Toyota NAV1 – the Noah minivan goes to Indonesia

nav1 main

Toyota last week introduced its NAV1 in Indonesia. The eight-seater MPV – assembled locally at the Bekasi plant – is essentially the Noah minivan with a slightly altered front-end. Initially, the NAV1, which derives its name from the term ‘Navigator One,’ is being assembled in SKD form, but CKD production is on the cards. Pricing starts from 378 million IDR (RM119,700) for the base model.

The NAV1, which is priced between the Innova and the Alphard, is powered by a 2.0 litre 3ZR-FAE mill with Valvematic offering 158 PS at 6,200 rpm and 196 Nm at 4,400 rpm, mated to a seven-speed CVT box with Shiftronic.

The 4.6 metre-long offering is available in two variant guises, these being the G and V. Standard features include dual automatic power sliding rear doors, a 5.8-inch LCD TFT touchscreen audio system, second row swivel seats, VIP rear seat entertainment (with ceiling mounted LCD screen) and dual-zone air-conditioning.

nav1 broc

Going the V route adds a smart entry/start system, VIP aerokit package, corner sensors and fog lamps to the mix. Common to both NAV1 versions is a five-spoke design 15-inch alloy wheel and 195/65 tyre combination.

Safety kit is made up of dual airbags, ABS and EBD, and the NAV1 wears a front disc/rear drum braking system. Four colours are listed – White Pearl CS, Gray Metallic, Black and Silver Metallic.

Reports say that Toyota is aiming to further expand its market share in Indonesia from the 50% it currently holds (combined with Daihatsu) by introducing new vehicles for the affluent – the NAV1 is undoubtedly one of these. With export targets in ASEAN and India also set to expand, might be we’ll see the NAV1 arriving here in the future.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malboy on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Waah…Like Velfire!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • Toyota's Reliable on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm

omg.. between Alphard we should have Estima! Not this..

This NAV1 give similar interior feels to Innova! In fact, it should have been a Innova Replacement.

That 195/65 tyre to be a superior than Innova? Same 2.0 engine as Innova, you want it to be priced higher up? Interior doesnt show much superior to Innova as well.

What a idiotic Marketing from Toyota. It should have been Innova’s Replacement! Innova is old enough for a replacement. It’s already more than 7 years since 2004 Launched.

Facts: NAV1 is price at eg. RM120k at Indonesia compare to RM80k Innova.
      @@ Are you serious?
      It’s just similar interior to Innova, Size of Innova, Tyre of Innova, Wanna markup 50%?

I wonder what Innova’s replacement will looks like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 48
      • Alpha on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

It’s not the same engine.Innova is using the inferior 1TR-FE engine.This is using a 3ZR-FAE engine. And this is the first time I’ve heard someone comparing cars using wheel size.

By that logic, the Lancer that comes with 18inch rims is better than any other C-segment sedan and the CX-5 that comes with 19inch rims is better than even a bunch of luxury cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
        • Expatriate VN on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:55 pm

This someone compare cars using wheeling size is super idiots – take kereta lembu wheel which is a lot bigger!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
        • Father on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Within the same brand, use the wheel size/tyre to indicate should be logic to indicate the superiority of the car.

He didnt compare the NAV1’s tyre to Nissan Serena right? eg. Altis is superior than Vios, so it’s bigger and come with a bigger tyre and wheel.

NAV1 is no where bigger than Innova. Go google the rear view of it, it just looks very thin like a van.
          http://kusukagadget.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/ToyotaNoah-3.jpg

Take a look at the Rival:
          I only can compare this NAV1 to Nissan ELIVIA.
          http://www.nissan.co.id/id/web/models/EVALIA/home/hpage.htm

While, this is the New Nissan Serena at Indonesia: Coming to Malaysian soon:::
          http://www.ridwanmobil.com/new-nissan-serena-indonesia-2012/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Alpha on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:31 pm

I see. So the E-Class that comes with 17inchers is inferior to the C-Class AMG Package that comes with 18inchers?? Although even with the AMG Package the E-Class is way more expensive?? And the E-Class AMG Package that comes with 18inchers is on the same level as the S-Class that comes standard with 18inchers.

What la,your logic weh??

Rim size can be used to compare the trim level of the models.But not to compare with other cars.EVEN within the same brand.

• jun jun on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:20 pm

stop argue about this ugly car,just wait for all new hyundai starex….pretty cool

• Expatriate VN on Dec 17, 2012 at 4:00 pm

This is same class with Nissan Serena 2.0L, selling at RM 120K is a steal! I wanna take one of this rather than taqke that crap outdated Serena C 24, 2 generation behind Serena C 26.

