Volkswagen Polo R WRC Street – 220 PS, 240 km/h

a1

You saw this as a concept at Wörthersee this year; now Volkswagen has officially unveiled the fastest production Polo yet – the Polo R WRC Street. Limited to 2,500 units, the car gets the 2.0 litre TSI engine from the Golf GTI that produces 220 PS and 349 Nm of torque.

Driven through a six-speed manual, the 1.3 tonne rally-inspired car can sprint to 100 km/h from rest in 6.4 seconds and plough on towards a not-too-shabby 240 km/h top speed.

a2

As you can see, it gets some show to match the go – chief among which are those 18-inch alloys encased in 215/35 tyres, with 16-inch disc brakes. A bodykit comprising a lower front bumper with enlargened intakes, a rear diffuser and a roof spoiler has been included, while the blue and grey livery is borrowed from the 2013 WRC car, which was launched alongside this one in Monte Carlo.

Available in LHD only, the Polo R WRC Street is up for just under €34k (RM135k), with deliveries set to commence next September.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BalanceD on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:42 am

Cheaper then our Polo GTi in Malaysia !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • teelim on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:58 am

That’s a direct conversion. That’s not how local car prices are calculated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • doublespacing on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Oh really?!! Now only we knew local car prices are not calculated like that! Thanks mate! Btw, u r full of shitz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
        • Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:18 pm

VW in Malaysia is nothing but an overpriced car. In oversea, VW is a common brand, same status as Proton in Malaysia. But in Malaysia, people buying VW think they are in the same league as Rolls Royce. Getting a Toyota is a better buy. Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 43
          • agree bro!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
          • hadi75 on Dec 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Toyota in malaysia is nothing but an overpriced car with lesser spec than overseas. Oversea, toyota ia common brand, same status as proton in malaysia. But in malaysia, people buying toyota because they only think of RV like this sam loo fella….especially this sam loo fella…
            By the way….how is umw paying you to promote toyota in this blog???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
          • Yes! And as there’s no Toyota in Malaysia which can go over 200km/h, Toyota is much more safe too! Buying a slow Toyota is a better buy! ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
          • Fair Comment on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:06 am

Hey Sam Loo, why r u always dissing VW? Have u driven a VW before? How do u know VW is “like” Proton? How do u know VW owners “think” they are driving a rolls royce? Can u share with us? Or u just a keyboard bragger?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • I love Toyota Taxi in Thailand and Taiwan…u can choose ur fav color…too bad in here r just imagine luxury :(

• CARtoon on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:34 am

lol…what kinda stuffs are your loading into your turkey bro. Your sweeping statement is baseless. Im a proud owner of a VW but I have grievances on my car too. It’s definitely NOT a Rolls Royce. By the way, i dumped my 2011 Altis after the SC repeatedly FAILED to rectify the alarm system. So much for a good buy ha

• pak long on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Aiyo… all know la about RV… but u seem to know RV only…

• Maybe he get beat by some VW owners so he hate VW lolx

• BalanceD on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:58 pm

ermmm …. durhz …

• noname on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Proton sells Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing at RM115,000 in Malaysia which only runs up to 200kmh and has 145hp

VW sells Polo R WRC Street at RM135,000 which runs 240kmh and has 220hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Yes the Satria Neo Lotus Edition has its point, might be collectible item in 8 – 10 years time maybe, I don’t know. But the main point is, Proton should earlier make the S2000 for street version instead. with only yellow colour available, same white rims, some stripes. VW Polo entered WRC a bit later than Proton if I’m not mistaken, but look, the produce their rally version for street first!

• It would be interestig to know where in the EU this car is sold for 34,000 Euro?

Take i.e. Germany and Denmark: Both countries have the Euro, but in Denmark cars are much more expensive because of local taxes?

BTW: Denmark doesn’t have a “national car” (they don’t have a car industry at all), but this does not mean that cars are cheap there… ;)

• noname on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:23 pm

i dont get the point of comparing Malaysia’s policies with country which has worse policies than us.

it’s like, u got ‘C’ in an exam and saying u still got better result than those who got ‘D’. receiving ‘C’ or ‘D’ wouldn’t get u anywhere. u will be staying at the bottom class.

why cant we compare with our car policies with singapore or thailand. obviously they have no national car, but their car industries are bigger than us. what a shame.

