Mazda6 gets all dressed up for Tokyo Auto Salon

Mazda6 Racer

Mazda is heading to the 2013 Tokyo Auto Salon next month with a trio of Mazda6 concepts. There’s the Mazda6 Racer, based on a six-speed manual variant. This one features sported up bits like custom aerokit parts, gun-metal alloy wheels and a Brembo brake system.

As for the Mazda6 GT Sound Special, the automatic transmission show car is fitted with a special Diatone premium audio system – it’s also dressed up with a two-tone interior, complete with a wood-finish fascia and door handle inlays to provide contrast.

Lastly, there’s a Wagon version of the 6 called the Grand Touring, and the Soul Red Premium Metallic example also gets tarted up with bodykit fare and BBS wheels, while interior kit includes a sports steering wheel and accents done in red.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• powershot on Dec 28, 2012 at 2:19 pm

looks simple, elegant & sleek. just how I like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Not fair…good looking cars sales less than ugly looking cars !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • BMW BEST on Dec 28, 2012 at 7:23 pm

In bolehland resale value comes first ma~And ugly cars always have good resale value~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…MAdza did the good job compared with T&H…the design fresh and nice.Really anxious to see the looks of new Mazda 3…

• Hope NVH is better on this one. Go Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • ahchai69 on Dec 28, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Mazda produces beautiful cars but unfortunately authorized dealer in malaysia poor in after sales service..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Memang betul. Mazda should come in like how BMW AG did. After that Auto Bavaria bangun tidur. Bermaz, u listening?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • hantu on Dec 28, 2012 at 2:54 pm

wow ….

• comrade on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:09 pm

looks exclusive… really like it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • vee-oh on Dec 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm

what a handsome looking car..if put side by side to new Camry sure this new 6 win 200% easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Dec 28, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Much better than any kimchi, cosmetically and technically

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • IS that a manual gearbox and LCD meter binnacle[much like the one Porsche uses] I see.
    Wow thats unexpected

• new mazda 6 is one of the sedans that i find looking more attractive than some coupes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • tikus on Dec 28, 2012 at 6:21 pm

And spare parts is super expensive also…maybe due to import from Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • arcana on Dec 28, 2012 at 8:53 pm

are u sure? i own a mazda and its imported from japan, sold by bermaz….maintenance and spare parts are comparable to our famous T & H marques, in fact sometimes its cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • The way you comment, I m 100% sure you don’t even know what you are talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Dec 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm

The problem is, after 3 years, the spare parts will be more scarce than that of Alfa Romeo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • when will it be launched in MY?

• Pontc on Dec 28, 2012 at 10:24 pm

February 2013

• my SA’s told me launch 13 Jan first delivery 13 Feb, i book one oredi, can’t wait to see M6 in metal to confirmed my purchase

• 2.0 vs 2.5?

• kadajawi on Dec 30, 2012 at 1:06 am

Hopefully they can get the 1.0 from Ford. :)

• Fahmi on Dec 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Why not? RM20 in road tax…. But Mazda wants to use its own SkyActiv technology… Though the use of 1.0/1.6/2.0 L Ecoboost seems appealing… To me.. But then Mazda must continue to develop its own SkyActiv technology.. Perhaps we can hope for SkyActiv-G 2nd gen turbocharged…

• Fahmi on Dec 30, 2012 at 6:57 pm

If 2.0 makes no compromises on safety such as ESP, 6+ airbags etc.. Although some creature comforts will be sacrificed, why not go for 2.0?? Saves road tax and fuel as well, though I prefer 2.5 for added engine power and equipment….Depends on your preferences…

• skyrim on Dec 31, 2012 at 8:57 am

If you like this car, you won’t like to hear a fair review but fair review is what I wish to give you. To me this latest Mazda 6 is quite a good design for a Japanese car and comparable to its peer such as Accord, Teana and Camry. But that’s that. There is nothing really fantastic above Mazda 6 and paying over RM150k for it should deserve more of your consideration. You may like Mazda’s bose sound system, and sometime they have sun roof, but the materials used internally are just so so. The so called skyactive engine is average. The seats are hard and the dashboard is boring. When you drive the car you would think that it a good car worth your money not knowing that it is not really so.

I have been inside many Japanese cars, driving few of them as well, I sold off mine within less than 2 years. I kept one SUV Japanese for a variety and true, it has less maintenance issue. But as far as appreciating the drive, these cars just not it. Anyway I would range Japanese saloons as follows:

1. Nissan Teana
    2. Camry
    3. Madza 6
    4. Accord

Sorry to disappoint you but that’s just my review of Madza 6 in comparing to other Japanese. Just think, if you top up just a little bit more, you can forget about this Japanese and move up to one of the continental cars esp. a BMW, for better driving that’s more worth your money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • arcana on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:59 pm

While some may have the money to buy a conti instead of jap, i still think its not comparable on the price range, unless we are talking peugeot 508 or passat. Beemers, merc, audi is at least 60k more even if were counting high specced japs, the difference is even staggering to almost rm100k if u count those 2.0 models at rm140k-160k.

• Snowy on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Hope this car comes out after UNDI..
    then can buy this car in a cheaper price =D

• 8772ss on Jan 03, 2013 at 8:39 pm

The display screen really looked like it is installed at Ah Seng Accessories shop.