Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class appears in diecast form

toy1

Only a couple of days after we showed you what were purportedly leaked official images of the upcoming Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class sedan, this came in: according to China Car Times, toy makers in the Middle Kingdom have apparently managed to make diecast models of the new CLA, which were put up for auction on online shopping giant Taobao around the region of 300 RMB (RM150) apiece.

The car news website says the 1:18 scale models have since been withdrawn from Taobao, but the images are circulating around Weibo (the Chinese version of Twitter). It adds that the models are made by French toy car maker Norev.

toy3

Exterior-wise, the model appears to be less kitted out than the one in the alleged press shots. Front and rear bumpers and wheels are clearly more sedately styled, and the interior (which is pretty detailed for a toy!) seems to echo that in the earlier shots – that is, carried over from the A-Class. We see only two headrests at the back – a four-seater, just like the CLS-Class?

It could be that this one is the base model in miniature, and the one you see in the earlier shots is the CLA 45 AMG. Whatever it is, at next month’s Detroit show, all will be revealed.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 28, 2012 at 7:32 pm

yawn…merc out of ideas already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • labix7 on Dec 28, 2012 at 8:01 pm

1st impression …. its looks like korean car ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Well that’s because this is spearheaded by a Korean designer, so technically you are right!

• You and your Korean car. Feel sorry for you..

• And the rim looks like Inspira rim.

FFS, I rather it look like current korean than any current ugly japs (mazda exception like always)

• Dr Mamak on Dec 28, 2012 at 9:04 pm

vios butt – really no klasse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Looks more like Sonata’s tail than Vios.

Dr Mamak you need to go visit an eye doctor.

• black on Dec 28, 2012 at 9:21 pm

this toy made in china..LOL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Dec 28, 2012 at 10:25 pm

The front look is cantiq especially if foglamps are added; Mercedes will improve the rear lamps look, it may not be like this. Probably only the AMG will be 4-seater, the lower-end ones will have 5 seats.

• thequestion on Dec 28, 2012 at 11:57 pm

I think all Mercedes with CL* prefix going to be coupe variant so it gonna be 4 seater

• low2215 on Dec 29, 2012 at 8:17 am

Huhu, a CLA i can afford !!!

• A class was never beautiful ^^

but i think i should be able to afford…the die cast model

• the back looks like almera.

• the front looks like mighty vios

• so not Mercedes!

• flat_tire on Dec 31, 2012 at 5:08 am

seems underpowered..

• The rear lights on the CLA looks similar to Sylphy’s rear lights

• thequestion on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Nowadays car from the east side of the world are dominating the market..so design wise, even Merc has to follow suit those japs and korean..

• MItsubishi inspira front and sonata buttock

• Jackass on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Bila masa pulak Mitsubishi ada Inspira?

• alitstar on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:46 pm

A Merc is a Merc. No matter how it looks, it will sell. Just some could mistaken it as Korean.