Reports: Proton acquires Petronas engine technology

A report by Bernama states that Proton has acquired all of Petronas’ engine technologies as well as the associated technology patents at a cost of RM63 million. The deal encompasses seven engine technologies as well as 117 technology patents.

The reports adds that the acquisition gives Proton immediate ownership of a family of normally-aspirated engines and turbocharged 2.0 litre engines, as well as a 2.2 litre turbocharged version to complement its existing Campro engine line-up, according to Proton chairman Datuk Seri Khamil Jamil.

“Proton and Petronas initiated the engine technology exploration in 1996. It is now time to take over from Petronas, since the company decided in 2010 to exit completely from all engine development activities,” he told reporters at the agreement signing.

The only Petronas-developed engine revealed to date is the E01e inline-four, 16-valve DOHC engine with variable valve timing, which is a normally-aspirated unit, so the mention of turbocharging could mean previously unrevealed tech.

Designed to be configurable in three displacements (1.8, 2.0 and 2.2 litres), the E01 first appeared in 1998 in a Proton Waja and a Satria GTI.

The original design target for the unit was 200 PS and 200 Nm of output as well as a 120 kg weight – when delivered, these benchmark numbers were surpassed, the rated output being 204.3 PS at 7,300 rpm and 203 Nm at 5,300 rpm, and the engine tipped the scales at 108.9 kg.

Commercially, the engine never made its way into series production Protons, despite an intention to do so. In 2005, it was reported that Nanjing Automobile would be using the Petronas E01 technology in its vehicle line-up. It was later mentioned that the unit was to be built in China.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• how is the emission? Proton need to do a lot of upgrading to comply with euro emission standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • if i’m not mistaken, the emission is euro 2. however, it can be further improved by upgrading the cat con and calibration. but, it will cost you.

• it is euro III, n euro IV capable engine…

• Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Malaysians better forget making their own engines. All Poton engines are old and outdated and drink so much of fuel. That is why the RV of Proton cars are one of the worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 88
    • Kalun on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:04 pm

photos1.blogger.com/blogger/5609/3914/1600/e01-L.0.gif

Here. It complice the euro 4 emmision.
      I concern a few issue about this engine regarding the torque curve.
      As you van see there. A Campro dejavu all pver again. At 1500-2500 rpm, there is a torque dip.
      The torque curve aren’t flat as Proton Campro CPS and K20a. It more like Toyota/Mitsubishi engine.
      Maybe Proton could solve it with CPS. And maybe put in a twin cvvt to increase the torque range to 7000rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Tolong menolong le, rakan-rakan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • insperut on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:55 pm

I’ve seen this Petronas engine! (before this story came up)
      all the development and testing done at… here in Malaysia lah ;)
      It is on final stage before it is put on production at China early next year

it was awesome!
      technology, emission, power… all kautim la!
      way better than those 2 litre T and H engine i must say :D

• Dissapointed Proton Owner on Feb 22, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Whatever la..their service center will still say Service must be 5000 km if not no garantee, doesn’t matter what the service manual says! Their after sales service sucks big time!

• Cyberkayu on Dec 11, 2012 at 6:53 pm

A bit too late to buy this old tech?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 35
    • Kalun on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm

At least Proton buy the Patent then modified the patent to suit the current Technology. Like most company do nowadays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 6
    • mystvearn on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Agreed. Need to rev pass 5K in order to get max power and torque.

I think this purchase is all about the patents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 214
      • and we have a useless ‘rakyat’ like you that always look down at our own product!! hH

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 64
        • ok, to make u u happy we give p1 another 25 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 102
        • we listen to our leaders one… they drive foreign cars, we also support foreign cars. so hard to understand meh?

These rich politicians wear italian, drive german, speak english, dine french, wear british, live american and then they tell u to support proton coz of patriotic? what kind of BS is this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 17
          • fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:07 pm

That’s why perak did very clever changing perdana with Toyota Camry. Why bother with our own product? Let’s contribute to other countries income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • KillBox1Alpha on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:22 pm

What is wrong with yada said ? He was absolutely correct, 25 years, no new engine, and they’re buying yesterdays tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 79
      • gen y on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:06 am

You are the sole idiot here whom doesn’t understand automotive. Its not about developing engine alone. Read more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 42
        • true! after 25 years, gearbox also zero. p1 always buying other people’s old tech. saga, lancer-wira, lancer-inspira.
          tell me what groundbreaking original tech have they come up with?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 71
          • alldisc on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:13 pm

its ok if they use old tech under license and sell it at a reasonable price. but not at the expense of rakyat needing 9 years loan when proton was announce as a project for rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • looks like all the p1 troopers only know how to click “thumbs down”. not even a whimper of an argument about proton developed tech.
            a bunch of monkeys from frim could do the same for peanuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
          • fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:10 pm

I guess other car manufacturers design all their parts. Zero dependent on others. They design their own parts then produce their own parts then assemble their own parts. Proton is the only car manufacturer in the world that have to use outside parts isnt’. If only that is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • untitled on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:39 am

“25 years in business and still cannot develop own engine”

then what do u call the Campro/CPS/CFE???
        even P2 cant even develop their own engine from design up (All of their design made in Japan.. huh).

the CamPro engine family was joint develop by Proton-Lotus.

