODO’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • kindaboring on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:14 pm

this is a totally authentic accessories shop make-over..

• nicovo on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:35 pm

total BS from proton…overpriced…61k for body kits?? come on..this is a rip off..wth??

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Nov 29, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Why i cannot see an world Proton here… Red colour front look let me think of Harimau wonder the real one still Alive… Long time no see from public.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Another junk clearance sales on the way ………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • intermilan on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:16 pm

I am struggling to come up with comments on this one.
    In one word, awful.

One thing that i’ve noticed is that supporting comment is almost non-existence. So far, the chains of negative comments is almost unbreakable, one after another.

That is the only clue that matters on what people think about this car.

Will proton management take note on the feedback posted here as the true/acceptable/reliable gauge of public opinion to this car? I wonder…..

In my opinion, this version of neo is destined to the history rubbish bin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • francis on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:16 am

This is a very confusing model of Satria Neo..

1. Proton Satria Neo R3(2008) – 135HP @ RM71K but Limit to 50 models only.

2. Proton Satria Neo CPS(2009) – 125HP @ RM RM57K

3. Proton Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing (2010)- 145HP @ RM115K

4. Proton Satria Neo CPS R3 (2011) – 125HP @ RM79K

5. Proton Satria Neo R3 (2012)- 125HP @ RM61K

If any of these Satria still available in Proton.. how would you describe which model to the sales man? HAHAHAHA…

IMO, just get the normal Satria CPS will just fine.. this 2012 version just all cosmetic gimmick..
      If you are loaded, you can opt for the Lotus version but I wont spend tat kind of money on Proton, I rather spend on pre-owned DC5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • carazy on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:35 am

i suppose no 4. Proton Satria Neo CPS R3 (2011) – 145HP @ RM79K not 125

• No. 4. Proton R3 Satria Neo (2011) – 145HP @ RM79K

• WhiteGoat on Dec 05, 2012 at 4:28 pm

something wrong there…. it should be

*4. Proton Satria Neo CPS R3 (2011) – 145HP@RM7k RPM

= RM79K

• farisma on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:31 pm

very ancient car that should be archive log time ago lah..2 doors somemore..

• junaidi on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:36 am

tell that to Porsche with their 911.

• intermilan on Nov 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Hello,

All that 911s are punctuated by the different generation of 911s. Then in 1 generation, have many version.

How many different generation of Satria Neo we have?

Answer: None. There is one gen of Satria Neo. A proper facelift version pun takda. If ada then its totally forgetable as i cant remember that there are FL satria neo.

• Mediocre on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Proton Centre of Excellence ..? which one?

• Kent Lim on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Speechless! Why do Proton even bother coming up with this variant? Dressed up like R3, yet, kosong inside. At first I thot we gonna have a stripdown 145hp R3 Satria Neo, for e.g, no leather seats, lesser accessories etc and the price is $15k cheaper from the real thing of $79k. So, now we have a Satria Neo R3 and a R3 Satria Neo (the real thing) on offer, confusing? Is it because the production line not fully used up so idle time is used to assemble this? Damn!

• Kelvin on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:14 pm

They are trying the Apple strategy, The New IPad, The New Ipad with retina, The New Ipad Ipad.

• carlover on Nov 29, 2012 at 11:59 pm

honestly, how will proton ever improve?

stop wasting money on all the exterior craps. trying too hard to look sporty and…..well….it doesn’t look good anyway…

spend more money on R&D and give malaysians some decent cars at decent price la.

• junaidi on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:38 am

they already have all the parts,
      so what wasting money are you talking about?
      not like anything is bespoke in there.

• kobealex on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:13 am

It’s just stock clearance from both Proton and R3!!! I just wished Proton didn’t do this, it kind kills the exclusive looks of the 2011 Neo R3!!!

• To proton, dont waste our time..
    To rakyat, dont waste your money on this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • The satria just like suzuki swift have gone through timeless uplift and i feel Proton shud end the satria with this one. Time for another look. For an average earner like myself, a satria for 60k or 80k seems not worth the money spent. I wud settle for Mazda2 or Honda city, however, the price tag seems justifiable since satria is a name known for winning rally races globally.

Back 10 years ago there were rumors that Proton being terrible in marketing management produces it’s cars in mass production surpassing real demand. Finding ways to cover it’s storage costs, Proton decided to sell those over produced cars by coupling wit uplift and upgrades. If it’s true then this might be another strategy by Proton to get rid of satria, just like they did to iswara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • But still it cant beat Vios ‘TRD’ Sportivo!
    but ppl loves it… i wonder why… because its Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Proton fanboys…any comment?..no one come in to defend this model ka? Hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • At least a cfe engine with manual trans, then b interesting..proton still stuck in the 90s mindset..need to see some technicals..

• niceone on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:45 am

have to say that i’m disappointed with this so-called new satria neo. after so many neo prototypes with turbocharge / supercharge installed, and this is the outcome? stock cps engine??

hate to say this but this is a failed marketing strategy, and more seriously, a failed campro engine that probably can’t even pass the reliability test to handle the extra output and forced induction.

and Proton should be ashamed to even try to resurrect satria gti with the shitty engine they have at hand.

