Carbon Motors TX7 – versatility for law enforcement

tx7 02

American company Carbon Motors has officially unveiled its Carbon TX7, a multi-mission vehicle aimed at fulfilling all law enforcement needs. The company has opened the order books for the vehicle, with production slated to begin in late 2013.

It’s not Carbon’s first police-based offering – that would be the E7 Pursuit and Surveillance unit, which was announced in 2007. Despite nearly 24,500 orders from 638 law enforcement agencies in the US, the E7 hasn’t quite made it to series production yet. Carbon is changing its tack and is offering these agencies a special price for the TX7.

The 6.90 metre-long TX7 is powered by a V8 turbodiesel offering more than 300 hp and 813 Nm, and the oil burner is paired to a six-speed automatic transmission driving all four wheels. Carbon is planning to offer a Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) powertrain as an option.

tx7 03

Features include a 10-person seating capability, NIJ Level III-A (or better) ballistic protection as well as infrared, thermal imaging and weapons of mass destruction (chemical, biological and radiation) sensors.

With a reconfigurable interior, the company says the TX7 will offer great flexibility – it can serve as an integrated command module, surveillance vehicle, prisoner transporter and personnel carrier, all housed in an affordable, robust and adaptable platform.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• autobots.. lets roll..

• Painter on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Way better than our typical Police Land Rovers and Pajeros. When will Malaysian police get one of these?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • Aiyyaa. If msia buy this u will complain. Wasting rakyat’s money laa. Now u r asking for one u dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • If I were to commit a crime, I am not scared of going to jail.
    But I am terrified of just ridding in that thing, Just the mere presence will prevent me from commiting any crime, not because it’s the police, but because I will be blinded by it’s hideousness.

• MaeSedis on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Designed by a computer whizz kid…

• ugly shit!

• wish gomen can allocate extra money collected frm AES to buy this thing, further enhance efficiency in crime prevention.

• Sharu on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:34 pm

As Ironhide decease in T3, so Bay might bring the character Prowl in for T4. And this vehicle will be suitable for this character…..LOL

• flat_tire on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:20 am

if i’d see one on the road.. i’d be running away from it.. just because it looks so hideous..

• Joe Radzif on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:09 am

Huduh…

• Hadi75 on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:02 am

The E7 with 24,500 orders since 2007 still a no show now they come out with this……

• junaidi on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:03 am

anyone old enough to remember Robocop?

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:15 am

Another Voltron in disguise. Same look as the Black Maria, something to be avoided at all cost.

• scratching head on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Is this vehicle involved in an accident..?

• sharfox on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Looking at the the design….it reminds me of those made by the Chinese farmer in rural China or the one made by the fisherman by the sea in Jawa province.
    It’s like a handmade out of recycle stuffs.