CKD Subaru XV official roll out at Tan Chong’s Segambut plant – 6.5k units per year, 70% for export

ckd-xv-rollout

Motor Image, distributor of Subaru vehicles in Malaysia and the region, gave the locally-assembled Subaru XV its official roll-out ceremony this afternoon at the Tan Chong Motor Assemblies (TCMA) plant in Segambut, KL. The event was officiated by Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister, Datuk Mukhriz Tun Mahathir.

The original script read 5,000 units produced per year, to be shared between ASEAN right-hand drive markets Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia, although MI boss Glenn Tan raised the 6,500 figure at the recent Forester regional launch – 70% of output will be exported to our neighbours, with the remainder for local consumption.

“This development is a significant milestone for us as the ability to locally assemble Subaru cars in Malaysia allows us to leverage inter-ASEAN trade agreements, giving us an advantage in our plans to widen our distribution network,” said Tan, who is also executive director of Tan Chong International Limited.

subaru-xv-malaysia

“This initiative also shows our capabilities and versatility as an automotive powerhouse, both of which are strengthening our foothold in Asia,” he added.

Armed with the XV, Motor Image is scaling up operations in Malaysia, which by the end of 2013, will have seven more outlets added to the current 16. There will also be a new multi-storey Subaru hub in PJ (now under construction) modelled after the modern facility in Toa Payoh, Singapore.

The same growth story is happening in Thailand and Indonesia. This year, 18 new outlets were opened in the Land of Smiles, with four more to join the network in 2013. In Indonesia, 15 new centres were established this year, with 11 more planned through 2013.

subaru xv rear

It’s clear then that the XV is an important car for the group. The crossover is powered by a new FB series 2.0 litre four-cylinder boxer engine that pushes out 150 PS and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. It’s a Subaru, so drive goes to all wheels via the brand’s trademark Symmetrical AWD system. The gearbox is a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios. Steering shift paddles are included.

Standard kit includes Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), dual front and driver’s knee airbags, cruise control, automatic air-con and a Kenwood two-DIN touchscreen ICE system. The XV’s distinctive 17-inch wheels are wrapped with 225/55 Continental MaxContact MC5 tyres.

I find it rather amusing that as I type this in the Segambut factory canteen, I’m sharing space with over half a dozen Japanese men in Subaru overalls having nasi campur with their local teammates. So yes, quality control for this CKD car is CBU imported from Fuji Heavy Industries, Japan, no less!

tcma-segambut

This website has had a long history reporting the XV. Back in July 2011, we were first to break the news of Subaru’s CKD plans for ASEAN, with Malaysia as the hub, followed by the revelation of the XV as the chosen model.

Full explanation then came in our exclusive interview with Motor Image boss Glenn Tan, where he revealed more about the ASEAN-bound XV as well as MI’s big plans for Malaysia.

More recently, we got up close and sampled the XV both in Japan CBU form, as well as the Segambut-assembled version, which made its regional debut at the 2012 Indonesia International Motor Show three months ago.

subaru-xv-cabin

The CKD Subaru XV started to appear in showrooms last month, and we paid a visit to Motor Image’s PJ outlet to snap some pics of the actual car that customers will get. Click here to view the showroom gallery.

So today’s official roll-out is like the penultimate chapter of our Subaru XV book, with only a full test drive report yet to come. As mentioned, the XV is now in all Motor Image showrooms retailing for RM150,735, on-the-road with insurance.

Click here for a full gallery of the CKD Subaru XV.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• comrade on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:27 pm

the black subaru xv rear lamp in the fourth pic reminds me of other car rear lamp…hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Like satria neo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Suprisingly good looking in black from far, like huge rear wheel arches.
        ESP + knee airbag + better techs and RM20k cheaper than Fortuner, so additional 2 seats at RM10K each. Make sure the aftersales service is good. Watch out for new RAV4.