• Father on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:19 pm

It’s not like that.

Innova in Malaysia is above RM100k already. same car at Indon only RM80k.

So, be smart and realistic that if NAV1 come aboard, it will be RM140k+.

• OMG.Really?…i expect this will more expensive than T.Wish.

• makky on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:52 pm

And same car in indo got powered by diesel leh.. lot more better compare to malaysia.

• What same engine? the NOAH uses the valvematic engine, which is much more advance than the vvt-i in the innova, and even dual vvt-i….it is similar to the valvetronic in BMW…….the best 2.0 Toyota engine currently we get in Malaysia is only the dual vvti in the altis. NOAH is in higher league than the Innova based on the engine alone…and what on earth u compared the wheels ??

• Father on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:29 am

Toyota NAV1 should be Innova’s replacement at the first place.

This 1 main point. The Innova replacement also deserve a better engine.

• “Reports say that Toyota is aiming to further expand its market share in Indonesia…..” Here it means that Toyota indonesia clearly wants to add a new model/segment in their vehicle lineups, much like china, with huge market that allows them to create new segments…Go to toyota indonesia website,and you’ll see the NAV1 is not meant to replace Innova(Kijang), It’s more premium than better than the Kijang overall. If you think it should be Innova’s replacement, contact the toyota management and tell them you know their products better than themselves.

• Well actually I prefer cars with smaller wheels due to the lower replacement cost. Ha2

• Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Toyota cars got bad RV in Malaysia because it got bad safety features. No VSC/ESC for the Camry, a premium model. If this is sold in Malaysia, it will have the VSC/ESC taken out by UMW to save on cost at the expense of our lives. Next thing you know, the pedals get stuck onto the floor mat and accidents happen.

• spyshotX on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:07 pm

what the..??

aren’t u the same dude who troll around PT condemning kimchi’s brand RV kaw kaw.. now want to condemn toyota’s RV some more.. got so many free time is it..

kids these days..

• Toyota bad RV in Msia??!!
          hmmm…

• Vader on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:00 pm

like starex..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • comrade on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:03 pm

so after Indon, this will be available in Malaysia? maybe next year?

• Jimmy on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Mazda 8 (no ESP) < Sharan < Elgrand < R class.
      All with 6 or more airbags.
      The best buy is Sharan.
      No reconds ya.

• crx otai on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Yup agreed…at that price range, btw 200k-250k the Sharan is the best buy, lower FC, higher torque at low revs, lower road tax (2.0 turbo TSI) , 5 years warranty/assist by VGM

• malboy on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Nice Looking! But…the price..

• omg.. between Alphard we should have Estima! Not this..

This NAV1 give similar interior feels to Innova! In fact, it should have been a Innova Replacement.

That 195/65 tyre to be a superior than Innova? Same 2.0 engine as Innova, you want it to be priced higher up? Interior doesnt show much superior to Innova as well.

What a idiotic Marketing from Toyota. It should have been Innova’s Replacement! Innova is old enough for a replacement. It’s already more than 7 years since 2004 Launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • pak long on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:44 pm

As a innova owner for 5 years now, I couldn’t agree more! I can see more cosmetics but same engine, so cheaper price will ge more appealing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Danial on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:39 pm

I would rather choose Estima over this ‘Shoe-Box’ People Mover…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Alpha on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Will it sell here??It’s nice and practical,but its competitor,the Serena and StepWGN doesn’t sell well here.

• alex chan on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

toyota?..NICEEE…if introduce in malaysia..will sell like hot cake…prestigious brand summore maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
    • oko028 on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Yah right prestigious (my assss)…if let own a Lexus then you’re like Agong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • problem on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm

disagree..
      brand does NOT guarantee anything.

T is choking people like you everyday mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • khairul on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:24 pm

do not dream in the siang hari laa… datang malaysia saja, up 50%… >rm150k for this creepy nav1.. jom ubah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • "great_job" on Dec 17, 2012 at 2:47 pm

musti org malaysia berebut-rebut nak beli nih nanti..hahahaha
    biasala..toyota maaaaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Ok Malaysians need this. Come to Malaysia Noah minivan and you shall be rewarded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • steven loke on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:27 pm

hi, toyota reliable, its more expensive because the spec are higher than innova. the engine are more update than innova. normal 2.0 litre vvti engine vs 2.0 litre valvematic engine. the drive train also more superior 7 speed cvt with shiftronic vs 4 speed auto. the exterior styling more to alphard boxy type.