Get ur facts straight b4 bashing Proton/engineers.
        These engineers r also Malaysian like u. If any of all of u Proton_Bashers United really thinks u can do better, I challenge all of u to set up a company that can mass produce cars that is ultimately superior than Proton’s to beat in it’s own class.
        THEN THAT WOULD BE THE ULTIMATE KICK IN THE PROTON’S FACE BASHING 4 U ALL PROTON-HATERS!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 28
        • 12345 on Jun 17, 2013 at 7:59 pm

if i am given the money from the rakyat to setup a factory to build car, i can be better than Proton..at least, not 9 years loan to own a crappy saga.i swear!

• harrisshazman on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:48 pm

cakap boleh la…cuba kasi buat satu prototype kasi tengok
            phui

• NZ engine family class that use by vios was built since 1997….even engine SZ in new myvi come from family engine that was built since 1999…but since than the engine upgraded to what we can see now. there nothing wrong with engine tech that p1 buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 9
    • Old doesn’t mean bad…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • Jonathan Lee on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

Maybe. It seems like a bit of corporate backpedalling, considering they’ve already spent a considerable amount of effort developing their own variable valve timing and forced induction systems for their CamPro engines. Also, didn’t they just sign a joint venture with Honda?

This should’ve been done a decade ago. Right now they should be more concerned with developing alternative propulsion technologies.

• nazri on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:23 pm

better late than never

• gen y on Dec 11, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Hope to see a reliable 2 litre turbo engine by our local engineers…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
    • despite the fact this national company pissed us off for 25 years.. deep in our hearts we will still wish malaysian engineers can do something to make malaysia proud

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 11
      • haiya on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:41 pm

believe me they can. But when it comes to the decision making by the top management, u know laaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
      • superman on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:16 am

there are many inventions and new ideas and projects that were done in P1 over that past years that could have made it to the world stage but due to politics and favoritsm of p1 managers they did not make it and forgotten. i hope DRB does not do this and allow the local talent in P1 to grow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • pirlo on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:13 pm

agreed. proton management keep on changing as well as the mission and vision. dsz with going on global and quality, mahalel with sporty products while drb so far, cut the cost down.

• superman on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:13 am

I can’t believe someone give negative vote on this… he must not be Malaysian.

• gOOsh on Dec 11, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 134
    • and since when you’re in the petronas to know that they haven’t got such tech??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 7
      • bace betul2 bro..klu kate proton beli engine petronas x la makna kate diaorang amik seketoi letak dalam bonet keta..mesti diorang tunning supaya jimat minyak,ade turbo, less emission dan kene ngan keta diorang buat, produk keta ni mau tahun 2020 baru kuar kot..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
        • Danial on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Luv your comment dude..lot of thought there..not just simply a blind bash..good comment you have there dude..:) simple in BM but get through simply..:)

• fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:14 pm

mmg dah dated. kancil jer ada turbo. turbo kancil mmg latest gila. Enjin petronas ni tak penah keluar mass production. Yg turbo tu pun baru ni keluar cerita. Hang tau sangatka enjin petronas?

• O finally, DRB Hicom! Full range of Proton Cars now, D-segment, SUV too! And at least 20% increase in fuel efficiency. GLOBAL ATTACK!

It’s also time to build a Proton roadster aka Proton Lekir aka Lotus Europa now. Cant wait to see~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 10
    • Yeah agreed! A Proton roadster, less than RM80k, rear-wheel-drive, 1.8 – 2.0 liter engine, no need to be too powerful, lightweight is more important, just like Lotus’ recipe. And optioned with 6-speed manual and 7-speed CVT just like in Preve. I’m sure many youngsters will interested in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Bujang Lapuk on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:22 am

A Proton roadster? Meh, if you ask me, leave the roadster business to Lotus, but that’s just my 2 cents :P

• Lotus now wanna make luxury supercars lahh. Lightweight ones pass to Proton lerr.

• Finally some good news from Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 11
  • Kevin on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Its a shame that proton didn’t decide to buy this earlier.. But better late than never..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 9
    • agree 100%.. actually Petronas already approach them on Mahalel time.. but he has his big plan (CAMPRO)… so Proton Reject the offer.. damn!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • “the rated output being 204.3 PS at 7,300 rpm and 203 Nm at 5,300 rpm”

Can rev until 7300rpm, that’s a rare sight.

Somehow I have a bad feeling that this is not in line with what the world is making about (small displacement turbocharged unit).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • MoFaz on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:38 am

small displacement turbocharged engine has some weakness too.. japanese hasn’t go that way too. i could see that proton is trying a different approach like the japs. probably electric or re-ev for small cars, and big c.c engine for mpv or bigger sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Mr. MoFaz, haven’t you heard Toyota going small displacement turbocharged engine?

http://paultan.org/2010/11/24/toyota-to-go-turbocharger-and-direct-injection-route-for-next-generation-vehicles/

• start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:06 am

the only reason Japan did not go early into the small displacement turbo charged engine is because they did not really think that they could produce one very reliable engine until recently..

the European attitude is all about built in now! fix it later…. u know what I mean if you work with them for several years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Actually the reason they gave was that they piled all their R&D on hybrid tech and didn’t put enough attention on conventional engines themselves. Toyota made bulletproof twin-turbo straight-sixes for years, so I don’t think making a reliable turbocharged small-displacement engine would’ve been too difficult.

• Danial on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm

japanese is all about copy and improve while the Europe is more to INNOVATE and improve dude..that’s why there were so many Innovation and Creation in the Hands of the European ie German, Russian , English, Sweds ets…:)

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 15, 2012 at 2:29 am

The Russians? Really? All they’ve given us are horrid Ladas.

