DRB-Hicom to unveil Proton turnaround plan by March

Proton-logoDRB-Hicom says that it expects to unveil details of the turnaround plan for Proton by March next year.

According to news reports, Proton’s group managing director and chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil said the company is hoping to get the turnaround plan out before the end of the Proton’s financial year ending March 31, 2013.

He was speaking to reporters at the Assets and Technologies Acquisition agreement signing ceremony between Proton and Petronas two days ago, in which Proton acquired all of Petronas’ engine technology for RM63 million.

He added that DRB-Hicom is looking at improving the quality of Proton cars, where the branding of Proton would also be synonymous with quality as well as affordability.

“Our focus now for 2013 is to position Proton along with the other global original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) and to ensure Proton will be accepted,” he said, adding that DRB-Hicom wants to take the opportunity to make Proton the car manufacturer for the region.

As for the turnaround plan, he said that it would take time. “Turning around the company would have to be holistic. You have to look at the entire ecosystem to ensure that Proton will fit into the system and emerge as a local champion and subsequently be a regional player,” he said.

Proton advisor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who was present at the signing ceremony, said the national carmaker’s image has improved significantly since the takeover by DRB-Hicom.

“The new management wants to produce quality Proton cars, which is good if you ask me,” he said. “Malaysians will not see new Proton cars with windows that cannot be wound down after some time, anymore,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• thehahah on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:15 pm

hopefully the idea is to give people reliable car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • twincharger07 on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Proton has been trying to turnaround for 30 years. Enough is enough. Just sell it off to whoever is interested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 43
      • Wait, what??? Hasnt it already been sold off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • twincharger07 on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Move from left hand to the right hand what’s the big difference?? Sell to those foreigners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
          • move front back to front..same oso…better sell to you

• GTR 2.0 on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

Tebalnya muka dia orang kan? Still have guts to say they’ll unveiled the turnaround plan next March 2013 without saying anything about the failure to unveiled it last month.

“Proton advisor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who was present at the signing ceremony, said the national carmaker’s image has improved significantly since the takeover by DRB-Hicom.

“The new management wants to produce quality Proton cars, which is good if you ask me,” he said. “Malaysians will not see new Proton cars with windows that cannot be wound down after some time, anymore,” he added.”

*sigh*!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:34 pm

“image has improved significantly since the takeover by DRB-Hicom” ???

what had DRB-Hicom done so far?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • the answer is ….. NOTHING!! rather than talk talk and talk..

then they bring Preve to international market… oppssss… Preve is develop when Proton under Syed Zainal… no u, DRB…. shame on you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Takhtu on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:52 pm

If I recall correctly wasn’t DRB supposed to unveil the new turnaround plan before 2013? The delay in releasing the turnaround plan is definitely bad news. I sincerely hope DRB does have a plan but so far they just told us about a very, very vague alliance with Honda (any progress there?) and rebranding/marketing.

In the end, is it too much to ask for reliable, safe and affordable cars? That’s all Malaysians want. But so far, DRB has released higher spec cars for Australia and Thailand and cheaper than in Malaysia. To me, this is a very negative sign and a sign that things have still not changed and that Proton and Perodua is still going after the small bank accounts of modest Malaysians. So if you can’t make us good, reliable, safe and affordable cars, give hard working Malaysians a break to buy foreign cars at normal prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
      • hajihalef on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

If you read previous report in PT when Preve and Exora lanched in Thailand, DRB acknowledge the inconsistent safety spec between Malaysian and global market.

They will change that in future product whereby Malaysia will get standard global safety spec.

Please read previous report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
        • Dear hajihalef, may i know when?

• Dear hajihalef, may i know when? Another 10 years?

• twincharger07 on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Still doesn’t explain why Thai people are given better safety spec by Proton than Malaysian. Boycotting Proton is the right way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
          • Observer on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:52 am

This is a comment from the person who dont know about automotive or management. Talk cock only. Show first ur creadibility on turning the automotive industry to becoming the profit industries or just shut up. … Err… Your high automotive company profile hyperlink please… Hmmm, as i expected.. Nothing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Jonathan Lee on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:42 am

And you know better…how, exactly?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

No need to talk cock about turnaround plan la labu !!!

Just prove you can turnaround your service center in COE, then only you can talk about Proton.

Service center in COE offers the lousiest after sales service everrrrr !!!! And it is right infront of your own doorstep.

Crap talking la dude….

