SPIED: Proton Prevé P3-22A hatchback on highway!

p3-22a2-spy

Our friends at funtasticko have put up these spyshots of what appears to be a Proton Prevé hatchback, codenamed P3-22A. Not much is clear to the eye as the back is heavily masked, but there certainly is no mistaking it for a five-door hatchback.

The masking covers the area aft of the C-pillar and the rest of the car looks the same as the sedan, down to that rising character line, which perhaps suggests that the car’s panels are new from the C-pillar backwards.

Proton revealed to us at the Thai and Australian launches of the Prevé that we can expect the hatchback variant to debut sometime next year. We can also expect more details (and sightings!) to trickle in as time goes by.

You can also check out Theophilus Chin‘s rendering of the Proton Prevé hatchback here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• iskhalifah on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:35 pm

It looks like the C-pillar roofline which is sloping downwards, is quite tight for the rear occupants. Hope that I was wrong.

The existing Preve sedan has limited headroom space compared to the old Waja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 134
    • Preve got so much more space compare to Forte,Vios and City…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 236 Thumb down 41
      • Jimmy on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Proton has always been trying hard to improve and the management know that they need to improve especially the quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 9
        • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 134
          • You don’t what kaizen is. go back and study, don’t only bash here and there

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 16
          • kaizen is toyota culture. sambil lewa is proton culture. please do not confuse the two.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 70
          • _xXx_ on Dec 16, 2012 at 6:56 pm

kaizen, 6-sigma, lean mfg are all BS…juz some good shows for the big boss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • gold is thrash for someone, thrash is gold for someone else. It depends on user. Same thing with kaizen, 6-sigma etc

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm

lets make comparison…
            compare saga 1985 and saga blm present(2012)…
            if u see the improvement, so they called kaizen…

p/s I’ve been working at Japanese company for years…

• of course, but please compare with forte civic n altis. vios n city in b-segment size

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
        • I compare what I get with rm72k car, not the B or C. Rm72k I get big car with full spec Proton car. Same price, T car only give T badge & J badge at back. For H car…nothing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
          • Fredo on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:35 am

Yeah, thats the way to do it. If one can afford a civic/ altis/ focus then they should move on with their lives, forget about Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • razzack04 on Dec 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Good comment Bro … the majority compares to how much they can pay.. monthly installment, road tax, insurance etc…who cares what segment it is…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:37 pm

good comparison…. 72k with full spec + accessories or 72k+ without full accessories…. i rather choose full accessories with good features

• off topic can paultan.org can make comment in pages it kinda hard to scroll from up to down especially topic with more than 100 comment

• Kia fans on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Kia Rio is there as Rival.
        RM70 k car with Super LED rear light will make customer go crazy.

If this car is selling even at RM65k, ugly rear ligh can loose sale.

Kia Rio 5 door has got 5 years warranty too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • mamamia on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:30 pm

how big r u?..preve’s headroom not big enough?…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • Better Quality on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:24 pm

I’m sure this hatchback version has a better quality made from the sedan version, since Proton has made linked with Honda. “Preve hatchback with the Power of Dreams”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 24
    • raven on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:33 pm

limited headroom????.. are u serious??!!! -_-‘

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • carazy on Dec 16, 2012 at 10:26 am

wagon, is that for Europe export?? Hardly see wagon style in Malaysia.. looks sexy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • mizzuddin on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:40 pm

currently waiting finance approval for the Preve CFE..?

should I wait for the hatchback..? heard about the six-speed manual transmission to be equipped somewhere.

i’m certainly not a fan of CVT though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 11
    • Punch CVT no good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
    • mystvearn on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm

There will not be a 6spd MT CFE Preve in the near future or other turbocharged MT car. Too expensive to develop.

If you want to cancel your sedan booking for this I think it should be fine. All bugs related to Preve have been dealt with (I hope)…up to the C-pillar and the new hatchback design.

So Preve hatchback is the new car of 2013? What happened to the EMAS concept? Binned because could not fight against new myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
      • Peyno on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:40 pm

What happen to perodua bezza??? Cant develop coz got no knowhow to make the car??? Assemble je boleh
        Prffthhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 9
      • campromania on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm

wait for proton global small car in 2014

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
        • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:17 pm

It’s enough joke with Savvy. Don’t start another circus again OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 75
      • how sure u are there wont be any 6MT CFE?

• taboogen on Dec 17, 2012 at 8:06 am

really hah no manual… coz I have seen the actual 6MT gearbox

• mrjem on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:10 pm

new myvi? seriously how new is our myvi? let me thimk of it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • forte-ver on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:07 pm

pls cancel the booking and wait for the k3..way better than the preve..also rv better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 54
      • Honda lover on Dec 16, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Absolutely right.If I got the second chance,I will get the Kia K3 instead than this Protong junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
      • mizzuddin on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:47 pm

some just love only the look of a car…
        some being certain on how a car does perform…

korean may pleased on the eyes, nothing more…

with respect to the performance, in term of handling, an owner of a Focus said the preve is better… and an owner of a Pug 307 said the Preve is better too…

…and some just complaining the given specs without even noticing the maintenance requirement… later, rm30 difference for labour charge for servicing a Viva at SC being seen as ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
        • Ahwai on Dec 21, 2012 at 10:09 am

Yeah…. Proton Ride & Handling is great…. Better than other car… But dont compare to EVO lah…. Proton R&H got Oversteer feeling when hard cornering… I experience it… When on hard cornering i can hear creeeet creeet sound from back tyre… Means it more point cornering…
          PS;Even i modified my wira (big antiroll bar, adjustable, Stiff bar) oso cant get performance like Proton R&H….

• sub_zero on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Lol you buy car for what? Racing? Cakap macam pro sangat hahaha

• i also experience this with my sister exora while downhill from genting highland to genting sempah..
            even honda city hard to follow this exora bigboot tail..
            superb ride and handling

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Preve with CVT, SAT and AMT..?? manual still be my choice

• Hopefully they redesigned the front so it suit with the back view.
    and hopefully the rear is beautiful! :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • Kalun on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Definite correct!
      Plus, I’m waiting for next year facelift for Proton Preve. Hopefully new headlamp and taillamp.
      Probably, they should do like what Mazda and VW did with the headlamps.
      Without those futuristic looking headlamp and tail lamp, VW and Audi looks very practical and look common.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • mrsupporter proton on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:45 pm

wow..hatchback! mcm ne la rupany. agk2 ada pnmbahn baikkn dgn preve yg dlu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Honda lover on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 364
    • While it is fair that everyone has their own opinions, it is not right to openly condemn others as it may be considered offensive… unless if it’s constructive criticism or black humour/ sarcasm, in which case your comment is clearly not.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 5
    • yayaya on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Hoi honda boy! Your civic is a lousy car only uneducated ah bengs love it. Preve buyers are smarter than you and even if they can afford civic the would rather buy preve!!

Jap car owners are mostly like this honda boy.

Stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 63
      • Most Jap owners are middle to high level executives. If they are stupid like you said, imagine what will happen to this country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 121
        • Look at those likes…..Imma loosing hope

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • dugong on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:10 pm

they are good at work doesn’t mean they have good knowledge about cars.
          yayaya is correct…they are uneducated when it comes to knowledge about cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
        • yaya2 on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:15 am

Hah.

No wonder out country is average in evthg. Too many ppl have same brains like you.

Well u r right, pimps, young execs, ah longs love dugong n civics or alphard n camlys or accords. When they are rich they buy bmw or mercs.

I mentioned above…even preve owners who can afford city or camry buy preve. Bcos they know value and the tech. Probably a second car. They have 2-3 properties d. So we cant judge the socio economins status of a person driving a proton ot any cars just like tat

Young cikus also drive their fathers dugong to work, college.

But if a person drives an proton, audi, skoda, volvo makes you think they are probably different and more exposed. Have different beliefs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
          • fairgo on Dec 16, 2012 at 10:06 am

p1 fans and reps, no need to go overboard in responding to what is obviously a troll comment. it reflects badly on p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:34 am

Rich people buy Protong just Kesian and try test it for fun only…They can afford to do it itu Orang Kaya punya style lah sudah fedup drive 3 months thrash it as scrap iron

Orang miskin what choice do they have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
          • naruto on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Al-Bukhary pakai perdana ok je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • yourMama'sTalking... on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:14 pm

the way you talk….shows not so clever you are or should i say stupid….I’m sorry..but your statement pointless.!!

• hey yall on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:34 pm

If Preve is way better than Civic, then why does the government impose such a huge tax on foreign cars?

I’m sure that if Preve is as good as you said, it can sell well without the help from the government. Right?

And what cars are most of the ministers using again? Local or foreign? I can’t remember….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 48
      • surya on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:19 pm

nak compere proton dengan honda??? honda bukanlah siangan proton…totally different league. proton can learn something by collabrating with honda…with guidence and some carrot and stick approach…the novice proton can learn some skills, …and their salesman can learn some manners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • Penang playboy on Dec 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

LOL, yayaya

U r a joke…99% of the Preve buyers buy Preve because of a simple reason, they can’t afford other makes at the same categories .. Please dun BS to yourself and others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 44
    • frogjumponyourhead on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:40 pm

your second hand civic ?..i think u bought new one…haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
    • I also love my City. But you just can’t calling it junk before it’s unveil. Give it a chance…..I hope

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 9
    • "great_job" on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:58 pm

gua pakai cfe preve. civic? selalu kene cucuk ngn aku..tak yah ko nak bangga sangat ngn civic tu..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 32
      • ya lorr.. coz thats civic follow the speed limits .. then suddenly u syiok sendiri.. huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • sepucps on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Unless your car is FD2R..else, they r junk beside my car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • jun jun on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:20 pm

attention seeker comment..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • pitymalaysian on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:58 pm

brainless also know he was trolling….just anyhow pick any japanese car so that ppl can bash…

• today just saw honda city langgar preve..but damage is more on honda city compare to preve..nice job proton for the improvement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 19
      • of course city suffered, front body design is fragile to absorb collision while back is rigid, my city been hitted by avanza and myvi from back, but only lamp crakced and some scratch. myvi went into avanza back door and its refrigerator leaked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • smez… no need tell him that, he just a kid & do not own a car.. so he don’t understand.. just wannabe P1 fans..

• Those who criticise honda will have to eat their words soon since proton is collaborating with honda. Please make sure to claim CFE and punch CVT is better than the honda tech in the new cars instead of praising that proton is getting better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 51
    • amzrable on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Civic? Oh I know, its the common car that everyone uses.

Today I saw 3 Civics lined up in front of me, at the same time. Silver silver white. Plain and a common. And a 4th one came beside me after that.

Very very common. Boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
      • yeah… unlucky for u, u still own a kapchai..

• chong on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Got bored with civic nowadays, FD is too long, FB has sucky rear. Preve overall is better

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:01 pm

bored with civic without ‘TYPE R’….

• Bongcs on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Civic user must be civic minded when commenting. Try disgracing others face to face. And see the conclusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • dcivic on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

My civic is so powerful, torque is better than preve, SOHC i-vtec engine summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
        • rear light on Dec 16, 2012 at 11:31 am

Maybe your civic hasn’t meet any preve yet..kehkehkeh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:09 pm

civic without ‘TYPE R’ are common car… same as preve without ‘R3’ just a common car…

• Mr Honda Lover.. err.. hhmmm.. aaa… hmm.. err.. acutally, honda has been smoked by Preve in Sepang 1k race.. Toyota Celica was beaten as well.. sebenarnya aku malu nak cakap la wei.. wakakaka :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • fazron80 on Dec 16, 2012 at 1:23 am

your civic should be compared to lexus. or at least the cheapest new bmw out there. how’s that as comparison. civic so affordable right now that parents give it as gift to drive to school. i’d like the fact proton is coming out with a new model. but they need to try harder. the world of cars is fastly improving and they’re being left behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • iskhalifah on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Look at the all new designed 17 inch wheels and lower profile 45-series tyres. Sweet. Redesign the front headlights & grille similiar to Tuah concept, plus ‘proceed rearlight cluster design, this car surely turn heads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 145
      • Those who give thumbs down cannot accept hard truths. If u can afford to, will u really buy proton or something better. An ugly Hermes bag will turn more heads than a good looking vinci bag ever will. FACT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 117
        • if you think ppl who own proton are pooru.than u r rther stupid. I still buy preve alrhough i can buy lancer, civic or even golf gti. But i choose preve because of its characteristic. Im not a brand loyal type as most malaysian. Balik2 toyota…honda..walhal biasa je kereta tu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 14
        • ah beng on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

stan : it is depends on ppl to buy what car they want….poor or rich or even patriotic…pakai keta besar mahal nak mampus tapi atas jalan xde kesedaran sivik…it is better than ppl who are poor but very educated in manner….

• haiyaa..who cares what car u own.. at the end the owner will pay for it..

• sub_zero on Dec 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Lol you buy car purely out of brand or specification? Does what brand does to you? Boost your ego by 100%????? And you call yourself better than others hahahaha hypocrite

• amzrable on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Hmm..its interesting on how you relate Proton and patriotism.

As if patriotism is the only reason for driving one. Whoa sooo smart!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • I-Drive-a-Honda-too on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:40 am

Another uneducated comment from a typical kiasu. He most probably sells mobile phones at Low Yat or the Digital Mall.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 7
      • steamer on Dec 16, 2012 at 4:56 pm

so, if in korea, kias n hyundais are everywhere, means the drivers are poor/patriotic too?
        even in germany, beemers, vws, audis ,mercs are everywhere, do they means the same to you?
        mesti ini orang makan cikencop / mekDi tiap mase tiap hari…local food is for poor/patriotic people maybe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • zanggief on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:46 pm

p1 version of mitsubishi lancer sport…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
  • The problem i felt with the current preve is that is a half done job. While the front looks like the design team were enthusiastic , and were trying their very best. But as they approach the rear is as if design team lost motivation with their work, procrastinate and rushed to meet the deadline, A rushed job.
    They better get the rear right with this thing .
    The other questioned is what’s the purpose of the preve hatch. What benefit will it give it over the sedan or will it be a higher spec version much like the Fiesta/ Mazda 2 hatch over the normal sedan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 15
    • yayaya on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Taste is subjective and preves back definitely looks better than alot of jap cars out thr.

