Johor race track confirmed, part of Motorsports City

It’s a go for the new race track project in Johor – reports confirm that a JV agreement has been inked between Singaporean company FASTrack Autosports and UEM Land for the development of Motorsports City in Gerbang Nusajaya.

FASTrack Autosports – majority-owned by Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim, in partnership with the Johor Royal Family – will own 70% of the JV, with UEM Land holding the remaining stake.

The RM3.5 billion project, located just 10 to 15 minutes from the Second Link at Tuas, will cover 270 acres. Besides the track, which will be a 4.5 km-long Grade 2 GT double loop circuit, there will also be a 1.2 km go-kart track on site.

Well-known duo Hermann Tilke and Clive Bowen have been named as possible designers of the track, which will feature a 1.2 to 1.5 km stretch where cars can top out at 300 km/h. When completed, the track will be the third permanent circuit in the country after Sepang International Circuit and the J Circuit at Pasir Gudang.

The hub will also incorporate showrooms, garages, resort homes, workshops, a driver training school as well as entertainment outlets – the 8.5 million sq ft of gross floor area will be able to accomodate corporate events, conferences and motoring exhibitions.

It is expected that groundwork will begin in three to six months, with Phase 1 of the project expected to be completed in around two and a half years. The target is to get Motorsports City operational by 2016, according to its developers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Now that’s what I called efficient!!
    Just like Nike’s tagline – just do it!
    With that, I expect Johor to be growing in fast pace.. Motorsport City in tandem with family oriented park such as Legoland and Hello Kitty city.. Kudos to Peter Lim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • bystander on Dec 05, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Remember the Monsoon Cup? Not exactly something for the rakyat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • obama on Dec 05, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Does Malaysia really need that much of circuit? How many rakyat will be benefited from this project?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • Yes they certainly do. And grade 2 level circuits like this rather than expensive ‘made just for F1’ circuits like Sepang

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:24 am

This one is designed for rich foreigners to release their adrenalin

• if its 100% private project its both thumbs up for me. like the monsoon cup it will attract tourist that means money comes in. Not everything needs to be for the “rakyat” i dont think US donates any money to the people from the races in laguna seca nor do germany from hockeinheim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • MoFaz on Dec 05, 2012 at 8:07 pm

says who? at the very least, it will help local economy, by bringing more tourist to spend there. more jobs for johoreans too. monsoon cup is just a sport event at sea, no billions to develop infrastructure in this scale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • it should help our economies. The rapid growth of Singapore and the lack of space should[And I say should] drive investors to iskandar, due to the close proximity to Singapore and boost the economic activities in that region.

Even with the race track is to be reserve for the Rich , the rakyat will still benefit from the economic boom at the very least. And the project largely back by a private investors should also means that the project should be on track and on target.

• will it be F1-compliant? i remember reading in your first article on it that it’s gonna be suitable for everything except single-seater class. but Reuters/Eurosport reported it’s gonna be for F1.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/formula-1-billionaire-plans-new-malaysian-f1-circuit-125025693.html

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 05, 2012 at 8:37 pm

I read that too, but the reports carrying more detailed info states that it is to be an “everything except single-seater” styled track.

• Bujang Lapuk on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:46 am

FIA Grade 2 apparently Udon. Good for F1 testing, and for marketing purposes.

• albag on Dec 05, 2012 at 7:13 pm

lucky johoreans… hope the criminal issues are no longer existed there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • DArkerMarker on Dec 05, 2012 at 7:20 pm

monsoon cup for the rich and famous. Rakyat just sit at the side and cheer…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Do you think the ‘rich and famous’ are the ones that will make up the workforce that will build this project. THINK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • 3 to 6 months begin…..that’s kinda fast for a Malaysian project[LOL]

But with Hermann Tilke and Clive Bowen on the possible designer list, don’t know weather the track will have an interesting layout. Don’t know much about Bowen, but Tilke track is quite boring.

I envision a track something like Imola, Spa-Francorchamps or Laguna Seca. with some elevation and tricky fast-than-slow corner. Something like the latter corkscrew or The Green Hell’s Arembeg. It’s stated there’s going to be a resort, so built it around a hairpin like Monaco’s.

Most importantly make sure it’s not a Millionaire-only playground. Nordschleife’s entry fee is still reasonable for the average Jerry, and is a gathering spot for all automotive junkies from all classes.

• Bujang Lapuk on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:34 am

I’m seriously hoping for sometihng Nordschleife-esque, something to really blow the motorsports world away. Entry fees can’t be too cheap unfortunately, because otherwise, it may end up just like the Nurburgring. Bankrupt.

• tax payer’s money supports the sultan who then build some white elephant so that a few cronies can be richer
    instead of spending money to make Johor a safer place to live
    malaysia memang boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • masamuaboleh on Dec 05, 2012 at 9:57 pm

malasia samua bole…berlagak, ala gaya, takla rupa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Have you heard of the Iskandar Region and what its all about especially its economic impact??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • azrai on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:37 am

So this is where Sultan Ibrahim will put his entire fleet of cars collection (including since his great great grandfther’s one) in a new museum as he mentioned before during COTY at Matrade last month. Hopefully it will not end up like those Mersing Resort big planned JV.

• dongrik on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:49 am

C’mon guys, its a good news for us in Johor as I’m working for UemLand and we need projects to give us jobs and we are not ‘rich and famous’ for sure…

• I agree. It’s good for Johor and the country ultimately. Anything that creates jobs and commercial opportunities are good. Unfortunately most Malaysians are too myopic and negative to see the the glass as ‘half-full’

• Bujang Lapuk on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:35 am

In general, Malaysians tend to subscribe to populist views. Not surprising then

• sean ZX10 on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:18 am

gadai semua to singaporeans….hahaha…probably those supercars..lambo, ferrari, aston etc with KL and selangor plate number I am seeing all this while are rentals. Maybe Malaysian billionaires are just hoax. isnt it?

• firdaus on Dec 10, 2012 at 7:53 am

Well done johor..great project.really looking forward for dis.hope not cancel like mersing laguna project..

• whats wrong with dis project guys??i look its very good for johorean.Nowadays anything related to sultan and gov all give -ve feedback..

• Rocky on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:38 am

i know this project for long time and we are top leading manufaturer for the metal bleacher in China,We have done Singapore F1 and Korea F1.
    I wonder if we have chance to get this project.