• Head hunter on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:50 am

I don’t know guys, I really love the Neo when it came out. I was hoping for something very adventurous by Proton. Maybe a final send off for the car in the form of a DTM-esque guise. Lowered stance, oversize fenders, independent suspensions with pushrod activated torsion springs and a turbo 2.0 v6 from an old perdana. Rear wheel drive and perhaps a sequential getrag gearbox. That would be awesome!! Tengku Djan Ley, if you’re reading this, please make it happen, at least as a concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Proud Prevé CFE owner would say: we don’t need to have what it looks like, we have the feel more like, or better.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:38 am

One thing that can be benefited for this R3 wannabe launch is old model owners such as Persona or Gen 2 can install that double-DIN multimedia player with navigation into their car.

• Miey Ahmad on Nov 30, 2012 at 2:12 am

Hmm….my comment here..
    If I count it properly, this model actually cost more than 64k.. Neo CPS cost around 57k. Change wheels with R3 wheels will add around 3-4k. Front splitter cost around 600. Badges, roughly 200 all around. Stickers probably 200. Aftermarket Double DIN maybe around 400-500.. Now calculate all.
    57k + (3-4k) + 600 + 200 + 200 + (400-500) = 61.4k-62.5k…
    Now, do you see what I mean?
    Do you expect Proton to put a somewhat 9k plus supercharger in this model with a price tag of 64k? Surely NO. They’ll going down much faster…
    Calculate all R3 items into Neo CPS and the result will be a R3 Satria Neo..80k price tag..

Well, it depends on individual too. I love my CPS and i’ve played a lot with Honda, Suzuki and they(the Honda and Suzuki owner) salute my CPS as they hardly to overtake my CPS.. I am proud with my Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 25
    • momocultus on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:32 am

after market double din 400-500 hahahahah bro on a serious note i will pay you additional 500 that mean 1 k for that kinda double din player i want to order 1000 unit..

• Miey Ahmad on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:59 am

Maybe around 400 – 500 because I dont really know the exact price of double DIN unit.. :-)

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:04 am

You need to look again at how you calculate.

You are looking at retail price, not cost.

The wheels cost way less and they save cost not having to include the originals.

Don’t forget the original CPS was way overpriced already. There should be no reason why would this car cost more than the equivalent Preve?

• Miey Ahmad on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:07 am

Thank you for the info friend. I’m not really good in business accounting so they you are.. You’ve mentioned it. Minus 20 – 35% for profit will definitely shows what is the cost.. Maybe, just what I thought in my mind..

• v-power on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:52 am

I imagine your Neo CPS is loaded with go-faster bits when you say Honda and Suzuki can’t beat your ride…? Well, which models are they (Suzuki Swift Sport, Honda Civic EK9 or maybe your everyday Honda City, Suzuki SX4)…since CPS only produce 125 bhp…Not hating…but please give more details rather than just vague statements…

• Miey Ahmad on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:14 am

Thanks for the reply bro. Well, hard to overtake but not can’t overtake at all.. Emm… Civic EK9, Swift Sport, EG6, i-Vtec 2.0, turbocharged old satria, turbocharged proton waja…

• where is the CFE? where??

• where is the CFE? where?? simpan dalam gudang ke?

• Pointblank on Nov 30, 2012 at 5:18 am

Are u serious? No side mirror signal light?

• stupid r&d on Nov 30, 2012 at 7:27 am

Haiyaa..global car company., can’t produce new replacement model.. Still selling 10+ years model..hahaha

• zainal abidin on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:04 am

Guys….the word is ‘TURBOCHARGED’ not ‘SUPERCHARGED’. CFE is turbocharged. Expect the CFE in the Satria Neo very soon before it’s replaced by a new model.

• beatnik on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:05 am

Launched? this is more like r3-launched.. I bet those young die hard supporters will love this car over and over again.

• farisma on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:24 am

They should put, jualan gudang, jualan penghabisan stok, year end clearing stock, lelong barang lama at the bunting in front of the center of excellence to get rid off this car …

• momocultus on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:28 am

Copycat Suzuki Swift GX – Limited Edition, Pricing also same.

• hafizrahim on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:29 am

boringggg…same old car..next model please

• kivatt0024 on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:43 am

epic fail….at least put CFE inside la…

• bro_Ne0 on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:48 am

millions of RnD grant given by MITI and finally proton came up with Brother’s shop cosmetic enhancement?? hmmm…that seems legit

• Pumpkins on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:49 am

Compare it to Kia 3 door ProCeed

Macam langit dan bumi

• Joe Radzif on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:54 am

Satria Neo AWD please…

• interesting on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:15 am

Alamak….still with the UGLY Steering Wheel cameo flush with leather wrap….come on, this is the most feel part of the car, make it look nicer and more up market. Also it blocks the instrumental panels or speedometer view all the time.

• Mat kencang on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:19 am

I think its a clearing out exercise by drb. to get rid of old neo stocks, to pave way for a new model. the best way to do that is by putting otherwise expensive add ons and sell the car at a cheaper price.

• Why pretend to look fast when the engine (125HP/150NM)is so underpowered??

It looks like it can take on the Golf GTI but in fact i doubt whether it can even take on the Polo Sedan!