It looks european in a way and its different and at least its proportionate.

It looks a bit like saab.

AND PLEASE stop copying what other auto writers write in other articles and posting as your own, with slight adjustments. Hasty job, etc etc.. Alot of readers here arent dumb yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 27
      • The fact that I say it’s a rush job at the rear is my own opinion. It’s mention during the launch that it has European rear, does that mean you also Copied what they said.
        Let me elaborate what I think, The front of the Preve has a rounded curve feel to it, the headlight espacially. If the Preve designer would continue the theme, the rear would have also some curve to it. Instead there is a lot of straight and sharp lines at the rear. Add to that the un-inspirational tail lamps are too small.
        I have to respect your opinion, but to me the rear is too high, like the Fiesta and the Mazda 2 sedan, not proportionality right. they could have followed the Forte or the City FL design language and enlarge the rear lamps and give it a plastic fake diffuser , to make the ass look less…..big.
        Yes it looks like a Saab, but 9-5 aside, all Saab design is from the early 00s.
        THIS is my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • The fact that I say it’s a rush job at the rear is my own opinion. It’s mention during the launch that it has European rear, does that mean you also Copied what they said.
        Let me elaborate what I think, The front of the Preve has a rounded curve feel to it, the headlight espacially. If the Preve designer would continue the theme, the rear would have also some curve to it. Instead there is a lot of straight and sharp lines at the rear. Add to that the un-inspirational tail lamps are too small.
        I have to respect your opinion, but to me the rear is too high, like the Fiesta and the Mazda 2 sedan, not proportionality right. they could have followed the Forte or the City FL design language and enlarge the rear lamps and give it a plastic fake diffuser , to make the ass look less…..big.
        Yes it looks like a Saab, but 9-5 aside, all Saab design is from the early 00s.
        is my opinion.

• I really don’t know why are there two comments. Ignore this one

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:30 am

What, he can’t have the same opinions as journalists do?

For what it’s worth, I thought the rear styling looks like a bit of a rushed job too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • M.P.Choy on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:58 am

hasty job or not,i just know i dun like the rear and it did not fit well wif the nice front…oppss…i hav the same opinion as some journalist

• yayaya on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Can have same opinion, but copying 99% of the words used is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm

I like preve features but same as others the rear not my taste either…

• To yayaya
        Gotta stop hating Japanese cars you. I know there are some dissatisfaction with JAp cars, they don’t make the best cars, but they don’t make bad cars either.
        About your reply to honda lover, yes he may have went overboard but so did you.Almost everyone I know has a Jap car in their driveway. Come to think of it, a fair majority of the people in Malaysia owns or owned a Jap car. To say all of them are stupid, man that is the most mindless and irrational comment of this post.
        And please, DON’T jump to conclusion my opinion
        Good……..morning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • yayaya on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Well tats what i said, most jap car ownets. Not all are like the idiot driving a civic and thinks honda and NASA tech is the same..typical honda and toyota lovers ah.

You dont bash preve just because its proton. The stuff inside the car has more vs a civic. Im not refering to quality. I dont even own a preve
          Buy i know the specs, went to the showroom etc.

Dont be too arrogant jap car owners. You spend more on your car does not mean you have the best car. I drive a european brand but i respect proton for its efforts. But i jeer those jap car owners bcos most of jap car owners know nuts abt cars except oh its t or h.typical like honda fan boy above.

I like mazdas so im not anti jap makes. You can tell how much effort a car maker puts in by looking at the interior and spec sheet. The details and handling. You dont make a good engine and put it into a frame or chassis with 2 airbags and call it good because its oh toyota! We expect more.

My first car was a toyota dx andit was good although a close to 20 yrs old when i bought it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
          • I think you are biased againts T & H .
            Okay , I’ll admit that I have a city, but at the time of purchase, I wanted to love the preve I really do. It’s the most honest and best effort from proton.
            But after buying an Alza a month after launch, it shows massive flaws. So my mom decided is best we wait for proton to be in the market for several more years. We wanted a tried and tested product. The proton was showing fuel consumption woes in early reviews and the lower line is lacking power.
            The Koreans were avoided because the elantra was not in the market yet and my neighbors forte spare parts was high. So Japanese than, I will regret waking up looking at a smiling dugong face. Just than, the mechs and simple looking city appeared. And it has paddle shift so it can overtake with confidence.
            To say that people pay more for a better product is true, but Japanese cars owners lust after a Conti anytime. Yes the price tag now of conti is comparable to Japanese. But most people I know buy their cars for 5 years . Owning a car is not simply affording a car, is affording the ownership, the maintenance and spare parts. The japs are still cheaper in that sector .
            Typical Japanese owner like the Honda lover above? How go you even know he has a civic. Looks to me he just want attention. But he did’t openly declare owners as stupid unlike you .
            And the part that shook me was that you say I copied from some review somewhere. I read many reviews of proton and I can’t find similarity between them Andy comment. PLEASE show proof before you judge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • dugong on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:44 am

yes…honestly preve’s ugly rear design stopped me from buying it although i like the overall package. If only it was 99% like the Tuah concept car…

• heck even early protons were jap rebadges or did they forget. and because of protecting p1 with outrageous car prices, those early jap rebadges are still driven well into their teens.

• wah talking like engineer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • sepucps on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Need to cater european market maybe, who knows they might steal the like golf segment market..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • LatukBandar on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:53 am

Proton beating the germans????… i guess muhiyddin was right, our education system is better than the white people.

funny ah, why they all sent their children to white man country and study?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Kena sponsor free by Kroni lah. No sponsor, send kids to local SMK sekolah pondok only lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • haggy on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Do you really know what school is?

• fringe on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:56 pm

You have been schooled locally or abroad?

• I doubt you ever been schooled, you didn’t have ethics at all, pity your parents

• You know how many foreign designers working for Volkswagen, Mercedes, Porsche and BMW?

For instance, the previous VW Passat was designed by Murat Gunak from Turkey, the current Mercedes CLS was designed by 37-year-old Korean Hubert Lee.

They have success by employing the best, no matter if they are from Germany or elsewhere in the world… ;)

• MatLimMutu on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:59 am

so true lah mr.mohd. i agree with u, they hired the best people.

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:47 am

i believe thats the target, since europeans are made of hatchback-craze majority.

proton has yet to make any impact in france, italy or spain.

• Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Preve hatcback mau hantam Golf at Europe? Gila punya mimpi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
        • once somebody who was stupid like you said, “koreans want to sell cars in USA?? are they crazy?”
          now look where they are?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • ah, it’s really easy to guess, this is the sportier version of preve, while preve is already sporty, this might be catchier. 17″ low profile rubbers are just obvious things

• Lemonguy on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Wow… This is what im waiting…hopefull the design will not dissapoint..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • akmal faiz on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:50 pm

i just hoping that it could beat audi a3!!!bahhahah,,LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Will Preve hatchback using petronas engine??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • fadlee on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:52 pm

with the new petronas engine i hope! :)

• Well, one thing’s for sure… IT’S GOT A REAR WINDSCREEN WIPER ! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Garfield on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Although it may be too late, my wish is that Proton revise the rear design to keep up with the front design. Although the front face is not beautiful like the latest Korean models, it has its own character not unlike European models. If they want to keep selling cars, just listen to customers sometimes and less of the “syok sendiri” syndrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • sepucps on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Clear message for Azlano n the gang, customer is always rite..

• sepul on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:07 pm

the hatchback is most likely be a model for europe.. we will get it here too since many of us here also prefer hatchbacks

AVH, as with other brands, yes the hatchback is the more expensive and better equipped, sportier version

i’m in :D

• Could be pricier…..but If you say the hatchback will be better equipped, and considering the Preve is already decently equipped, This got me excited.
      Who knows, maybe the all so anticipated 6-airbags will arrive in this

• Ramun on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:11 pm

This might be a joke:

How you know designer design the car from front bro?
    BTW hatch Preve is meaningless with same power & same suspension setting. Its like for gaya purpose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Jonathan Lee on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:36 am

It’s because some people just like having a hatchback. It’s smaller, easier to park and has a nice rear door that doubles as shade for when it’s raining. Yes, some people also like it because of the way it looks, but is that such a bad thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:17 pm

If designed nicely yes hatchback is good (eg.Fiesta, 1-Series, ct200h, A-Class, Golf etc) but beware also when it’s gone wrong it’s ugly like hell (eg.Gen2) BWA HA HA HA !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Jonathan Lee on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

For what it’s worth I don’t think the Gen-2 is an ugly car. It’s a shoddy car yes, but in terms of looks alone it is actually pretty attractive in my eyes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:01 am

Wow…You better go check your eyes lah…feel very sorry for your low taste lah brader LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • dugong on Dec 16, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Gen2 looks a million times better than fugly frog myvi! i think many ppl will agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • 4g63t dsm on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Hatch = practicality.

• Mozilla Chrome on Dec 14, 2012 at 6:13 pm

I don’t see the point. But I still wanna see four doors version of Neo (Sportwagon).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Kalun on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

This must be it!
      Hopefully they name it exactly what the original car is. Proton Preve Hatchback.

Not the old naming style commonly use in the Proton Wira. Wira has many version. Proton, Wira, Wira Aeroback, Satria, Putra. All the same but the back kena potong then paste another part of the car on it! LOL!

• replacement of the Satria Neo? With Superchargers and 6 speed manual?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • So, the rear end following the Focus’s slope style rather than vertical back like Golf’s. Personally i’d prefer the vertical back like Golf more.

• Yeah, im kinda agree with avh, the front look is acceptable but from b pillar backwards, the car gets thicker and taller and it doesnt look proportionate. Just how big rims u can slap in , it will still look small. That is just my opinion..

• Lukman on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:09 pm

This car iinm is meant for UK market. Europeans love hatchbacks n wagons. And they also love manual cars. And yes this will come with 6 speed manual cfe engine.

Lets hope it will be sold here as well cheaper than the sedan cfe with cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • What is this for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • JeremyNg on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Jz do something with the rear design of the car !!! current rear design of Preve look hopeless ……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Common excuse: “Beauty in the eye of the beholder” LOL

• lol please get rid of the image created by theo he is manipulaating us onto presuming the worst is coming from proton (his rendering was pretty bland tho). this hatch is carrying a LOT of responsibilty on ppl’s perception toward preve/proton so PLEASE proton, stop SCREWING up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Unfortunately, in boleh land, screw ups is part of life. Live with it or work hard, be rich and buy continental.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • with the boot chopped off, it should be lighter and this means better handling and fuel economy(hopefully)

• hope this car wont look like Prius C; wide but short. very mismatched proportion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Kia fans on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

So u mean VW Golf wide but short? lmao. That’s how the beauty should be.. why need a long car? better go get a Wagon instead.

• What difference will this junk make? The current sedan still cannot sell.
      Stop creating fake hypes about this junk in this blog. You just cannot bluff the people like how you did it in the 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 64
      • peyno on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:11 am

u r rite.. ppl smart oredi.. unlike our parents era simply conned by so called JAPAN DNA… no wonder now.. youngster preve preve, korean n conti rather than jepun celup entry level asean made vios, and myvi

prrrtfhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • aiyo scare that P2 market being seize or what? this hatchback is C-segment not like P2 hatches all A- & B-segments lol.

• Don’t put yourself same level as P2. The sells more cars, make more money than you money losing company. Oh ya, one thing P1 win is they can sell company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • hohoho, BMW don’t sell as much as P2, so they’re loser? what sell company? the name still Proton. who buy, VW? obviously you afraid P2 domination is affected.

• BMW is niche market. VW is niche market in Malaysia, thanks to P1. P1 is not niche market product. Sikit sikit BMW. Being a BMW wannabe doesn’t mean that you are a BMW.
            Asia’s BMW? hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • the fact is there are soooo many myvi with BMW nose. you afraid P2 losing hatchbach ‘niche’ market to P1.

• The fact is non of your hatch doing well. You losses the hatch fight to P2 all these while. The C-segment sedan where P2 doesn’t have any model also you cannot win. You are not even the same league with P2 anymore.

• the fact is you afraid P2 market domination is affected. that is why you came here with this comment:

“What difference will this junk make? The current sedan still cannot sell.
            Stop creating fake hypes about this junk in this blog. You just cannot bluff the people like how you did it in the 90s.”

• the fact is you afraid P2 market domination is affected. that is why you came here with this comment:

“What difference will this junk make? The current sedan still cannot sell.
          Stop creating fake hypes about this junk in this blog. You just cannot bluff the people like how you did it in the 90s.”

• the fact is you afraid P2 market domination is affected. P2 market don’t have many players. P1 market got many players. now P1 want to make a return with better specs, better handling, better room, etc with the hatchback, and you scare…. that the fact.

• Ps: no more led tail lights ah?

• Hatchback or x over?.

• thequestion on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:15 pm

I wish proton make some innovation on the meter panel, the current one look plain and boring..

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:09 am

Hmmm Preve meter looks like the old Saga meter panel maybe can fit inside Preve dashboard too…ini cut cost kah, atau kerja malas???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Alex Chan on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:26 pm

haih another wasting rakyat money again..only BN supporters love proton..we PR drive toyota OK!..best resale value..enough said….proton low resale value summore, even compare with vios with 3 years ownership..proton resale value drop like hell maa..that why we chinese choose value…together we can make change..vote PR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 78
  • Sabahman on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm

A car designed for the UK? Proton market share in the UK is 0.2%. Very generous of Proton to make a hatchback to sell to a few hundred Brits.

• danedz on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Hopefully the interior also change with fully loaded gadgets..