• twincharger07 on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:29 pm

RM119,700 in Indonesia but RM300,000 in Malaysia

Malaysia Boleh! Everyday kena cekik by Toyota and our Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • dugong on Dec 17, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Are we back in the 90s? please not another fugly junk on malaysian roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • yayaya on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Dugong,

I like your comments- sometimes i feel its as of you can read my mind whatever i wan to say here.

This junk box like alphards etc which are ‘luxury’ vans selling here like hot cakes..it shows somthg is v wrong with lots of Msian buyers.

My friend has an alphard n estima, i tell you the ride is horrible and the interior yucks.estima esp.

Its only a van ok!! Ugly too. Funeral parlours should be using this.

You want a good people carrier look beyond toyos lah pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Allan on Dec 22, 2012 at 6:15 pm

I don’t quite agree. I use a 3 liter aeras for my frequent trip from KL to PG and I find the ride extremely good. I don’t even realise that I have exceeded the speed limit and my companion has to frequently remind me that I was speeding at around 140 kph or even more but I didn’t even feel as if I was speeding. This is how comfortable this MPV is. However, the Alphard does not feel as planted cos of its higher centre of gravity. I find the Alphard a better people carrier as it has ample head room and my company uses it to transport our executives who are usually formally attired. They are able to arrive at their destinations without having to complain that their suits are crumpled.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 17, 2012 at 4:04 pm

This is Alphard Junior! This is not junk. Only butt heart and those can’t afford will say so!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • Hahaa sarcasm or wat..ppl who can afford this junk SHOULD consider other alternatives. FORD s max maybe, sharan vw etc etc but unfortunately T buyers dont look at wats in the in this junk.

Alot of ppl can afford but is it necessary and are there any alternatives. You dont buy t at a premium price bcos its a regular carrier and tats it.

• MatLimMutu on Dec 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

i still prefer exora bold. not so big, not so small, just nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
  • maaajeeedaaa on Dec 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm

I am considering one for my family if the price range is less than RM 120k…. If the priceis more than RM150k, betterconsider new Santa Fe lor…still a 7 seater SUV… MPV price should be just mid range as most people with big family need to consider their own budget before spending big on cars…..dah la rumah pun mahal duh

• SorChai on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:17 pm

OMG…My dream car!!!
    MPV, look like Alphard, cheap and most importantly it is a T-brand!
    When is it coming???

Please launch it soon! I can park it next to my Dugong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • proton star on Dec 17, 2012 at 8:45 pm

UMW always think they are BMW. This mpv will not sell cheap in the boleh land.

• OMG…how you know it is cheap? I expect it will cost more than T.wish.

• Tiguan on Dec 17, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Ugliest looking car on earth. For that price range I rather go for VW Cross Touran which have much better spec and at least it is German made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • The Toyota is a eight-seater, it’s bigger than the seven-seater Cross Touran.

• Allan on Dec 21, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Definitely not a eight seater but certainly a 6 seater, i.e. 2 in second row and 2 in 3rd row. But if you squeeze an additional child in the 3rd row, then you can only seat 7 maximum. Question is, when fully loaded, can it go up Genting when it only has a 2 liter engine?

• hahaha on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:23 pm

You drive a Tiguan? Then you know whats a good car and tech supposed to be. There are 9:1 ratio of toyo n hon fans in msia vs other makes.

Even if its a recycled sh#t badged t, hordes of ppl will buy @ high prices.

8 seater sh#t..whr do you put your bags if you carry 7ppl. And the passengers will die of dizziness seating in this van.

Drives like van and yet you see ppl speeding in it. This are t n h drivers.

• ahchai69 on Dec 17, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Malaysia’s car industry is always behind others due to unfair protectionism. Not fair to malaysian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Naz@AE111 on Dec 17, 2012 at 8:18 pm

hmm.. same engine as the toyota wish..

• one thing for sure, it will get a new name here

• toyota lembu on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm

toyota price car by displacement/ c.c. 2.0 toyota sure sell at 150k

• Once launch in MY, the spec should get cut like hell.
    Innova engine with 4 speed gear box,15 inch rim…
    >.<

• fuiyoh on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:49 am

Its an expensive van, floaty and ugly. Ppl carrier yes true but buy only if you really have the need to carry so many ppl. Not buy because you think its luxurious like most alphard or vellfire, estima owners do.