This is an example of : “Bunyi macam ribut, lari macam siput”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • superman on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:31 am

this car needed the CFE engine with CVT 7 speed paddle shifters or 6 speed manual gearbox. then it will be a good choice. I blame proton bosses on this. they still believe is making fast money but when the cars piled up then they blame their engineers. what DRB is doing?

• me too. agree with you miey ahmad. i played with those brands (city, civic and swift) a few times and i have had no problems to beat them (or maybe they were only “giving me face”…)

• Malcolm on Nov 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm

They just give chance lorh… Neo supposedly to be sport car but the performance is dismal

• Abuya on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:35 am

This car is specially built for car enthusiast who love performance, race but tight with the budget. This is target market and of course there is number is very little.

Those who said potong, who love fuel saver, who love quality such like lexus, who ask why proton not built new and better car (trust me, no matter best proton built, they wont buy), japs wannabe, this car is absolutely not for you.

• kangkangku on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:55 am

kudos the house keeping team, i can see the reflections on the floor even in dark areas.

• GreenWave on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:00 am

Spotted start button area on the dashboard not the button is not there!

• wondering they have selling the front seat separately or not…

• 4g9xsince2000 on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

I thought I will saw NEO with turbo or supercharge….. but it’s just neo with over charge (rm61k???)……

nonsense, even wira single cam 1.6 much faster then this….. pomen ‘bawah pokok’ also can make car faster ….. if going to sell something, sell thing that people could n want to buy…..

do they calculate and think b4 make decision, how many citizen will buy 2doors compare sedan car….

think ‘WISE’ and ‘TWICE’ proton….. u have a bad reputation all this time, why make a same mistakes..

• 4g9xsince2000 on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:41 am

it’s funny when ‘Miey Ahmad’ said he play with honda and suzuki…. which model is it? u play with auntie or what…… how u decribe u r play with them, 140km/h and 160km/h that what u call play?…. Honda fan will laugh at u ha ha ha……

even now i also still laughing :}……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Miey Ahmad on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:45 am

Nope.. It’s not 140kmh or 160kmh.. Its above 190kmh and reach 210kmh… Believe it or not.. Up to you..

• shawal on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:46 am

I hope proton would not rebadge honda cars
    rather under their tutelage , improves the interior plastics, and fit and finishes , quality tactile feel to the buttons and knobs

• albag on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:49 am

looks like a good car… too bad it’s a proton…

• Edvice on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:56 am

Car makers make facelifts, full model change and what not for many reasons..and one of them is to make other makers’ models look old in the market!! I hope proton realize that..

• shiftSpank on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:25 am

I’m not quite getting it. Wasn’t this already being exhibited at Proton’s CoE a year or more ago? I remember even taking the Neo R3 leaflet home. What gives? The only difference I can see is the black decal stripes flanking the red color model. Not sure if the yellow and grey cars were at CoE at the time. A case of DRB picking up the pieces?

P/s: Neo’s have notoriously poor steering column adjustment. Thighs are constantly hitting the wheel.

• mayonis on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:28 am

im suggest that proton R3 division should come this spec which almost similar to s2000.

1. campro CPS engine with r3 stage 2 and supercharger which will boost up 180hp-200hp/240Nm.
    2. drive train: 4wd.

when people said mitsubishi or subaru, definitely evo and impreza will come in their mind – small engine with beast attitude. people know these car come from the rally (WRC)track, and the company replicate it for road use. and it been a boom factor of these company brand.

they don’t simply enter WRC just for own fun but it part of marketing strategy to introduce their super machine.

neo in the process to be like these (neo s2000). but if proton don’t want to replicate it for road version, than it waste of money to enter WRC or F1.
    and what is the objective of race, rally, research (R3)?

price is not the issue here, we know that our country tax structure is very expensive. proton may start sell it as a global product. and i believe country with bigger currency and small tax will have no problem to get potential buyer.

• Nick.C on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:03 pm

I think their problem is reliability. Racing engines may be abused and taken to the extreme, but they only need to last the duration of the race. Maybe a week at most. Production cars on the other hand need to be much more reliable, otherwise the engine may suffer unrecoverable failure even before you pay off the 9 year loan you took to buy it.

Proton has demonstrated they can build a reliable forced induction engine, and they can also build a high performance forced induction engine. But they must be shitting bricks trying to do both reliable and high performance in one engine.

• mayonis on Dec 05, 2012 at 10:29 am

yup, all they need to do is to re engineering back campro engine for high performance.

• Neyoo on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:40 am

1. Shame on you, NEW MANAGEMENT. You just tainted what’s left of good faith we had in Proton, R3!!

2. r u really that ignorant?? We can live with redundant design, but we want a new power to match its rally heritage, s2000. at least give us your new CFE. Although what we all waiting for are these : TURBO charge & SUPER Charge!!!!

3. What’s the point of spending large sum of money in rally if ur not gonna use it on ur product?? all these while, R&D etc..at the end, all you came up was RECOLOR the car – yellow, ant that’s it.

4. and now, being global as u though, New Proton using R3 such as Toyota-TRD..using their good name to sell more car without upgrading anything but eye candy!! This gotta be “Symptom of Ah Bengish” disease.

5. Proton need to know that, it is good to see lots of Ah Beng shops selling fake R3 product, which mean those real R3 products r good, quality, trustworthy & rare. But when you yourself sell it on your on just like them do, R3 no longer niche brand. just another auto cosmetic company.