• Peyno on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:44 pm

This hatchback is designed for overseas market .. Not for local market.. The price is higher than sedan and equipped better features n spec than sedan… If u willing to buy preve hatchback with 80k over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:04 am

Even the poorest European folks still buy Skoda or SEAT (proven VW quality) and nothing else. Better listen to Jeremy Clarkson advice: Walk Away! (or Berambus lah kau Protong!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 38
      • peyno on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm

yeahh berambus to perodua, proton and asean nade jepun celup cars rite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • kamil on Dec 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

brader peyno, i would like to ask u.. why do you hate proton so much? what car u drive? bugatti ka? lexus lfa ka? aiyoo.. rilek la.. chill..

• No lah , he drive the kereta lembu maa , no horsepower but cowpowers only , you know ? ekekeke xD

• No, he was replying to previous comment, i also feel Jeremy C isbit of a joker.

• dugong on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Hope this can kill overpriced myvi sales domination. Getting painful my eyes when i look left,look right,look back and look front all fugly myvi frog everywhere.
    Spoil the scenery everywhere i go. If you travel overseas ( esp europe) u know what i mean. A breath of fresh view with lots of nice variety on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
    • please respect others, they are using their own money to own their own car, and that was their own choices as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • dugong on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm

I do respect ppl who did a couple of surveys and test drive a few cars before buying their cars. not ppl that buy blindly and follow the blind. 90% of ppl are like that.
        And your comment is wrong, i did not bash others…but bashed the overpriced product they bought. I don’t see anything wrong with that. If a product is crap means its crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Yes, as crappy as Savvy lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
          • Proton’s products are much better now, got turbocharged engines like those in conti cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • leong on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:15 pm

You drive one ah?

• dugong on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:10 am

yes savvy is pretty crappy but still decent since its not overpriced like myvi. remember 1 unit myvi 1.5 can but 2 units savvy.

• dugong on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:40 am

yes savvy is pretty crappy but still decent since its not overpriced like myvi. remember 1 unit myvi 1.5 can but 2 units savvy…

• haha! moron speaks! savvy crappy but batter than myvi! LOL

• Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

Nothing more irritating than seeing the fugly Savvy on the road. Pure eyesore lah! Arrgghhh!!! Arrgghhh!!! Arrgghhh!!! My eyes! My eyes! Arrgghhh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • Hope Proton will just die off and return the purchasing power to the people and not distorted by protection taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • If proton was sold to volkswagen, we will be having proton polo with TSI and DSG instead of this crap and outdated CFE and CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
  • preve sedan is well designed actually, the theme of design is arrowish which it means its an integration of dynamism and sharp angles, thats what makes the rear design like that in order to meet the philosophy of intended theme.

for the hatch we just wait until the tapes stripped off. all for now is simply a guessing game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Garfield on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:00 am

Yeah… you’ve been listening to their design head obviously. While I won’t deny the integration from the front up to the side profile, it does look like the designers ran out of idea at the back. It had probably gone for tooling by then and too expensive to reverse. That’s why somebody said here it felt like a rushed job. We know that Tuah concept comes after that and maybe the designers finally saw the lightbulb above their head and only then the idea came. And I hope that in the time that had passed, the design would finally be the finished article it should have been in the first place.

• alldisc on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

preve design is ok for now, but it will get dated pretty fast. designers have to think better.

by 2013, preve will not look that attractive anymore.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm

I hope this hatchback version will be installed with the new petronas engine 2.0 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 9:59 am

Fat hope lah. With only 9km / Litre fuel mileage it’ll be as thirsty as outdated crap Perbanana V6 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • As if you can get 15km/l in traffic jam with a camry 2.4l, that’s very funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • how u know 9km/litre?? u god ah?? wow..oh u just a halloween pumpkin..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • MatLimMutu on Dec 17, 2012 at 12:40 pm

pumpikins, where did u get that 9km/litre figure?

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

petronas 2.0 EO1e is a engine with Max Horsepower: 204.3 PS @ 7300 rpm…. for sure the engine use more fuel…. same as 2.0 TYPE R engine…. and all other engine with high psi

• Jerry Tan on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Before the Preve’ launch, many praised it will be a good car & will selling like hot cakes. Some say it will over take Vios, City or Forte sales, but i can’t see many of these on the road. But this doesn’t mean the car is no good. Hope the so call Preve’ hatchback will be a hot cake ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • You don’t see it many on roads doesn’t mean it’s not sell well. Mind you the number has gone to 20k already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Yes Preve very rare just like how many Porsche on the road now LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
        • Do you live in cave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 9:51 am

Those buying Preve keep it in caves, it’s so weird-looking fugly rear design. That’s why not much seen on the road LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • So now i know that you live in caves too

• rear light on Dec 16, 2012 at 11:47 am

22k++ chasis numbers in a few month of launching is still not a good number?? i think if you sell burgers also cannot achieve that number..

• Kia fans on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Proton.

1 serious suggestion: pls dont make floating bumper like Kia Rio Hatch.

Saga Flx got a ugly floating bumper to Saga BLM bumper.
    Pls design a low profile bumper. Plain is ok, when it’s low profile, it’s nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • mozufa on Dec 15, 2012 at 1:09 am

Preve hatch look more sporty compare to preve sedan.same engine but different weight more less than sedan with 17″ alloy wheel or may be can install 18″…to look more sporty..I like it

• noname on Dec 15, 2012 at 2:23 am

the back of this preve hatchback looks like the vw polo.. my friend already saw it in the proton rnd room.

• Proton Türkiye on Dec 15, 2012 at 2:28 am

And whats with an Station Wagon?

Or a Diesel engine?

Has Proton any plans for that!?!

• NIEKO on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:19 am

wow thats fast ,A hatchback is alwats a must for any carmaker ,so it is not shocking to see Proton develop a car such as this.good luck

• NIEKO on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:20 am

wow thats fast ,A hatchback is always a must for any carmaker ,so it is not shocking to see Proton develop a car such as this.good luck

• ReentryCapsule on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:14 am

P3-22A.PtuiiiiHH…!!!
    Azlano 2.0 failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
  • nekajis on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:47 am

wait for BRIO hatchback coming soon how soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • I only hope Proton can come with good design of P3-22A Hatchback like current Golf -Jetta siblings instead of Cruze-Cruze H sibling. The VW has proportionate styling unlike the Korean car (or Forte hatch).

Preve, was based on hatchback design but appear initially with sedan form. Tuah front end with practical vertical and big no no for very slanting design of Neo. So claustrophobic to the one looking for hatchback.

Please do not take Theo’s rendering for the hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • squall_shinoda on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:09 am

Looks like everyone here is excited to see how the upcoming Preve hatchback may look, fresh from the factory. While I admit that I’m excited too, the main issue to be addressed here is to retire the underpowered IAFM+ engine from all Preve variants. Instead, Proton should modify the CPS engine to be mated with CVT for the lower-spec model. Since the upcoming Preve hatch is meant to be sporty, Proton should produce the full-spec CFE manual model as well.

• Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:11 am

Don’t worry it’ll be as fugly as usual. Protong always fail in design lah. Next year they’ll register another big loss again. HA HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • Ononimos on Dec 16, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Labu.. Fugly only suitable to be used for your godlike vios. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • lordjijul on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

preve hatchback. hope after this proton will announce perdana replacement model officially. gatal tangan dah ni!

• selagi masalah masih berlaku..malu aku nak beli produk ni..biar aku bayar lebih utk dptkan yg berkualiti daripada asyik berkunjung ke service centre selalu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • mamamia on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:43 pm

boooo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:30 pm

It’s good to have new transport law – Mandatory wajib new car with 10 years car Warranty plus 10 years FREE car service maintainance parts labour.

10 years tarak pening kepala. Setuju???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Proton got lifetime power window warranty. Ketinggalan la lu

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

And lifetime go back Protong service centre to fix it again and again ulang alik, ulang alik? Kerja gila buang masa lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • cerita lama la, lu memang buang masa orang baca la

• gkl83 on Dec 15, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Hope this Preve hatchback solved most of common issues of current Preve such as door panel bulging (power window design issues) and poor car fabric seat quality (waiting for leather seat packages)…

I still holding back my car purchase now and will drop my purchase on Preve next year if there have R3 facelift (improved version from current Preve) launched along with optional packages, offering MT for full spec and solved most of common issues too… otherwise may end up with Kia K3 instead end of next year…

• Pumpkins on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Keep on hoping? You know it’s crap still wanna buy Protong.

Either you’re blind or plain dumb and dumber.

Even Stevie Wonder, S.Jibeng can SEE how crappy Protong lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 43
      • That’s not funny, if you know how difficult the blind people lives are, you don’t use their names for the sake of your hatred and envy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • gkl83 on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Nothing wrong to give another chances to Proton to proof by Preve after they fix the common bugs, i always give the grace period for weakling to proof… Anyway, it still the MOST affordable car which come with MOST of the safety features compare to others…

Anyway, i will switch to other brand forever if Preve no able to “Preve” even though after year’s rectification…

• you’re not blind so you don’t know how do hard is their life…

• really? Pevee got probs.? What I know from P1 fans it is the “perfect” car in the universe.. huhu..

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:17 pm

hope not only R3 facelift…. but with R3 cps engine upgraded also…. 150psi NA would be nice

• Dun u guys realize?? Saga Flx , Preve, Persona they are sharing the same side mirror..and now preve hatchback is using the same one???? Omg..proton… Waja and Neo is also sharing same side mirror…sick with it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • Kia fans on Dec 15, 2012 at 6:14 pm

I love the Unique Proton Side mirror. If only Kia gives it!

• 1,2,3~7… series and A,B,C~S class also share the same side mirror, don’t you care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • I didn’t notice, but this is great!

If my side mirror has to be replaced I would only have to ask for a Proton side mirror. No fumbling with part no. etc. And as it’s used for Saga too, it’s very likely that all dealers and sparepart shops have this mirror on stock too… ;)

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Proton, please use the Proton Tuah front design or at least redesign to suite the hatchback design which should be BOLD. The head lamps once again, please redesign or can use Proton Tuah’s. For the rear combination lamps, please… please… use LED Brakes Light instead like Preve. Some say, CCFL? How true? The design must looks nice.

Other wish list:
    1) New improved meter cluster.
    2) More Hot Press Foaming to increase stiffness and reduce the weight of the car. Less weight, more fuel efficiency.
    3) 6 airbags, ABS+EBD+BA+ESP+Traction Control
    4) ICE (in car entertainment), bigger screen and custom design. Not like Preve. Still have many space left. more speaker, please? 6 for high line?

Finally, does it comes with Leather Seat?
    Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Yes you can get it all full-spec half price but left hand drive at Protong Saudi Arabia lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Oh ya,

blue lights please. use too many red lights hear and there seems like the car gives you many WARNING! especially on the meter.

you know what i mean. think hyundai. hahaha….

• Kalun on Dec 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Think Kia. Oh wait! Kia is using red as well!
      Doesn’t matter the colors. It’s all about usability.
      How functional is the cockpit is very important.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Any idea for the interior dashboard?

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Just like old Saga Megavalve dashboard…happy bro???

• spyshotX on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm

most likely will be the same as preve.. just like persona & gen2.. maybe just some minor change on trim colors..

• Absolute Rider on Dec 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm

typo mistake.

“hear and there” should be here and there. sorry

• albag on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:21 pm

what type of Honda is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Annoynimouse on Dec 15, 2012 at 7:38 pm

Some just can’t accept the fact that their beloved dugongs are trumped by the preve in so many ways, that the only ‘modal’ they can cover it up with is to go about the old quality shit.
    I’m still ok with hondas though. At least it seems like they’re puting an effort in their Citys n civics tech-wise. But Toyotas are recycling 1980s techs in their cheap cars and then play the reliability card. My uncles tractor rides poorly but it is freakin reliable!
    Back to the main topic, I prefer the sedan Preve over this hatchback. Need to see the finished product though. The focus hatch looks better than its sedan sister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • All-For-Hybrid on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Any chances of making a 2-litre hybrid using the newly purchased Petronas engine? Should be a best seller, assuming the tax exemption continues.

• Peyno on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Rakyat sayang preve
    Ah beng peridua n entry level jepun celup car butthurt

• Qwerty on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Hope if the rear looks nice it will go into the next exora

• polo saga on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:19 pm

ford fiesta?

• Micheal on Dec 15, 2012 at 10:54 pm

New Honda Civic 2.0 very underpower!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Seriously? Is it because of the SOHC compared to DOHC?

Off topic. Between 2006 BMW E90 320i and Honda Civic FD 2.0, which one is better? Talking about secondhand car here. Opinions needed. Thanks!

• hahahaha on Dec 16, 2012 at 6:47 pm

2006 Bmw better than even the new civic or city. Provided it is well maintained. Really. Old does not mean good. New jap cars offers nothg special. Or go buy a second hand civic. Nothing of a diff really.

• hahahaha on Dec 16, 2012 at 6:48 pm

2006 Bmw better than even the new civic or city. Provided it is well maintained. Really. Old does not meannot good. New jap cars offers nothg special. Or go buy a second hand civic. Nothing of a diff really.

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:26 pm

indeed…. wait the new ‘TYPE R’ version of Civic….

• gOOsh on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm

styling ada macam CALDINA tak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • gOOsh on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:28 pm

alaaa… kalau PROTON buat kereta cantik2 pun bukan nye korang nak beli pun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • The Red on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:31 pm

off topic. is this real? OMG this is very the Das Auto. More worst then preve.
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=177338455744915&set=a.118135131665248.34131.113678845444210&type=1&theater

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Kia fans on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:37 pm

i’m excited trade in. IF only it give VW LED light!