• If you have a puppet master that has the tendency and habit of enriching crony suppliers ecosystem, you cant really expect too much out of the turnover plan, can you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • for me cronism is not a sin not a prob…since we all practice them..u lied if u say do not practice cronism..

• sorry, i meant turnaround plan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Carlos Ghosn on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Is there a plan for Proton !!!!! Nope I do not think so. Let it die of natural causes. It is a useless piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 30
  • WTH, need 3 mths to unveil the plan. What are thus high flying ‘exec’ doing… Craps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • and we hope they get ridd of useless crony suppliers that have been sucking their blood for so many years. specially UK ones…

• What is this for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Calvin on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:35 pm

how many times have heard about “turnaround plan”….
    To compete, Proton plants have to meet standards that can assemble japanese, or german cars; with parts sourced from the same suppliers of japanese and german brands.
    I will only reconsider Proton cars again if the above is realised by the new management.

• Pumpkins on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Berapa banyak punya plan dah…

Einstein said:
    “Insanity – doing the same thing all over again but expect different results”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Expatriate VN on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Turnaround plan? last few month said would be in Nov 2012, and now in March 2013, come that month, likely no news again and later announce turnaround plan by end of 2013!

The cycle of craps is never ending from this Jaguh Kampung No. 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • dzulx on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:01 pm

You didnt get it, did u?
      The Nov plan is to plan for the planning..

So as promised, in Nov planning they have decided to do the planning by March..

U notice they r following german now… Plan to plan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Kelvin on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:51 pm

The real turn around plan, is to get the Bapa Proton to drive a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Dr In the House on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Sorry you can dream a thousand years. I loves my Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • hahah on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Hahaha all u bashers can only bash while proton keeps on enjoying the protection by gov. And drb keeps on getting richer. Syed mokhtar n co keep on increasing their assets. Lol

Suck it up y’all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • abdullah on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Dr M ego is too big to admit failure.
    His son is in Miti to continue his Proton legacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • The “Advisor”, Ka Ki Kong, Ka Ki Song, “Advisor” always making a problems to proton owner, when a owner are happy with the quality of the car and the management team, u just changed it, and keep brain wash us and telling us, proton cant making money, when u launch a problematic car like savvy and tiara (with problematic renault engine), u r very happy with it.

• Julian Lee on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:52 pm

BMW better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Jimmy on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Any plan to benefit common rakyat?

• KillBox1Alpha on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Ask any Audi owners, DRB is ruining the brand….I pity Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • what do u expect guys. they only know how to make as much profit as possible. since the gov still protect proton.

• pirlo on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:30 pm

drb style: fast-making money. they will close down s.alam plant and sell it to someone else.

• amokio on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

no need to just turnaround…turn the whole table upside down better…start a new plan/strategy!

• pusingpusing on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:31 pm

turnaround and around lepas tu kepala pusing, mata pun pusing nampak manyak bintang, macam mabuk lalat,back to same place again lost direction.

• ya buy it and announce the turnaround plan will be unveiled in 3 mth…so what did you have drb wen u bought?

• All I can remember about DRB is the Tiara that they forced Proton to sell it for them to make money.

Else? I just pray to Allah that the guys in DRB will realize their responsibility to the people of Malaysia. If they betray the people again, hopefully they will be punished in this world and hereafter.

• along on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Imagine…

U stand on one spot looking north…

Then, u do a turnaround plan by DSZ, then u are looking south…

Now, DRB ask u to turnaround, so u are looking north again…

Walla… a very good idea… because we have NAP maa…

Very easy… just boycott and remember…

when the buying stop, the killing can too…

• works on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm

DRB hicom management loves to talk bull shit until we all throw up. i think it is their specialty…

• Let me guess what the plan will be.

If BN wins, there won’t be any new models in 2013, just updates (maybe not even facelift) to the lineup.

If BN no win, RED ALERT! RED ALERT! LIQUIDATE PROTON FAST!

• a cicak told me on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:39 pm

I heard that the reason for the delay until March 2013, is because of the dtk Locoman factor.
    No automotive talent would want to join Proton for as long the loony-bully is there. Headhunters are trying very hard to no avail to secure real talent for Proton to turnaround the company. Like @mike said, when they were pitching to buy Proton, DRB became the suitable suitor because DRB could have had the best business model / turnaround plan, what happen to that? Pure BS?

• No money No talk on Dec 13, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Ediot….

• RedBeanBun on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:00 pm

how many turnaround exercise we need? can u imagine MAS got how many rounds? now protong..

