Volkswagen Jetta Hybrid launched for US market

The Volkswagen Jetta Hybrid has made its debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show in production form, powered by a 150 PS/250 Nm 1.4 TSI and a 20 kW electric motor and driven through a seven-speed DSG. We’ve actually covered the specifics of this car quite extensively in an earlier post, but here are more pictures from the German carmaker, as well as details on trim and specs.

The hybrid’s show debut also serves as its North American launch. Four variants are available – base, SE, SEL and SEL Premium, priced between US$25k and 31k (RM76-94k), all excluding the US$795 destination charge. VW says there are no current plans to offer the Jetta Hybrid in Europe.

The base model gets a raft of features including all-round disc brakes, DRLs, automatic climate control and Bluetooth with auxiliary input. As you’d expect, more kit is piled on as you move up the trim range, culminating in the SEL Premium, which gets the full bells and whistles, including bi-xenon headlamps, 17-inch wheels (base car sits on 15s), navigation, keyless entry and start, rear-view camera and a Fender Premium Audio System with subwoofer. DRLs are LEDs, too.

Recently a modified Jetta Hybrid set a land speed record at the Bonneville Salt Flats with a two-run average of nearly 300 km/h. Suffice to say, the production car won’t be quite so well endowed when it hits Stateside dealerships at the end of the year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 30, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Launch it here if can. With the tax exemption, price it between 130k-140k. Tired of seeing ‘sushi’ hybrids here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Bystander on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:42 pm

No chance to see this here – left hand drive only :(

• encik boss on Nov 30, 2012 at 1:51 pm

This hybrid is powerful than normal jetta. Bring it here!!

• come on VW Malaysia, bring it here!!!

• janjidicapati on Nov 30, 2012 at 3:34 pm

im waiting for the headlights and taillights to be available huhuhuhuhuuhu

• Potential buyer here!

• Shashi on Nov 30, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Plz ohh plz VW Malaysia bring it here..plz plz pretty plz

• Threetwentydee on Nov 30, 2012 at 11:18 pm

VW Msia please get a right hand drive over here….this car will beat every jap hybrid to pulp!!

• chris on Dec 01, 2012 at 12:12 am

Handsome car. Have no regrets with my 2 yr old golf tsi. Its a pity malaysians dont appreciate vw’s tech. Dumbs still buying camry or accord by the truckloads and the owners have the “im driving camly” look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • dugong on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:35 am

well its a good thing isn’t it? If everyone is driving bimmer/audi and benz then your golf will look “low class”.
      but i agree with one thing, these cocky camry owners have the “Move aside,I’m driving bentley/rolls royce face”. But in reality they look so stoopid!!

• chrisg on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Haha..right.
        Golf or vw is not in audi, ww or merc’s class. So its alrite. We drive wahatver makes we can afford not to compare with others.
        But the difference is, we are least smarter then those making purchases just bcos its t or h. Even a peugeout is better than camly or accord and iwould be glad to drive a 408.
        Just like buying shoes, i wont buy a bonia for rm500 a pair.

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Just wait till your DSG dies.

Then your wallet will regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:33 pm

At least camry is better than kia or hyundai that thought their car is stylish and fashionable where the truth is that their car sucks!

• pearjai on Dec 01, 2012 at 2:57 am

priced between US$25k and 31k (RM76-94k)? seem affordable ! make this car price in vios/honda city price but more worth for the money ….

• wahaha on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:46 pm

You must be sick or out of alignment. How can you compare this car with shit like vios or city, even altis.
      If you have your point then vios is probably selling only rm40k here. Shud be priced lower than myvi. Myvi has more gadgets than a naked vios j specs.

• CK Foo on Dec 01, 2012 at 10:58 am

Even it has entered Msia, I don’t thk the price ll be similar as mentioned above.

• Rakyat on Dec 01, 2012 at 9:30 pm

With the tax exemption, this could be priced less than RM100k. Setting the record for the cheapest hybrid in Malaysia!

• When is the golf mk7 review ready?

• Golf mk7 please…

• I hope VW brings this in soon

• Nicholas on Dec 02, 2012 at 9:21 am

potential buyer if it is priced at 100k

• pearjai on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:47 am

for the cheapest price would go for rm76k ! let bear in mind that VW increase 10% n our g set for 10% price tax/none still below 100k..or someone feel that VW will markup the price to cruel…!these car should priced without excise tax rite ? hehehe…mercedes and bmw should bring their hybrid <2.0 too !

• Faizal on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:31 am

Sell it below RM100K here in Malaysia, then Polo TSI cannot sell anymore lah…

• Yellow on Jan 06, 2013 at 12:59 am

Change them in march, if not we still need to pay more than double to get kosong car

• shinespot on Apr 28, 2013 at 11:13 am

u know wats more stupid..judging a person wit his car