Hyundai Santa Fe – seven-seater version debuts

Hyundai has introduced the production version of its three-row, six/seven-seater Santa Fe SUV. The model, which debuted in LA last week, joins the two-row, five-seater version in the planned two wheelbase form lineup for the third-gen DM, and will specifically be a left-hand drive offering.

The larger Santa Fe rides on a 2,799 mm wheelbase, which is 99 mm longer than the five-seater version. Its overall length of 4,904 mm is 215 mm longer, and it’s just a shade wider and taller than the two-row model.

The vehicle debuts with a 3.3 litre V6 GDI engine, which is also found on the Azera. The Lambda II unit offers 290 hp at 6,400 rpm and 341 Nm at 5,200 rpm, and is mated to a six-speed auto transmission.

The LWB Santa Fe, available in either FWD or AWD forms, features its own bodyside character lines – compared to the five-seater – from the B-pillar back, and the main differentiating element between the two Santa Fe models is that of the side view daylight opening, or side window shape.

Buyers have two options for seating configuration, these being seven-passenger seating with a 40:20:40 split-folding second row bench seat or six-passenger seating with second row captain’s chairs.

Features include a panoramic sunroof, powered liftgate, an optional multifunction eight-inch touchscreen display with navigation, push-button ignition with proximity key and a heated steering wheel. The Santa Fe sits on 18-inch Euroflange alloy wheels, with an option to go the 19-inch route.

Safety kit includes seven airbags, ABS with brake assist and EBD, as well as Hillstart Assist Control (HAC), Downhill Brake Control (DBC) and Vehicle Stability Management (VSM), the last managing electronic stability control under its umbrella.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Nice…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Dec 03, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Nicest thing to rakyat will be if government assist MB in lowering their prices, then nobody else dare to be very very greedy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:34 am

this car is so beautiful its puts to shame the recently launched Toyota RAV4. No wonder why everybody is buying Hyundai and Kia now and Toyota is losing marketshare and facing bad RV in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
        • sam loo junior on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:13 am

sam loo impersonator…at least go do survey at used car dealers before making 100% false claims… and btw, how’s your kia forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
          • buy proton last on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:11 pm

msia used car market sale statistics cant be used as a good reference bcoz msians r so narrow minded when it comes to global trends in auto industries…still stuck to the old offerings by T n H….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • sam loo junior on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:00 pm

?????buy proton last

???msia used car market sale statistics cant be used as a good reference

So are you living in malaysia ? hahahha, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • OMG…r u the real Sam Loo?….since u so kind to korean car… and blaming the toyota car.

• Why everytime when I see you, the only thing in your mind is “RV”?

• 290 hp at 6,400 rpm and 252 Nm at 5,200 rpm??

Are u serious with the engine?
      I expect 200Nm range below 4000rpm. OMG. Less torque than Preve CFE, How to run a 7seater 4WD?

They should have put in better gearbox! Korean memang known for lousy drivetrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
      • and turbocharge it, so the torque can spread at more range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • 4g63t dsm on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:16 am

Author made a mistake.

Should be 252 ft-lbs. which is about 350nm

Driven the first gen non gdi engine when. It was first launched in the nf sonata. Excellent torque curve just not as smooth as the Honda and Nissan v6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:05 am

Oh my. how right! I keep forgetting that the Yanks are still in Imperial and pound foot – was more fixated in changing the inches to mm. The conversion should be 341 Nm. Corrected in the story. Thanks for the spot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • They shud just stick the diesel Santa Fe’s 2.2 R series diesel instead wt almost 200hp and most importantly 440nm of torque from 1,500 rpm to 4,000rpm. This 3.6 liter NA petrol is soo weak ler

• Wanabe on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Battle of luxury SUV, Hyundai Santa Fe 7 seater vs Maxda CX-9 vs Audi Q7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Black Dog on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:45 pm

But the sante fe cost less than Rm200k while the CX-9 almost Rm300k and Q7 over Rm400k. How to compare?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:52 am

How to compare kimchi with sushi & hitler?