• CamPor on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:07 pm

i think the car that u imagine is satria neo, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kuriang on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:21 pm

yes, i thought neo at first sight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • javarchive on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:01 pm

why r ter making an underpower subaru??? spoilt the subaru name so bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • I think the best looking Japanese cars r Mazda and Subaru.other r terrible and ugly weird looking !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • noname on Dec 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm

maybe, their next target. they should focus on assembling subaru impreza.

• Kalun on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

For you guys that complaint that Subaru design are bland and all the same.
      The truth is: Subaru doesn’t have any Car Designer. They said it before.

• sweet on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm

What’s the fuel consumption? At US 2.0 same engine it shows:

10km/L at city driving.. :D

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 22, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Dah basi la bro….

Lembap sangat……confirm tak laku punya…..

Next model please…..

• Abdullah on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:31 pm

As usual selling dearer in Malaysia than in other
    countries. No thanks to Dr M and his Proton-NAP
    policy.
    His son is in MITI to make sure there is a continuation of his legacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 14
  • ahchai69 on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Whole nation suffers to impress an old man’s day dreaming..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 10
  • A very conservative styling car but pricing it at rm 150k ckd unit, its tad abit pricey, if priced at rm130k then it would sell like hot cake, giving all safety features and Subaru’s symmetrical all wheel drive system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Yes, I said watch out for new CBU RAV4.
      CKD CX-5 will have better pricing than this, I guess, and it is more cantiq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • BrianXYZ on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:37 pm

More choices for car buyers with RM150k budget.

• _xXx_ on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:44 pm

http://www.motorimage.net/MY/web/Subaru-XV-Preview/
      so it should be RM139,800
      now, why 150k??

• Father on Dec 19, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Subaru Sales man are Liar, Cheater. Want to attract potential people to come to showroom. Want to grab sales from Mitsu ASX. Want to grab sales from Kia sportage…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • Interesting addition to our local market,finally an affordable boxter.Great design,good engine,have not seen a CKD Subaru so far but their CBUs have awesome built quality.This is wat i call healthy competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

I am impress with the recent Subaru car front design…but the real/back design of the Subaru car are always disappointed people…just simply does not match at all…the designer should be fired since long time back. The interior dashboard also same as the others old model, same 3 simple dial..thats all…

• Black Neo much?

• Kelvin on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:39 pm

The rims make the Subaru car in 80’s.

• Subaru, Y U NO TURBO? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • sambalbabi on Dec 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

the design is nothing to shout about and nothing if to be compared to the CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Yuck to the interior on Dec 19, 2012 at 7:07 pm

The interior is horrid…… What’s with the Kenwood touchscreen system?? Can’t Tanchong come up with something that looks fitted to the car? Rather than it looking like an obvious third party fitting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • BrianXYZ on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:10 am

Nope, I think the Navigation unit fits and blend into the car just nice. Better than most factory-fitted 2-DIN CD player.

• why singapore excluded from this malaysia assembled xv? not par quality with CBU japan r?

• Karl von Jitry on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:16 pm

While I’m fancy of Subaru’s ride and handling, but RM150k for CKD is not the best price Subaru can slap for this car. Mazda CX-5 is a steal compared to this.

• Severe Tyre Damage on Dec 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Why does the driver information system on top of the dash is not the color multi information system?

http://images.cdn.autocar.co.uk/sites/autocar.co.uk/files/subaru-xv-11.jpg

Is the Forester 2.0 Turbo and the Impreza coming? Saw the Impreza sedan in Japan and it was a looker! More desirable than a Civic if you ask me :D

• so how much is this XV actually?

• yea i think i got it — 139,800 is car price, 150,735 is on the road

• IndonesiaCheaper on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:54 am

Indonesia is selling RM107k only afer conversion…Sigh….