• Retard on Dec 16, 2012 at 11:48 am

a haaaa……you people should konsider :-

timing chain – low maintain
    dcvvt – low fuel & emision
    good sound insulation – internal low noise
    abs,ebd,abag + 4discbrake – good safety

when buying car

• peyno on Dec 16, 2012 at 2:42 pm

timing chain??? vvt?? sooo yesterday
      even Toyata Japan wanna use CVT and Downsized turbo… and japan dumb their old tech dvvt n timing chain to rural countries like asean

prrrthfhh

• ikut trend terkini, ugly car!

• obsecure on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:32 pm

i wouldn’t frenzy about it. proton is nowhere to be a globle car automaker just release adaptation model
    . i would not bashing car made the big 5 auto manufacturers seriously proton either join with one of big “boys” or face them head on by 2015 which 2 years from next year. i believe your days are numbered or count down to DDAY. clock is ticking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • hopefully the hatchback version look much better than the sedan. the sedan rear look so outdated!

• peyno on Dec 16, 2012 at 2:45 pm

compared to civic 2012, new city.. real look really outdated

• the city look much better. it flows! just like satria neo! but not for preve sedan, kat belakang macam cut and paste!

• DArkerMarker on Dec 16, 2012 at 3:59 pm

had bad experience with proton. wont touch this proton car even its a coupe, 5 door, 3 doors, etc…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Honda lover on Dec 16, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Yes,get a Civic is the best choice.If u want,u can wait for the upcoming Sylphy and Kia K3.

• rear light on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:35 pm

yes.. get civic or city or vios or forte…then you can eat preve’s smoke… huhuhu..

• i don’t even bother how spacious of this car..becos the outlook is failed..weird & ugly.no need to discuss international market here or comparison as it different standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Expatriate VN on Dec 16, 2012 at 6:54 pm

No matter how many comments posted here (i.e. more than 220), the outcome of this jaguh kampung product will be the same no matter what model they introduce – that is NAP blood sucking high price product with lesser quality for local consumers. But good news for export market, they will get priorirty from our jaguh kampung in term of lower price and better specs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • the only reason ppl buys a proton is because it is cheap.

not because they are poor, its because proton is cheap.

thats it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Proton is cheap only in country with distorted tax regime. And yes, poor people buy cheap cars. The person that initiate Proton don’t ride Proton in his everyday commute.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:18 am

And also the cause of our suffering for past 25 years

Very unfair to ordinary poor carbuyers yet the creator enjoy drive Porsche

• hart to tell when people are loaded with negative thinking,…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Yes the banks also still negative thinking…ada kah patut Protong car loan higher interest rates than Toyota…

• My dad’s next car. My mum has the 73k preve since raya. A very good car, very comfortable and very confident especially when it rains, with traction control and ESP as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Littlebear on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:22 am

Congrats bro… You are one of the few who got a perfectly working Preve without QC issues ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:14 pm

When the CFE turbo coughing sound batuk-batuk, just pour some Ubat Batok Cap Kelapa Laut Afrika…berkesan lagi mujarab!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Haiyaa , campak itu Strepsil dalam fuel tank nanti okay lah dia :3

• Proton management still don’t get the message. By flooding the blog, they think they can public perception on P1.
    It’s the brandname that is causing your downfall. You have tried changing a Lancer with Proton logo and it still cannot outsell even the intended competitor’s products. Your brand is doomed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
  • MoveOn on Dec 16, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Looks promising, but if its hatch, I would stick to my Fiesta :D looks cuter ma :X

• but the power of 2 litre or 1.6 turbo plus the comfort of bigger size car is more pronounce.

• peYno on Dec 17, 2012 at 7:54 am

Rakyat sayang preve
    Ahbeng/salesman perodua n entry level jepun celup butthurt

• Joe Radzif on Dec 17, 2012 at 8:21 am

No ugly rear section please…

• Expatriate VN on Dec 17, 2012 at 9:32 am

Yes, butt-less Preve, now they will make the same mistake just like Savvy butt-less (i.e. later turn to Saga with butt). It is just the bigger sibling to Savvy, doom to fail yet this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 never learn a lesson from the past with their syiok sendiri syndrome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Obese on Dec 17, 2012 at 9:51 am

Guys, cut the crap if dont know nothing..
    This is nice but like any other, execution is so-so only. Yes you probably do well to hype up this, n the many other model..but not the execution..seen that, been there..
    So what is this, satria? Putra? Or gen2? DRB said they want to retain old names right?
    Whats the difference wt preve? New engine? New transmission..? Well good luck!

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

“New Preve the extra Ringgit you have to spend will be worth it….” “Jenneva Gold is a good investment against inflation…”

Beware of this comment kalau nak selamatkan dompet lah

• civicEK on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:39 am

fix ur current preve’s issue la before making a new one!

• Nice is nice… still prefer the concept car.
    I want Proton Emas, please launch it with limited edition will do even though u not really trying to make into production line … hehe

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:08 pm

For what? Produce car at loss?

Lu bikin bisness kah, bikin charity amal jariah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • I really hope they really redesign the tail light… it seems that current tail light cannot match the headlight and the car design..
    anyway hatchback is rock!.. more sportier and should be able to attract more proton target market.. i.e. young exec who is looking for first car with nice looking at affordable price..

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Don’t forget the target youth market are not blind…still got Fiesta, new Mazda2 soon, new Kia Rio, maybe new Forte Ceed or Kia Elantra i30 hatch soon to choose all RM70K-RM80K price range to choose from lah…

He He He…Padan muka…Life is difficult even with monopoly huh Protong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Peyno on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Yeahh ppl smart oredi.. They hav preve n korean to choose… No more jepun celuo entry level asean made like vios n alza… Padan muka
        Prffthhhh

• MatLimMutu on Dec 17, 2012 at 12:50 pm

although proton cars hv improve a lot, people keep on hv -ve perception towards proton..

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Yes the banks also the same..still give higher interest car loan to Protong 4% than Toyota 1.88%…kenapa, bank tak percaya Protong sudah banyak improve kualiti kah???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • nabill on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:05 pm

proton should have done sting like the Chevrolet Orlando design…with that mpv/suv mix….all thy had to do is jackup the car abit and redesign the rear section…..it wd have been more popular…unless this hatchback is mostly for exporting rather than local market…hatchbacks are not very popular in this sedan crazy market…

• Pumpkins on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Maybe Protong happy to make loss for fun to show they can produce hatchback??? Memang kerja gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Ononimos on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Aiyo labu, u want to reply most of other people post ka? I know la school on holiday now liaww.. No need to be blind basher. Everything about Proton u condemn. Everything about toyota u praise. Even vios can fly pun u praise. Take a decent holiday la. People don’t want to contantly read yout negative comment like you are being paid for doing that lorh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Biarkan luncai terjun dengan labu-labunya. So entertaining reading his comments. Absolutely crappy, funny and brainless

• Littlebear even my dad’s friend who drives a 63K preve and a neighbour’s 73k Preve bought earlier than my Mum’s 73k Preve has no problem…. my conclusion, all that I have met using Preve cars has no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • carlel on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:56 am

Now almost 1 yer I’m using cfe exora bold after sold my vios dugong n happy with my proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Jimmy on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:17 am

well…I can see bunch of (mission) pro-potong here….no point give comment. Any negative comment on potong will be Thumb Down. They will tell u a preve almost better then any car….