Must compare kimchi with Tata and Great Wall, coz they are the same class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • vee-oh on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:31 pm

gorgeous looking, this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • nabill on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:41 pm

looks very good…bt that rear 3rd quarter really looks like the merc ML Class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Mm..this design makes my mouth watered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • sam loo junior on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:46 pm

nice looking, but after 2 years, bring it to the used car dealer and expect to hear the word “Hilux” due to low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 84
    • I hate too hear this RV, but i cant hide my felling Happy about this cuz seriously i cant afford a new Hyundai Santa Fe currently

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Wah, so clever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • i dont understand the hilux part, care to explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • Don’t bother him la, just another toyota junk there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • sam loo junior on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:22 am

greeting SOD, depends on your interpretation, but I offer you two:

1) a 2-years old kimchi rm150k car, shown to a used dealer, will be shown a used hilux which would cost about 60k

2) Hilux rhyme with “Hai-Lat”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Get it 9 months later at 50% off :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
      • Uncle Sam, haven’t you heard, Honda Brio is coming, better go book before it sold out. Don’t waste time commenting here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • buy proton last on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:22 pm

haiya! Bodoh pnye olang….pakai kelete 9 bln mau jual…check the market la bro…current santa fe selling like hotcakes at coty for rm131k for pre-owned units…err is that 50% off sir…plezz calculate for me…im not so good in maths maa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo junior you & your Hilux…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • That’s ok at least u can enjoy the good looking car in 2 years unlike those HV cars but super ugly and cant even look at it in a few minutes !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • sam loo junior on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:19 am

So you are valuing the good look over the following: reliability, resale value, safety, driving experience, longevity, after sales service, depreciation… Wow, you are really SMART

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
        • Not really care about the reliability,longevity and resale value but other is quite important…i don’t think those dugong whatever what ugly cars they regular make ‘ Toy , Hon or Ninja ‘ came with the good safety,driving experience or after sales service r good !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Handsome car,
    and is good to see some form of departure for that fluidic design which I personally don’t like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Car Fan on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Hyundai’s are getting better with their designs. It’s a pity majority Malaysians think Honda’s and Toyota’s are good cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
  • MycarMylife on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Great design by Hyundai, but can anyone in MY put some focus on the MPVs and SUVs permitted legal load limits on our MY highways?
    Vehicles’s load or passengers capacity are ever increasing ( in specs) together with high tech safety features but horrible carnage is a common feature on our highways !! with whole or half a family being wipe out .Are we well trained sufficiently to drive a vehicle or car this big?? ( 7 or 8 seaters) . after graduating from a normal compact car like the hundreds we find on the road.
    Sorry to be a bit morbid .Over to you JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • 4g63t dsm on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:51 pm

The problem is not that people needs to be trained, but it is compounded by these big things hitting smaller milo tins with no safety gear to speak off.

Sad to say JPJ has yet to mandate minimum safety gear and proper safety regulation. When is the last time you saw an anti-submarine bar on the rear of a semi? Where is a pickup’s front bumper in relation to your head as it t-bones your lowly wira? What is the crash worthiness of a kancil or an old Saga?

• Bandai on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:32 pm

The design surprises me a bit, not as “fluid” as Sonata or Elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • MatLimMutu on Dec 03, 2012 at 5:42 pm

smart!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • DArkerMarker on Dec 03, 2012 at 6:42 pm

bulky looking….nevertheless, attractive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • peter32 on Dec 03, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Really curious to see what sort of Diesel engine they will incorporate in this new version. I hope this new one will improve the drive-train and oversensitive steering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Hakim Mahmud on Dec 03, 2012 at 8:14 pm

wow Handsome car, and is good to see so i things need buy this care one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Awesome car, but again, not for Malaysia.

Keep on buying those silly low spec-ed dumb Honda and Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • When it coming to Malaysia land….currently eyeing SUV….

• Exterior looks like Audi.
    Interior dash like Nissan.
    Hyundai is good at copying and make their cars look good.
    After all, it drives like Hyundai, slightly behind the Japs cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • Hukaka on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Nice looking,looks like q7.

• 4g63t dsm on Dec 03, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Sime Darby is playing to Toyota and Honda’s tune.

Over priced and under spec’ed hyundais.

If top of the line KIAs can offer the full complement of safety gear for less money, why can’t Hyundai?

As for this 7 seat LWB …it looks far better proportioned than its smaller sibling. Maybe might find it as a minivan alternative for rental next time I’m stateside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • hello on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:19 am

Why do you say so about sime darby, when this car is not even launched yet in Malaysia.

• 4g63t dsm on Dec 04, 2012 at 7:03 am

Why? Because every new Hyundai to date has been sold this way.

Look at the prices of the Elantra and sonata, and look at their air bag count, then compare to top of the line K5 and the Forte.

With the kind of prices for a Hyundai, I must as well go a rung up and consider a way better equipped and better riding Ford Focus..

