Kia Forte YD: USDM car debuts in LA, more details

The YD-generation Kia Forte has made its North American debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show. We provided you with some details when it first launched in Korea as the K3 some months ago; now we have details of the US-market car to add on to that.

A product of Kia’s American Design Centre in Irvine, California, the new Forte is longer, lower and wider than its predecessor, with the wheelbase extended by 50 mm to 2,700 mm and the boot space increased to 421 litres. The drag coefficient is down to 0.27 from 0.29, while the bodyshell is 37% more rigid.

Offered in the States in LX (1.8 litre) and EX (2.0 litre) variants, the latest Forte is scheduled to hit their dealerships in the first quarter of 2013, sitting between the Rio and Optima. Both engines feature dual CVVT and a lightweight intake manifold.

The 1.8 litre engine sends 148 hp and 177 Nm of torque to either a manual or automatic gearbox (both six-speed) while the 2.0 litre unit sends 173 hp and 209 Nm of torque to the six-speed auto only. Reports say that most export markets outside North America will get 1.6 and 2.0 litre powerplants. The Korean-market 1.6 litre engine produces 138 hp and 167 Nm of torque.

Suspension is a front-McPherson strut, rear-coupled torsion beam affair, with larger bushings and revised geometry to improve on-centre steering feel. Power steering’s now electrically assisted, too.

Standard for the LX are steering wheel audio controls, SiriusXM satellite radio, Bluetooth and heated door mirrors, amongst others. An optional Popular Package adds 16-inch alloy wheels, cruise control, keyless entry with remote trunk release and a sliding front armrest, while an Eco Package throws in a start-stop system and dual-zone climate control with rear air-con vents.

EX trim adds on Kia’s new-generation UVO infotainment system with eServices (navigation system optional), reverse camera and a glovebox cooler. Flex Steer with Comfort, Normal and Sport steering profiles is an option. A Premium Package adds features such as heated seats and steering wheel, a 10-way power adjustable driver’s seat with air-cooled ventilation, leather seat trim, power sunroof, 17-inch alloy wheels and push button start with Smart Key; while a Technology Package gives you HID headlamps, LED tail lights, a 4.2-inch colour LCD and dual-zone climate control with rear air-con vents.

The Forte (including its K3 and Cerato nameplates) is the Korean firm’s most successful global seller, with more than 2.5 million sold since its 2004 introduction. 445,000 units were sold last year, accounting for nearly 18% of Kia’s total sales worldwide.

Kia has ruled out a wagon version, but five-door hatch and Koup versions will follow next year, as will a turbocharged variant.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• lappa on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:14 pm

I hope the Forte’s specs in Malaysia are good too with no price increase!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
    • retorik on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Son,you can dream about it..its come with 1.8 and 2.0 variant,do you think greedy S.D will put the same price tag as previous model?please continue DREAMING..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 82
      • Fortress on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:09 pm

Kia under SD mehh ??? What happen to NazaKia then ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
        • kimi_ on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:01 am

Since it shares the same platform with Elantra, i prefer the styling of current Hyundai Elantra than this forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Power of Dream on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:10 pm

This car seriously underpowered when compare to CFE Preve. Preve give u torque at 2krpm to 4krpm. this car give u 200 over toque only at above 5krpm… like that how to balik kampung with Forte? Xada OOmmph anyore… how to show off the power when i fetch 4other sexy lady? ooop oooop ooopp xjadi pecut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
        • A P1 Preve ? both r entry lever brands of coz K is a little bit better quality and much much better looking than any P1…anyway this is one sexy car no matter it’s a slow car or a fast one !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • libralcl on Dec 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Please do not compare NA engine car with turbo engine car. Thanks.

• i_swear on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:15 am

Please do some research before start “trigger happy” (shooting if don’t understand what is trigger happy).
        In Malaysia the dealership:-
        Hyundai – SD
        Kia – Naza

Hopefully the full spec variant for 2.0 is same with current pricing and not like Elantra suddenly raise the price without any explanation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Liew Yen Hong on Dec 07, 2012 at 2:56 pm

silly idiot… Kia under Naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • I personally think it will be the same price range. consider Proton ady Non GOV, lower price can be approved more easily just like the Miraga and Almera launched recently.