6. R3 brand-name should only come in a full bundle/package on you production car, period..and let the rest of us buy it one by one until we’re complete. only then you make us want it more and more..

7. R3 should stay true to its name RACE, RALLY & RESEARCH..not REDUNDANT, RIP OFF & ROAST

p/s : this batch should be call as Satra Neo CPS SE .. and since this is indeed reproduction car, you should stay on 57k – 60k price!! i dont know who is your think-tank, but somehow Malaysia approve em’ as not that bright & clever.

• Fredo on Nov 30, 2012 at 4:27 pm

obviously this car was not intended for you bro.
      i understand your frustration but this is just not for you. I too wish that they have something like the 4g92 mivec swapped old satria make new from their production line and priced at reasonably below 60k. but trust me, statistic shows that there are too little people like us (which will buy such product) to justify their business case.
      if only they get approval to produce satria neo with the likes of B16A under the hood…i dun care about emission …hahaha

• Neyoo on Nov 30, 2012 at 8:39 pm

bro..

I don’t think people like Kimi, Alonnso or even Karamjit care that much about emission as well. haha

2 doors hatchback itself already in a niche market, so why not make it the best in it class. If Proton can make fully equip. car such as Preve with that price tag. sure they can make it with these one as well.

beside, frankly speaking without Satria Neo Proton might still haunted by windows problem etc. the world know Proton coz of these little car. give it credit where its due. it is time u pampered it with proper heart!!!

I still drove my Neo, i can afford to buy Golf GTi but wait in case Satria Neo R3 with real TURBO @ SUPERCHARGER boost in it. Im pretty sure, with the chassis it had, this gonna be the best 2 doors 1.6 hatchback in the world!!

Dear Proton,

Cant you see how many Golf GTi & Megane on Malaysian road these days. There r demands for Powerful 2 doors hatch in a market. cakap nak global, apsal takut?? stupid Proton. i lost faith in u. fool me, i shouldnt wait in a 1st place lagi.

• nothing much to talk about.
    it just a same old-new car…

• rabbit on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:59 am

Ak ade cps
    suke handling dan reaksi neo bila hi speed.
    x suke enjin die je, jd ak tuka enjin
    187 whp 287 nm..puas ati aku..
    Hehe…
    Sape nak beli neo..ak syorkan baik beli preve la..ade CFE

• quest on Dec 02, 2012 at 9:47 am

Tahu…tapi aku taknak preve, aku nak neo yang ada CFE, bole tak?

• ben yap on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm

This Satria Neo shouldn’t be called as R3. it’s performance is the same as the stock Neo. It should be called “Satria Neo with R3 dress up” or “Satria Neo R3 wannabe”.

Calling a stock as a R3 is like sticking a mitsubishi badge on a Proton Wira. Just my 2 cents.

• alldisc on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:41 pm

yeah, its like Toyota TRD Sportivo. Sportivo means it has streetwear, not increased power nor improved handling..

• mentari-o-korea on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Too old, too small, too many hard plastic, too expensive, too less respect !!!

• Bongcs on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:21 pm

and Amoi,

I don laugh at my boss, i dont care what Fkin car he drives, as long he gives me the money.

• Then why mention it here in the first place? Don’t start fire when you can’t take the heat.

• Bongcs on Dec 01, 2012 at 10:45 am

Seriously,

You are very right. brother.
        true enough. Respect and salute you.
        You Win.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Mind boggling! over 160 comments for this piece of junks!

Anyway, most of them have negative perception for this junk!

• I remembered proon stop Satria Neo production last year to move assembly to be fit in Shah Alam, thanks to proton for the new Satria Neo, at least its not look ahbeng, the colours in Silver GTi is tempting, but where is the supercharge variant? Where is bucket seat? Where is 6 speed manual gearbox? Where is 205/50/R15 wheels? Where is your lotus ride and handling? Where is the passion for fun drive?

Its a big frustration, lack of innovation, and real disappointment. Proton please bring new line up model of two doors hot hatch!!!

• vee-oh on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm

terrible dashboard design and quality

• macroman on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm

they just love making owners of better version cringe. First they did it to mitsu-lancer with re-badge proton. NOW with satria new on R3. They have an uncanny ability to sell-down a brand, a make. Even it’s own. FANTISTICAL!

• budlee on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:30 pm

I know its not everyone’s cup of tea, but those who liked, will not give a f%$@..

What sigh of relief, I thought they were going to stop the production of this niche car

• gOOsh on Nov 30, 2012 at 4:02 pm

nice… but lack of power in powertrain dept…

• Fredo on Nov 30, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Guys, i think most of you have spent too much to something that wasnt intended for you, obviously.
    There were some (very small) demand for this satria neo which get frustrated when proton decided to stop its production last time there was pressure to have something to commemorate proton’s victorious run in an APRC last year. therefore, the management decided to resume this satria neo production. the supercharger variant was in the plan too but untill today the project team have found it difficult to justify the development cost (especially crash test to meet safety regulation). same thing with the idea of plonking in CFE engine in it. major modification is required to pass the crash test. Mind you, swapping engine outside does not need cras-test certification….just lulus puspakom inspection enough.

• Why Proton likes to use funny looking AV player? Looks so outdated.