• oldcars on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:17 pm

kah kah kah kah

• hopeless on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:03 pm

after so many turnaround, you will found that u are at the same direction……….facing the hopeless end! accept the fact…..u junk can do nothing good, don’t make the citizen the vitim for the stupic car price for thier burden!

• Hmmm…after drb acquired engine tech from petronas now i’m waiting their next move. When proton was under evil drb almost lost faith with them. First thing to do, chop all blood sucking vendors and parts manufacturer. Second, redefine your target market. Start making an excellent and reliable car. Since you guys have pattern rights on petronas engine, do lot of RnD on those engine, explore the whole pottential of it(perfomance spec, fuel economic spec, robust and heavy duty spec). The most important, please have a great car/interior designer for your next model. Try look around, esp Kia, they improved a lotttttssss.

• “please have a great car/interior designer for your next model”

No problem. As GM seem to close it’s german plants one by one, they can employ Opel staff from Rüsselsheim. Only 20min from Frankfurt airport and only 20min from Hyundai/Kia Design and Honda Europe… ;)

• avcutie on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:33 am

The plan is as follow:

1) Tax for all foreign brands will be hiked to 600% (umno member can buy at current price)
    2) Prices for all proton cars will increase 300%
    3) All budget cars from other make (except perodua) will be banned completely.
    4) Bank will be forced to offer car loan package of up to 20 years (or risk losing licence, umno controlled banks exempted).

• marzuki on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:22 am

I heard from an insider in governemt that p1 is forced to make and sell EV in next year or so based on the frazer nash crony crap. Allah Help us all.. even china makes better EV cars now. think again drb. dont dop the mistake again. Rakyat is watching.

• doomsday robot on Dec 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

negative? why negative? must be a crony checing the posting…LOL

• The turnaround plan should be all the top management inc the ceo to commit hara kiri and let the best person or talent turn them around

• CarDude on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:35 am

gave up on Proton since the time I can afford a 70k+ car.
    It’s reputation is already tarnished by the quality build, service level and “all talk, less action” mentality.

• gOOsh on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:39 am

bukan ke diorang nak unveil the turnaound plan last November… mmmm… apa2 aje lah…

• turn around….turn around….basically have been doing nothng but turning round and round like a merry go round while other car manufacturers are moving forward

• shawn on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:45 am

‘Proton advisor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, who was present at the signing ceremony, said the national carmaker’s image has improved significantly since the takeover by DRB-Hicom.’
    Total bullshit. Again, trying to cheat Malaysians, or himself?

• v-power on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

“…You have to look at the entire ecosystem to ensure that Proton will fit into the system and emerge as a local champion and subsequently be a regional player,” said Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

Dear Proton…what lah you all! How come only now you know you’re the ‘local champion'(jaguh kampung)…kitorang dah tau lama dah…!

But to be a regional player,hahah…sorry P1…you guys have differed on the ASEAN-backed AFTA so many times already…how la like that…? Besides, Thailand & Indonesia have more muscle as ASEAN motoring hubs anyway… But don’t worry la Proton…like the DRB boss said, you are still our jaguh kam…err, I mean…’local champion’…!

• turn around turn around always turn around. no wonder cannot go forward.
    nobody wants to buy a proton if he/she can afford a better car. it’s a fact.

• sompro on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm

I know their plan. The plan is to really squeeze the vendors and the employees, then pressured the dealer with impossible to achieve quota, i heard this from discussion of proton employees at mamak shop

• gOOsh on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:23 pm

cakap banyak taknak larr… boleh ke PROTON dapat no #1 tahun ni???

• mayonis on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:54 am

all your comment remind me to bonnie tyler song – total eclypse of the heart… hehehe.

it normal for new management start to do their new turn around plan as they will not use the existing plan from old management. normally you release the next year plan by end of the year. but maybe proton practice it by end of company financial, and it near to GE. let wait to see their dream plan this march.:)

• The turnaround plan will basically be just another “How we can influence the Malaysian Government to subsidise or bend tariffs/taxes to benefit us for the next 10 years”. There is no such thing as turnaround but more of same which is delaying their imminent demise.

At the end of the day, it’s a numbers game for automobile manufacturers. In Proton’s primary market (i.e. Malaysia), there are just not enough people to buy their products. The only way to go is to expand overseas but everyone knows that their products won’t be received well at all. How are they going to compete with the Japanese and Koreans especially who can produce affordable yet capable and dynamic cars?

I for one welcome the day when they go out of business. This will free up resources which can be directed to pursuits which benefit the country as a whole, instead of shackling us and forcing Malaysians to accept mediocrity as the norm.