Mercedes-Benz C180 BE: price drop to RM212,888

Mercedez-Benz Malaysia is now offering the Mercedes-Benz C180 BlueEfficiency for a reduced price – RM212,888.00, which is about a RM15k drop from the RM227,888 pricetag that was announced when the baseline W204 was first announced in August.

But that’s really not the best part – we had a word with different Mercedes-Benz dealerships and apparently as part of year end offers, the C180 can be had for a tad under the RM200k mark. That’s really close to cars like the Accord/Camry/Teana. But we also hear stocks are limited. For example, this Penang dealer on oto.my states in his ad that there are only 2 units lefts.

A brief recap of the specs – in C180 specs, the 1.8 litre turbocharged direct injection CGI engine does 156hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm at 1,600-4,200 rpm. The 100km/h mark is reached in 8.9 seconds, and the car shares the same 7G-Tronic seven speed gearbox as the rest of the W204 range.

Interior trim is either black or grey, and other differences include Artico leather upholstery, piano black trim, and reflector headlamps instead of projectors.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• After the CKD jazz hybrid, Veloster and R3-or-whatever Satria , all with higher than expected price.
    Finally some refreshing, price lowering, news.
    Rejoiced malaysian, this is quite a rare occasion where a price is lowered.
    Still far fetch for my budget though, but that’s me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:45 am

Buy a low spec and low safety Toyota Camry for RM180,000 or buy this German pride and joy for Rm199,000?

Of course I will buy the Mercedes. no wonder why Camry is losing marketshare big time. Now I understand why RV of older Camrys are dropping like mad. Aiyoo yoo, mati lah the Toyota Salesman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Loollipops on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Bang for Bucks!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • half-Blood Prince Perak on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:42 pm

This Baby will look good in pearl white.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on Dec 02, 2012 at 11:50 pm

The price is good for people who do not want additional stuff like xenon lights or memory seats in the car.

If you’re looking for a car that has adaptive xenon lights, memory seats and collision prevention assist the cheapest model is the B200 that is RM8k more than the baseline C Class lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Alfa156 on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:34 am

Finally an. Affordable merc. I hope the new A class is cheaper than the B and C.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Despite the spec difference, somehow I feel like c180 is better looking in term of the 5 twin spoke sports rim design and black piano trim interior, compared with c200 elegance which uses multiple spoke rim and wood trim interior. Price difference for yr end promo is around 37k.

• Turboman on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:18 am

Buy this, remap it, and you will easily get 200 hp to get similar performance to a C250.

If im not mistaken, its the same turbocharged engine and gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Dare i say affordable luxury

• nice offer. but abit of a turn off without the bi-xenon headlamp. since all luxury car is malaysia come with standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • dont worry just buy it at the chop shop from totaled or accident cars. I think you need the ballast aswell

• If u are currently looking at the 185k ++ camry 2.5 ….u better get this instead (the below 200k promo). Nice low down 250nm torque from low 1,600nm to 4,200nm compared to the camry lower 230nm which only happen at high 4,000rpm. Further, u save on road tax. (1.8 liter Merc vs 2.5 liter Camry).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:06 pm

The C200 is also going for a discount now…its possible to get one around the RM245k mark now if you want a C with adaptive xenon lights, memory seats or little stuff like the electric rear roller blind.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:21 am

Sounds interesting.

The powertrain could easily use a re-chip and get a good kick in performance. The stock 180 BE feels a little weak the last time I drove one.

• David D on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Yums, this is definitely tempting especially when it’s got the three-pointed badge. Had the opportunity to test one during the recent COTY2U roadshow at Matrade, and safe to say, it’s definitely worth the money, especially when you only lose a few comfort amenities, but importantly, the major features, especially safety, comes in all standard. Good to drive, too, and the ride is unsurprisingly butter-smooth.

• Turboman on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:29 pm

However Im not a big fan of their engines.

It sounds rather rough and unrefined above 4000rpm.

Perhaps im spoiled by N52, but drove my buddy’s C200 to the airport once. Really disappointed by the sound.

• Azlan on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:31 am

Turbocharge and compressor, its two different engine technology. I would say compressor engine contributed into dissapointed sound

• Turboman on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:21 pm

The one i drove to the airport is a CGI. Hence turbocharged.

But the best 4 cyl engine for me is the one in mazda 6. Super creamy. Almost n52 like at low RPM. Beautiful engine.

• mirror mirror on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Very good value for money. Earlier I heard that Hap Seng Star was selling the E200 for only RM299k, a discount of RM60k.

