BMW 3-Series GT spied during commercial shoot

The 3-Series hatchback is back! These are incredibly clear spyshots of the upcoming BMW 3-Series Gran Turismo, the younger brother to the F07 5 GT. Our European spy photographer managed to snap these while the car was being photographed for promotional purposes.

The car you see above has a ‘Line’ badge on the front fender, and by the looks of the satin aluminium treatment on various parts of the car as well as the brown-ish paint we’re assuming this is a 3-Series GT done up as a Modern Line. Something new that we’ve never seen on the current crop of BMWs is a little boomerang shaped vent aft of the front wheels.

The other car we see here in this spy photo set is an M-Sport version of the 3-Series GT. In place of the Line badging on the front fender is a tiny little M badge, and the car also has noticeably larger disc brakes compared to the Modern Line car, complete with big blue calipers.

The front end styling is pretty similar to that of the regular F30 M Sport. It’s one of the most edgy we’ve seen on an M-Sport car in this current generation, a look typically reserved for full fledged M cars, but we know this is probably an M-Sport as the front bumper main air intake is wider at the top and narrower at the bottom, a signature of M Sport rather than full M which is the other way around – wide at the bottom and narrower at the top.

If the formula that BMW used with the 5-Series GT is to be followed, the 3-Series GT is likely going to have a longer wheelbase than the regular 3-Series Sedan/Touring model, probably something like the long wheelbase 3-Series that’s on sale in China.

The rear hatch will also have a dual-opening. The short deck of the boot lid also seems to be able to be raised – this may very well be some kind of integrated retractable rear spoiler like what the MINI Coupe has – for active aerodynamics.

What do you think – will a car like the BMW 3-Series GT sell in Malaysia?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hello on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:12 am

hunchback of notre dame version? Proper touring anytime!

• Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:31 am

This car looks so ugly. Nothing like the beauty of a Toyota or a Hyundai. Germans don’t know how to design anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
      • OMG…agreed. Small head, big butt.

• Beauty of Toyota ? this car is ugly but does not mean all BMW or German cars r ugly ! actually this car is better looking than any Toyotas…

• Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:15 am

Fake person again

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:57 pm

The sedan is cantiq, it is from German.

• Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Aiyoh, another impersonator

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • kingston on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:21 am

Another pointless design,who buys such an pointless design?I dont see anything wrong with the touring?This is ugly..Why cant BMW bring back the cars that deserve the iconic BMW badge?M1,2002 tii,3.0 CSL,or the 8 series,bring back the legends BMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • hasan on Dec 04, 2012 at 2:00 am

haha awkward lines evrywhere. the second picture in silver paint looks exactly like Sylphy xD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Roger Tan on Dec 04, 2012 at 2:52 am

Seems chunky at the rear end

A different take as compared to Audi’s SportBack?

• 4g63t dsm on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:07 am

Looks ungainly.

Unlike the 5 GT with its massive rear legroom and it being sold heavily discounted overseas , even then it wasnt popular. this 3 GT just looks weird.

• Vader on Dec 04, 2012 at 7:32 am

BMW itself said that 5-seies GT is a failure and make a wrong decision on it.. now build 3-series GT some more?

• Jolly_idiot on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:55 am

Sedan is good enough. Why they come out with GT?

• CARtoon on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:59 am

Looks like the GT wasnt a flop after all with this new lil brother joining the line up. At least something is consistent though. Plain ugly.

• tricycle on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:03 am

It is fugly design, but I think the target market is somewhat different, not really for styling but more emphasize on space and easy in-out as well.

Really hate the exterior design.

• Jaybond on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:05 am

Just like the 5 series GT, ugly & hideous!!

• Ha Gnih on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:06 am

I won’t actually waste my money on this one or even the 5. Hrmmmm……running out of design ideas ???

• pypon on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:08 am

Since the 5-Series GT sales have been pretty dissappointing for BMW it is a bit odd that they’d come out with this odd-ball design for 3 series. However, could the ungainly rear end be hiding a stack of batteries similiar to the big rear ends of the Honda Insight and Toyota Prius? The current 3 series active hybrids are “performance hybrids” and it’s about time that BMW comes out with proper hybrid versions of their best-selling 3 series line.

• Pumpkins on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:28 am

Jangan perasan lah BMW also copy Gen2 design

BMW will make huge loss failure with these fastback design just like 5-series GT, Honda Crosstour, Protong Gen2 etc

BMW, Honda also sama-sama bodoh macam Protong…”Fools don’t differ” as the saying goes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Ononimos on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:30 pm

You are the smartest on earth. You should start a car manufacturing company under your name as it’s brand. A company which could always make a right and good decision. Sure sell lah your product.

• Ha Gnih on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:05 pm

I wonder how amusing it would be to have car brand name called Pumpkins. LoL

• nospacing on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:35 am

Landedfinallyverynicelongfreakingbmwomg

• Vodka on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:48 am

The shape reminds me of a cockroach or some kinda bug. Very odd design and hope it looks better in the flesh.

• C’mon BMW.. why the heck do you come out so many awkward designs? so how much will it sell? consider being priced similar with 5 series and 5 GT. This monster will sell at north of RM488k after 335i. who the heck would buy? i rather BMW Malaysia offer F30 touring 328i. awesome machine.

• OMG what is this ugly shit!

• nabill on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:27 am

its not as ugly and hidious as the 5GT….why on earth bmw make this model anyway…nobody asked for it thn y bother??

• junaidi on Dec 04, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Only god knows what they are thinking

• Ugly, period!!

• They try to emulate A5 sportback. But, A5 is far better than this.

• ok computer on Dec 04, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Sure got recond for this model soon :)

• paultan has own euro spy photographer…thats a better news than the bmw 3 series GT ^^

• lappy on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:26 pm

UGLYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

• PauKaya on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:06 pm

bmw…what the f

• when honda or toyota design is ugly, ppl shout there and here…but the fact when this bmw is ugly, ppl say its beauty..weird or not ? just because its bmw so no matter how this 3series looks..ppl still will say its beauty.just because its bmw~ and don say im t&h fan..i own bmw

• cokia on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:39 pm

for family purpose, I rather buy the real touring than a GT. btw, nice front but ugly side profile towards the back.