Chevrolet Orlando officially launched – RM118,888

DSC_4077

The wraps officially came off the Chevrolet Orlando at Naza Quest’s Jalan Ampang showroom today. The seven-seater MPV launches here with a price tag of RM118,888, excluding insurance.

A 1.8 litre Ecotec petrol engine with multi-point fuel injection feeds 141 hp at 6,200 rpm and 176 Nm and 3,800 rpm to the front wheels through a six-speed auto. Fuel economy is a claimed 7.9 litres per 100 km on the combined cycle.

Sitting on GM’s global Delta platform (which also underpins the Chevrolet Cruze), the Korean-built Orlando is offered only in LT trim, for now at least. As such, items such as ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, traction control, 17-inch alloys, electrically adjustable door mirrors, reverse sensor, cruise control and a steering wheel adjustable for rake and reach are standard fitment.

DSC_4030

Entertainment and convenience come in the form of a stereo unit with USB, MP3, Bluetooth, auxiliary and iPod connectivity, with a storage compartment hidden behind the stereo fascia.

Safety equipment includes two airbags and ISOFIX child seat anchors for the second row. The body has been designed around a passenger safety cell philosophy, with high-strength steel employed in strategic areas and crumple zones to absorb impact. The doors also unlock automatically upon detection of impact.

Seating configuration is 2-3-2. The second row seats are split 60:40 and can tumble fold, while the third row is split 50:50. With both rows folded, load volume is just shy of 1,500 litres, and 856 litres up to the window line.

DSC_4118

Six body colours are available: Switchblade Silver, Gun Smoke Grey, Satin Steel Grey, Carbon Flash Black, Deep Espresso Brown and Summit White. All except the white are metallic hues. A five-year or 200,000 km warranty and engine oil change at every 15,000 km interval is offered.

Parked outside at the launch was a better-kitted out car (see the last seven pictures in the gallery) with leather seats, a sportier wheel design and screens built into the front headrests – this isn’t available yet, but could this be the Orlando in LTZ trim?

We’ve sampled, albeit briefly, the Chevrolet Orlando, along with its smaller Sonic sibling that launched last week – click here for our driving impressions.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Anonymous on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:54 pm

…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 86
    • ipohmentari on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:03 am

The Chevrolet logo/emblem so big on the grille can be mistaken as an ambulance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • _xXx_ on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

what would the entire car looks like if the emblem is put on a stand like old merc?

• Proton Owner on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Datuk Maruan should return to Proton. He did a good job at Proton when he was CEO

• I like that Camero-ish side profile of the car, but is the front end looks like a huge calm smiling face [like the Vios, minus the roundish Dugong part] or is it just me?
    I hope Naza Quest the best, cause it looks decently kitted and comes at a respectable price. Not WOW, but more of an okay car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • sambalbabi on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:01 pm

dunno about u guys but i think this is the best looking MPV – for the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 45
    • micheal on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Apsal nama ko mcm gampang je beb?..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 10
    • Given this price, I still think Toyota Innova looks better! But I hate that Toyota does not include some features like automatic sensor etc.. And use the old school 4 speeder gearbox.
      Honestly, something is not right with the look of Orlando. Can any car company come up with a nice looking MPV?? Still waiting for Kia Carens though.. From the sketch it looks delicious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
      • sepul on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm

well, if you understand the logic of the styling, it is more like a cross between an SUV and an MPV.. a somewhat masculine design for a family mover

personally i believe this is the best looking MPV in the market

i have to disagree with you that toyota innova is better looking.. if you say nissan grand livina i would agree

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
      • Megane on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Look is subjective , but ….Toyota Innova drives like shit . A car built with zero passion of driving enjoyment . It’s built on a cheapskate truck platform as well .

• innova more like commercial van than mpv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • rabakSey on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:00 am

the rear lamp does remind me oldie Unser.. but as a whole more comparable with G livina..

• alldisc on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

Leo, first things first – we need to understand why Innova was created.

Toyota Japan has no issues at all to create a high tech MPV and this is all evident in the Estimas, Alphard/Vellfire, Wish, Ipsum/Picnic and etc.

But the Innova was designed with Indonesia in mind ( it is actually an evolution of Kijang @ Unser) where the car need to be spacious, tough, reliable and easy to repair. it also need high ground clearance to withstand indonesia rough terrain roads and maybe, a minor flood.

the same goes to Nissan Grand Livina, which was designed with China in mind.

• Danial on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm

hence come the middle name ‘Grand’ (Great..wall of China of course ), for Innova its about Kereta Seqwa in mind for Indonesian..

• sambal_ikan on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Starting Price (Converted to RM) in :
      Canada RM61,942.38
      UK RM86,387.81
      Philippines RM92,188.77
      Indonesia RM104,520.68
      WTF?