Oh and give over. The Japanese stopped copying the Europeans thirty years ago.

• MoFaz on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:07 am

what i meant, proton and japs might have consider about the small turbo engine, but we haven’t see them yet. electric and hybrid are more popular among asian carmakers, and several models are already produced.

• 4g63t dsm on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:08 am

Lol..the Japanese has been doing that forever.

You forgot about all those turbo 660cc kei cars did you?

• theanswer on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:00 am

the jap already follow that path la..only Jap in msia didnt get those model. but different brand will use different method..for exp skyactive from mazda.

• moha774 on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:55 am

the figures is for 2.0 N.A engine version, which is sweet and for engine as light as 109 kg…I suppose its lighter or the same weight with my 1.2L engine…

• amokio on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:17 pm

i hope Proton will get a nice use of it..
    Honda-Quality body, Petronas-Performance Engine…
    and a Proton LOGO!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 9
    • MrDDR on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Dont forget lotus tuned suspension

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
      • Kelvin on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Proton has all the sure win technologies and know how, but still fail, if not because of NAP. All because of corruption, and given business to their own cronies. If Proton still continue running like what they are today, they will still lagging at the back in motor industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 12
  • taufic on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:20 pm

vtec: wtf?
    proton: lulz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • Old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 50
  • portnoy on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:27 pm

yes it’s old..but still can kick Korean any day!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 14
    • Dick-tator Kim on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Stupid people compare turbo & NA engine. Whatever you gonna say, kimchi is here to stay. You may resist now, I bet many years down the road you’ll own one too. Kimchi juz getting better overtime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
      • Modesto.hann on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:16 am

Kimchi still lags fuel efficiency behind sushi, in a great deal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Yes we should all make the kimchi richer by giving away our money to them. Who cares about this country anyway. Kpop is getting better overtime.

• llgriver on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:00 am

yeah..but can Proton’s sale kick Korean in US, Europe and other sides of the world? i wish i could wait but today is 12.12.12..Proton, you only have hours to prove before the world ends..chaiyuk!!!

• Petronas stop engine development in 2010. The question now, another 6 engine pattern and technology was not revealed by them. Thats super interesting!..come on guys, even vios keep using the dated engine for the last 7 years nobody complaints, sumore people keep buying…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 8
    • Badge-blind mentality

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
    • Lemonguy on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:16 pm

If you really compare proton and vios, you can really find a huge different especially handling, absorbar, engine and cabin noise level. People not blindly buy the products if its not good. Yes, proton may have the technology but sad to say that its lack of quality control. If Proton can put efford in their QC i believe its can increase their share market. Just see how succesful of Perodua Myvi, their marketing department really doing their job even they can upgrade to better spec compare to Proton which recently came out satria neo with r3 bodykits which I think dont have any good selling point and the pricing is too expensive, how they do market research?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:09 am

1st gen myvi team was bought over by Proton to produce the exora and preve… I wonder what they going to do next.. :D

• superman on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:00 pm

MyVi? they don’t even have R&D, Exora was developed in conjunction with V-ENS Korea and PREVE with Magna Styer Austria. where MyVi team? come on lah.

• fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:20 pm

vios is the best. You see that phillipine police use vios as their car. Also as taxi in indonesia. Vios the best. Its price is very cheap. Quality are uncomparable.

• odi862 on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Proton has many good designs in their collection but most of the good designs only end at sketching or concept phase. They however lack good engines (and attention to quality)in their line of products. Then again, due to the small market, investing too much in cars that won’t sell (besides domestic market) will only lead to ‘suicide’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:08 pm

No! The head of designer department should be fired. He is the one approving the designs. Look at Kia and Hyundai. They sell exactly what they have design on the paper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • Kia maybe nice. but Hyundai is Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
      • Vahsa on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:06 am

Damn straight you are right. Proton needs to improve the look of their car first. Because people judge a book by its cover! Really, look at KIA/Hyundai well done design, suddenly catches peoples attention and inspire confidence to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nanashisan on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Nice. now proton need to develop direct injection using E01e block and acquire advance modern diesel engine technologies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Tested for years in few proton cars located in Sepang and Bangi. Uses GP plate and…. It’s damm powerful.

But pitty…… After all the effort Petronas have done with Sauber to produce this tech… Only now they want it, after part of it being sold to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • MoFaz on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:43 am

proton doesn’t need anything bigger than 1.6 previously, simply because they couldn’t reach profitable economy of scale to produce it just for perdana. but now they have preve and exora which demand more power.

• RazorBlade on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Petronas and Proton. Bit underwhelmed, isn’t it?

New model
    outfitted with outdated engine tech
    ???
    PROFIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 75
  • Kalun on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:49 pm

I saw the old post from Paultan back in 2005.
    It’s a big wow how much evolving Paultan have take. Pics back then is blurry. And yet still executing a great article every time!

Anyway about this engine. It’s not as High revving as the K20a but the torque input is damn high. Probably Proton would rename it to Campro something. Or maybe put in a CPS tech in there. CPS is much more high rev than this but less torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • In case proton commercialise this tech and engine into production….would rather see the engine name as petronas rather then campro….this is a way to rebrand proton itself…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • I don’t think petronas will allow that. How about using the petronas green turquoise and name it something other than campro? just a way to remind people of the petronas dna in it.

• Kalun on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:44 am

I’m not sure about that either. Proton bought all the patent. That’s mean it theirs but the the naming is still unknown.
          Maybe Petronas or Proton.

