2013 Toyota Avalon to offer Qi wireless charging

avalon-charge-1

Buyers of the 2013 Toyota Avalon can do away with car chargers and their spaghetti of wires, because the full-size sedan is the first car in the world to be made available with Qi wireless charging. The feature is included in a Technology Package which can be specified on both petrol and hybrid versions of the Avalon in Limited trim.

Qi is the global standard for wireless power and charging. In a manner not dissimilar to the Chinese principle of the flow of life energy, devices are magically charged just by placing them on, or near, any Qi-enabled surface. OK, it’s not completely magic – a fair bit of electromagnetic induction is involved.

Supplied by DENSO, the Avalon’s system utilises technology developed by ConvenientPower and Philips Lite-on Digital Solution. All the driver has to do is throw a switch to activate it, place his/her phone on the high-friction surface built into the centre console and charging begins.

avalon-charge-2

Qi wireless charging is now available for 34 mobile phone models, including the LG Google Nexus 4, Nokia Lumia 920 and HTC Windows Phone 8X.

The concept of charging without cables is not new – in 2010, Delphi Automotive and WiTriCity announced work on a range of wireless charging products for EVs and Johnson Controls’ ie:3 concept car featured a system similar to the one in the 2013 Avalon.

More recently, Hyundai previewed its Connectivity Concept, which does more than just charge your phone, but it’ll be some time before that makes production reality.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Every time I look at the 2013 Toyota Avalon, the Interior and the exterior, and I look at the Camry all over the world, I always wonder “why, Toyota why?”
    The Avalon and maybe the Auris is to some extend showing the Koreans and Peter Schreyer that Toyota can make a seriously handsome car that dose’t look boring. TMC isn’t at fault for the craps we have here, It is UMW, trying to maximize profit with the current guv automotive policy.
    Now who wants to pound eggs at UMW Toyota with me?…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • rotten apple on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:54 pm

the picture there is an iphone right?
    since when iphone got wireless charging?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Got a point…….LOL

• Not too sure if you notice the add-on wireless charging “cover”?

• dude, you can get one of those wireless charging pads from machines.

• DoctoeProc on Dec 26, 2012 at 3:20 pm

You can see the extended battery attached to the iphone. That extended battery has qi wireless charging capabilities

• Jilbaber on Dec 26, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Not dangerous aaa ? those ‘Qi’ wave won’t charge your brain too

• Joker The Great on Dec 26, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Yes… China already have such technology and in the midst of production for commercial sell this type of charger.. All you need tto do is plugin into your Iphone and then fine a location which hv wirless such as Starbuck, leave your phone on table or pocket, it will automatically charge up.
    Just wait when it be found in Malaysia market….

Cheers…..

• Black Dog on Dec 26, 2012 at 7:25 pm

You can just buy a Power Bank and charge wherever you want, no need to look for wifi and plug-ins

• weeling on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

wireless? do you mean wifi? This technology is not that advance yet.. you still need to place your phone on a charging pad in order for the phone to catch up the electromagnetic wave..

• Yes I can see why there are people who “meh” this post for the sake of “meh-ing” it… Cause its a toyota… And the haters will refuse to admit that the Avalon is a great and luxurious looking car with high tech features.. Typical PT readers..

• CARtoon on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:54 am

One of those oxymoronic video. an utterly distasteful to feature a product that’s not compatible first in the demo.

• CARtoon on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:54 am

One of those oxymoronic adv, and an utterly distasteful to feature a product that’s not compatible first in the demo.