W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Facelift unveiled

E-Klasse, E 300 BlueTec HYBRID, Limousine Elegance, (W 212), 201

Mercedes-Benz have announced the full details of the new W212 E-Class facelift, along with over 70 high resolution images to accompany the release. Both the sedan and estate models have been unveiled at once, with the coupe and cabrio following a different release cycle.

We’ve already seen a small set of 5 photos of this facelift earlier. This facelift is a really comprehensive, and it brings the E-Class design up to date with the current Mercedes-Benz design language found on cars like the current A-Class, B-Class and M-Class.

E-Klasse, E 350 4MATIC, Limousine Avantgarde, (W 212), 2012

The twin headlamp design have been ‘merged’ to a new single lens design that reminds us of the old W220 S-Class. The headlamps are fitted with partial LED lights as standard, while full LED technology is available for the first time in this class as an option. Flowing light elements within the headlamps that also function as daytime running lights help to ensure that the “four-eyed” look which is typical of the E-Class has been graphically retained.

One thing new is the option of a front grille with a huge Mercedes-Benz star on it, which comes with a deletion of the hood ornament – an option previously unavailable on the E-Class and only used on smaller models like the C-Class.

E-Klasse, E 250 T-Modell, Avantgarde mit AMG Sportpaket, (S 212)

On the interior, a new feature is the two-part trim which stretches across the entire dashboard. It can be selected in a wood or aluminium look, irrespective of the equipment line. Also new are ‘tubes’ that enclose the triple-gauge instrument cluster for a sportier look, the trapezoid-shaped, high-gloss framed display in the head unit with flat-frame look, the design of the air vents as well as a classy analogue clock between the two central air vents that reminds me of a dress watch.

There’s also a redesigned centre console without a selector lever, as well as a new multifunction steering wheel with DIRECT SELECT lever and shift paddles in conjunction with automatic transmission.

In terms of technical updates, the E200 CGI and E250 CGI gets revised engines. The previous 1.8 litre (1,796cc) CGI engine has been replaced by a 2.0 litre (1,991cc) BlueDIRECT engine that uses fast-acting piezo injectors for multiple injection, quick multi-spark ignition, turbocharging, fully variable camshaft adjustment on the inlet and exhaust side, as well as a controlled oil pump.

The new 2.0 litre motor includes the first dynamic balancer with full anti-friction bearings to be used in a petrol engine, as well as a selectable water pump. According to Mercedes-Benz, the new four cylinder engines can do 5.8 litres per 100km, which is the most efficient in its class, achieving class A efficiency in Europe. The engines also meet EU6 emissions standards.

In terms of output, the E200 CGI now does 184 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 300Nm of torque between 1,200rpm to 4,000rpm, compared to the outgoing E200 CGI’s 184 horsepower and 270Nm. The E250 CGI now does 211 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 350Nm of torque between 1,200rpm to 4,00rpm, compared to the outgoing E250 CGI’s 204 horsepower and 310Nm. 0 to 100km/h acceleration times are equal for the E200 CGI but for the E250 CGI, it improved from 7.7 seconds to 7.4 seconds.

Our automatic-only market will get the 7G-TRONIC PLUS automatic transmission with DIRECT SELECT lever and DIRECT SELECT shift paddles. A new feature is the short-term M mode: if the driver has shifted up or down manually, after a set period of time the transmission independently switches back to automatic mode which saves fuel.

E-Klasse, E 300 BlueTec HYBRID, Limousine Elegance, (W 212), E 3

Different suspension configurations can be ordered. There’s a comfort biased setup uses the base DIRECT CONTROL suspension with selective damping system. You can also have a sporty DIRECT CONTROL suspension with selective damping system lowered by 15mm. Finally, there’s the AIRMATIC air suspension with electronically controlled damping. The Estate model gets air suspension with self leveling as default on the rear axle.

All E-Class will be fitted with an electromechanical Direct-Steer system as standard. This combines the speed-dependent power assistance of speed-sensitive steering with a variable ratio across the steering angle range. The rack and pinion steering gear is controlled on-demand.

Of course, there’s the technology. As standard, both Saloon and Estate models are fitted with COLLISION PREVENTION ASSIST, a radar-based collision warning system with adaptive brake assist systems. It helps to significantly reduce the risk of a rear-end collision. Also forming part of the standard equipment is ATTENTION ASSIST, which is now able to warn of inattentiveness and drowsiness across a wider speed range, and also inform the driver about his level of fatigue and the amount of driving time which has elapsed since the last break. It also offers an adjustable sensitivity level.

