BMW Concept 4-Series Coupe F32 previewed!

It’s been rumoured for a long time, but now it’s official – the BMW 3-Series Coupe no longer exists – in it’s place is a new model called the BMW 4-Series Coupe. A long line of 2-door 3-Series Coupes have now ended – a total of 5 generations since the first E21 3-er.

In fact, if you think about it the 3-Series actually began as a 2-door only model with the E21, and only added a sedan body with the E30. This rename exercise is in line with the coupe counterpart to 5-er being the 6 Series. The 1-er Coupe is also said to be planned to be eventually renamed to the 2-Series with the next generation, but that’s a story for another day. Today we’re looking at the new 4-er.

The new F32 4-Series is built on the 3-Series platform, and shares the F30’s 2,810mm wheelbase, which is about 50mm longer than the E92. Front track is now 1,545mm which is 45mm wider than before, and rear track has been widened by 80mm – it’s now 1,593mm. At 1,826 mm wide, the BMW Concept 4 Series Coupe is 44 mm broader than its predecessor, its roof line is 16 mm lower (1,362 mm) and it is also longer (4,641 mm).

This concept is done in a paintjob called Liquid Metal Silver. We wonder how much of the looks will reach the production version, as from what we’ve seen in the past the BMW Concept Gran Coupe didn’t exactly translate 100% into the BMW 6-Series Gran Coupe. There’s lots of nice chrome and satin detailing in just the right amount, and the huge gaping intakes on the front bumper look absolutely menacing.

New to the BMW design language are the new “Air Breather” vents, which BMW says are aerodynamically functional apertures behind the front wheels. We first saw this on the spy photos of the BMW 3-Series Gran Turismo that we featured earlier this week. It works in tandem with the Air Curtain to ensure reduction in drag around the wheels.

The full-LED headlights are a hexagonal, techno-looking take on the customary BMW twin circular design. The corona rings extend as a optical fibre light bar into the kidney grilles, which also have exposed sides like the F30’s. This helps the front end look broader.

The interior is similar to the F30 3-Series. For this concept, BMW Individual has lent their hand in giving the interior surfaces a special touch. The colour scheme you see here is two-tone Black and Schiaparelli Brown trim. This exclusive BMW Individual trim uses sustainably tanned leather. The wood trim is called Natural Chestnut.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the Concept 4-Series.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I am in love…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • I love how German carmakers are challenging and rivalling each other ‘healthily’. The previous generation BMW M3 E90 Sedan is the first ever 4-door M3, built to rival the Audi RS4 at that time. Then Mercedes willing to build 2-door C-Class with their C63 AMG Coupe to rival the M3 Coupe. Now the looks-bigger 4-Series surely built to rival the current C63 AMG Coupe.

• Sprinter on Dec 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm

There have been 4-door M3 since the e36 version. please correct me if iam wrong.

• Anon Kneemas on Dec 10, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Yep E36 and then hiatus for the E46 but back for the E90 and then on to the F30.

• i have a feeling the production model will be very much similar to the concept.

damm BMW just make this the production model

• Hasan on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:17 am

Mmm looking good. Long, wide and low. Cant be any perfect. Cant wait to see this gem in full metal. The profile view is just amazing.

• KillBox1Alpha on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:32 am

I’m no BMW fan..my allegiance is more to AUDI, but I will definitely say this is one heck of a looker….the designers nailed it on this….

Will sell loads here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • droll on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:03 am

what’s that on the A-pillar? looks like someone with chocolate on their dirty hands rubbed the hands across the pillar….

• richyoung on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:09 am

interior color scheme is suitable for older people, not for youngsters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • if this is how the standard coupe looks like, the M version is going to be so menacing especially with the wide body! best looking bmw in decades!

• Josh Ling on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:12 am

i thought 4-series is already “dead” considered how “unlucky” the number 4 is to chinese? china being the world’s biggest car market, that’s something to consider about.

but anyway, a gorgeous looking car is always a welcome to any car manufacturer, and this car is definitely a sexy babe!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • crank on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:32 pm

I wish they bring back the 8 series.

• chinese has their own bmw plant, and they models that the rest of the world doest such as 3 series long wheel base edition, in china the 4 series will probably be call 3A series lol

• azrul on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:30 am

wow !

• kowreck on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:47 am

so, theres gonna be a M4 and a M3?