• Illya on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Do MB Malaysia know something the Rakyat don’t know yet? Why the discount on a premium car?

• MB needs to do that as their sales is dropping badly as compared to BMW.

• Turboman on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Its a common thing for them to do during the year end.

Main reason is to clear off 2012 stock, in preparation for 2013.

BMW has their pre-reg cars for a long time.

• Turboman on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:57 pm

My mistake. This is not a pre-reg unit.

They are dropping the retail price.

Well, its good news then.

• dugong on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Everyone is buying F30. Hence the c-class is losing sales badly. I think they are selling it at cost price to clear stock.
          It is a bargain for 198k if you ask me.
          I remember even the W202 C180 was selling at RM200k during the mid 1990s.

• Azam Manan on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Since this is a permanent reduction (not clearance stock; which comes in even lower), then it is a piece of good news indeed.

Seeing that a few car companies already clearing 2012 stocks (I’m not just talking the normal year-end sales, but unbelievable discounts), do they know something impending expected from NAP announcement soon? We know that gomen already talk to some of them to reduce prices (i.e. to hopefully stave off PR’s plans). Then more news shall trickle and I believe this is just a start.

• Seriously on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think the picture of the C-Class here is misleading, The Mercedes-Benz C180 BE doesn’t have these bodykit, LED and rims.

• Yup, no side skirt and it’s using different rim design. But the led drl is standard for all c class.

• gracke on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:36 pm

This RM200k Mercedes C-Class want to beat the coming soon new BMW F30 316i at the price first…..

• Azam Manan on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:00 am

Wow! You really think 316i is coming at all? Then it shall be a breath of fresh air with these so called premium marques introducing “real” entry level cars. Beat those pseudo luxury Camrys and Accords.

• Jonlam on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Completely sold out. Called them today.

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Low RV. You will be shown hilux when you sell.Better buy Camry 2.5v.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 51
  • Its RM 198k to be exact..

• Illya on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:09 pm

World ending 21-12-12 and they wanna dispose all stocks? or NAP ending?

• tishaban on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:09 pm

That’s a very decent price (relatively) for a nice car. At least the safety features are there and you do get a 4-year warranty to boot compared to grey imports.

• the driver on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Should I say, terima kasih PKR?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • matjoe on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:30 am

sad to say, if that is due to PKR, why volester price is high? i think personally think is due to end of w204 circle and the year end

• Jonlam on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Promotion started 3 weeks ago. No wonder all sold out. CCB and HSS also having promotion. Rm198k

• Clearance for W205 model next year. Not a facelift!

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:42 pm

turbo will sui kwan. 198k still expensive for small car with tiny engine!!!

• Patut kena sula mamat ni

• tiny but powerful

• MrCounterstrike on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:29 am

Buying this Mercedes Benz less than 200k makes more sense than buying a 180k 2.5 Camry with less safety features and the Mercedes will beat your camry anyday in performance and handling due to its turbo power.

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 09, 2012 at 5:52 pm

You better get the tow truck number ready when you turbo benz overheat beside federal highway. Otherwise people will curse at you for causing traffic jam.

• MrBmw on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:59 am

Your better be prepared when driving your new Camry without ESP in unexpected situations. Otherwise, you can easily get into an accident when encountering an obstacle on roads such as rocks, etc. When this happen people will curse at you for causing a bad traffic jam

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:45 pm

most importantly you will still lose an arm and a leg when you sell these later.

• When high price, everybody blaming the government.

Now Mercedes selling at good price, why nobody thanking the government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 53
    • Jilbaber on Dec 03, 2012 at 6:28 pm

I don’t think gov have anything to do with this price reduction…all came from pure good gold heart of MBM to give more opportunity for malaysian to own Mercedes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • what to do with government? they didnt decrease or restructure the tax. pls make ur point clear! this is purely merc malaysia intention to reduce price for stock clearance, or some says bcos w204 sales dropped badly due to f30. so in this case, thanks merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously you are not a frequent to Paultan.

When price increase everybody blame government. Why not vise versa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • Finally can smell ur sarcasm. Lol!
          Ya, special Thanks to govt and croniessss

• Remember is a year end sale to get rid of the 2012 stock. Toyota & VW also offering similar goodies for the same reason.
    Needless to say, a reduction in price will come with a downgrade in spec. The present C-class is almost at her tail end of her life cycle. Expect the next Gen C-class in Q3 – Q4 / 2013 in Europe & should be here in 2014.
    Chipping the car will void your warranty completely. Just leave it as standard now that with AES everywhere. LOL!