DISTRONIC PLUS with Steering Assist can help to keep the vehicle centered in its lane and track traffic in tailbacks automatically. For the first time, the Brake Assist system BAS PLUS with Junction Assist is able to detect crossing traffic and pedestrians too, and boost the braking power applied by the driver accordingly.

E-Klasse, E 300 BlueTec HYBRID, Limousine Elegance, (W 212), 201

The PRE-SAFE® Brake can detect pedestrians and initiate autonomous braking to avoid a collision at speeds up to 30 mph. PRE-SAFE® PLUS can recognise an imminent rear-end collision, prompting the PRE-SAFE® system to trigger occupant protection measures to reduce the forces to which occupants are subjected. It can also firmly apply the stationary vehicle’s brakes in the event of a rear-end collision to prevent secondary accidents. With PRE-SAFE® Impulse, the front occupants are pulled away from the direction of impact by their seat belts at an early phase of the crash before the resulting occupant deceleration sets in. This can substantially reduce the risk and severity of injuries in a frontal collision.

Active Lane Keeping Assist can detect oncoming traffic and when the adjacent lane is not clear, and prevent the vehicle from leaving its lane unintentionally by applying the brakes on one side. Adaptive Highbeam Assist PLUS allows the main-beam headlamps to be kept on permanently without dazzling traffic by masking out other vehicles in the beams’ cone of light.

Active Parking Assist enables automated parking with active steering and brake control in both parallel and end-on spaces Active Blind Spot Assist warns the driver before a lane-change if it detects another vehicle in the blind spot area. If the driver fails to react to the warning, Active Blind Spot Assist triggers corrective braking intervention. In addition to speed limits, Traffic Sign Assist is now able to provide warnings of overtaking and entry restrictions, and can also detect the respective signs indicating the end of restrictions

Finally, a 360-degree camera projects an overview of the vehicle and its surroundings as a virtual bird’s-eye view on the display. Guide lines help with entering and exiting from parking spaces as well as manoeuvring.

We’re don’t expect any delays from Mercedes-Benz Malaysia with the introduction of this new model so we’re expecting the new E-Class to be launched in Malaysia next year. Look after the jump for a huge gallery of the W212 facelift.

GALLERY: W212 Facelift Mercedes-Benz E-Class

GALLERY: W212 Facelift Mercedes-Benz E300 BlueTEC HYBRID

GALLERY: W212 Facelift Mercedes-Benz E350 4MATIC

GALLERY: W212 Facelift Mercedes-Benz E250 Touring

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ramun on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:57 am

A 2+2 config? thats not a family car…

• Head light change only? The rest still same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • kington on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:12 am

I think the interior detailing (based on the pictures) are probably the most i’ve seen in any midlife facelift. From what i’ve observed previosu facelifts by MB have always been quite minimal, much like the Japs. Kudos the MB for this effort. Best facelift job in years in this industry.

In addition, i’ve always felt like the current E felt a bit staid and although by itself it seemed like cutting edge stuff from the prev model but measured against the 5 and the like-it-or-hate-it GS, it’s the one your eyes would forget even if it’s in front of you.

Now, I want one. I really do.

• Alpha on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:01 am

Is the E300 still using the same engine?

• Paul Tan on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:07 am

Not sure… E300 isn’t available overseas. I wouldn’t be surprised if they phase it out with the facelift in Malaysia and perhaps replace it with the E350. E300 is only for certain countries. Mercedes-Benz’s press releases only details 2 petrol engines – the E200 and E250. The rest are all diesel.

• BMW BEST on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:11 am

Actually it looks quite good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Now that I have a better look at it, I still struggle to like the design. Oh well, might as well be the rare ones.
    But the Interior is fantastic, especially the Touring’s interior which looks expensive. especially that analog clock, and that metal-ish finished.

• i think it looks so-so but the looks really doesnt matter it can look like a cherry and ppl will still buy just cause merc is the only car they know about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Oh my God it’s hideous! My eyes! My eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • superman on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:24 am

is this Merc? I never liked the new E class. it looks ugly. the previous model was more Mercedes than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • droll on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:29 am

i actually prefer the current gen E class’ front look – more angular; makes it look more muscular. this new one is a bit too curvy for me.

• The front headlight reminds me of the previous gen S-class la….MB designers are becoming lazy like Audi.

• wow…that watch is so….ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • kingston on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:14 am

I love the concept car looking front end,& the facelifted e- class has a more masculine profile then the previous generation which have a more elegance profile.