Quoted from Top Gear. “Don’t name your child Proton if he/she born in that car. Just get out. That name is emberasing.”

• taboogen on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:11 am

if they bought the patent Petronas dont have any right anymore..

• start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:11 am

Proton should not called it Campro… the name has been tainted by TM last time as he really put it to production hoping to solve the issue within few years but yet..

• fazron80 on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

cps have problem with euro standard emission.

• crank on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:51 pm

They should have done this 10 years ago. I was hoping to see this engine in a putra, satria or gen2 unfortunately the campro came in. haihz. Anyways we shall see what mods can they do to improve the fuel consumption and CO2 emission since building a brand new engine would cost a bomb. Hoping for the best from proton since DRB took over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Kelvin on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Hoping?@!! I lost hope with Proton to be frank. Over the two decades, they are still sucking Malaysian money with their overprice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 46
      • crank on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:03 pm

As a car enthusiast I’ve always hoped that Proton, our national car maker to produce quality reliable cars despite the fact that they have producing shitty problematic cars since the waja.

Well with the recent involvement of drb, we can still hope for something. Proton still has a loooooooot of room for improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:12 am

i lost hope when i know DRB is going to acquire Proton into private company..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I don’t mind the move, but seriously, please give attention to the interior quality as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Interior on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:21 am

Proton has actually improved on their interior design, look at Preve’s. It’s a huge advancement from the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • blackgenius007 on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:55 pm

A 1998 engine???? Euro 2 emission…. If tuned to Euro 5 sure 50% reduction on HP and torque…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • jens lehman on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:25 am

Euro 2 to Euro 5, 50% reduction in power? Where do you get this crap? Seriously, do you even know what Euro 5 requirements??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • pirlo on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:21 pm

does it mean that proton vehicle selling in UK to comply with euro 5 is underpowered compared to domestic? ours is euro 3.

• FINALLY..afer ages waiting

• Sorry remind me again how old the 4G63 family is? That’s right if the foundation is strong it can be upgraded to be complaint to today’s standards. I’m no GLC lover but we Malaysians just love to hate…sigh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • 4g63t dsm on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:21 am

And funny you should mention my namesake,

Do you know how different the old 4g63 is from what we have now? It only shares bore and stroke… And nothing else. It’s a very dated engine and no way able to keep up with modern designs in terms of efficiency.

I love my turbo 4g63 and I’ll be the first to tell you what a thirsty engine this is. Cane it and you’d barely make 250 a tank. Nostalgia is nice, but often impractical.

A modern petrol engine needs to have all the following.
      Direct injection, variable valve timing and lift, variable intake, turbocharging.

• taboogen on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Wow later neo s2000 fitted with this engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • ezracopters on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:07 pm

i dotn care bout the rest.. just hoping at least next generation of Satria gonna have one of those prototype engine by Petronas.

i own one, i know how much potential in the neo chassis.

• MatLimMutu on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:40 pm

ok now move faster Proton!! work double hard!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Lets start with satria neo GTI 2.0. Can go rally straight away! Emission no problem. Msia euro 2 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Darenz on Dec 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm

nothing is too late for Proton. As long as dont close shop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • welcome home E01e!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • obese on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Ahh, love those old posts from paultan..
    Nostalgic..leaked spyshot was a big hit those days.. hehehe..I hope proton will proper and better.

• nighttrain on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Not bad for a butique manufacturer.. can also go into Lotus cars, like the new Elise. What is a ‘modern engine’?

• odi862 on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:07 am

Lotus is using Toyota engine that has been tune up for higher performance to suit it “super car” image. I don’t think they will use this ‘new’ engine yet.

• Cosmo Artemis on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:56 pm

This engine was develop in F1-environment by Sauber Petronas engineer.

• Kelvin on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Proton should have used the engine during the Waja days. E01e with real Lotus chassis, maybe now Proton has been a great success not kimchee powered car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • ah seng on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:49 pm

wah…this engine is old old tech, remember seeing the gti in the first sepang f1 race. but finally some fast protons…it will be great if they drop the 2.0 in the satria neo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Kelvin on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:49 pm

If Preve R3 came with this 2li engine, with the price tag 68k, I will buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • ur still “hoping” by using “if” contradict what u said upper post..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Kelvin on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:38 pm

I am not hoping. I am just saying when Proton produce Preve with this engine I will buy it.

• Pumpkins on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:52 am

Really? That E01e old engine vibrate kuat, later power window lagi cepat bergegar rosak lah HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
        • start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:14 am

epic failed kevin. super flip flop!

• Kelvin on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Proton will give you the flip flop feeling, you want to help them, but it always gives you the setback. Pls don’t start-a-fight.

• Kelvin on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Love and hate feeling.

• Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:52 pm

me forever toyota, camry to be exact….I have big concern on RV as all my fans know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 80
  • kanasai

• lalok_stylo on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:37 pm

not too bad given the engine was develop in 2005…
    200PS n 203NM is not too bad….
    if proton can tune it to get max power and torque at lower RPM, it would be better….
    and 1 more to comply with higher EURO standard emission….

• works on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Proton, please produce this engine quickly and slap it into your line up….don’t just put it in your warehouse…

• udasalleh on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I don’t get it. As the world moves toward less fuel dependent EVs and hibrids, more efficiency but better performance in smaller displacement engines… P1 is going for the 15 year old expensive engine.

Yes it was developed from past experience in F1. So what? Changing with the times will see the FIA regulate the 2014 season to use 1.6 litre turbo V6 engines.

