BALL for BMW watches – three models, from RM11.8k

DSC_0140b

The BALL for BMW watch collection was launched in Malaysia yesterday afternoon at the 1 Utama Shopping Centre. As its name suggests, this watch range by BALL is linked to the “Sheer Driving Pleasure” carmaker. Those who follow the watch scene would know BALL as the “railroad brand” known for its self-powered micro gas lights.

According to the Swiss-based company with American roots, BALL for BMW watches are “highly influenced by the lines of BMW cars and includes details that evoke their engines and bodies”. Penned by Magali Metrailler, the range is “designed with an overarching respect for the features shared by both BALL and BMW, namely lightness, performance and technology”.

DSC_0138b
BALL for BMW Power Reserve (left) and GMT, both paired with rubber straps here

The screw-in crown features convex and concave surfaces, things Chris Bangle likes to put on his BMWs. There’s also mention of dials and disc brakes – we’ll leave it to you to spot them. Inka Orange, the classic BMW dial colour, is used across the range, so you can match the dial on your wrist with those in your BMW.

Apparently inspired by BMW’s suspension, BALL for BMW watches exclusively feature the patented Amortiser system that protects the watch against extreme shocks. The system features a shock-absorbing protection ring that protects the mechanical movement from sudden rotor oscillations brought by lateral impacts.

DSC_0147b
Classic model is available in four dial colours, two band options – stainless steel or croc leather

The Swiss-made range is also COSC certified and uses H3 (micro gas lights) in glass tubes for illumination. Light is emitted when the H3 molecules strike the capsules’ coloured inner surface. BALL says that its trademark gas lights can last for over 20 years without an external power source and is 100 times brighter than conventional luminescent paint.

Three models powered by automatic ETA calibers are available – Classic (ETA 2892-2), Power Reserve (ETA 2897) and GMT (ETA 2893-2). The 40 mm-sized Classic sports the biggest BMW logo and can be had with a steel bracelet or crocodile leather strap.

DSC_0123b

The other two 42 mm models have their own unique features – a second time zone indicator for the GMT and a power reserve meter for the other – and a small BMW logo next to the date cutout. All come with anti-reflective sapphire crystal.

Prices start from RM11,800 for the Classic to RM14,100 for the GMT. Live pics after the jump will give you a closer view of the watches, and the models wearing them.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KillBox1Alpha on Dec 13, 2012 at 2:02 am

By putting a BMW logo on, they just managed to exclude everyone but BMW fans from buying it…good marketing job….it’s going to remain a “limited” edition…doubt even bimmer owners gonna get them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • frenzy on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:55 am

Without BMW, RM1.18k, after BMW, RM11.8K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • i am wondering do u know how much a *ball* watches cost? 1.18k? lol…

• Philip Patek on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

Ya.. ya seriously, will BMW owners truly put something
      on their wrists with the word ‘BALL’ written on it?
      11K plus some more….

• Jimmy on Dec 13, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Yes, if we already possessed Rolex. If Mercedes wants to put an eye-catching logo on Longiness, for example, please make sure the three-star is prominent enough. You can jag up the price, it is understood.

• Rakyat on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:05 am

Do you have the “balls” to wear them?

• What special about this watch? RM11.8K? Do i need RM11.8K only for watch? Membazir saja. Materialistik. I can have nice watch for only not more than RM1K even below RM300, hayya.

Second, for RM11.8K, it better to buying 10 bungalow for future and have better life than this watch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
    • Abuya on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:51 pm

This watch is not for ordinary people like us. Pernah jumpa orang yang byk sangat duit tapi tak tahu nak buat apa dengan duit yang dia ada? I ever meet this kind people. Truth to be told, they are really crazy in spending

• Nobody needs expensive watches. Its more like a collectible items. Just like driving luxury cars, u can get A to B driving a P1 or P2.

• Cosmo Artemis on Dec 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Juan, nowadays, a watch is not just a watch. It can be something like investment as well. One of my friend sold his grandfather’s Rolex bought in 1960’s, and a collector paid RM30k for it.

• this watch are for the people that a have alot of money, love to gamble, sex without marriage, and protes the goverment with riot and demo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • RM11.8k,can buy 10 bungalow ? cant even buy a wood house…RM11.8 ‘ million ‘ maybe can .

• Whatever on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Rm300? That is why you will never understand what is class. Watches is not just about luxury, is about taste and the craftsmanship.

Rm11.8k get ten bungalows? I am curious, how.

Don’t just open mouth and blow water. Still never change. That why never improve.

• Jaarky on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Juan..Juan..bercakap macam pandai. Banyakkan membaca dan mengira lagi bro! peace:)

• Kalun on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:48 am

No worries I got my own pair of “BALLS”

• carlover on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:35 am

Ada BMW, ada BALL(s) :P

• is this necessary, wearing this the person can fly?

• wow…cheapest ‘bmw’ ever ^^

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:52 am

Hahaha

• Penang playboy on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

if it come with the ladies, I am going to get it.

• newTiida1.6TurboLaunchingTMR on Dec 13, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Bang for bucks! now the waiting list up to 3 months de!

• B uy M ore W atches on Dec 13, 2012 at 2:44 pm

According to the Ball user manual, it’s trademark gas lights can last for over 20 years and after that
    brightness will eventually decrease and so owners must have their Ball’s thoroughly checked.

• kadajawi on Dec 13, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Well these would be expensive even without the BMW tag. But at this price point I’d be looking at the Ventura v-matic, or for less the Biegert & Funk qlocktwo watch.

• hippo on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Not worth it to get Ball watches. They are just using normal ETA mechanism. Panerai is much much better and classier. The watches in the picture is low end also, should offer at least Trainmaster series. But Panerai beats this any day.

• bro, comparing ball to panerai is like comparing kia k5 to bmw 5 series la. Panerai about same class with rolex or omega a.

• Whatever on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

If you don’t know anything about watch, keep your mouth shut.

Act like an expert, what a joke.

Panerai Pam 00000 and 00005 are using eta as well, and there is few models are using eta as well. What is your explanation then? In house movement? Yes I know they have, but in house movement cost more than 25k.

Comparing ball and Panerai?
      Then you must be comparing proton saga and Honda city all the times.

Do some research first before you comment Mr Einstein.

Thanks

• mayonis on Dec 20, 2012 at 12:19 pm

cheapest panerai is RM18k. of course panerai is better. :) even the replica one cost you Rm1000.

• CKDenthusiast on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Alamak, look like watches I can find in Lelong…

• who wears Ball? on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:00 am

for that cost, u can even get a Breitling watch..

Ball watches are crap!

It is for Seiko and Casio owners who wanna upgrade to RM2k ++ watch…

• Watch Enthusiast on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Reading some of your comments really had me laughing. Are the standard of Malaysian readers’ knowledge and thinking really so low that the comments turned into jokes instead, or are some of the commentators so smart that they acted so stupid just to draw some laughs? I am a watch enthusiasts and some of my watches cost more than the average cars on the roads. Ball is not a very luxurious brand, but it has its fans and they are certainly not in the same crowd as your typical Seiko and Citizen. Grand Seiko maybe, but please don’t compare your everyday-RM300-standard-looking-boring-o’matic-watch with the Ball Beemer series. If you can’t afford it, work harder and one day, you would/could just be able to get it. Don’t just spit sour grapes’ words on this nice blog please.