Land Rover recalls LR2, Evoque over brakes in the US

Landrover Evoque

Jaguar Land Rover North America is recalling a small number of its LR2 (Freelander 2 to you and me) and Range Rover Evoque (pictured) models, over concerns that the retaining bolts on the rear brake calliper may not be sufficiently torqued, which could result in the detaching of the calliper from the hub and therefore the loss of braking ability. An added danger is that the detached calliper might hit a tyre and deflate it, increasing the risk of a crash.

The recall applies to 2012 model year LR2s and Evoques manufactured on June 11, 2012, and only 70 vehicles are affected. According to Edmunds, some customers have reported to Jaguar Land Rover of “abnormal brake noise from the rear of the vehicle while driving or when the service brakes are applied.” JLR said that the noise warns the driver that there is an issue with the vehicle’s braking system.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) says that a recall is due to begin no later than January 18, 2013. Owners can then take their vehicles to the nearest dealership to have the bolts tightened properly if necessary.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Fitri on Dec 18, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Hi paul.. Im thinking of getting myself kia forte. Can u give me an advise bout it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • Wait for 2013 all new forte

• taboogen on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:15 am

get the pricing… compare with at least 2 other models… compare the safety spec (important).. fuel consumption and what is the car for etc2.. weekend drive.. long trip with family etc2.. and if you feel its worth every penny.. just buy it… no need consultation free.. foc

• noname on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

if u expect paul to answer your question. u must b ready to payment him consultation fee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Kalun on Dec 19, 2012 at 7:58 am

Jeremy Clarckson Quoted: “The most unreliable car in the world become reliable. The Range Rover.”

• gOOsh on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:11 am

apa kena-mengena evoque dengan forte nih??? tak faham english ke???

• sambalbabi on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:54 pm

it’s not always you come across a car with timeless design. this could be one of the few.

• PauKaya on Dec 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm

why am i not surprised