Acura RLX – Japan’s new 5-Series fighter debuts

Acura is a brand that’s not available in Malaysia, but you can find the A badge in Malaysia sometimes stuck on Honda cars, replacing the H badge, similiar to how some Toyota owners place Lexus badges on their cars.

Like Lexus to Toyota and Infiniti to Nissan, Acura is Honda’s luxury car brand, and this is the new generation Acura RLX, which replaces the Acura RL in the Japanese carmaker’s line-up. The RLX is positioned against other mid-sized luxury sedans like the Audi A6, BMW 5-Series, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, Infiniti M and Lexus GS.

New to the RLX is an all-new direct injection engine, a lighter weight body structure, and the first time usage of Acura Precision All-Wheel Steer technology in an Acura. Acura also debuts the next generation AcuraLink cloud-connected in-car entertainment system in the new RLX. It’s claimed that the RLX has class-leading interior space, with three inches more rear legroom than competing models.

The base model’s new direct injection SOHC V6 engine produces 310 horsepower from it’s 3.5 litre displacement. Maximum torque is 370Nm, and Acura says over 90% of this is available across a wide spread of 2,000rpm to 6,000rpm. During economical driving, the engine can shut off some of its cylinders and operate in reduced displacement mode for fuel savings. The engine is mounted to a lightweight and rigid aluminum front subframe using a vibration-canceling Active Control engine Mount (ACM) system.

Although there were rumours that the RLX would be using a newly developed longitudinal engine rear wheel drive platform to match the other competitors in the segment, it turns out the Acura has continued with a transverse engine front wheel drive platform with the car and given it the option of all wheel drive instead.

This version has Acura’s new Sport Hybrid Super Handling All-Wheel Drive technology and its hybrid drivetrain produces a combined 370 horsepower. This will debut later.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the RLX.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• It definitely has elegance and class. Interior two tier screens and LEDs headlamp is also an awesome feature. And since everybody drives an F10 and W212 nowadays, this really makes you stand out.
    But if you really want to be different and a Japanese alternative to Germans, I really suggest a Lexus GS, has a better design interior and, unlike this car, is a seriously handsome car.
    And I’m worried of this new trend of Japanese focussing more on their luxury arm[lexus & infinity] than their normal cars[toyota & Nissan respectively] . Progress can be seen in their high end division while their normal cars have stagnated progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • doublespacing on Dec 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

i think u r full of shitz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
      • Ha? Just voicing my opinion, Isn’t this the comment section, I have the admit that i’am quite bored lately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Alpha on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:30 am

Agreed, AVH. Some people can’t seems to accept opinions. Even facts. Sad to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • LOLX 5 series fighter

• kington on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:15 am

Your commensta re much appreciated. Ignore such people.

I guess DRB HICOM could bring this brand in given their resources. It’ll be nice since Infinite and Lexus are in.

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 10, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Is it a souped up Accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Alpha on Dec 10, 2012 at 9:13 pm

It’s not an Accord.Never will and never gonna be.Get your facts straight.The previous gen Acura RL is a Honda Legend,Honda’s flagship sedan. Thus, this new RLX will most probably be sold in Japan as the new Legend if they decided to sell it in Japan.Not an Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • crx otai on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:29 am

actually its quite similar with the one sold in Europe as the Honda Accord. Albeit, the euro accord version have the option of the brilliant diesel 2.2 idtec.

• but i stil prefer 5series design if compare with this RLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • You will not be the only one, there will always be a majority of people that will prefer Teutonic over Nippon cars, even in their design . The BMW is still the most handsome car in its segment [though I would say the Lexus GS is also incredibly handsome]
      This car would not snatch away BMW buyers, in Malaysia at least if it comes. It will mostly go head on with the Lexus or infinity. For those minority that wants to be different and not get a German marque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • sean zx-10 on Dec 10, 2012 at 4:34 pm

rear looks like a match of Teana and Camry. front looks like an american car…which model i cant pin point…but damn those headlamps looks like it took out the black widow spider eyes.

why japan cars always fails in exterior designs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Dec 10, 2012 at 5:10 pm

I wonder what their strategies are to attract buyers in Malaysia, if Acura ever comes.
    The strategy can never be pricing, because RM100OOO is not a concern among the target buyers.