• Ok, then let’s compare the costs for petrol, registration, etc. in Thailand and Singapore with the Malaysian equivalents too. I don’t get the point of comparing the price of a car only, but not the costs for actually running that car? ;)

• Ben Yap on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:55 am

wow! only RM135K…. that’s really cheap.

for that price and you get a fast car, no wonder Top Gear classify our P1 & P1 as junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • By the time it comes to malaysia will be more than 200k

• alldisc on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:03 pm

this car is mad.

• portnoy on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm

this is what we call hot hatch!

• 6.4s to 100??? That’s way too slow for a car that has 40PS more than the Polo GTi! A stage 1 tune on the PGTi, unleashing 200PS can already do 6.3s. Stage 2 tune with 230PS on tap can nudge 6s. I don’t see the point of this car if it cannot do less than 6s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Its not about the 0-100 sprint. True PGTI can be tuned, but at top end speed, the limit of 1.4 engine is obvious.
      It takes time to climb once reaching 180/190kmph.

With 2.0 engine, I believe one can easily hit over 200kmph.

• beatnik on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Century dash is not all that matters.. if you wanna compare chipped 1.4TSI, then remap this one too.. also, the manual gearbox can take more abuse than the 7-speed dsg. more fun to drive.

• perhaps coz its heavier?

• maybe its because it does not comes with a DSG gear box…

• Anthonio Bieber on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:19 pm

how to purchase at this price in Malaysia?

• unforgiven on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:25 pm

You can if you are the related, cronies, AP holder, etc…

• Vodka on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Could be the same 3rd gen EA888 engine which features both direct and port injection as the facelift Q5 based on the power ratings (225hp on the Q5). On the new Audi S3 this same engine develops 300hp. Get the S3 engine tune and that would make a wicked Polo R!

• Anti Tax on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Its like putting a ferrari engine onto a bmw and selling it at half price of a ‘ferrari’

• Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm

it’s time for an upgrade! but wait…deliveries by next September? factor in an average of 6 months waiting time for my current Polo GTi and I’ll be most likely getting the R in 2014? The new Polo Mark VI will debut by then. hmm…decisions decisions

• James May on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

the widowmaker…..make sure you already bought a plot before driving one….lol

• Yayaya on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Great cars by vw.

Its a pity polos ot gti polos dont get the respect by t n h drivers bcos they think their car is larger therefore it has to be better. They wont care if their jazz n dugongs reach 100kmh in 16 secs so long as they have the bodykit. Same goes to camrys with big wheels with large pipes.

Cant stop laughing at typical jap car fans.

This car is superb. I envy you future owners of this polo r or gti.you have taste and you know what is a good car.

• Polor on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:44 am

Well said!

Anyway, everyone’s got their own preference on cars.

If you like it and can afford one, go ahead and buy it! If you don’t, don’t slam it, that’s really low class..

Awesome car BTW!

• joe mannix on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:01 am

ur r wrong vw higher std than proton here. toyota oso below vw in uk. what i saw here i think skoda, ford and another one or two euro brand lower std than vw. built quality, technology far better than those shite. and yes vw not luxury car but above std normal car. although car cheaper the insurance, MOT, roadtax, fuel, maintenance cost will kill you..

• yayaya on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Well yup drive wat we can afford and be contented with it. If you drive the above or GTI or porsche..you dont go bully the civics or city. The problem is the dugongs, civics, accord or camry or even jazz drivers think they drive a car made by nasa.its not the price of the car you drive, its the way you drive and i salute you guys and gals who knows abt cars and the tech otherwise you wont be buying a regular polo or vw.

Did you all read about the toyota 86 btw? Or subaru actually. Wat makes it so great?. Its we Malaysians tat go gaga over toyota. Its a good car no doubt but go compare it with a proven GTI.