Furthermore, there is hardly improvement on the drivetrain. The engine is a failure when you compare it to Preve CFE’s performance where give you HIGH TORque at 205NM from 2000rpm to 4000rpm…

For this Kia K3’s engine, even for the 2000cc only max torque of 209NM at over 5000rpm. Meaning ppl should usually get just around 160NM – 185NM for 2000rpm – 4000rpm. It’s Way too low, Such Big car how to PULL People??
      NO Wonder We Never Hear Kia can cucuk orang.. THe drivetrain is too lousy.

So, They will be just over confident about themselves if KIA K3 malaysia having price increasing! LMAO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
      • Say it simple.
        eg. 5 ppl Preve driving still can maintain high acceleration, but 5 ppl sitting K3 will have no power to accelerate.

Just like Hilux, 1 ppl sitting and 5 ppl sitting in it, Hilux still can accelerate just as if there is 1 ppl. Preve CFE can do this, but not K3. 5ppl sitting in K3 and balik kampung, you will feel your car no energy due to lousy torque spreading rpm range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • Turboman on Dec 07, 2012 at 6:59 am

Haha.

“For this Kia K3?s engine, even for the 2000cc only max torque of 209NM at over 5000rpm. Meaning ppl should usually get just around 160NM – 185NM for 2000rpm – 4000rpm. It’s Way too low, Such Big car how to PULL People??”

Tell me, what is the torque produced by Vtec at 2000-4000rpm? And civic is not a small car mind you.

Haiz. Comparing turbo to NA cars. Your knowledge of automobile beyond spec sheet is simply amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:08 am

Get a pre-owned one at 1/2 the price in a year’s time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
      • tskkk name on Dec 09, 2012 at 12:43 pm

hei how about civic type r. 211nm come at around 6600rpm? so preve is better ?

• spyshotX on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm

figures does not always depict a better choice.. it’s up to how we intend to drive our cars..

race inspired cars like mitsu evo & civic type-r is a track ready everyday cars.. people who buy it never bothers about saving any fuel.. no issue for them if peak torque is almost at redline bcoz it was intended to behave like that.. racing boys always like to revs like hell.. people willing to pay premium price for the fun & thrills that offered by such cars..

on the other hand, cars like preve are more on the practical side.. although the number of ponies under the hood is not that impressive, the flat peak torque offered by cfe at low rpm will be better for normal driving experience plus theoretically less fuel consumption since the engine need not to be rev so high in order to gain peak torque for maximum acceleration..

• Rear aircon vents. Thumb up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • DewaSemut on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Handsome car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
  • kia-mat on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:26 pm

pity who already buy current Forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 42
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Pity all owners of Kimchis who bought them brand new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
    • forte on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Nvm, after New Preve Launch, My resale value have been drop below RM55k From RM85k initial price i bought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • Jimmy on Dec 06, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Nope.
      Forte Civic did the same thing, or mistake, if you like.
      Of course, beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ekspresi Ruang on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:28 pm

I just want to see how bad is the depreciation of current Forte after this new Forte enter our market soon.
    I hope it’s not that bad as people always talked about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:21 pm

What you see in the media is selling price.

Trade in price for kimchis are pityful and revolting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • forte on Dec 06, 2012 at 8:50 pm

No need wait for New Forte, Now the price have been dropped well below Preve, RM60k also no ppl wanna buy my forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 29
  • Hanis Salleh on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:29 pm

A leap ahead of the predecessor and rivals! Kudos to the design team!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • retorik on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:48 pm

ya,we’ll see what RV can offer for current Forte driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
  • zero distance on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:30 pm

what i dont really like about kia is they make current model looks like has been designed 20 years ago.(I know this will sound redundant)it will make RV really bad for current models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
  • michi on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:30 pm

and you still say KIA is rubbish…pls grow up people!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
    • retorik on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:45 pm

KIA is RUBBISH! it’s still the same quality like spectra,just with different clothes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 85
      • David D on Dec 06, 2012 at 6:44 pm

From the likes of it, it seems that you only talk based on rhetoric. Dude, Kia has come a long way since the crappy Sephia, so deal with it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 19
        • Masked Ryder on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:05 pm

KIA is getting boring same old same old design, BMW head Audi butt, Peter Soreloser already leafed Audi for 6 years still copying new Audi ah !
          Did they used the same car after side crash test ? How come the door look like dented ?
          If it come into Malaysia next year current Forte RV will end up like Spectra or Avante.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:09 am

I never said Kia was rubbish.