Commercially speaking anything above the C segment has not seen good sales for P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • lordjijul on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:02 pm

dulu2 tahun 2000 petronas offer engine nie proton bawah tengku mahaleel sombong dan bongkak xnak beli. baguslah DRB HICOM, harap pasni lebih berjaya dan sukses proton dibawah kendalian DRB HICOM milik Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:26 am

as much as I dislike TM… I do agree that earlier, Proton has embarked on SENG and BENG.. in case u kids didn’t know. it is Small Engine and Big Engine project…

BENG was shelved as the model that using big engine was only Perdana with 2.0 and Waja 1.8 using renault engine did not really take off eventhough Waja 1.8 is really a good car to own.(miss this car)

SENG took off, but launched prematurely into the market with the problem Campro is famous for and as it was put to production, to change it require big investment, so what they could do is to enhanced and add more module into the engine to make it work better.

it was in DSZ era when he manage to sold the Campro engine to the Chinese Youngman and now since DRB taking over and they did not really care much about the automotive industries, they bought the 1.8, 2.0 and 2.2 engine when the oil price is high and people are going to hybrid and EV.

if u think this is a good move, to me, it is very bad, the same money could be invested into commercializing the REEV as in Chevrolet volt or Proton’s own Exora REEV and moving forward toward green engine and complying to the Euro emission guide…

for a 1.8 engine, do you think people in London might want to buy it? and pay extra for congestion charge etc?

sorry but I DKJ make the wrong move to buy these engine… thinking to make into SUV.

p/s: unless they are putting it into Lotus APX and mass produce it, and yes, that would be a great move as the rich and famous are now driving in SUV and abandoning the sports car in the garage.

The rich people in the 90’s already passed their sportiness mode and in the luxury seat. (the reason why even bently is coming up with the big-a5s bling-bling SUV)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Hero86 on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:58 am

I tot P1 already give some hybrid models for government use for trial.. they collect some data to see how the car’s performance for daily use.. dont worry la.. they still on it.. for this new toy, i think they are aiming on high performance car.. urm, sports car maybe???

• ayamxxx on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Its more or less that the Proton concede that the CFE Campro is a FAILURE product. FULLSTOP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • Please refer this article, the engine beat other engines on the track.

Ignorance is really a bliss for people like you.

http://paultan.org/2012/12/11/proton-r3-scores-1-2-finish-in-sepang-1000km-race/protons1k04/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Great deal from local big company

• Might be by the ‘order’ of Tun Penasihat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • odi862 on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:11 am

There may be some truth about your statement.

• start-a-figt on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:30 am

Tun penasihat bought the idea of small engine turbo charged in car in end 1990s. the only reason Proton bought MV Augusta into believing that MV agusta has the plan to build a car with motorcycle engine but that did not took off… (references into 3 cylinder small car running around in India currently)

TM toooooo busy with the Campro.

and Tun penasihat could not see how proud and snob malaysian into buying a car with small displacment. they still think they could afford to pay the fuel until the fuel price increase and they decided to change the government and not they attitude.

• Just Stupid! Engine is already outdated many years old and still want to buy! Forever won’t improve and Mau Lau!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
  • unforgiven on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:44 pm

How much the old man is earning out of the rm 63 m? Or is it for his son to enjoy driving the super car? The God is watching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
  • teelim on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Hope Proton can put it into good use.

Proton seriously needs a new engine (or a few) in its line up.

• Seems like Proton is going to produce a d-segment car soon…

• All the best… Looking forward to good stuffs frm proton…

• Severe Tyre Damage on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:57 am

Proton why you no put VTEC engine? Honda would be very happy to sell some to you guys. Proton can save money on research, development, testing and customer will be happy ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • vtec-suck on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:24 am

vtec is not powerful engine, it is just bit better than cps while cfe is different engine, turbocharged like those in european marque, only it’s not twin-scrollled, only single charged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • 1. will we see a FR/MR/AWD Car from proton ?
    2. huhuhu…..why now ? why not the moment i brought neo come with Petronas E01 engine ……..

• dzulx on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:49 am

63mil is a bargain… especially if the engine is already pre-production stage..

read back the bernama report… it seems proton aspire to be an engine maker and sell to others..

• shawal on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:20 am

7300 rpm ….? thats bloody high …
    imagine the amount of fuel this thing drinks…
    well , it has to benefit its creator …petronas ..lol…

• fast on rolling downhill on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:26 am

better proton venture producing kapcai like honda cup..mampu milik rakyat..ramai bole beli..banyak pasaran and not much to compete..each car to be developed cost 100over million with bad ROI if not sellable like savvy..juara..etc

• Pumpkins on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:47 am

Protong always move backward “Put The Cart Before The Horse” choosing wrong decision and direction.

While rest of world car firms focus on fuel-efficient engines, Protong thought otherwise go buy old junk tech. Reverse engineering konon. Crap talk lah.

Anyway, let DRB bleeding silly money big loss on Protong while we all enjoy good comedy laughing HA HA HA HA HA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • faisal on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:06 am

Congrat Proton. Dalam diam dah menguasai banyak teknologi. MIVEC,VTEC,CPS,CFE & Lotus. Sabar dengan cemuhan dan kutukan pasti berjaya di masa hadapan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • RM63mil – that’s cheap

• longhorn on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:01 pm

A steal for “seven engine technologies as well as 117 technology patents.”….very good deal!!!