• Retard on Nov 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm

the right placefor this car is to be at arkib negara….heh he he.

• is this the best that DRB can offer..bull

• unknown on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Bodoh la org2 yg ats ni..x bngge lngsg dgn kete nasional..nk kutuk je kje.bt kete sndri la.nk compare dgn kete mhal.bodoh.kalo duit bnyk sgt beli je la kete mhal2.bt pe nk tgk kete proton.bodoh btul.kalo rse kete proton ni mahal sgt bli je kete kancil.murah.abih cter.ckp pndai.padahal mamat yg bsing2 komen ni smua poket kering.pki kete proton jgk.ckp je lbih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • elektron on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:42 am

Yg pakai kete Proton pun sbb dah takde pilihan sbb kerajaan naikkan gila2 harga kereta asing yg jauh lebih berkualiti dan menarik sbb takut kete Proton tak laku. Kira mcm rakyat ‘dipaksa’ pilih Proton walaupun itu bukan pilihan pertama diorang. Aku lg bangga dgn Perodua, bagi aku Perodua lg kualiti dr Proton (harga pun lebih murah atau sama). Kancil pun lagi eloklah walaupun enjin dia tak power. Kete Honda yg dh umur 20 tahun yg aku beli 2nd hand (RM20k), power window dan sunroof dia masih berfungsi dgn baik (siap ada fungsi auto flip mirror original yg masih tak rosak). Power window model BARU Proton boleh bagi jaminan selama tu ke? Dan ramai kengkawan yg guna kete Proton kecewa sesangat dgn after sales service dia, spare part mahal, servis tak memuaskan, overcharge dan mcm2 lg masalah. Ramai hantar kt workshop luar yg jauh lebih professional dan adil walaupun workshop diorang kecik dan tak gah mcm Proton Service Centre. Jadi, nak patriotik sgt dgn kete nasional (aka Proton) pun, fikirlah dulu sblm komen, mesti ada sbb kenapa ramai org kritik sbb ramai tak puas hati(banyak lg sbb tp malas nk tulis sbb terlampau panjang)…dan jangan senang2 panggil orang lain bodoh, apa awak sorang je ke yang dikurniakan akal dalam dunia ni? Jadi, kalau Professor yg bagi komen kt atas ni, Professor tu pun bodoh la ye? Look before you leap, think before you act…FIKIRLAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Great on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:14 am

Komen bangang…

• R3 lol on Nov 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm

this shouldnt be a joke if they come out with a new design/facelift.

• Kaninabei on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Tengku Jan, u have the same brain as your father. Nothing else but a small piece of shit

• Piston Pecah on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:43 am

kalau harga macam nie, rasa cari kereta lain kot… import.

• NextGenNeo on Dec 01, 2012 at 3:21 am

I would love to see this facelift fitted with more features. Proton should make this facelift fitted with ESP, Campro CFE Engine, CVT Transmission, 7-speed ProTronic Transmission, auto head lights, auto wiper, push start engine button, warning seat belt buzz, auto climatic air-cond, Side mirror with signal lights, and many more. It would be nice if all those features in Preve also fitted to this Neo. Proton also need to switch those windows button from the center to near the door handle. A center console compartment with arm rest would be nice too. I’m sure if Neo got all those features, this car would be same on par with Volkswagen Golf GTi. Hope the next generation of Satria Neo will have those kind of feature in the future. Go Proton!

• unnon on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:20 am

what’s with the plasticy interior?? huhu.. not worth the price.. proton need to make sure they’re using good material for the price. dashboard, sucks.

• nighttrain on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:54 am

The time will come when Neo comes with full spec Gti, just like other Gti makes. If people can buy Polo Gti, of course there’s a market for Neo Gti. Even a full fledged AWD twin turbo road legal 250hp 200Nm rally spec version is in the pipeline. If people buy Evo, then they will buy this also..

• Nick.C on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Proton was born to fail. To understand why, lets look at the birth of the world top car makers.

World #1 Toyota: Founded by Kiichiro Toyoda, the son of a loom maker who saw a future in cars as a way to expand upon the family company’s knowledge in production line assembly of machinery.

World #2 General Motors: Founded by Billy Durant, a businessman who in a era when cars were viewed as explosive death traps, saw an opportunity to build a successful company by greatly improving the safety of cars and gaining public trust.

World #3 The Volkswagen Group: The result of the project to build what would become the Volkswagen Beetle, the most popular car in the world, whose original design is still built to this day, and a shining example of German engineering.

As you go down the list, you will realise that the top car makers in the world, Nissan, Honda, Ford, BMW etc were all founded by people whose goal and entire life’s devotion was simply to create the better car.

At #46 on the list we have Proton, founded by a politician who knew nothing about cars, as a tool to redistribute wealth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Great on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:17 am

Nice…

• Those big players are oldies compared to proton. Please compare apple to apple. Where was hyundai at proton’s age?

• Kenny Yun on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:32 am

Todays car manufacturing is not hard as 70 years ago.Are you trying to say Proton will becoming a big player in automotive industry in 2080?

• mayonis on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:33 am

yes we know that those company are older than proton, by the time they start build up their own car/brand, which may start by 60’an, 70an, the technology of that time is equal 60’an or 70’an. when proton start in the 80’an. we take 70’an technology which is ok ( just left few years behind but for start up is ok). but currently it already 2012 and proton is already almost 30 years.

what i mean is, no matter when you start your business, you have to follow the technology updates or business trend. or you create new trends.