• shawal on Dec 06, 2012 at 9:15 am

i alwiz tot dt e92 wuz a masterpiece , this made it obsolete

• tricycle on Dec 06, 2012 at 9:22 am

luckily it is just a concept. the front and rear bumper are ugly, they need to change that to more subtle design. other than that, it looks great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • kereta lembu on Dec 06, 2012 at 9:24 am

Looks like a sweet ride. However, I’m not a big fan of the rims and interior colour which I’m sure will be different when its put into production. Everything else is as good as it gets. The M4 version should be nothing less than spectacular! Can’t wait to see that!

• Beautiful side profile. A handsome looking coupe

• Painter on Dec 06, 2012 at 10:08 am

Just wondering how is 3rd-party bodykit manufacturers going to ruin the beautiful look on this new 3-er. Just like how they destroy the look of ferraris and lamborghinis.

• crank on Dec 06, 2012 at 10:52 am

My jaw just dropped!!! =DDDDD

• This design tapao the Merc coupe…

• superman on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:50 am

Fantastic looks, I love it. looks so agrassive. even stand still looks fast. BMW = Best Machine in the Wold.

• Wow
    So will the entry level make it to Malaysia soon??
    Bet the guys with big pockets won’t mind getting it soon

• dugong on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Very very nice design indeed!! kudos to BMW! hope the real production will be at least 95% like this concept. Wonder when will it arrive.

On a side note, I always found it strange that the coupe version is generally larger/longer than the sedan but has less interior space than the sedan, especially the rear seats. Where has all those extra dimensions gone to?

• skypirate on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:55 pm

coupe has less interior space than sedan mainly due to the low roofline of the coupe, therefore limiting how much actual space for the rear seats.

• Anon Kneemas on Dec 10, 2012 at 11:32 pm

In the grand tradition, grand touring coupes (rwd especially) follow a more cab-backwards design with low roof line and long front proportions.

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Cantiq.
    Mercedes, work harder ya.

• Not sure of the rear,, wish the rear lights could slope up more like the 6 series
    But otherwise this is a seriously handsome car. The interior is still the best design of all the 3 series gen . But why do I missed the 3 series coupe name .
    Nevertheless I am still scouting for an original E30 because that is still the most distilled and what I consider the best….. Ta

• alldisc on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:38 pm

finally, after 10 years of waiting… BMW came up with the 4 series after much promoting about it.

they said… the odd number are 4 door sedans while the even numbers would be for 2 doors.

just like 3,5,7 and 6 and 8 series of the 90s.

now we have 4.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:40 pm

I seriously hate the idea that they depart this from the 3 series, becomes 4 series. No tradition of the 3 series anymore.

• Shaun on Dec 06, 2012 at 6:32 pm

This car will fly off the shelves!! I’m saving up for this babeh! Don’t give a crap if it’s 4 or not…

• scratching head on Dec 06, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Staring at it for don’t know how long.. ignoring incoming calls.. (sigh)

• smile22 on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Seriously this car motivates you to work extra hard to own it. Really fierce looking & seducing enuf

• the rear end of the 3 series coupe and convertible has always been the best rear end design in the world..and it all started with the e36 coupe/convertible (sorry not e21 or e30)..this one continues the tradition..

• Rakyat on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:35 am

Looks better than any kia or hyundai.

• Rakyat on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:37 am

Better than preve!

• amzrable on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Whoa. You really know how to make a comparison, don’t you?

• Rakyat on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:39 am

Design and engineering go together unlike kimchi and sushi with just looks.

• Come on… how can u compare it with kimchi and sushi? This one how much… kimchi and sushi how much. Then, Lamborghini has better design and engineering compare with this one…. Sigh

• Josh Ling on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:27 am

Just wondering if they will come up with 4-Series Gran Coupe, just like how they did with 6-Series. If yes, then we will probably see yet another gorgeous car from BMW!!

• Bayang Putih on Dec 07, 2012 at 1:26 pm

BMW 428i M Sport Package, My ideal car. I want you!

• Shanne Gooi on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:32 pm

As much as I am a fan of BMW, maintenance cost these days have escalated and while it is getting better, it might just get out of control. Wondering if best to pursue a Japanese range instead such as a 2008-2010 Nissan GTR or wait and see if the Koreans come out with something sporty.

• Vios Rules on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:14 pm

You should get the Vios TRD. Can smoke this BMW anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • aiyo if you cannot afford maintenance of a road car such as bmw than you sure as hell cant afford a GTR, a friend of mine who owns a GTR said that it cost more than a porsche 911 turbo to maintain.

• Sprinter on Dec 10, 2012 at 12:26 pm

wrong comparisons my friend, the first is a supercar and the other is just Sh*t. The Beemer however is a sportscar with style.

• PauKaya on Dec 08, 2012 at 1:24 am

dayummm

• So No more 3 series coupe? Ok…