I just said that it has very low RV and buying a pre-owned unit is real value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
  • Datuk Jack. on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:31 pm

looks like a KOREAN car.. always inspired by insect.. hmmm… nothing impressed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 71
  • Datuk Jack. on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:33 pm

maybe too many insect in korea, that’s why they designed the car insect look like..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 63
  • sedan on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Hate this so-called fluid design..Kia has lost character..1st gen Forte&K5 have very strong design character,with sleek design,clean lines.This one is over design,LOST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
  • alytheman on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:49 pm

rear-coupled torsion beam?? Shiiit!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:48 am

then again Kimchi fans cannot smell sarcasm…i think they dont even know what is torsion beam,multilink,double wishbone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 6:57 pm

These fellas buy kimchis impulsively.

I make money on used kimchis pointing them at a Hilux elegantly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • sepul on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:54 pm

i wonder why kia keep the cee’d and pro_cee’d for europe only.. not a fan of the new forte, but looking fwd for the koup version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • styling character lines at side doors really ugly.
    looks like someone already bang at the sides. similar case with new model Avanza backdoor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • portnoy on Dec 06, 2012 at 6:06 pm

current models-multilink (handling just so-so only),the new one-torsion beam..now i can see the future.no need review on handling..I can read Elantra reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • portnoy on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:03 am

aiyoo..so many Kimchi fans like my comment..they cant even smell my sarcasm.pity you..thats why all of you easily kena con by korean.hahaha…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • forte-ver on Dec 07, 2012 at 3:20 pm

poor you..type alone

• retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:11 pm

poor you FORTE owner!hahaha…buy lousy car..new gen coming out,want to sell the price drop kaw2.pity you..forte owner~

• Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Just goes to show that kimchi fans does not know the tech part of cars well. Just the 1st impulsive buy drive from 1st looks.

But I am happy, coz when they sell, I get my Bonus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • libralcl on Dec 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Current model are using couple torsion beam also. Please go study before comment.

• 7nightstand on Dec 06, 2012 at 6:18 pm

The rear lamps are really similar to the Ford S-Max’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Kia is good internationally but not in Malaysia. In Malaysia Preve is better. Preve Type R is even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 30
  • shawal on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:08 pm

i hope ours doesnt come with d uvo thingy , sounds pretty useless overtime n now ppl n hack ur smartphone too , i rather hv it come with satnav, full safety gear n premium speakers as standard, either way , price is key , main rival here is d ford focus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • haha can see from here that This Forte is much better than the new Civic.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 27
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Agreed, the Forte is better at depreciating at 4X the rate of sushi. That’s why its always good to buy pre-owned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
    • Not that I disagree but you’re judging a book by its cover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • portnoy on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:07 am

they not even tried to drive it and compare,then already come out with conclusion..better than this,better than that..bla2..just saw it looks nice then already say its good..it’s not like buying cloth la ladies…

• Optima K5 too me, is the pinnacle of Kia’s design.
    This car’s design is a definite leap over the current Forte. But sadly after seeing the Kia K9 , it looks like a BMW 7 series. Now I don’t know weather it’s coincidence our not but now the Forte looks at the almost like a Dodge Dart while at the rear looks like a shrunken Ford Mondeo. It’s still a looker , but I don’t see the originality of it.
    The design should follow after the Optima K5 and not the K9. The K5’s clean simple but stunning design is still my kind of design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Buy pre-owned. I have a unit less than 10 months old. Very dai mai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
      • I have a First-gen Saga manual that’s 20 yrs old and I’am living with it just fine..
        ..Do you think I’am looking for a another car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:11 am

And the 20 year old Saga is still worth around RM2K.

A 10 year old Spectra is worth less than that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
        • dugong on Dec 07, 2012 at 11:26 pm

most ppl would have changed cars by 10 yrs. so what if its worth 2k or less? the car already serve its purpose so RV does not matter much. what matters is did you enjoy the 10 yrs of driving or were suffering in an overpriced, low safety ( risking your life and your family’s life), and empty car like vios all for the sake of RV?

after 10 yrs you still cannot save a downpayment for a new car? either u better change your job or start analysing your own expenses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • sedan on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:28 am

same as me,as I read from your comment i know u have a design background..maybe come out from art school or something.Same here,working as designer make me feel the same…current forte is nice,then K5 came out..and it’s fantastic!(for the looks and not handling or performance) and I was thinking that Forte replacement wold follow K5 design,after saw this K3 I’am feel bit disappointed.Still,current forte&K5 have a very strong design character.maybe need some improvement on refinement,drivetrain,suspension.