• Azam Manan on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:23 am

I was in the market since end of last year (bought a used car in the end 2 weeks ago) and somehow I feel this is not just normal clearance. The lower price up there is 2013 price with 2012 units clearing already at substantial discounts.

Normally those kind of discounts can only be had with pre-reg cars. I had been searching for an exact Conti model and found a few choices, unreg 2012 at huge discounts (that you don’t even have to put any downpayment), even lower pre-reg 2011 at new car financing rates, and even used 2011 demo cars. Now I’m happily enjoying a Conti at a price I could only previously afford a Proton.

• chong4you on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Did penang also have this offer? 198k?or 212k?

• dozy888 on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:27 pm

RM 198K!

• i wonder what is the reason they are able to reduce so much.

• next coming clear stok audi A4 will cut price 170k

• matjoe on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:53 am

i would love to hear that. current facelift audi a4 is nice.

• PauKaya on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:28 am

its quite a horrible car actually. underpowered and underspecced. then again all malaysians want is the badge.

• Azam Manan on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:35 am

Typical Malaysian snobbery which was why premium marques almost never bring real entry level cars. Europeans have long buy these entry level cars, most of the times is for lower road tax savings and fuel consumptions and not just the badge. They are too poor to pay for their AES summons thus no need for the kind of tailgating driving attitude of the Malaysian snobs. It’s this kind of attitude that makes me welcome AES.

• Misty Jack on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:06 am

Paukaya, how would this C180 compared to BMW 320? From the spec, the Merc is about 1 sec faster than the 3 series. That means the 3 is also underpowered?

• guest on Dec 04, 2012 at 2:40 pm

W204 C180 0-100 is 8.9s, F30 320i 0-100 is 7.6s. Something wrong with your head? Unless you’re comparing to the already EOL E90 320i, yeah that is a castrated BMW.

• Sazali on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:22 am

It’s like you think you are great in first class Lufthansa, no drinks, no service, KOSONG. I would buy a CAMRY any time with full luxury. Go inside the car and fell the different. The front windsreen mirror will show you the different. Why want to show people the star when you are cramping inside. Take a long hour drive and traffic jam and everyone will jump into a Camry. They make Lexus too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sazali on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:32 am

Anywhere the offer is only gimmick, no more car. Few kosong car to boost their sales. Their sales are all taken by Camry 2.5V. The Merc don’t even have power seat. It’s like Proton no power window.

• David D on Dec 06, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Pah, another plain idiot who talks cars based on the badge. Seriously, park a Camry and this so-called barebones C180 side by side,and i will put my bottom dollar,almost all will walk straight to the Benz. Adequately powered, great comfort, and most importantly, safety. I’d rather have a more kosong Mercedes Benz with all the safety features loaded, rather than the horrible Camry, which has loads of important safety features removed.

• Cantona on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Hoooray!!!
    I hope this will affect the sales of BMWs, AUDIs, VWs and other marques…hence a PRICE WAR!
    Is this the start of the lowering of car prices like how PR said? It sure does look like it.
    Good for u, Merc.
    Over to you now…BMW/VW.

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Yeah i agree. C-lass is overrated, fugly and outdated old junk. Better spend your money on latest model camry 2.5v. More comfort and spacious and power than this old c-class. Most importantly you will not be shown the hilux when you sell later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • rocky on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:24 pm

OMG….another no-brainer comparing Continental luxury car (Merc/BMW/Audi) with Toyota/Honda.

The driving pleasure and satisfaction of driving a Conti will trump a Jap make any time.

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 09, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Lets see how much pleasure you get when you trade in your car after 2 years. I hope you enjoy being shown the hilux. You will lose and arm plus 2 legs when you sell later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • MrCounterstrike on Dec 08, 2012 at 6:20 am

How about your Camry 2.5v. That one also is an overprice, no important safety features and outdated junk. As it is the Camry loses out in the D-segment with its competitors, and you want to compare your crap Toyota with a luxury and prestige Mercedes.

I will always drive a Mercedes, even the old C and E class anyday over the new Camry, as it gives me the driving pleasure, luxurious ride and safety features that will keep me safe when I m driving Mercedes compared to junk, overprice and fugly Camry.

• Its worth it. Recently bought this machine overall at MYR$202k inclusive insurance. New design dashboard same like in E class and S class. Very comfort and engine even only at 156hp. very powerfull enough for 1.8 l engine. Also have auto start/ stop features. Fuel consumption very good.

• tamil on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Looking of the e 63 amg v8 can get the price pls