• How about 500Mil on REEV and EV with uk company Frazer Nash? that is not cheap and where are the cars? why do we need FNR, there are more better partners around and I bet proton can do it internally better than outdated uk companies.

• diamjer on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:42 am

108.9 kg… maybe not aluminium die-cast block, but hey the patent is there, proton can be extra creative to reduce the total weight.

last i’ve checked, 4g63 is 150lbs, the new 4b11 is 12lbs lesser. while ford duratec is at 92.8 kg

• i remember i read similar load of bullshit from proton when they bought lotus. now we hear the same thing. Funny that a (supposedly) car manufacturer is buying engine designs from an oil company. Just makes proton’s engineering department is a bunch of pathetic lots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • Ononimos on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:11 am

This kind of statement normally came from:
      1.high school brat
      2.A brat with no engineering background at all.
      3.Non/not yet graduated brat.
      4.Automotive Engineer graduated from Paul Tan or Lowyat University.
      5.People who does not even qualified to work as automotive engineer at Proton. (U need to score at least 3.00 for your CGPA, pass the IQ test and go through sessions of interview).
      6. Perasan Bagus kind of people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
      • Totally agreed with Ononimos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • kim jong il on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:03 pm

paul tan and lowyat university?
        okay.. this is funny (-_-‘)

• PT university(PTU) and LY university(LYU) far better than UTM in term of number of graduated engineer..huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Azmil San on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:23 pm

I PTU KZM
            it looks like your talking before thinking.
            UTM engineering is the best in this country.

http://www.news.utm.my/2012/09/utm-improves-standing-as-renowned-engineering-and-technology-focused-university/

• ooo..man im being sarcastic..no need to think too much when being sarcastic…did u think ptu n lyu exist? ayoo

• i wish you could proof me wrong. But the reality of the truth is you all get excited of news like this which in real world doesnt make sense. If you cannot even place logic behind this whole exercise, then i guess you view the world as it is with such simplicity. Ignorance is bliss….guess the saying is true in this case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Ononimos on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:59 pm

I am assuming that your were typing all the sentences above while looking at your self in front of a mirror. Ignorance is Bliss is true in this case as you surely did not know how difficult it is to develope a car. Talk is cheap. If you are qualified, go make the changes. Only IF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • even worst with renault with phone company – samsung

• youyuo on Mar 11, 2014 at 1:48 am

samsung dont only make phones, they have a large chunk of talents from the heavy industry they got, they are bigger then renault

• kacak on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:11 am

Kacak luar – proton
    Kacak dalam – petronas

• moha774 on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:29 am

It was Petronas and Proton ventures previously, when Petronas was the White Knight for Proton…when Petronas parts away its shares to Khazanah, so do the engines and its research staffs…this turn of event is actually long overdue…but never too late..

• kurt maes on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

Why Petronas old engine now Proton has a deal with HONDA ?

Al big carbrands are working on 3 cilinder turbo engines , Lotus Engineering USA has made a 1 litre 3 cilinder with 150 hp …..

• Pumpkins on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:08 am

Remember last time launching Jenneva Gold was hailed by Dr Mamak as good investment Syariah-compliant…

Sekarang apa macam lah??? Promoting big scam???

Same thing with this E01 sounds like good investment Protong HE HE HE HE…Lu orang tengok lah nanti kalau tak percaya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • anyone can say anything about this news..but do u all know exactly what they plan to do with the engine? do u?

• longjaafar on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:32 am

Until today, we don’t know the rationale for Petronas to go into engine manufacturing. It only points out to a personal obssession of one influential person.
    Does Shell, ESSO or BP have their own engines. Spending other people’s money is always easy. How much di Petronas spend and how much did they get back from this sale?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Mat Kelakar on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:35 am

Hahaha… kelakar laa kau org semua ni… buka kilang sendiri baru puas hati laa.. org buat semua tak betul…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • setuju..bnyk sgt komen negatif..gi buka kilang sendiri pastu buat engine sendiri..

• Jaybond on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:59 am

To comply with the latest emission regulations as as well as reliability considerations, there’s a strong possibility that the max power of the E01 engine could be detuned to sub-200hp region, perhaps around 170bhp~175bhp (although if Lotus intends to use the engine or for the upcoming Hicom Potenza sportscar, it could be around 190bhp).Anyway, the Petronas’ engine technology acquisition by Proton is definitely a good move to strengthten their expansion plans.Good job!

• clutch_plate on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Hmm.. wonder what is the name of this engine btw? PETPRO? PetroCam? (Petronas + CamPro) Hehehe.. Anyway, i’m happy to see more improvement from Proton under DRB. Good luck Proton!

• What improvement from DRB? Putting Neo back in service?

I wait for that day they actually put the engine in service.. Let’s just say I am not very optimistic with the debut date.

• Abuya on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm

2.0 and 2.2 turbocharge liter engine? Datuk Khamil, boleh tak saya nak nasihat sesuatu?

1. Hentikanlah zaman bodoh DRB buat kereta ikut kepala sendiri sebelum khazanah ambil alih. Buat Satria Neo, apa return nya? Dapat balik modal? Dah penat DSZ betulkan kebodohan korang dulu. Rakyat mau harga murah dan jimat minyak, bukan performance dan kuat minyak.

