Fourth-gen Subaru Forester coming to Malaysia in 2013 – new 2.0 direct-injection turbo boxer, 280 PS

Motor Image, distributor of Subaru vehicles in 10 Asian countries including Malaysia, gave the fourth-generation Subaru Forester its regional launch here in Taiwan yesterday.

The new Subaru Forester made its world debut just last week at the LA Auto Show, so the fact that this event happened so soon after shows both the importance of Asian markets to Fuji Heavy Industries, as well as Motor Image’s clout.

Yes, you’re looking at a new Forester, not a facelift. This fourth-gen SUV might not look worlds apart from its predecessor, retaining familiar proportions and a traditional SUV shape (as opposed to today’s crossovers), but it is all-new, with new drivetrains, larger dimensions and more features than before.

Two variants were shown in Taipei, one with a 2.0 litre naturally aspirated boxer engine (2.0i) and one moved by a new 2.0 litre direct-injection turbocharged “DIT” boxer (2.0XT).

The former is the same 150 PS/196 Nm FB series NA unit powering the CKD Subaru XV, while the FA20 DIT engine makes a strong 280 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,600 rpm. The latter version is the one coming to Malaysia.

Both flat-four motors are paired to Subaru’s Lineartronic CVT gearbox with manual mode and steering paddles, finally sending the four-speed auto into retirement. The ‘box in the turbo model gets a modified torque converter and chains to match the higher torque output.

Performance is good, with the 2.0XT doing 0-100 km/h in just 6.4 seconds. At the product presentation, Subaru pointed out that their new SUV is faster than intended Euro turbo rivals VW Tiguan and Volvo XC60, and can even out-drag the Porsche Cayenne V6!

The downsized 2.0 DIT is also a better engine than the previous 2.5 turbo in every way – more power, more torque and much better fuel consumption (8.5 litres per 100 km, a full two litres less).

Compared to the SUV it replaces, the new Forester has grown in all directions. Overall length is up by 35 mm to make 4,595 mm, the 2,640 mm wheelbase is 26 mm longer, width is up by 15 mm and the new car is also 35 mm taller.

The effect inside is increased couple distance, more legroom and a higher seating position. The latter (34 mm higher driver eye point) was a design priority at Subaru, which is keen to satisfy SUV onwers who like higher vantange points.

Style wise, it’s blink and you’ll miss, despite the fact that this is no mere facelift. The Forester now wears Subaru’s latest family face (as seen on the XV) but the 2.0XT gets an aggressive lower bumper design and funky 18-inch alloys that sets it apart. Just as well, because in many markets, the 2.0XT will be up against European SUVs.

The Forester gets a new AWD control system called X-Mode, which co-ordinates the engine, transmission and VDC to provide optimum traction. The system also incorporates hill descent control and shows you what each wheel is doing on a full-colour central display. Think of the button (in front of the gear lever) as a multi-purpose, do-it-all for slippery, loose or rough surfaces.

There’s more. SI-Drive allows the driver to choose between Intelligent, Sports and S# (Sports sharp) modes via steering buttons (not a dial like in some older Subarus). In S# mode, you’ll have eight virtual CVT ratios to play with, besides sharper response.

Other notable points include a powered tailgate (open via key fob, close with button) and expanded cargo space that is claimed to equal the new Honda CR-V’s boot room. Four golf bags, no problem.

Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International Limited (MI’s parent company), confirmed that this new Forester will come to Malaysia next year, as early as Q2 but most likely in the third quarter of 2013.

As mentioned, the turbocharged 2.0XT will be the one reaching our shores, as the naturally-aspirated 2.0i variant is deemed too close to younger brother Subaru XV, which is assembled in Malaysia for domestic consumption as well as exports to Thailand and Indonesia. The XV will be Subaru’s biggest seller in ASEAN.