• Kalun on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Expensive, ugly and reliability equivalent to Proton.
    Get Proton Exora Bold instead. More torque and less fuel consumption and deliver a good handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 91
    • Simon Templer@ Seman Tempe on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm

What Kalun says is right . This Orlando with just 176 nm will be easly trashed by Exora Bold. Since getting my EB 5 months ago( actually not my first choice but immediately opted for it following my earlier testride on the Preve)I have been enjoying my ride over just about any out of town travel.The best part is playing ” catch-me-if you-can ” with the usual suspects salemen’s Vios,Civics, Cities including the sluggish Accord, Cameries or even the BMW 3’s . Winding country roads are much more fun .It is a real ego-busters more so considering that it is just a cheapo,local van with an old retired man driving it with a sleeping wife beside him ( as when she’s awake no chance to race man !).Lookng forward to head hunting this Orlando guy very soon . Oh yes , had to give in to Ford Focus TDCi on the way to Tanjong Leman ,Kota Tinggi last August. Road condition did not allow for a safe duel & also safety of my grandson enjoying his video + car not fully running in then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 71
      • looking-Good on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:55 am

Exora smoking a BMW 3? that could be true, as majority of the 3 series on the road are those E90 320i or older..but not the latest F30 320i..& above…

I’m driving F30 328i, sometimes I do encounter some cars (eg.: wira, satra GTI, civic etc) think tat I’m a joker… maybe they too get used to smoke the NA 320i or 323i b4~~

I won’t let them got chance to out run a beemer if they think they could smoke a beemer on a road as pride..

beemer owners out there, agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 39
        • i drive a 328 aswell and no i dont race with the cars mentioned, main reason is there is no fun or pride in it even if you win. but i do enjoy taking the golf gtis, audis and mercs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Look3 on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Stupid 3 series driver who has same standard as proton driver…sigh…jokers on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Danial on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:38 pm

I am not a Beemers owner, but I i agree so much, I used to smoked 3series previously with my luvly Neo, but not with F30, but might be possible with the upcoming Neo CFE R3 …:) cool dude! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • EB playing catch with BMW 3 series… The BMW driver must have mistaken brake for accelerate..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawi on Dec 14, 2012 at 4:04 pm

…as most Malaysian do… Sucks not being able to pass a traffic light because all drivers accelerate so slow that only a few cars can make it.

• Zapruder on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:28 am

I wonder wth playing in ur mind, driving MPV with a mindset to smoke other cars.. Careful atuk, MPV is not designed for racing. Yes it’s turbocharged but nonetheless It’s a family car. The suspension and handling of exora is good, but only if u drive it as MPV not sport cars.
        U better buy another car la atuk, not MPV to satisfy your need for speed. Do not compromise your family safety. When u said u smoke bmw, civic, camry, u should know that they wont even bother to race with u. Why should they challenge an MPV? It’s just in your mind you think that you smoke them. Drive safely ok atuk? ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 1
        • ipohmentari on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:09 am

i think the lousy bimmer/civic/camry/lorry/trailer etc are blocking atuk on the fastlane and they refused to give way that’s why atuk smoke them with a proton tuned by Lotus engineering!! Proton = Power of Dream!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Honda lover on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Because your Potong is too junk for them,including me,latest Civic owner…
            A proud Civic owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
      • Tall Pan on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:40 am

I dunno if u talking salesman c0ck… but u wanna race pls go track. You wanna put your sleeping wife and grandson’s lives in danger go ahead, but don’t kill other ppl’s families.
        Keep our roads safe ya :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • RON97 on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:40 am

Stupid old man.
        Go to an open road, i’m sure you wont even have any chance to see the rear light of those cars.
        Btw, who want to race a proton? When you know most of the drivers have difficulty in life? e.g. tight spending limit (lower income), too many credit cards, many kids, low IQ, etc.
        -BR F30,owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 45
        • Zapruder on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:05 am

BR F30, owner.. Lol.. Dude, seriously? U have to mention till that length to convince us u own one? I personally never met a beemer owner as dumb as u. I’ll let u know one thing, don’t overbrag or people will know how dumb u are..

BR F30, owner.. Wtf mann.. Still can’t stop laughing.. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • farghmee on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:44 pm

be careful driving around mersing.
        felda nitar also..

offtopic.

• BigFoot on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

I pity ur wife & grandson for ur ‘syiok sendiri’ syndrome. No wonder AES were created bcos of you.

• kanchung on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:22 pm

hayya.. why always compare with Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • CarDude on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:23 am

yalar… where got comparison….

• Kalun on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:45 am

Because it categories in same price range and MPV body type.
        Seen it in Miri. Bruneian drove it. It’s UGLY okay. That thing is not tall. It’s short. The back looks flat. The front looks outdated. Yes, the interior cabin is spacious.

