Mazzanti Evantra V8 – 701 hp, only five built yearly

evantra 01

No, it’s not Maserati, and it’s definitely not an Elantra. This is the Mazzanti Evantra V8, and it’s due to be a rather rare beast when it makes its debut next year – its maker says only five examples will be produced in a year, all of them individually personalised. I suppose if you’re only building five per annum, you can pretty much tailor-make them.

The Evantra first made its debut as a prototype last year, and was set to wear a 3.5 litre six-cylinder lump. Now, the Italian coachbuilder has decided that the final iteration set for series production will get a V8, in this case a normally-aspirated 7.0 litre unit with 701 hp at 6,600 rpm and 848 Nm at 4,500 rpm for numbers.

The engine is paired to six-speed sequential-manual gearbox, complete with paddle-shifters. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 3.2 seconds and a maximum speed of 350 km/h.

eantra 05

Designed by Luca Mazzanti and the company’s chief designer, Zsolt Tarnok, the two-seater supercar offers a choice of two material choices for its ‘in-your-face’ bodywork – owners can opt for either the Pro-Body, which is made of carbon-fibre composite materials or the One-Body, which is an entirely handcrafted all-aluminium shell that can be personalised by the client.

Inside, the cabin wears a copious amount of all-natural leather, which is prepared with special aniline leather treatment, though personalisation allows an infinite number of options in terms of special material, including exotic leather and precious materials.

Standard fare on the Evantra includes special 20-inch OZ alloys, wrapped with Continental 255/30 front and 305/25 rear rubbers, as well as a six-piston caliper and four-piston caliper rear Brembo brake system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Dog on Dec 27, 2012 at 6:35 pm

I wonder how buyers of limited production cars grapple with spare parts and technical problems. The company might not exist 10 years down the road. Paying millions for exclusivity but might end up in the garage most of the time? Or are they buying just to display in a museum?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • dont underestimate the power of ‘exclusivity’ when it comes to russian moguls or arab oil sheikhs

• kelvin on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Anak Proton can drive one easily. No spare parts, anak-anak Proton can afford to set up factory to produce them. “Tak ada jambatan, bina jambatan, tak ada sungai, bina lah sungai”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
  • darker marker on Dec 27, 2012 at 6:57 pm

if can afford multi-million dollar car, spare part availability is the least of the concern.

Its the “”wow-factor”” that is most important.

• it reminds me of Pagani Zonda… hatch back version? O_o”

must be the headlamps…

• ghani h on Dec 27, 2012 at 7:36 pm

this car is crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Chris on Dec 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Just thinking of the economics. 5 units per year? They profit per car must be in millions. Coz even for Enzo Ferrari was produced of total 400 units during the year 2002-2004.

• this type of carmakers called themselves ‘atelier’ – just something like a garage.

Pagani makes around 150 cars per annum, sells them at around € 1mil.

This is a work of art – and the exclusivity will make some warlords pay whatever the asking price.

To have one, the minimum requirement is to start saving since you’re a kid…

• shawal on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:21 pm

in & out , its ugly
    performance wise …its not the best…
    why would anyone bother…
    spare parts wise not to worry , it’ll basicly use the same V8 found in the corvette ZR1

• helang on Dec 27, 2012 at 10:41 pm

It seems unpromise for after sales service. Do we think they can open more branches outside only for 5 units per annum. It’s a stupid. Lol!

• start-a-figt on Dec 28, 2012 at 9:19 am

Malaysian, never failed to impress me with their skepticism..

Never failed to compare niche car company with mass car company.

Malaysia, simply the best.

• rear round tail lights look like corvette^^

• powershot on Dec 28, 2012 at 10:40 am

looks at the car that I can’t have

• If the car is going to be so exclusive. It should look really special and stands out like no other.

McLaren F1, Pagani Zonda, Konigsegg, Veyron, Ferrari P1 are good examples. This car has not got a feature that made it special.

• I heard that the veyron will get some updates to boost the top speed to 268mph. The veyron also will get more horsepower and torque. Can’t wait to see this veyron in 2013!!!

This car has not enough power and torque to race with Ferrari Enzo, Pagani Zonda and Lamborgini aventador.

This car FAILED!!!!!!!!!!

• Somehow the rear angle and side profile reminds me the Corvette

• skyrim on Dec 28, 2012 at 5:30 pm

If I were a chief minsiter’s son I would buy this car – you know chief minister in malaysia can be really rich. 3.2sec to 100km/hr, pretty fast indeed. 701 hp at 6,600 rpm and 848 Nm, powerful shit! where to drive huh…? Butttts as a layman where money is never enough..this elantra meranti thingy isn’t practical for you and I on Malaysian streets…unless as I had said you have money beyond your spending ability…

• Kelakar la wei.
    Some ppl concern abt sparepart.
    Think how to get the car first bfore sparepart.
    They only sell 5 unit per year.
    So the company know each and every custmr they had. And their custmr must be a billionair.
    This is a tailor-made car man. Not your mass produce T vios