Singaporean Peter Lim to build RM3b Johor race track

Reports have emerged from across the Causeway that Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim is into a RM3 billion (S$1.2 billion) race track project in Johor’s Iskandar region. The car enthusiast tycoon will partner the Johor royal family and Malaysian state investment firm Khazanah Nasional in the circuit project.

Singapore daily The Straits Times says that the 100-hectare site is just 10 to 15 minutes from the Second Link. Said to be situated to the left of a rest stop after the Malaysian checkpoint, the proposed 4 to 4.5km race track will be able to host GT, go-kart and motorcycle races.

To be certified by FIA, the track will be able to host all kinds of racing outside of single-seat class races. Sources say that “Motorsports City” will be ready in 2015 or 2016.

Well-known duo Hermann Tilke and Clive Bowen have been named as possible designers of the track, which will feature a 1.2 to 1.5 km stretch where cars can top out at 300 km/h, among other things.

The proposed project will also boast resort homes, a car museum, an advanced driving school, workshops, a warehouse and a go-kart factory. A bonded area will provide the rich a place to store their tax-free cars, including left-hand drive models. Sources from Khazanah say that the project is still in the discussion stage.

We reckon that this proposed race track won’t lack business due to its close proximity to Singapore. There are plenty of supercars residing in the island state unable to stretch their legs, and many of them are brought all the way to Sepang for the occssional exercise. A track at their doorstep with good and well-maintained facilities should be a popular playground for the rich. It would be a good location for car launches, too.

The name sounds familiar? Peter Lim, 59, is the eighth richest man in Singapore according to Forbes, has a stake in McLaren and sits on the board of the British supercar maker and F1 contender.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• confused on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Herman Tilke? Nooooooo!!!!!

Get rid of the man when designing new circuits. His inventions are mere copy-and-paste from other race tracks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Joe Kinnear on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Wooooorrrdd! Tilke Trash Tracks can go to hell. Build a track that’s exciting like Batu3. F1 is already full of these crap dude’s tracks. Let’s not add another.

• Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:40 am

Why we need Singaporeans? Simple. Singaporeans got more brains than Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • no F1 races?

• Don’t just built any 4.5 km track .
    Built it like the nordschlelife , with some elevation and incorperate farmous corners from around the world like the Laguna Seca’s corkscrew or Spa-Francorchamps Raidillon. Oh and built a hotel around a sharp 180deg hairpin like Monaco’s hairpin.
    And most importantly , let normal boy racer or anybody with a license pay a respectable amount to lapped it: like the green hell itself. This will keep all racer-wannabe satisfied and off the street. furthermore ,grooming local sing or Mal talents.
    Whatever is it, if successful , it will be a heaven for car enthusiast like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • 11Kaki on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:39 pm

partner with Johor Royal family = sure can easily gao dim many things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Lulipek on Dec 03, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Just remember not to win any race against the johor royal family or else you will get beaten to DEATH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • mobilespeed on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:48 pm

say goodbye to Pasir Gudang circuit. It will confront the same fate as BTSC. There goes another ‘playground’ for small budget racers like us.

• Abdullah on Dec 03, 2012 at 12:54 pm

It is for the rich and famous only.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:04 pm

yes please…but no tilke pls….his track is like….zzzzzzzz to watch race on tv…

• shawal on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:05 pm

expect to the ‘WWW 1’ doing circles there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • danedz on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:05 pm

What will happen to Pasir Gudang race track?I think not necessary to have another race track at this moment unless something different like Nurburgring or Isle of Man racing circuit type…

• MerryGoRound on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:46 pm

This is a waste of money to fulfill someone’s ego and nothing but a “white elephant”. If this is a private project by Mr Lim I welcome it, but if it involved Khazanah, a big NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Joe Radzif on Dec 03, 2012 at 1:48 pm

abis la…
    huhuhu
    satu satu kena makan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • vee-oh on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:10 pm

OK lor, those who have budgets for weekend circuit lap certainly welcome this project…maybe those Viva with neon green wheels and rm60 exhaust will blast all Lambos & Ferraris at this newly superior designed circuit

• Khazanah…WHY!!! build a toll highway in Sarawak and Sabah and you will get a sure return for your investment. At least that will benefit the rakyat. not just the rich. The G depends on their vote, so give them what they deserve while they still like you.