• Sundei on Dec 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

107k is lower spec model… higher one is almost RM114k

• Hadi75 on Dec 20, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Still cheaper than the price here…..
            As always….price will be cheaper oversea even though the car is assemble in malaysia…..just like p1 and p2…..

• James Oh James on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

It seem we have to look at this as an AWD stationwagon rather than an SUV. Not the most popular segment with malaysian. Its only direct competitor is the Toyota Caldina GT4. and that one packs more punch. Seriously Tan Chong and Subaru got this one all wrong? What is the appeal of the XV? Its neither have stylish exterior as the significantly cheaper Kia Sportage nor the luxurios interior of Peugout 3008 nor the tech level of only slightly expensive Mazda CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • BrianXYZ on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:14 am

Caldina GT4? Selling as a recond-car in Malaysia?

• Sundei on Dec 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

its not a stationwagon, Caldina do not have high ground clearance.

• James Oh James on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:54 pm

If you are not gonna use it off-road, what use is there for high ground clearence? To the eyes of the public, its more akin to a stationwagon. boot space only 380ltr. Less than a Honda City.

• Sundei on Dec 21, 2012 at 8:54 am

don’t compare it to Caldina then…
          H City is another great city sedan… but still not in this catogory
          this is a compact crossover with advance 4WD and good enough ground clearance for Malaysian potholes,over the kerb parking (Malaysian style too)
          How many cars can give u good ground clearance and yet enough head room for average Malaysian in the cabin and still maintain a vehicle height of less then 1.6m for better handling then most SUV?

• BrianXYZ on Dec 21, 2012 at 1:53 pm

You can’t compare a new car with a second-hand reconditioned car.

• Setting Things Right on Nov 07, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Firstly, this ain’t a stationwagon. Its; not a SUV as many say it is. Its what we call a CROSSOVER! Many cars hv that. VW hv its Polo Cross, Suzuki hv its SX4, and etc. So pls do a little research before making such claims like comparing XV with a stationwagon like Caldina.

Secondly, while you are busy comparing how pretty a car can be like the korean or french makes. I chose look at other more important aspects, such as the heart of the car, THE ENGINE. And its very famed AWD drive terrain. This is their answer to your CX5 tech level. Some say they’ve perfected the AWD system. I agree. Do a search in youtube and see the comparison of AWD vehicles from Toyota, Honda and etc.

BTW. CX5 is far more expensive if u opt for its 2.5cc AWD model. By at least RM30k if I’m not mistaken.

Lastly, did u knw that Toyota hv a huge stake in Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. (who owns Subaru), which also makes them owner of this company. With Japan’s largest car manufacturer as backing, I can see no wrong with owning a Subaru.

BTW, am not from Subaru or Tan Chong. Just an admirer of Subaru.

Good day to u sir.

• Dr Mamak on Dec 20, 2012 at 12:13 am

Bland and boring inside out. I’d wait for the new CRV. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Nice bit only if its turbo than better. Ridiculous that a golf 1.4 TSI has 160hp/ 240nm whereas a monster like tis has only such little power.

But anyway still better than crv..most overated just because its honda. Msians love it as if its Range Rover. Subaru has all wheel drive..crv?

• azrai on Dec 20, 2012 at 8:47 am

At least it is good for our economy. more money from outside will flow into country, The vendors have a share of the pie, and more and more malaysian got more and more jobs. Hopefully the new NAP will enhance our economy.

• cosmothegod on Dec 20, 2012 at 9:27 am

70% targetted sales outside Bolehland. Should be around 40% cheaper outside Bolehland. A little low tech for 2013, underpowered, and the attempt to cheat with cheap third party bits is typical TC group. How much is the 1.5 Juke again?

• RedBeanBun on Dec 20, 2012 at 11:42 am

Get Mazda CX5 to assemble here also…

• gOOsh on Dec 20, 2012 at 4:55 pm

what if we wait for preve hatchback…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • jilbaber on Jan 27, 2013 at 12:48 am

The interior look blunt and boring..