• sambalbabi on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:29 pm

And i thought they’ve increased the cc to 1.8 – then that would justify the price.

• bla bla bla... on Dec 01, 2012 at 1:47 pm

honestly the car is nice from out side only…….
    I want to ask proton, do u want to sell this car globally? If yes, is this the car can hit the market for compact car or hot hatch car …..

ask again why make this car? I can only see handling by lotus only, others than that nothing…

performance – nothing
    interior – plastic things only
    price rm61k – is it worth it…

and ask again to proton engineer, manager, management, director and who ever r u willing to buy this car with that price …….

I did not hate proton, but i hate the decision make by PROTON …..

R3 is a package thing… citizen understand the meaning R3 where is Race, Rally and Research …..

• Macroman on Dec 02, 2012 at 12:15 am

Despite all the negativity… I stiiiiill think neo is the best looking car from proton with a solid chasis. So much potential. Sooooooo much. Proton, pls set up a facebook private and let us show u what we did with the car, improving upon it… Improvise on its ergonocs, etc. so sad… Never get to see full poptential on seet but only on that Rally Race thingie… Haiz. This is the first proton design; exterior-wise; that excites me… Cmon malaysia! You can do better that this! Yes you, you and you!

• SoulFly on Dec 02, 2012 at 3:02 am

why cant they design and nice aerodynamic car. Kia improve alot seriously .Proton copy how many times also still the same.

• yesterday miracle happened on my 4 years old saga blm, when I want to open the car door, the car door handle broken straight away it is not the first time it let me disappointed. after all this years no matter how they change on their products the quality was missing! this is the best you can do?

• Fat so4 on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:36 pm

still cannot take over my ex civic so4 Sohc cam 1.6 datok! why R3? what s R3 stand for?

• WTF… local product with import priceses..

• Wow!!!! FINALLY!!!! READY TO SMOKE VW Polo & Golf. CHEAP & POWERFUL! BEWARE!!!

• Fat so4 on Dec 02, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Race.. can or not?
    Rally with the lips on?
    reserch…. on what part?

• Jaguh masih mimpi on Dec 02, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Oh goodness, why didn’t they learn to improve until today? Hard to come by any car maker with the door handle that so easily broke.

Really shame!!!

• @unnon

Awwww… Asian oso jangkit penyakit plasticophobia same as caucasian…. serious hor… just because their country cant properly produce plastic, they hate plastic.. still stuck up with 70s Industrial Revolution.. only tank will satisfy u. all-metal maa…up to tyre pn pakai besi..hahaha..

*kalau dah kulit gelap tu, lidah pelat, jangan la belagak macam first world citizen pulak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Miey Ahmad on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Probably all the plasticophobia want a carbon fibre product for the interior with that price… Or maybe aluminium, titanium, kevlar and other things except plastic…

• Preve vs Proton Satria Neo R3? Which one is more powerful?

• Miey Ahmad on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Both car are good.. Once on the road, the powerful car will goes to the car with a powerful driver in it.. Or perhaps a really good driver.

Good car + good driver = best combination
      Super car + stupid driver = better run away from them as explosion will occur
      Bad car + good driver = driven carefully
      Bad car + bad driver = accident always happen

Just as examples..

• I like Perodua than protons. I once cut a proton satria neo using peroduakancil..hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • bukan cut la. “Take over!”
      ya pa da… baru dpt cut sekali nk canang 1 malaysia ka?

• This car is an embarrassment. Nuff said.

• good drver on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:06 am

Daripada keluar kn kereta recycle ni,cuba recycle GTi.not just colour.the real GTi. Give me chance to own that car again. I love to be in that car very much. Sadly last month some motherfcuker stole my car. Didnt leave even my bucket,or even signal lamp for me to grab whenever i miss him.hope u stealers die asap.under lorry or train or whateverheavy than my dear loved GTi. Conclusion : proton,next time please produce a brand new GTi,sure can make money one.promise u.i only will buy 3 numbers. Hahahaha.miss u my highway king:'( ..

• MatLimMutu on Dec 03, 2012 at 11:33 am

change the design a bit, put CFE.

• CPSOwner257 on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Come on Proton! this is not total BS excuse to release a new neo version based on r3.

I mean, u jack up the price on the r3 version from last year because of the higher horsepower n torque figures from the standard cps 1.6L engine and new colour scheme and HU. fine. acceptable. now u go around an make a neo r3 unit n the engine performs just like the neo cps. add a bodykit here n there n improve the interior a little bit (still will be plasticky no doubt) n u call it a new model.

what happened to the supercharged neo version? i wud buy one dammit, if it was in production.

Revamp or lose out…take a page out of aftermarket tuners my fren….R3 got lots to learn. Then rakyat will buy more confidently.

• Ridz1 on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Sold only at West Malaysia?

• David Billa on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Dear friends, most of the comments only talked about past reviews and I can understand how some of you would have felt the pain of spending thousands of ringgits yet owning a low quality car, but PROTON claims that it has changed, let us measure PROTON from now on-wards till its next failure….then we shall criticize about it globally. :-)

• Hakim Mahmud on Dec 03, 2012 at 8:15 pm

wow this car look great, i like yellow one.