Tan was reluctant to give a ballpark price for the Forester, citing Japanese Yen exchange rate fluctuation, but we’re expecting a high-spec CBU Forester 2.0XT like the one you see here to cost over RM200k. Might sound hefty at first, but then again, this SUV can outgun a Cayenne!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• slkboi on Dec 06, 2012 at 10:57 am

could it be a F20A, the same as BRZ? with turbo?

• OMG.. why they turn EXORA bumber into upside down?? now, it’s ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • i dont know..new forester look ugly or not..but i alrdy book….i like suv….i alrdy have 2 suv…n my nxt suv…subaru..man..with 280hp..huh…

• dream on on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:03 am

monster in disguise.

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:58 pm

It looks as if it is a sheep.
      Subaru + Mazda = ideal Jap vehicle.

• CheapandGood? on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:07 am

Wow, a 6.4second boxer engine car that beats Cayenne???

6.4s would beat the BRZ too and its from a 2liter turbo.

If the price is cheaper then the price that BRZ is going… it would be way more utility and *cheongable then BRZ…in straight lines that is…

200K for that high a spec is that possible????

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:04 pm

This Sport utility vehicle is longer than standard common SUVs in Malaysian roads, and it performs, according to paper, like a sportcar. It ought to be equipped with 7 airbags, ESP and sunroof to attract buyers, do not strip down ya.

• Medic on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:10 am

Surely comes with Boleh land price!! Where is rakyat di dahulukan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • seriously no offence, Subaru need to snatch Peter Shreyer from KIA at whatever cost. Look at the design, I shake head already.

• Kalun on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Design doesn’t matter. All matter is under the hood. How many ponies and hamsters power this car.

This DI boxer turbo is superb! Same handling as the Subaru WRX sti. Awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • SUV same handling as WRX STI? Why don’t Subaru put it into WRC?

But as usual from jap manufacturer (except Mazda), girls prettier than car. And the girls are not that prettier than the girls (or ladyboy) in Thailand expo.

• Their design is indeed terrible , very dull looking but certainly not ugly.
      But once you drive it and feel it for your self , All is forgiven

• dream on on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:46 pm

no matter how it’s looks.this monster is for enthusiast.not for hairdresser!

• As if they hire the Chinese to design the car….and the Chinese designer tries to copy an old generation Japanese design.. The interior is much better…

• mitzz on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:48 am

Design is too boxy the previous model looks better

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:54 am

dun buy laa, poor RV, maybe slightly better than kimchi. Camry has bestest RV. Need me say more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 66
    • Davinnci on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Your Camry got no VSC, no need say anymore :p

• Jimmy on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Some cars are for ordinary people, but among those ordinary people, how do we think about a person who drives a V6 Teana/Mazda 6 vs another who drives a Camry V (this V is not V6 ya).
        How many taukehs of car dealers do not possess any Mercedeses which have low resale value? I stress again: Mercedeses have low resale value, you burn a condo in 5 years if you buy a brand new S-class. To a lot of people, buying E-class in every single year is just sap sap water only.

• Kalun on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Keep on bashing Sam Loo. Subaru also have good RV la!

• Hadi75 on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Unlike you sam loo that always worry about RV…there are others that don’t give a shit about RV…and just want to enjoy their ride and be happy…..

• Ryan L. on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:59 pm

What the heck is a Camry? Anyone heard of it before?

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Hello where are my supporters???? Oi! Camry owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • Encik Jurutera on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:55 am

direct injection and turbocharged, the two darlings of modern engine, amazing power and torque for a mere 2.0 engine.
    if only they put that engine in the better looking XV

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Only Subaru designers can make a new model look uglier and older than its predecessor, it’s an art they have perfected over time…

• _xXx_ on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:15 pm

motorimage sold about 13 cars/month in SG from jan to oct this year. Time to shift…

• CheapandGood? on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:28 pm

ugly on the outside. beautiful on specc…

• totti on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:29 pm

The whole design team need to be sacked.