• Kalun on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Dear American. Petrol is not a good way to save the planet like most of you advertise. With that fuel burner v6 engine, that wouldn’t be efficient in mountainous road where higher and flatter torque is need to climb a hill with 8 people in the car

Diesel is still the best for long distant travelling especially in Malaysian or in other part of the world road that has quite an up and down slopes.

• i think the koreans has finally moved their game upwards.

cmon proton, lift yours!

• waterman on Dec 03, 2012 at 11:21 pm

wah! very ford! hahahahaha

• is that my eye that problem or it just them are copying Ford design?

• Sam Pah on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:32 am

nice look… but I wonder how it look alike when it come to our shore… sport rim change to 16″.. 2 airbag only.. touchscreen LCD turn to conventional one.. no leather seat… fuglykit (change the current bumper design to become ugly).. no HAC,DBC,VSM.. Malaysia Booooo leh…

• QChan on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:00 am

Wow….! Great design – inside out!

I always thought all the previous generations had great trouble getting the front-end right – totally uninviting looks. The later generations was given a really frumpy rear-end and altogether much too feminine!

However, this latest version in one master stroke corrected everything that all the previous generations was not – inside out!

Good job.

• buy proton last on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:30 pm

WOW!!! LOOKS BOLD N MEAN…I LOIKEEEE!!! GO TO HELL WITH THE PATHETIC LOOKING T&H SUVs….DAH LA UGLY….OVERPRICED PLK TU!!!!

• GreenWave on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Better looking than previous model.. :)

• Nice looking SUV and potential upgrade for my wife’s Livina. Think is better deal to buy this new SUV comparing T Estima (2008) – i gathered would around the same price range of $170k-$190k when launch in Malaysia?

Korean Car comes a long way…they are slowly eating into T&H market share…The only thing I am not sure is the maintenace of this new generation cars, part availability. Nevertheless, have not heard any complaints from my friends who drives Sonata & Forte who have been driven for years (after all there was warranty of 5 years).

As current owner of T, I was saddened by late poor quality which have several recalls. I was one of the batch being called for inspection and possible replacement….The QC is no longer champion in the market.

My current observation on the cars on the road prompted me to take serious look on Koreans..A survey in my condo compound showing a tie of quantity of Vios Vs Forte..well it may means nothing but good point to ponder….If T&H is still so good, isn’t it should out numbered Forte ?

As for RV, I am buying a vechile which I will enjoy for 6-9 years. Hence,personally I do not think much difference to T&H.

Good job Hyundai and look forward the launch in Malaysia…..Heard would be on 1H 2013. Hope Anthony will share more insight soon…..

• Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:49 am

6 months later, the Estima is still worth around the same at RM170k.

This kimchi will be lucky if someone buys it off at RM110k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • dugong on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:48 am

How do you know the future? If you know maybe you can give me the toto jackpot winning number.
        And who the heck changes car every 6 mths? You think changing underwear ah ?
        On average ppl change cars between 5-7 yrs. So in the end the RV will not be much of a difference. Life is short, so would you pay so much and suffer for 5 yrs driving an empty junk for the sake of RV?
        Time is priceless in which money cannot buy. Ask the old man say 80 yrs old and almost dying already, he would probably pay any amount of money just to live another 5 yrs.

• dugong on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:53 am

Funny you advice ppl to be prudent and buy a car with good RV but on the other hand you ask ppl to sell their cars in 6 mths. You must be retarded. NO car can get good RV if sold in 6 mths. You will easily lose 15-20%.

• michelle on Jan 22, 2013 at 7:37 am

when will be launch in malaysia

• Funny how the kimchi’s of this world are making better cars, some are already world class while tata came from being obscure to making sufficient profits from tata automotive sales to buy over Landrovers and Jags of this world…as M’sians, we have nothing to be proud of in Proton…I mean comparing Preve torque and Nm with a world reknown car in a Santa Fe.

• Wow what a beauty..

• burberry brit edt 50ml on Nov 27, 2015 at 10:39 am

Two years ago, it has not been optimistic about the buy, but made him look like ah! After receiving really not disappointed, what a great, express soon, back to feeling good, next time come, the whole five minutes, Wenwen oh well, next time you touch this bag really nice. Pink color, very nice. With a light-colored, dark clothes are very nice. With the same picture. Both inside and outside the skin. Pink dirty easily send clean cream, very caring and attentive. Thanks. This package was well received.
    burberry brit edt 50ml http://www.thisico.vn/LoveQuantify.asp?7777772e7468697369636f2e766e2c62792c31363039.htm

• Jason Lim on Dec 10, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Will Hyundai Malaysia take in the Santa Fe 2.0 turbo highbird?