If it’s an SUV, then it looks nice but it’s not. At first when I saw it, I thought is a SUV because of the looks and the bulkyness of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • kanchung on Dec 14, 2012 at 3:49 pm

for that price, I myself would buy an exora + a viva for my wife.. but I would never say that exora is better than orlando or vice versa.. because my choice is heavily influenced by my limited budget, not the specs..

• continue driving ur P1 dude. Orlando look much better than EB in my own opinion though 1.8 is not suitable for a people mover.

• Hadi75 on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

Stupid la you…. Comparing NA engine with TURBO engine….of cos la turbo win….aayyoooo….tepuk dahi..

• Is it a good idea to trade in a Toyota Innova and get this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • If you want something different or refreshing, why not ? It’s got a 5 year warranty and interesting interior. But if you want better value for your hard earned cash, get a Exora Bold/Prime. It looks better on the outside, better equipped, but the interior is well… nothing special. It was voted MPV Of The Year for a reason. If I were you, I wouldn’t consider an Alza because it is underpowered and overpriced. Just my 2 cents. You’re the one with the money, not me. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Don’t ever ever consider Alza….
        ..My family has one, you have to shout at 100kph for any form of conversation. Headphones[like those tankers or pilot use] are required when raining, useless if heavy.
        The steering feels light at 80kph and above[60 if raining] and my one has Lorry braking sounds emitting from drum brakes since new, The guys at the service centers are still unable to fix it. Boot can’t open, boot hydraulics mounts is rattling. Hack the whole cars rattles while braking downhill, literally.
        My decades old workhouse out performs it in every sector except comfort.I will avoid P2 from now on.[partly due to their lousy service]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • LongYunus on Dec 21, 2012 at 1:43 am

Buy a viva and just extend it….then become alza. When driving at night, i like to guess is it viva or alza with my wife before we smoke them with our proton saga 1983.

• The only example of dying kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • Megane on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:37 am

My advice to you is keep the Innova for occasional weekend outing with the family members and get a proper driver’s car . 90% of the time ,MPV drivers tend to drive alone to&fro to work . Treat yourself will ya please for daily commuting .

• amokio on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:24 pm

another new choice…welcome Orlando! hopes you Bloom in our country…xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Justin Wong on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Is it so tough to fit more than 2 air bag nowadays?

• its not tough..but we continue to buy toyotas with 2 airbags..thats why lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • ipohmentari on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:14 am

Actually the airbags are not necessary in normal driving conditions. U have a better chance to survive by simply wearing a Helmet. The Law here should enforce the requirement of helmet while driving, not just motorbikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Do you cannot make a better looking car?! Chio Bu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Expatriate VN on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:49 pm

More choice is better! But the crappy taxes should come down as well!

• i still prefer Chevvy Sonic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • slimershine on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

the chicks is OKEY! XD

• not bad.. but the new kia carens is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • oldcars on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm

very nice model indeed….orlando eerrr so so only

• Chevy aka naza…pls improve ur service first before intro more new model..ur service especially ur SC r totally sucks!!

• kaykay on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:43 pm

This is one of the best bang for bucks if you opt for a car that is not local-badged. It’s a nice cars with some really nice features etc but if you care about resale value (if), get something else. But all else aside, its a fine car. Like everyone said, don’t judge it before testing it. Just test drive it and judge it for yourself.

• Jimbo on Dec 14, 2012 at 2:04 am

Guys, can you spot the left-hand-drive Chevy Avalanche next to the done up Chevy Colorado in the pic with the black Chevy Orlando outside the showroom? The Avalanche is one nice pickup, that’s the real Chevy.

• putra_rider on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

quite nice..but no rear 3 row air cond..the seats seems like exora..anyway,it is the most affordable non Malaysian MPV.and the design have some curve of l.rover evoque, i think.

• toyol on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:28 am

livina & easter malaysia made car mehh?? They are cheaper than orlando and non-malaysian too

• i like this…in a between looks of suv and mpv haha

• Fahmi on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:42 am

I dont like the design.. Old Nabira better, in my opinion…

• kadajawi on Dec 14, 2012 at 4:10 pm

And the Nabira was the Opel Zafira, so probably a German car. Not a Korean one.

• kadajawi on Dec 14, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Apparently the Zafira (A, which is the one that was sold here) was developed by Opel and Porsche. It is a rather old design though, but instead of this Korean car they should have brought in the Zafira C instead.

Also 2 airbags are pathetic.

• sepul on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:18 am

those who said the design ugly may not understand the logic of the styling, like i have said before

many here are too used to seeing mpv design like those of exora, innova, stream, etc..

those are called one box design.. this is called two box design, a boxy design which look less ordinary for an mpv.. honda odyssey also use this styling concept

for us, design preference is subjective so i cannot say much to those who considered this as ugly but maybe they need to see it live to make a better judgment

• Datuk Jack. on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:33 pm

im waiting for this mpv since year 2011.. rumors said the price will be below 100k (arround 90k over).. lucky me not get cheat, its over 100k??.. in US they sold this arround 17K USD or RM52K.. with tax n other cost maybe the price will be 80K.. but they sold it almost 120K.. bye2 la chevvy.. better save some money for property investment..

