Facelifted 2013 Nissan Livina spotted in China

livina-fl-front3q

The Nissan Livina range is due to get a facelift in China, as these leaked pics show. All are of the standard length Livina, and not the three-row Grand Livina (Livina Geniss in China) that’s very popular here. The green one is the Livina C-Gear, the SUV-styled version we know as Livina X-Gear in Malaysia.

This refresh sports bigger triangular headlamps and a more pronounced V-shape nose. The new face looks a little like the new Nissan Note, although not so funky without the Euro-spec car’s distinctive headlamps.

Bigger changes can be found at the back, where the tail light clusters are now wide instead of long. Also, unlike the current Livina, the lights eat into the tailgate. Old or new, which look do you prefer?

Word from the Middle Kingdom is that the refreshed Livina is set for a March 2013 launch, and the current car’s four-speed automatic gearbox will be replaced by a CVT unit that will boost fuel economy.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• what is this for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:24 pm

As usual, we always get things one or two years later. Ooops, with ETCM, I think its few years later. Aiyoo, Nissan, you carry the same Japanese flag as Toyota lah. Pls keep up with other Japanese brands. Otherwise, everybody will laugh at the Japanese brands and our already dropping RV is going to get worse. So, pls, Honda and Nissan, please do your part to build the Japanese name back to its glory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • JUN JUN on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:50 pm

FOR OLD PERSON…

I LIKE TAIL LAMP BUT FRONT LAMP SO EXORAIS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Pekan on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:38 pm

I’ve had the experience of being a Livina passenger at the rear seat. It was terrible since there was no rear air-cond vent, feels like inside a microwave. Tan Chong, this car is not suitable for tropical country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Calvin on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Rear aircond blowers should be a must nowdays. The hot weather is driving the rear passengers crazy. Turning the aircond maximum in front isn’t a solution. Look at Peugeot 308 for an example (not MPV), it comes with a rear blowers for rear passengers.

• How long has this car been on the foreign market already?

• lappa on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:01 pm

I would prefer the older version with the fully black interior!! THIS DESIGN SUCKS!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • polo saga on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

much improved.

• Jimmy on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:51 pm

The rear lamps look kempis ke dalam. It should be made protruding to the sides (fatter) to make the car look more ‘gorgeous’.

• If you want to buy this car for a long term ownership it is ok…but the second hand value sucks….you will loose a lot of money if you want to trade-in later……

• What Nissan car become ugly and ugliest!!!! Sad if this car come in Malaysia..It will spoil the road scenery..Wish the designer change the idea such as Mazda

• siput sedut on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:28 am

Mazda look worse than Nissan. With front grill wide open like kerang busuk.

• i think if this car arrive here surely someone will try to put lancer face to it like those exoralancer…malaysian ahbeng style -_-“

• Dan Dan on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:41 am

Opps..Malaysia, you will until your neck long..
    with ETCM may be 3 years times…

• kamil on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:39 pm

grand livina, almera, latio are all ugly! design do play big role in attracting people to buy cars.. nissan, what is happening to u guys?!

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:40 pm

rear looks like touran a bit..prefer this than the avanza..gonna get this as a family car..avanza sucks

• ugly as ever

• Rear lamp looks like volkswagen?