• haiseh on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:22 am

1 day when i have enough money, im gonna print a nice big poster of W212 n hang it in my room, i promise myself that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Jilbaber on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:52 am

MB designer did bad enough those head lamp iin pre-facelift, now they’ve ruined it !

• skeptical on Dec 14, 2012 at 11:22 am

Are most of these forum readers only capable of making comments on looks?

• not surprising considering the huge korean fanbase here

• Vishnu on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Dude, the tech in this car is ridiculous.. The car looks ok I guess, but under the hood, the engine, the safety features stuff are generations beyond the Japanese marques on the road today… Good on Merc!

• Malaysian on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Volvo is the first to introduce all those features MB is just a follower…..nothing really great, except for the resale value as compared to Volvo….

• kadajawi on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Nah. Not really. Lane assist has been in Japanese cars for maybe 10 years? Long before the Germans had it. Japanese cars can have a ridiculous amount of airbags, like the Camry with 10 airbags as a standard in the US. The radar to avoid accidents and to improve the cruise control? Also been there for many years.

However once these cars arrive in Malaysia someone has stolen everything and left an empty shell.

In terms of engines though I agree. But there was one lanuched a few years ago which was _very_ problematic. Not sure which one anymore, but they really screwed up with that one (and the engine was supposed to be their future, their saviour). I think by now they fixed it…

• Vishnu on Dec 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm

You could be right, but what’s the point if they don’t want to bring the tech here? I’m sure uncles all around the country wouldn’t mind plonking down the cash for a REAL full spec Camry with all the works and the reliability of the Japs, instead of getting raped in C&C with their Mercs and stupid little MB problems.

UMW could bring in fully-imported Camrys and call them something else, and put them directly against 3-er and Cs or even 5-er and Es..

• kadajawi on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Are you sure? From what I know Toyota removed VSC when they switched from the 2.4V to the 2.5V because they did surveys and found out that their buyers do not care about it.

The Prius models are relatively feature packed. They also seem to do not very well, despite being (relatively) attractive priced.

Also a fully spec’ed Camry would make the cash cows they produce look bad and could hurt sales. The full spec Camry would also have to be priced much higher than the regular one, which would firmly put it in Merc and BMW territory. And if given the choice, I think even uncles would rather take the Merc or BMW.

• kadajawi on Dec 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Don’t they already do sort of that thing with Lexus? I think if you are willing to spend over 250k the Toyota badge is not good enough. And well, the cars aren’t good enough for that too.

• thequestion on Dec 14, 2012 at 8:10 pm

any potential customer already aware the wonder of Mercedes features ..so looks is the only critical point between the want to buy it or not

• Simon Ng on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:22 pm

An analog clock!! Now thats what I call character. Besides Merc and Bentley, I wonder which company still uses analog clock.

• Trenegy on Dec 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Is msia tax for 1.8 and 2.0 liter engine within same bracket. If higher tax, then price might be higher then now.

• the front lamp shud be more angular or square or more mercedes like

• gOOsh on Dec 14, 2012 at 5:14 pm

love the estate…

• looking-Good on Dec 14, 2012 at 7:53 pm

MB should work more on the back..the tail light.. that’s what I don’t like the most for the current E.

for the front, the current E is better than this facelift.. especially on the E coupe, so fierce..

then this facelifted head lamp on the E coupe?? would it look cool???

• Malaysian on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:16 pm

“We’re don’t expect any delays from Mercedes-Benz Malaysia with the introduction of this new model so we’re expecting the new E-Class to be launched in Malaysia next year.” If this really happens, this might mean the end of recondition cars…….?????

• kadajawi on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Look, the brown one, it’s Sid! http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20120112174226/protagonist/images/4/4a/SIdSloth2.jpg

• In the fifth photo in the post, those wrap-around rear headrest looks pretty cool but when i check out the rear headrest from the first pic of the post, it only has standard headrests. Any details on this?

• The back not match with the front..and the back seat..just..2+2..overall nice looking car

• MrBmw on Dec 16, 2012 at 7:38 pm

The Facelifted E class looks ok, but in my opinion I feel it would be better for Mercedes to retain the current twin headlamps setup as the prefacelift model, but use the facelifted rear lights.

• Arondino on Dec 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Agree with Superman! The previous W211 model looks more MERC than this!!…:)

• mamat saring on Dec 23, 2012 at 4:52 pm

the tweeters on the a pillar looks awesome!

• waited to so long dy. When on earth is the car gonna be launched in M’sia?