• Yes, I am currently in art school.
        I like simple and minimalistic lines perfected by Oscar Niemeyer. Although that’s architecture it can be applied to cars and products as well, like Ikea.
        The Saga and the fourth gen accord still look so modern today(well maintain of course), while a newer spectra and wira is showing its age.
        The Optima K5 and Forte design will still have its impact well into the future while this , I’m skeptical . The Sonata is already showing its age

• Yes, I am currently in art school.
        I like simple and minimalistic lines perfected by Oscar Niemeyer. Although that’s architecture it can be applied to cars and products as well, like Ikea.
        The Saga and the fourth gen accord still look so modern today(well maintain of course), while a newer spectra and wira is showing its age.
        The Optima K5 and Forte design will still have its impact well into the future while this , I’m skeptical . The Sonata is already showing its age
        [R.I.P Oscar Dec 15 1907 – Dec 5 2012]

• heyyyy~~ sexy lady~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • That peter what cannot think already. only put “jaring reban ayam” at the front and its done!.

• judging from new facelift honda civic seems like this forte hve no other chances. torsion beam… hmm..

• Hey Sam Loo, ya you!….. Would you please stop mentioning about RV?? It is people’s choice to buy ANY BRAND of car they want, mostly they know about the risk of buying korean and continental cars, but who cares?! They choose what they like, and can regret later in their life if is not worth it…WHO ARE YOU TO JUDGE?!!

P.S You do know KIMCHI’S the top 5 most healthy food in the world?? So,you are complimenting korean brand and not really insulting them, I am also a proud user of T and H, as they have RV and good handling and cheap repairs, but I also am interested on korean brands now… SO SHUT THE FCK UP YOU MOTHERFCKER!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:37 pm

You comparing rotten cabbage to cars?

Looks like some used car dealer has shown you the Hilux before. Dun worry, I know the feeling …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
    • sedan on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:32 am

relax, don’t use offensive word.I don’t think Sam Loo ever use any kind of those word.so keep calm.

• Iniesta Leong on Dec 09, 2012 at 12:56 am

Totally agreed with you, this Sam loo can it shut the fck up ? can’t resist to be rude here

• sambalbabi on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:46 pm

ahhhh i have bad feelings about this – the design is too Hyundai-ish. the current Forte is still better looking than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Kyoshooo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:00 am

Sorry to say that current forte look outdated compare to new design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:34 am

now current forte outdated already..any Forte owner? sell your car please…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • c14man on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Drive behind one at night and you will get a pair of red eye staring at you. Creepy..

• RedBeanBun on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:14 am

why some stupid people want to compare Protong with Kia? Kia has been selling well in many countries? Where is our Protong after all this 25+++ years? common, gimme a break, Protong exist is for the CRONIES, the part Suppliers! that is why NAP is used to control the import car so lousy quality car can sell higher here. From Day1, its abusing rakyat grand program.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
  • Simonsan on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:39 am

Am a very proud owner of forte. Have been enjoying my ride over the past 1 year. This new forte will be my 2nd car! RV? Well get a horse and you dun have to worry about the RV… Just find more $$$ n problem solved!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
  • Sam, always RV wont sien one isit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:12 am

Having low trade in value for kimchis is my bread and butter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • Datuk Jack. on Dec 07, 2012 at 8:52 am

WHO AGREE WITH ME IF I SAID THIS CAR IS INSPIRED BY INSECT DESIGN!!!!… OLD FORTE LOOKS BETTER!!!

*not forte owner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • mitzz on Dec 07, 2012 at 9:19 am

Why Kia design very much like Hyundai………ooo forgot they are MADE IN KOREA….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • arrow on Dec 07, 2012 at 9:33 am

Sometimes I don’t understand why people just simply care too much about RV. Up to them laaaaaaa. It’s their money and I believe that these people who buy KIA have done some research. They love it and they buy it. Not all are concern about RV. Some of them just want to enjoy the hi tech gadgets or features offered by this Korean Car companies. Plus the price is superbly competitive. I’ve been silent reader on this blog for a long time but I just can’t stand with some attitudes bashing cars (no matter its P1 ka, P2 kaaaa or kimchi) without coming out with some facts and figures especially about RV. Up to them la. It’s their money what, so let them choose laaa what car they love to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:36 am

so it’s up to me to shout out my opinion it’s a democracy country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • ThePolygon on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:37 am

Don’t worry arrow… real car enthusiast will not even look at RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • retorik on Dec 07, 2012 at 5:05 pm

car enthusiast know they get conned when car maker cut cost by downgraded suspension.blind supporter!