2. Buat enjin yang bagus sikit. Rakyat nak timing chain dan jimat minyak. So buat ikut kehendak kami.

3. Saga flx dah bagus. (tu pun buat sebelum zaman korang). Boleh tak buat enjin untuk saga flx yang baru, enjin 1.0 liter cps turbocharge yang guna timing chain. Minyak lagi jimat, performance lagi bagus. Simple kan? Lagipun semua tu ada dlm R&D korang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • sepul on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:22 pm

encik, enjin pakai timing chain sebenarnya design lama.. enjin baru suma pakai timing belt

dan lagi, timing chain menambah berat enjin

nak jimat minyak tak semestinya enjin kena kecil, lagipun kereta mcm honda accord takkan nak pakai enjin 1.3 atas alasan nak jimat minyak.. lagi kuat makan ada la sebab badan kereta besar, tp enjin kecik, tak cukup kuat nak tarik

lagi, cps = vtec = mivec

vvt < vvt-i = i-mivec = i-vtec = ti-vct = cvvt = dvvt = cfe

boleh faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • ford mondeo besar gedabak pun dah nak start pakai 3 cylinder 1.0 turbocharged je………..kekekekeke

• ayamxxx on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:35 pm

hello. new engine use a Timing chain as it more reliable, no need to change the belt, etc.

another more, new engine built with Aluminum material, it more lighter, so safe fuel.

not like maCAMPRO

• Medic on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:36 pm

U gila kah?Enjin MK 6 Vw Gti yang menang banyak anugerah pun pakai timing chain.Karang semua enjin baru pakai timing chain,boleh tahan>150,000km.

• LOLZ.. timing belt, r u kidding me..
        no wonder sounds like taxi..

• BuyCheapSellExpensive on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Way to go Proton buy cheap from Petronas, sell the old tech to the rakyat at higher profits !Good business i must say, the loser Petronas dump hundred of millions for nothing.

• Cosmo Artemis on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:10 am

No, PETRONAS is not the LOSER. We are the winner, to be exact bread-winner for Malaysian. We provide 40% to our government revenue; which translate a cheaper price for you daily life. And also a subsidy for your kids too. And also to you.

You will not agree with my statement if you are foreigners or born into some f*****g rich families for generation.

• watchman on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:32 pm

mampuslah Proton. Proton must die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • umnokakipitnah on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:22 pm

a great move from Proton..they’ll benefit a lot if they fully utilise the engine..model from SUV & D segment cars will never be a stumbling block anymore

• That’s the problem with Proton and most G linked companies for that matter. They never know what to do. The original project was initiated by Proton, then they abandon it and decided to do themselves, wasting years of effort, time and money.

Petronas created a team of engineers together with Sauber to design and build engines for Proton. My friend was one of the engineers who was posted to Japan on this project back in 2001. In 2 years, they already had prototype engines but someone in Proton thought it would be more MACHO to make their own and so, it was cancelled. How long did it take them to come out with Campro? How long before it can be used commercially? They could have used the Petronas engine way back in probably 2004-5 but no, some macho fella decided Proton is better on their own.

Imagine, they could have sold Petronas/Proton engines to manufacturers in India or China WAY BACK in 2007? 2 years should be enough for them to sort out any issues for large scale manufacturing, with Sauber’s engineering expertise. But the Malaysian G heads are always very good with screwing things up… every time when they have a good thing going.

• Jaybond on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:35 pm

I agree with you, but perhaps it was the estimated cost to mass produce the Petronas (or more appropriately Sauber Petronas) engine that had caused the Proton’s Management of the yesteryear to kill off the idea of Petronas-powered Proton cars in the first place, or it could be due to the ROI or other reasons we won’t be sure.But better late than never, DRB-Hicom is now the ultimate owner of all the Petronas engine designs and is ready to commerciallise the engines.Perhaps, the 3 cylinder Petronas bike engine could also be produce again, on a larger scale?..

• shiftSpank on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Hrm. Perhaps a good move to jump start P1s techno-innovation in the engine dept. They don’t necessarily have to build exact E01e replicas. Whatever it is, this exercise still needs to translate into sales. The other bit for DRB to deal with is improving branding and the quality stigma of yester-year. I foresee DRB will perform a branding exercise to refresh Proton. Maybe a logo change, or a name change. Goes a long way for Marketing.

• shahrom on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Ha ha Ha the joke is on the rakyat who had wet dreams
    driving a Honda!!
    Whatever joint colloboration is just a drama cos until today nothing
    has transpired and utter silence from both sides,
    In fact DRB should be queried by SC for the dead sillence,
    Another move by DRB and its directors to push up its share
    price!! Buy on rumour sell on facts!!

• JeremyNg on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm

BTW CamPro CPS is a very good engine but not sure why proton don1 used that technology in all the models. Cost issue again ?? =.=

• About the Euro emssion rating,Proton can send this engine to Lotus Engineering for further performance enhancement and catalytic modification+ECU recalibration,remember that the 1.6 CFE engine is tuned to achieve Euro5 standard,ramai yng kritik kata enjin ni outdated la..teknologi lama laa..kira ok lah ni enjin aluminum bukan cast iron siap pkai Variable Valve Timing lagi…tu enjin Toyota VVT-i dah develop dari tahun 1991 tkder saper lak bising tu enjin lama..

• mayonis on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:40 pm

finally, after 14 years, proton decided to use this tech engine. now you act like business man Mr proton.

14 year of blueprint engine is not an issue, it can be improve/ updates with latest tech. can wait to see the preve 2.0 or neo 2.0 GTi performance. stick to it’s name E01e…it will be bombastic name rather then…

• mayonis on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:40 pm

finally, after 14 years, proton decided to use this tech engine. now you act like business man Mr proton.