• Agreed and since Sarawak is a large area, while you are at it, make it and autobahn style road with special “no-limit” stretch, just to spice things up.

• sam loo to peter lim

No no why open racetrack? No RV one!
    open toyota showroom better!

• dugong on Dec 03, 2012 at 8:04 pm

But Peter Lim is the billionaire. I’m sure he’s a million times smarter than Sam Loo financially!!
      Sam is only “Dreaming” of becoming millionaire.

• Lol.. why Peter Lim want to open Toyota showroom when he can open Mclaren showroom. Oh yea, Uncle Sam might say Mclaren low resale value, buy 1 at 90% discount 6 months later (like he always say).

How I wish Mclarens are at 90% discount 6 months later, I would love to own 1 of those MP4C. :D

• this the reason why i hate so much about government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • this the reason why i hate government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • 4G63T DSM on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Lol.

Mukhriz will be lobbying hard to stop that.

Find and dandy…as long as its not Tilke that is designing it.

• It makes sense to build Motorsport City in JB – first of all, it’s proximity to Singapore makes it viable investment. A lot of rich Singaporeans have fast car which is rendered useless in the small republic as they can’t speed much without being caught on camera. Secondly, Peter Lim himself has collection of exotic cars which he can use personally in the race track.
    From business point of view, he can target both Malaysian and Singaporean.. Hold race events while attracting sponsors from both countries.
    How many of you know that he’s connected to Robert Kwok via Wilmar ie. The largest palm oil trading company in the world based in Singapore?

• DArkerMarker on Dec 03, 2012 at 6:44 pm

so, what the REALLY rakyat gets? other than cronies getting a cut from this project…

• skyjuice on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:35 pm

” to store their tax-free cars”
    means we’ll be able to buy M3 at cheaper price but can only be used in this track? sound wonderful..

• 4g63t dsm on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:12 pm

You can already do that. Buy a car and declare it as a track car.

• Gavin on Dec 03, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Smart move,

• Tis guy really have too much of money in his hand…

• Come on…Singaporean wanna invest (waste) money in our Bolehland, we should be happy what!

• bad move, khazanah!
    you will be left with the wooden spoon after all of them flip.
    why this?

• Painter on Dec 03, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Gone are the days when we treat Singapore as archrival. Now we work together to achieve a common goal.

• zainal abidin on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:28 am

And yet again we see foreigners buying and owning land and properties in JB (and Malaysia as a whole).

Really,what does it take to be as super super rich as these guys?

• i bet the stupid cronies will surely be interested. esp Dr. M son. lol.. eh, BN let u build in Malaysia without asking u to build any Mosque or any leisure facility for the royal families? lucky dude.. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • speaking the truth oso kena thumb down. stupid malaysian who cant accept reality. no wonder always going backward.

• Bryan on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:25 am

Track project idea is fantastic. However, hiring Tilke? What in the world is Perter Lim thinking. Characterless, dull circuits is his forte.

• mayonis on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:14 pm

very good idea. build race track at Jb. so all super rich singaporean and malaysian can test their car at this circuit rather than at plus highway.

• scratching head on Dec 04, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Track at Shah Alam or surrounding areas please. Batu Tiga replacement needed urgently…Sepang is too far away from civilisation and mostly for the well heeled

• In my opinion, it is a good move since it will bring more money into our country and will open up many other jobs related to motoring industry. Would also love to see many local people able to repair or service high performance cars ;)

If the rich people are willing to spend their money in the new circuit, why not we give them a good service and we can earn something so that we can bring food to our family .. :)

• We also have Pasir Gudang circuit. How many race track you want to build? Invest in other way. Sure, the track will benefits only for they people. lah.