• azmanadnan79 on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:13 am

busuk2 pun produk kita juga…teruskan proton,,nice one..well done.

• fed up on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:21 am

enough is enough man..ppl who buy this car and call themselves car enthusiasts are idiots..might else well buy the stock car and upgrade whatever you want..i think 20k can buy you lots of upgrades and not just the damn exterior..however i wonder whether the basic car is still for sale..i think proton should just cut its losses by lowering the price of cars such as there and get back whatever money they can and reinvest for better cars..

• proton on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:34 am

Ok per. P beli sayur. Proton rox!!

• AH CAI on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:39 pm

yet,still rubbish.. waiting for proton type R (honda DNA)

• Octavian on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:17 pm

ford fiesta 9k pound sterling, satria neo 8.5k pound sterling.. satria neo di anak emaskn kt cni en king kong ye.. neo tanpa cukai hanya rm40k, fiesta tanpa cukai rm45k..puiii… stupid NAP

• luqman zulkhairi on Dec 10, 2012 at 1:25 am

aiyya,why everoyne talking english meyh,….

difficult to understand lorrrr

puihhhh

• ye lar… sume ckp omputih aje…

• satrianeocps on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Got mine last year nov 2011. I wanted a manual tranny but they were out of stock and they told me this car was going out of production. So I found one automatic transmission manufactured 2011, got no promotion or discount on it or whatsoever. Then I heard the news 3 months later that production was not halted but moved to shah alam. Now a year later they come out with this, priced at 1k plus more to what I paid for a year ago. Proton should stop with their cheap tricks and marketing. They should have been honest about it. I even sent them an email but sadly they didn’t even have the courtesy to reply me. Dah due kali dah aku ken a tipu dengan proton the first time was when I got the gen2 cam pro first generation, for those of you who owns or owned that car Im sure you probably know what Im talking about.

• avtargill69 on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:28 am

im confused… should i get this satria neo r3 or suzuki swift ? help me please. thank yooouuuuuuu

• Zac Attack on Dec 30, 2012 at 1:03 pm

It’s a cool car, way cooler than myvi and viva, and all their drivers who placed too many stickers on their car because theyre too dumb to admit the stock is ugly. And they think myvi is a sports car. Stupid. Throw a stone away, it’ll hit if not two, one myvi, theyre like shit n fly, everywhere. I hate most myvi owners who think their shitty car a sports car. It’s a soccer mom’s car.

• FAIZAN RAZIKIN on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Im 1 of the person us -Proton R3 Satria Neo cps RS,”real name”
    What i can give
    – design-100% my taste
    -performance- 90% coz its already improve by good engineer n include with good accesories….
    -production-90% its limited edition- so just some people can get it….

R3 RS IS THE BEST 1
    NEW R3-JUST OUTLOOK!!!! HURM…..

• adoinyepon on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:02 am

stop wasting time bitching about proton and the government. macam la diorg baca pastu bg harga kete jd murah. kemon la

• contradix on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:31 am

hi all. abit sad to see there are loads of negative comments posted here. it is very understandable that it is dissapointing to knw tht this new neo is not equipped with cfe inside. ofcos, who doesnt like extra power; also with the other goodies that are found in the ‘original r3 neos’. but what i have got to say is, there are a decent market for this 2013 snr3 out there who are eagerly wanting to buy this. some of you may say it’s stupid to get your hands on this shitty car for not having all the goodies(cfe and whatnot). but for RM60k, can we really get the cfe’s and those r3 performance products to be packaged in a satria neo for as low as RM60k? ofcos it’s possible if we dont have to pay for the extra nap cost, but that’s just not the scenario right now. or even, what other choices do we have besides this neo, considering that one is a motorsport enthusiast, a beginner, earns medium income, can only afford to pay say rm500-700 for monthly installment. although this retailed snr3 in the showrooms are not as ‘performanced’ as it is claimed, but this particular car definitely possesses a handful of potential to turn it into a street performance car. i think this car is indeed perfect for beginners who wants to journey into the automotive world, wants to experience modding their ride and does not have the luck to own a civic or a vios etc.. if you are that class of people, in the long run i think this car is more worth to get than a myvi. and remember, speed is not everything in terms of performance. i have previously read all the reviews and comments for this particular snr3, and regardless of all the critics, i still opt for this car and have booked it at a proton showroom. all because i am one of those who belongs in that class of people i stated earlier. cheers.

• contradix, so what colour did you choose? Is canary yellow available as an option?

• http://lanefjas.wikispaces.com/ on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:32 am

I simply couldn’t go away your web site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard information a person provide in your visitors? Is going to be again incessantly to inspect new posts

• JohnMcClane on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Dudes, I can easily tapao this Satria Neo R3 with my Nissan Pulsar GTI-R N14. Bone stock. Enough said. The Nissan Pulsar, although not many people know about it, it’s actually the baddest assest hot hatch ever.

FYI, I have tapao a Golf GTI with my Pulsar before

• sudut on Apr 24, 2013 at 2:00 pm

u’re comparing 2 litre turbocharged AWD with 1.6 litre N/A FWD?