14 years of blueprint engine is not an issue, it can be improve/ updates with latest tech. cant wait to see the preve 2.0 or neo 2.0 GTi performance. stick to it’s name E01e…it will be bombastic name rather then…

• shame on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm

lets vote here,
    1. satria neo with EO1e
    2. satria neo with Cfe.
    which you will buy?

• Kaninabei on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:10 pm

A 10 year Nissan engine just don’t need to overhaul even with mileage up to 280000, however the E01 which has been in the store room for more than ten years need overhaul just after the forth night after coming out from the showroom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • mayonis on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:05 pm

i dont think that they mass produce yet. it may have 10 or 50 prototype only. some of them already install in satria GTi, we may need owner (satria GTi with E01e) feed back on this. as i remember, it was a positive feedback.

• zanggief on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

now the trend already move towards small displacement yet higher output…so with this early 21century design may not fully suit for latest trend…especially as global model…however with those patented technology may act as stepping stone for P1 to increase campro ranges to above 1.6 NA / supercharge and also diesel engine…though is late rather than none…

• Kuntil on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Hello guys and girls ;

It is not your own money bro .. whatever they want to do is their own choice lah … keep on dreaming for all the basher out there. You didn’t own the company isn’t it ? Just wait n see how lol …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • fariz01 on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:37 pm

for sure proton and drb will do stuff to this engine to make it up to date…. they need to. If its not too much to hope for, i’d like to see the 2.0 turbo version of this in the upcoming preve hatchback – if they make a performance version of it of coz =)

• sompro on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm

who say these engines are for cars. these engines are for buses, trucks and even uav or armored vehicle, all within drb group businesss

• NIEKO on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:41 pm

ha so there is still hope for proton to produce their first RWD car ,i dont think its that hard ,because we are not talking about one engine but its nearly 7 difreant engines
    so very exiting news for me atleast

• khairul on Dec 13, 2012 at 1:13 am

economics of scales, we do not need to develop an engine for the sake to become global and sell only 1million of cars yearly. better channel to others like R&D, develops new car segment, safety or etc…
    to develop an exora is 500mil, i dont think 5bil is enough to develop the world standard of engine and transmission…

• Cosmo Artemis on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:21 am

Dear sir,

With due respect, I found out that in your life, if your boss decided who will he promote to be future boss, it is for sure not you. Such nonsense analytics thinking and writing which you portrayed here clearly shows that you are un-capable to think in a business ways. Of course, I bet that in future, if you considering the facts that if the E01e proven on track and road, there are many of manufacturer out there which Proton could explore the engine business supply opportunities.

• cardreamer on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:48 am

Finally..just have a thought on this engine while having a Preve test drive for a day.

As someone said, this engine could have found itself into Waja. A very good handling car now being wasted. After testing the Preve for a day, i would still say Waja is still the best handling car ever produced by Proton. Why couldn’t they just rebuilt a new Waja using the same chasis. Being old not necessarily be outdated.

I love the Preve very much despite the driving feeling that as i said earlier a bit inferior to the old waja. But i just don’t like the turbo engine and its CVT.

While driving the Preve i was thinking how good it would be if it is equipped with a Honda engine and transmission (since they have now partnered Honda), and in a sudden this Petronas engine pass by my mind…

So congrat Proton on the technology acquisition. Work hard please and replace the engine for your car is not too far to become a truly global car..

Put a nice engine into Preve, and people will fast forget those Vios, city and its like..

• kurterplunk on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:33 am

can’t wait to see where the new engine will be installed to.

• slasher on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Proton has been well established with its aircond system which is unbeatable by anyone. Also they are actually also involved in the parts design of other more established cars. But of course this is a well kept secret as P1 is no one. They are late but is better than never. With the patent in house, they can provide better tech with the Petronas staff remains there. Give them chance!

• laser hair removal lubbock on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:54 pm

It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I have learn this publish and if I may I desire
    to recommend you some fascinating issues or advice. Perhaps
    you could write next articles regarding this article.
    I want to learn even more issues approximately it!

• glaze on Apr 24, 2013 at 7:02 pm

First of all, I really hope our national car can improve! Thinking of Proton started about the same time with Hyundai and looking at Hyundai today compared to Proton, we are really way behind others.

I felt it is a shame that after so many years we still have to use Mitsu for the Inspira and now Accord chasis for Perdana. Proton can be a lot better today…

• Alson P on May 22, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Proton and Hyundai not started at same time… not even close… Hyundai Motor Company Founded December 29, 1967…
      http://worldwide.hyundai.com/WW/Corporate/CorporateInformation/History/index.html

While PROTON was officially incorporated on May 7, 1983. Our very first model, the Proton Saga was commercially launched on July 9, 1985.

• fathil asri on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Salam semua, saya telah merasai kehebatan engine petronas ini pada tahun 1999, yang di letakkan pada satria gti yang di gunakan di trek sepang. No pendaftaran pada kereta satria gti yang menggunakan engiine petronas ini ialah GP. Pada masa itu saya berpeluang merasai kehebatan engine ini yang di pandu oleh seorang pelumba kereta Jepun (x ingat nama dia). Setelah selesai uji pandu saya bertanya kpd pelumba itu, dan respon yang beliau beri amat berpuashati. Sehingga skrg sy menantikan engine ini digunakan oleh kereta proton dan ingin memilikinya. Pada rakyat Malaysia, nantikan kemunculannya dan rasai kehebatan engine ini. Wassalamm..