• Julian Lee on Dec 10, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Accord wanna go against 5-Series? Dream on, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Alpha on Dec 10, 2012 at 9:11 pm

It’s not an Accord.Get your facts straight before talking.The previous gen Acura RL is a Honda Legend,Honda’s flagship sedan. Thus, this new RLX will most probably be sold in Japan as the new Legend if they decided to sell it in Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • its an accord. you must be blind thinking its not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Paul Tan on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:10 am

It isn’t an Accord. It’s larger… like a Honda Legend.

http://www.oto.my/cars-for-sale/honda/legend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Alpha on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:32 am

And thanks,Paul.For clarifying it.Some people need to know how to use google at times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • I’m not sure if it can goes head to head with 5 series, in term of dimension, yes. overall nope since its cheap FWD while 5 series is a strict RWD. I think we need to classified the car type further to make comparison, the this might educate consumer in depth the difference, esp in justifying the car price between RWD and FWD

• Paul Tan on Dec 11, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Acuras are not ‘cheap FWD’… this is an expensive FWD! By your logic, the front wheel drive Audi A6 also cannot cannot compete with the 5 Series?

• Paul, I mean FWD mechanically cheap (to build) compares to RWD, and that shud justify the car price. So Audi a6 no matter how luxury shud priced lower than RWD opponents like 5 series an e class

• And esthetically, short hood, short length between front fender to front door and long front overhang of FWD car doesn’t looks expensive, majestic. Supercar like lambo is in another dimension esthetically, they are excuse. Anyway just my opinion

• Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Passat is also FWD

• kiddo on Dec 11, 2012 at 1:14 am

Oooooops, who’s blind now.

• lol. if its legend then it shud not compare wt 5. if thtt is your reasoning.

acura was intro in early 90s as luxury honda brand. every class as it shud. you have civic equiv accord equiv to offer as alternative to 3, 5 etc..

if its bigger than accord it shux against 7

• All I can say is that the Interior is totally different from the 2013 Accord and it looks bigger.
        Paul Tan can you help?

• Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Halo, I would anytime get a GS300 over a 525i.

Quality, durability and reliability is the top of my shopping list.

Performance wise, beemer may have a slight edge, but how much faster can you reach the destination with the no. of turtles of the NSE and the infamous KV Jams?

• HONDA…the power of dream :)

• Kalun on Dec 10, 2012 at 6:49 pm

A big wow. Look at that Engine.
    A NA iVTEC SOHC can produce a flat torque range like a turbo car.
    2000-6000rpm. That’s impressive man !
    Damn.

• Jap is always a jap, they will never design a car like the European, no matter what logo on it, it’s still a jap car that you are driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • That may be true, but jap cars has it’s own advantage and characteristic that makes it a Japanese car.

• kiddo on Dec 11, 2012 at 1:12 am

If everyone designs cars to look like European cars, what’s the need of being labelled whether it’s from Japan, Korea or even the US?

What’s so good about European design anyway?

• KillBox1Alpha on Dec 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm

RV….RV….RV…RV…hahaha

beat you Sam Loo

• RedBeanBun on Dec 10, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Acura is all LHD..

• looking at design its more for US market

• zanggief on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:06 pm

wonder HM not consider to put up any distribution of acura in bolehland as other rivals already selling…also,acura model seldom found on the road even via AP shop…is that the logo not good compared to the L or I or german one???

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 11, 2012 at 5:05 pm

nothing can match lexus!

• pelams on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:12 pm

headlamp 50% similar to alfa romeo 159