• terb terb on May 02, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Perodua? they only produce Daihatsu-based car right?

remember when Proton comes with Mitsubishi-based design and engine? those cunt said Proton is Mitsubishi wannabe.. this is only the starting point..
    do u know how proton improved then? with their own design.. See Neo, Persona, new Saga, Savvy and Gen2.. but Malaysian were still complaining..
    then Proton improved once again with their own engine, CamPro, CPS n CFE, and once again, Malaysian were complaining.. do you know how good CFE is?
    Neo has impressed the world in many competition, do Malaysian notice that?
    n Proton bought Lotus for what? there is improvement in the handling of new generation Proton.. have u drive Neo guys?
    no one can imagine a Malaysian Company can buy an English company, that established since Worl War II

its hard to satisfy Malaysian, dont deny it, all of us know that..

this is only my opinion bout Proton.. me myself didnt buy any proton.. but my brother drives Neo, n this thing is quite good.. i think i will go for Proton when one day they design a good luxury car in the future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • terb terb on May 02, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Perodua? they only produce Daihatsu-based car right?

remember when Proton comes with Mitsubishi-based design and engine? those cunt said Proton is Mitsubishi wannabe.. this is only the starting point..
    do u know how proton improved then? with their own design.. See Neo, Persona, new Saga, Savvy and Gen2.. but Malaysian were still complaining..
    then Proton improved once again with their own engine, CamPro, CPS n CFE, and once again, Malaysian were complaining.. do you know how good CFE is?
    Neo has impressed the world in many competition, do Malaysian notice that?
    n Proton bought Lotus for what? there is improvement in the handling of new generation Proton.. have u drive Neo guys?
    no one can imagine a Malaysian Company can buy an English company, that established since World War II

its hard to satisfy Malaysian, dont deny it, all of us know that..

this is only my opinion bout Proton.. me myself didnt buy any proton.. but my brother drives Neo, i’ve try to drive it, n surprisingly this thing is quite good.. i think i will go for Proton when one day they design a good luxury or super car in the future..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • asage on May 13, 2013 at 3:28 pm

regardless of all the negative comments made in this forum, i bought and got my first proton car i.e. SNR3 last week GTI silver colour. surprisingly very good handling. quality of components could be improved. but hey, this is the cheapest entry level two doors new car with bucket leather seats that looks pretty good. still in running-in condition but will try to hit top speed of 190 as stated in their brochure. i will not compare SNR3 to my wifey polo tsi hatch that could hit 200kmph on LPT although the stated top speed is 190kmph. thats is german technology and over 100k. who said myvi is better, my son survived steering locked while driving myvi2011 model – thats why the recall due to faulty electric power steering. if you have deep pocket, go continental.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • ezrizal on May 27, 2013 at 3:38 pm

satria neo R3 is most better than before punye satria …

• ezrizal on May 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm

myvi goes to klon model. ur dont think so?

• Norman on Jun 10, 2013 at 7:56 pm

I wouldn’t mind 60k IF there’s a led tail lights,DVD with iPod connectivity,Paddle shift,17inch rims and Upgrade CPS engine with at least 140hp@6800rpm/[email protected] of course with a push start button.Proton need to bear in mind the Neo is alrdy 7 years..

• Kobee on Jun 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm

It’s absolutely normal to see and hear everyone criticize Proton for their incompetency for building good cars and honestly speaking i do think our national brand Proton is a little bit overpriced.

But hey, I am a happy owner of this CPS R3 version.
    I have been driving this machine for about 6 months now and it is really satisfying. It isn’t really that bad as I have read some of the really bad comments.

Maybe for the previous batch R3 owners, they may be irritated by the fact that their units are not that premium or special anymore since proton has decided to launch a cheaper, less powerful but still look about 95% the same.

Point is, there may be good and bad for every individual. As we all will definitely have different views of seeing things.

I believe owning any sporty cars has more to do with enthusiasm, rather than just “smoking” “tapao-ing” or whatsoever.

This car isn’t really that overpriced after all.
    In fact, with the good handling and solidity of the chasis, I find it reasonable. Yes, CPS may not be as good as Vtec, TSi, Turbo and so forth. So let’s hope that we will be able to see the kind of improvements that we always talk about. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Grenademix on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:46 am

Ive always wanted this r3 version satria neo, i can say its the coolest car among all malaysian cars, its even driven by Michael Scumacher AKA stig in top gears,but that satria neo was modified every details,still its Proton satria neo..you guys who hates malaysian cars are actually wants proton to be better,they are getting better,love our countries and people and support them not criticise them,
    By end of ramadhan i hope my satria neo cps 2010 will be there for me, yes, i bought it second hand because i dont have enough money to afford it to buy new r3,but im still lucky to get my dream car ..
    By the way..im a Russian who stays in Malaysia nearly 6 years,kn Russia, we dont even have a car like this,its far more worst than in my country with high tax ..so guys..appreciate and give support to each other.
    ALEX SHAPKIN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • s2000 now is racking in pacific asia…

• im malaysian,so already have civic fd n alza for family car.now im think why not give neo r3 2013 a try..

• WilliamZ on Oct 16, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Foolish!!!cheap car with a 145hp then compare with conti and japan car!!!sohai lar !!!better than buying honda and toyota because they always in same condition……FACE PROBLEMS