How are they able to design such a ugly car?

I will consider if this is a free gift from lucky draw.

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:39 pm

“Whoops..this car is too fast..better slap RM240k for its pricetag” <– People at MITI logic.

• Retep on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Makes you think, do you want performance or looks? :P

• Kalun on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Wow! All aluminium Boxer 4 direct injection Turbo.

Jelly! Definitely can “Smoke” Sam Loo’s toyota fortuner anytime.

• Abuya on Dec 06, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Why the girl wearing red hat looking macam…. sampah. Sorry, my word harsh

• Subaru , I don’t know why, makes very mundane looking cars like Toyota.
    But unlike Toyota ,its mundane body shell hides an explosive power. 6.4 sec,pwooooh!!!. if price below RM200k it will certainly make it a budget alternative to high end performance SUV like the Cayenne.

• ae101 on Dec 06, 2012 at 2:03 pm

everything is nice but exterior not enough muscular

• Octavian on Dec 06, 2012 at 2:30 pm

good technology, ugly looks..kembara dvvt looks better..

• ben yap on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:04 pm

the lady in blue is hot!

• KIA = killed in accident on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Would you prefer a slowarse cars like korean made or ugly cars like subaru forester ?????

• macroman on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:04 pm

can I not choose and just kill myself? You are not being fair here…

• macroman on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:19 pm

WOW… hot chicks. OMG they are soooo cute. Oh wait… it’s a car launch? Oh that’s a new car design? WEEEAAAlly? I thought I just time travelled back to 1980s

• MatLimMutu on Dec 06, 2012 at 3:46 pm

hmm.. but exterior design is ugly..

• Joe Radzif on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:48 pm

tak berapa nak hensem la kereta nih

• noise on Dec 06, 2012 at 4:54 pm

replace nice offset wheels,lowered it down with adjustable suspension.

• chriag on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:11 pm

AH BENGS will love this subaru. The scary power and figures ending up in the wrong hands and that is scary.

I wouldnt compare the speed. I judge by the overall package. I wouldnt want to look like a pimp driving this. A Volvo or VW is different, i may be a pimp but ppl dont think i am a pimp.

Fugly like new camry. And camry owners are distasteful, ppl who wear slacks with sandals or sport shoes or with blonde hair. Likes to dig their nose in the car. Thinks the hv the bestest car in the world with rsv.

I love subaru but not the design. Ifonly its smart and cultured looking then wow.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:59 pm

forester used to be a “poor man” rs4 avant…bang for bucks sports wagon….

• I think Subaru needs to re do their marketing like start dropiing in pricing to gain entry. Thats waht VW did and it is working very succesfully.

• Jason Yong on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:33 am

my kind of car … what a baby! …

come to daddy ;)

long time reader, first time writer …

• i wish the engine was in the subaru xv. subaru xv looks better ^^V

• DArkerMarker on Dec 07, 2012 at 6:57 pm

I eyes pain when I see the design of the car….

Why Subaru??? Is your design theme based on “Ugliness”???

• PauKaya on Dec 08, 2012 at 1:21 am

subaru, when you gonna realise that ur designs are killing ur cars? ur impreza sti is no longer the default choice budget performance cars now…very sad as ur impreza sti is extremely capable

• shawal on Dec 09, 2012 at 4:24 pm

I like the subaru spirit…
    they’re confident in selling ugly cars…
    i wonder who exactly designed the previous legacy tho,
    that theng wuz a beauty

• Htc one on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:58 am

It is still depends how MI price the new forester, if MI is keen to growth the market share, which I believe so, as there are more outlet around in Malaysia, then a good price vs spec is something’s that MI need to work out.

Luckily, didn’t put my down payment on the current forester 2.5T.

• ahchai69 on Dec 20, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Should bring along 2.0i as an option for those can’t afford or not interested in 2.0xt but at the same time prefer cbu unit..