• farghmee on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

power to weight ratio?
    torque to weight ratio?
    power/torque vs rpm graph?

• naza, where’s the diesel version? this petrol 170nm is too weak to carry the orlando weights. all oversea review condemned this 1.8 petrol and advise all to take the 2.0 diesels vcdi instead! (the diesels curning 350nm torque!)

Its the same diesels wt your current captiva diesel (dont give the crap abt our diesel quality when u can bring it in the craptiva diesels!)

• isuzuki on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:55 pm

yea…

5th gear UK:
      Avoid the petrol engine if you want any sort of performance – it struggled to climb hills and overtake with just two people on board, let alone seven – but the diesel is admirable, even in the lower powered version. It is not fast, but competitive with rivals and capable of overtaking.

• MatLimMutu on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

exterior design.. ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • DArkerMarker on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Everything is nice……except the car.

• en yetty on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

orlando looks nice,but resale value of naza car truely bad!

• buy proton last on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:53 am

Buy the car if u like how it looks n what it offers…never buy one if u worry so much abt resale value. After all it is your inner satisfaction that matters most when u drive a car…good looking cars are a sight for sore eyes. But if resale value is yur major concern then by all means buy the lame looking toyota with its mediocre features n let yur eyes sore looking at it throughout yur ownership years…that’s 9 yrs i believe?

• kadajawi on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Hm. Same platform as Opel Astra. 5 stars EuroNCAP (however that is with 6 airbags and ESP). Doesn’t seem to be a bad car.

• 1.8 to me a bit underpowered for this kind of vehicle..there are couple of 2.0 diesel versions and I wonder why Naza chose not to bring it yet..at RM118k it is a bargain though for a seven seaters..if Naza brings the diesel version I am on!

• mansor on Dec 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Starting Price (Converted to RM) in :
    Canada RM61,942.38
    UK RM86,387.81
    Philippines RM92,188.77
    Indonesia RM104,520.68
    WTF

• Sharu on Dec 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm

It looks similar to Honda Pilot….may be slightly smaller.
    As for the price, no comment

FYI;
    This model sell@ USD19,995.00 x 3.05 = MYR60,984.75 excluding 95% duty tax..etc for CKD
    In total it is approx MYR 118k

• one9712745 on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:59 am

For a small family like me, important points r
    1) PRICE – the main factor. The monthly installment for this would be around 1100-1200k/m, which is acceptable for me.
    2) drivability – meaning both me AND my wife would be able to drive. My wife would drive this – she hates tall/big MPV/SUVs. This is very important for me esp for long distance travelling, we can switch drivers.
    3) space. Foldable 2nd and 3rd row. Superb for luggage, and for kids to sleep at the back (safety issues, yes, but that is for a different argument).
    4) maintainence – for this, I have to wait… servicing, intervals, roadtax, real fuel consumption etc
    Initially I would’ve bought an Exora CFE, which I think would be the best value for money, but then we already had another Proton (which had been reliable) & would prefer to get a different brand.
    This is my view, an everyday low middle income earner with a family of four.
    By the way, 0-100mph of km/h in whatever sec is TOTALLY meaningless to me

• LongYunus on Dec 21, 2012 at 1:31 am

Agreed with one9712745. No need super power car for family use. Good space, good look, reliable engine. If possible i want to add water and stain resistant for the interior. Airbag for every passenger. Strong body like superman. hahahaha

• Jonathan on Jan 07, 2013 at 4:00 pm

They’re selling this in brunei for BND$ 26,000 only, which is around RM 55,000. that price seems to be more appropriate considering the styling and size…

• this orlando comes with DI or not?

• ah beng on Dec 27, 2012 at 5:30 pm

at some angle this car look like grand livina…and the female model also like some tourist from india and europe doing part time modelling… 1.8 ecotec engine? is this the same with Nabira/Zafira engine?

• Extrimist on Jan 04, 2013 at 3:02 pm

This is the cheapest 7 seater in Malaysia with stability control (ESP). Been waiting for this price range for a long time.

If only Exore comes with ESC…that will be nicer

• DollyDolly on Jan 05, 2013 at 11:30 am

Just a question for Jonathan: Did you notice the red/white light at the rear bumper of Orlando? What is the function of it?

And by the way, the handbrake should be change to cater the RHD, not only for the LHD.

• I like the whole thing, except the rear lamp.

• Hamidi on Sep 08, 2019 at 1:05 pm

this has been a reliable and fun mini mpv for my family for 3 years, its a bit underpowered but its a good people mover