• justLooking on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:17 am

aha..just like what im expected!! proton car is a hot topic..303 comments as i write this.. look like many people REALY CARE about Proton..hahaha

• I Like!!!

• wakaka on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Proton quality not good but preve has better pacakge than city or vios or almera.

So jealous la kampung brand can beat their jap cars in terms of safety and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • gOOsh on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:09 pm

ala… most of proton bashers pun pakai kereta proton… jgn temberang larr…

• Peyno on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Proton haters = perodua n entry level jepun celup car owner/salesman but pretending as real japs car owner… Reminds me of one guy here talking about taxes, bla2… Tapi dia perodua salesman
      Prffthhhh

• jujuma on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:55 pm

look first,this car first model by DRB-HICOM ,sure good Quality.Like Toyota before.

• Peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:38 am

Proton quality nowadays actually much better than entry level fake japs car… It just a matter when it happen to proton… Ppl ( hater) like to spread n exxaggerate… When it comes to those jepun celup asean made.. Ppl just keep quiet.. N some owner shy to share their problem on the net..now rakyat smart oredi… Eventho ah beng haters work soo hard googling preve problem n try to convince rakyat not to buy preve… Rakyat still choose preve, korean n conti instead of low tech entry level fake joas asean made 3rd wirld countries market cars

N this really make them.. Butthurt

Prffthhhh

• Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:47 pm

this preve researched and development before DRB-HICOM take over….. but preve launches after they take over proton from gov….

• Iniesta Leong on Dec 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm

If proton continue as it is now , it will be a hopeless brand , how they compete with he rest of the car manufacturers which almost sell 10 million vehicles per year around the globe, proton need to find an alliance to survive to meet the challenge if it want to be a viable business

PS: I am not proton hater but the built quality suck let alone durability and I own 2 proton before . You know what I mean .

• Peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:29 am

So… Wat car u own now??? Prffthhh… I used to own entry level fake japs car… No more this car in my garage… Prefer real jdm n conti:)

• what is an entry level fake japs car? serious question

• Peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Entry level fake japs car asean made is not jdm n edm car…N those owner always butthurt at proton.n they believe their car is jdm….. Real jdm n conti car owner wudnt act like that

• savvy is not entry level japanese car.

and your rubbish preve is not conti car too.

oberc sampah.

• jacinta on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:02 am

HI gUYS, IM single female age 23 looking for a long term relationship.

My ex drove a vios, another ex camry, recent ex an accord, so many ex city. so far no bf drives a german car yet. Preve is Malaysian but i dont mind so long as its better than all the Jap cars.

dont argue please all of you. all i want is a real man who drives a Preve. a real man with turbo power. not cvt or cvvt or HIV or STD or Vtec.

i want preve and i want it NOW. its the best package for the price now. quality is up to proton. i choose the driver and the owner of this car.

call me. My name is Jacinta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Youngster n new generation like u is up to date… No wonder new gen ppl choose preve, korean or conti over entry level fake japs car with old timing chain tech like our parents era.. Sine of them still talking bout old perdana, waja or gen 2 issues… Sooooo yesterday

• I drive Fellali.. wanna be my bf???

• bonbon on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:32 am

i open this story, coz i want to read information. But i saw this people kutuk2 each other, kutuk this ,kutuk that, they said they saw this saw that. Man, can you guys just share some information? share your experience with your own car lahh…

• gOOsh on Dec 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

do we need to give proton another chance???
    please vote arr.. if “yes” like & if “no” dislike…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • proton again? no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Proton quality nowadays actually much better than entry level fake japs car… It just a matter when it happen to proton… Ppl ( hater) like to spread n exxaggerate… When it comes to those jepun celup asean made.. Ppl just keep quiet.. N some owner shy to share their problem on the net..now rakyat smart oredi… Eventho ah beng haters work soo hard googling preve problem n try to convince rakyat not to buy preve… Rakyat still choose preve, korean n conti instead of low tech entry level fake joas asean made 3rd wirld countries market cars
    N this really make them.. Butthurt
    Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Alson P on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

entry level fake proton car rebadged as europestar goes well in China market….

p/s the matter of marketing

• A huge trashcan. Can’t wait for them to go out of business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • jiangL on Dec 20, 2012 at 10:07 pm

wira is nothing compared to newer proton cars, they handles very well like contis

• AH CAI on Dec 21, 2012 at 10:06 am

Turunkan Harga Kereta 1st la.. i will buy proton..mehh

• Mat Global on Dec 27, 2012 at 11:36 am

The hatchback looks appealing base on the Preve saloon.At times while driving my 5 months Preve cfe saloon to KLIA and along N-S highway,i keep on asking myself am i driving a Proton?
    The preve handling is simply superb.Drive comport is excellent.With its light Turbocharged engine 205 nm from 2000 rpm coupled with cvt transmissions i can easily pass normal aspirated engine of 2000 c.c.
    No Japan or Korea makes 1.6 to 1.8 c.c or even some 2.0 cars can match Preve driving qualities.
    Being a proud and satisfied owner,i wish Proton upgrade fit and fittings of the interior/ cabin in order to challenge continental cars.Proton already got Lotus engineering which translate to first class ride.

• Driver on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:16 pm

I used to work with P1 even after DRB time. What i can say after DRB tookover P1 they will ensure the quality of car will be better moving forward. These DRB guys are serious people and no play2

• Produa User on Dec 30, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Proton better than Produa. My viva no power after 3 year.Alza low power compare to avanza.

• alex chan on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:42 am

why buy a product from a company that have no future aka going to bankrupt?…resale value very very low summore??..driving quality?..hahahahahaha driving preve is like driving nissan vannette..no feels at all…u want quality?..buy toyota!..prestigous brand summore…the sale tells why MAJORITY choose TOYOTA..thats we called QUALITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • innocence on Jan 07, 2013 at 2:55 pm

eh…but y my fren said his nissan vannette is better than his preve ah?

• arapaima9 on Dec 31, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Dugong salesman spotted..!!!!

• Mat Global on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:36 am

Happy New Year to all readers and followers of
    PAUL TAN’S AUTO NEWS

May i know why my comments in response to alex chan was not published.Thank you.

• Agree with Mat Global, whenever I drive my wife’s Preve CFE it makes me smile from ear to ear, so comfortable and stable. I can easily put 4 of my children age between 14 and 25 at the back and sill no lost of power. Great car and handsome/pretty too. Will definitely get the hatchback went it comes out.

• spyman on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:11 pm

kalau tak mampu tak payahla beli preve ni, tak payah nak dok kutuk2 orang, orang yg kutuk ni sbenanya tak mampu beli kereta pon..

• This new P3-22a will have 17″ rim as mention by my friend. The radio if i’m not mistaken will have android software but still in development(tp takkan sama yg mcm digunakan dlm phone). Also will have 6 gear manual transmission.

• busto on Jan 22, 2013 at 4:06 am

Honestly day by day proton very ..well…….walaweiiiii.