• MatLimMutu on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:17 am

design wise.. sexy!! but it is a kia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Sim Lee on Dec 07, 2012 at 11:17 am

To all forte owner, don’t worry with all the bashing on forte car. We drive the car and we know how it feel and we know our car better.. The others can only talk nonsense without actually own and drive it.. Some of us just know to condemn other people and their car because of the brands and perceptions.. At the end we chose what we want based on our affordability, lower monthly payment and extra cash at the end of the months to spend with the family… To those who afford to own and drive more expensive car like the japs and conti, and really care about RV just continue drive your lovely car without have to condemn others.. Peace!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:35 pm

I like your attitude. More people like you means I can go public listed much sooner

• coolcar on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:19 pm

The design are getting more uniform across the korean car makers, its nice but one look can tell its korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Pat San on Dec 07, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Good day people….I think RV or resale value is very subjective…..sit down and think carefully. Resale Value of any car in Malaysia is driven by the current “market” wants…..In China the general resale value of any car is the buying price divided by 10 and multiply by the age of the car….I think this is more fair as compared to market driven or used cars companies driven or car distributor driven…the current resale value of any car in Malaysia will eventually be driven by it’s distributors….please do some research by yourself . I think to comment further on RV would take more space than given…..ha!

Koreans have come a long way since I last driven a brand new Hyundai Stella in Singapore…..I think we should give credit when it is due….they have done well as compared to Proton…..this I believe most of us know very well….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Dec 07, 2012 at 6:46 pm

This calc does not hold water. The correct way would be Total cost of ownership. In Malaysia, a TCO of 5 years may be unrealistic, but would be a good reference.

In Oz, the car mileage carries more weight on RV whilst there is still no model change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Pumpkins on Dec 07, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Hello Protong, ini baru betul punya Global Car…good job Peter Schreyer

Better lelong your factories to Naza Kia and Sime Hyundai lah let rakyat buy cheaper modern updated cars worth money buying HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
  • Rakyat on Dec 07, 2012 at 10:21 pm

All show and no go.

• Peyno on Dec 08, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Waiting for perodua bezza .. Still under development by our anak watan since 1997… Launching date?? Around 2020

• Sohai-Sam Loo on Dec 08, 2012 at 8:23 pm

All used car dealer will offer you a very low price for any car brand. Nothing new! So be smart Uncle Sam. A Camry 2.4 2009 is selling 100k-110k in use car dealer, so can i say they take the car from the previous owner around 90k and sell ard 100-110k. So the previous owner have lost ard 60k in 3yrs. I sold my Z4 after 3yrs been driving it and i lost 50k. So can you tell me is ur sushi have more RV or my German Steak have more RV. You juz when to the wrong used car dealer that cut your throat kow kow.

• I think RV is the most considered and talked about subject in Malaysia as compared to most countries. This maybe because cars are much more expensive here. That is probably the reason why Korean cars penetration into our market is not as rapid as in most countries. But slowly and surely they are, with more features, specs along with very competitive price. A K3, longer, wider, bigger boot volume is a welcoming news. Hopefully the 1.8 Auto will come and cost less then 100K. Hopefully a Korean Miracle does happen, where one day we can buy Cheaper and sell Higher!! hehehe. Is there such thing as ‘Proportionate Depreciation?’ car RV?

• Paul Tan on Dec 09, 2012 at 10:07 am

Buy cheaper, sell higher? Talk to Polo GTI owners.

• haha..honda already did that in the 80s. Remember the accord 1.8? used unit was more expensive than new one that time.

• naruto on Dec 09, 2012 at 11:22 am

Why need to consider RV when you can afford it. I dont think all those conti & recon car have high RV.

• Preve is no comparison to Kia Forte..period. Sorry Preve owners. The Preve is rubbish. Some punk here made a comparison in torque figures between an NA engine and Preve’s bolted on turbo kitted engine, how silly.

• shiftSpank on Dec 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

The first picture at the top has the K3 look squat (heavy) in the rear because the picture taken has the car seated next to the kerb. Anyone realized?

• libralcl on Dec 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Ppl here are comparing Korean & Japanese made. Time will tell if the product is really good whether Malaysian are willing to choose Korean over Japanese car. At least I see the trend is changing around the globe.

• Naturize on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:18 am

I think this car is sexy … Waiting for this launch! I would say Current forte worth to buy, power got, handling good, extra accesorries and many more. Correct me if i’m wrong.