Most overated, oversold coffin carrier. I wonder wat will happen in a crash.

• Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:08 am

yes, I recommend this car…confirm good RV.

• Peyno on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:36 am

Comes with cvt 7 speed… Yeah .. Same as proton… But umw jepun celup entry level car still with 4 AT n timing chain … Prffthhhhh

• Peyno on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:41 am

This mpv quite popular in japan… Noah .. There is another similar design called voxy.. All these jdm… Pls bring here… This is what ppl want… Cvt like proton.. No more 4AT and timing chain old tech used in vios, unser, innova n abanja
    Prffthhhh

• gOOsh on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

exora with E01 engine… lagi best…

• ahchai69 on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Indonesia not only getting latest toyota noah but also latest nissan serena, malaysia still selling old serena as new car, malaysia boleh!

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:44 pm

this must be designed by a person who got fired by proton after juara sale not going very well..good job toyota!

• peyno on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:15 pm

sorry to say.. but u know nuts about JDM.. Real Japanese car market… alpharad, velfire, Noah, Voxy, Serena, Stepwagon all most popular MPV in Japan are Boxy Design

• not sam loo on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:23 am

you’re the nut one..when proton produce juara, everyone bash,kotaklah bla bla bla…when the japs produce the same one, you’ll gonna accept it because it’s from japan..eat your own word..STUPID

• gOOsh on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

juara tu design mmc la bro… pls do some research before comment aarrr…

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:26 am

that’s not the point, juara kotak,everyone bash,alphard,vellfie and so on also kotak,but becoz it’s japan everyone will jilat their own spit…(i mean only the design)

• Matsumoto on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:56 am

Toyota will design a box then put in an engine. Then idiots very happy to buy no matter if its expensive and inferior to competition.

It has to be the ugliest ie alphard vellfire tis unser.
    Haha rmbr unser? Well tis is actually the newest gen of unser. Its all a van with 7 seats.

See above how many fans? Thr will be a market for any shi*tty product but you ned to be well known brand first.those were the days when japs offer good cars at a fraction of price.

Now koreans hv taken over the role and the europeans are still the benchmark for quality offerings.

• Fukuoka on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Not all Japanese people like boxy cars, but the scenario is like this. Japan has a population of 126 mil people (and declining, but that’s another matter), about 100 mil more than Malaysia. That huge population allows additional market for boxy cars. Take Nissan Cube for example, its design really reflexes the name, literally. But it sells well here.

The point is, with a huge market anything is possible.

• Peyno on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:43 pm

No… Boxy design such stepwgn, noah, voxy are selling better than estima, wish shape in japan… I prefer urban countries choice rather than 3rd workd country choice like malaysia

• eko wiyono on Mar 01, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Desain eksterior mobil ini memang terkesan formal dan kaku dari sekilas memang tidak ada yang menarik saat melihat body mobil ini, akan tetapi saat kita meneliti lebih dalam dari filosofi MPV ini kita dapat mengetahui maksud dari mobil ini yang diperuntukkan mampu membawa anggota keluarga berpergian dengan nyaman dan menyenangkan. Sebut saja pintu geser lebar yang memudahkan penumpang (barang bawaan) keluar maupun masuk dalam kabin, terlebih dengan pengoperasian pintu yang dapat di buka tutup secara elektrik.
    Pada bagian depan mobil ini dibekali dengan headlamp yang cukup besar dan handal (projector) sehingga sangat menunjang pencahayaan yang sekaligus mendukung keamanan berkendara, grill depan yang juga lebar dimaksudkan untuk mendapatkan pasokan udara segar pada mesin sehingga tahan walaupun melakukan perjalanan jauh. Pada bumper depan mobil ini juga dibenamkan 2 lampu kabut yang berukuran cukup besar yang akan memberikan memberikan bantuan pencahayaan maksimal saat kondisi cuaca ekstrim.
    Pada bagian roda NAV1 dibekali dengan velg alloy dengan ban ukuran 195/65, Toyota NAV1 ini memiliki sistem suspensi independen depan MacPherson dan belakang Torsion Beam sehingga dapat dipastikan mobil ini sangat stabil saat digunakan dan nyaman. Melihat ke atas roda kita akan disajikan dengan spion elektrik yang dibenami dengan indikator belok horisontal cukup kentara, sedangkan lebih kebelakang lagi terdapat hand door sipit yang didesain sewarna dengan body seolah menyatu dengan nuansa body mobil.