Thai Motor Expo – Hyundai Elantra gives you wings!

Ah, now this is more like it, when it comes to wings, that is. Danny’s currently off on an overseas assignment, but good lad that he is, he’s left us with a decent grab of photos of a Hyundai Elantra – all dressed up for the occasion – from the Thai Motor Expo.

Copious amounts of plastic (or fibreglass), bling wheels and yes, a trick add-on rear wing that’s definitely bound to get the Bengs all warm and fuzzy – none of the fancy-schmancy pretty stuff like that in the previous post.

Yes, this has machismo slapped all over it, and it’s just the sort of thing to transform a plain ol’ sedan into a look-fast mobile. That wing alone should be worth 20 additional ponies…

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sam loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:53 pm

better get hilux because all i need is high RV.

Poor uncle here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 70
    • obviously and need not to say, u behave like an uncle… haha ~ or maybe u are car player who always change car but not really financial sound so that RV is very important to u to make u loss lesser…
      so how many years u will sell a car? 3? 5? 7?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:28 pm

I must be a celeb now. So many impoersonators

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:40 am

I am the ori Sam Loo driving a camry which always smoked by proton cars during cornering…so sad. I want to sell it and buy a super bike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
        • Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:15 am

I AM the REAL Sam from the Loo and since I care about RV so much, I don’t drive a car. I drive a Nissan Sunny, when I intend to sell it, the RV will shoot up and I will get richer by few ringgits.

Not like this piece of ‘smiley rotten cabbage’ Korean crap, the RV will be less then 50% once it got out of the showroom. My ‘rotten raw fish with sticky rice’ is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • you and your RVs.. *sigh*

anyway, nice looking car, but for me the spoiler is too much. sorry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Alpha on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:54 pm

“The wing alone should be worth 20 additional ponies” – Anthony’s sarcasm at its best. Hehe. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • spyshotX on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:50 pm

I think Anthony forgot to mention it worth the PRICE of 20 ponies.. not their POWER d^_^b

• Sorry Kimchi fan
    Dislike all you want, but I personally think it’s ruined and ruined badly. Hideous rim, Hideous front bumper and that Stupid Ah Beng Wing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
  • alytheman on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Hyundai and KIA.. tak laku di Thailand!! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
  • Love the current forte with bodykit but this thing looks awfully terrible..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Korean Fans on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Seriously? How much lamer can u get? Poor Korean, u need help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • 1 Malaysia on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:50 pm

wow Elantra now comes with tempat sidai kain..
    awesome good job :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Kaninabei on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Useless engine. Cannot tahan extreme heat. Any battery also cannot tahan the heat in the engine. Shorter battery life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Korean cars are catching up Japanese cars and soon will be a head of them… just like the electrical industries (e.g. samsung vs sony) and even artist..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • You may be right though not artist, different people have different taste to music, a success of an artist is not the records they sell, but the songs they sing.
      But you choose a bad moment to say this, looking at the car above, this is not one of their proudest moments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • zodiak on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm

VINZ…you are a professor :)
      Japs car sales are already down..they just pretend don’t know and scared hahaaha

• tokmoh on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Ingatkan red bull powered hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • beatnik on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Hmm..

mmm..

BWAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA!

The wing is epic fail!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • quite sure that this shouldn’t be the Korean’s fault. Should be the silly Hyundai distributor at Thai trying to customize the car by Ah Beng it.

Poor Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • dennis on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:13 pm

so is this better than the neo r3?

• the car can go faster?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • cheesy ah beng inspired wing and rims

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • personal point of view… i think this looks really stupid….

• ae101 on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:40 pm

bengish kaw kaw

• protonsucks on Dec 04, 2012 at 11:43 pm

woo hoo!! awesome, i can now hang my clothes

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:39 am

Actually, the wings would be a good place to hang an empty can of engine oil because you will need to sell it using the roadside method for such a cold door car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Whynot on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:55 am

Is over do. I think just spray paint different curve strip colors will do fine. Basic white is not good on this car. Try shades and a striking combination metallic colors will even look better!

• Hadi75 on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:22 am

Fugly….just shoot the guy that gave hyundai thailand this stupid idea of putting a large wing on their car…….

• slimershine on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:53 am

this must be a major eye sore to sam loo

• _xXx_ on Dec 05, 2012 at 5:22 am

alamak the wing…what a mismatch!!

• i’ll take it over P1 or P2 if I have to choose between the Ps or K. ( minus the GT wing of course, reminds me of the wiralutions )

• sam loo junior on Dec 05, 2012 at 8:38 am

this hyundai will have high RV, because its sales so low, hyundai will cease production, and it becomes collectible items… ahhahahaha

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Yeah. Do what Lambo and Ferrari did. Limit the supply and the demand to supply ratio will skyrocket :)

But, this is kimchi wor, 6 months later oledi like Proton, with mice all over the dashboard

• dream on on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:17 am

AH BENG!!

• guest on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:34 am

Well, this car is a display car in Thailand. They’re just making it look like something that will appeal to the local crowd. Thai’s love to mod their car into something ah beng’ish. Just look at the majority of the Vios’ there and you’ll know that I mean. Big exhaust and oversized GT wing seems to be their thing.

• Countryman on Dec 05, 2012 at 10:57 am

what an ugly spoiler… ruin the entire design of the car… yucks…!!!

• Chong on Dec 05, 2012 at 11:20 am

fugly!

• don like the spoiler…not match with it

• Datuk Jack. on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:17 pm

without the spoiler, its awesome… the spoiler is totally spoiled..

• gOOsh on Dec 05, 2012 at 12:31 pm

the wing remember me Wira SE… :)
    so, Elantra copy Wira SE??? nnaaahhh…

• ah beng on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:14 pm

now some ah beng drive bmw d lah even lamborghini

• sam loo on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:44 pm

i thought this was elantra gt wing bashing thread but somehow the comments was all about me

• sam loo junior on Dec 05, 2012 at 3:32 pm

my friend bought a new sonata in 2010, he sold it to used car deal at rm80k; another friend bought a new optima in 2011, he sold it to used car deal at rm95k… Can you say “Hilux” !!!!! hahahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:26 am

Aiyoh, I would have made RM40k from these 2 deals, next time call me lar

• More low and take out the spoiler. It will be awesome!

• sam loose on Dec 05, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Just like those otr civic and vios..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Words of today:

1. Ah Beng : referring to idiotic make over to a car
    2. “Tempat sidai kain” or “goal post” wing : referring to “out of this world” wing at the back of the car…

I like paultan.org… :)

• redxdevil on Dec 05, 2012 at 4:43 pm

vios and myvi look better than this. lol

• Thank god Paultan.org got MEH button…
    MEHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

• hafiz arsyad on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:30 am

thailand pun sekarang dah ada ahbeng. lol