New Kia Rio hatch launching in Malaysia next month!

kia-rio-main

It’s not a surprise that the third-generation Kia Rio is coming to Malaysia, but what’s less known is when exactly will it arrive. Unveiled at the 2011 Geneva Motor Show, the Rio five-door hatchback has been spotted testing on our roads as early as March this year.

We also shared with you pics of taped up examples in July and earlier this month. Officially, Kia Malaysia teased the Rio with multi-colour stripes at the COTY2U Autoshow 2012.

Well, there’s not long left to wait now. The new Kia Rio will be launching in Malaysia in January 2013, which is just around the corner, according to our sources. The UB will be available here in five-door hatchback form, powered by a 1.4 litre MPI Gamma engine. The DOHC with CVVT unit makes 109 PS and 136 Nm of torque. A four-speed automatic gearbox is the drivetrain partner.

kia-rio-side

The B-segment Rio has grown, and the new one’s wheelbase has been extended by 70 mm – to 2,570 mm – while the boot carries a decent 288 litres. Exterior dimensions changes include an increase of 55 mm in overall length and 25 mm in overall width, though height has been reduced by 15 mm, which explains the sportier stance.

Two trim levels will be available – EX and SX. Both get LED daytime running lights, electric folding and adjustable wing mirrors with LED signal lamps, a stereo system with MP3/AUX/RDS/six-speakers, aluminium pedals, tilt/telescopic steering, leather wrapped steering with audio controls, Bluetooth, six airbags (front, side, curtain), ISOFIX and Vehicle Stability Management (VSM).

The higher SX spec car adds on front fog lamps, sunroof, Kia’s “Supervision cluster” instrument panel, auto air-con with ionizer and Smart Key with push start button, making it very richly equipped for a B-segment car.

rio-meter

Kia is very proud of the new Rio’s design, which is a winner at the acclaimed 2012 reddot design awards. Here’s what reddot had to say about the Rio:

“The Kia Rio has design features that give it a confident and powerful personality. From a side perspective, the distinct wedge shape and sporty window graphics contribute to the dynamic appearance of the car. Its profile, with a special ratio of metal and glass, along with its low roofline result in a sporting silhouette. The commensurate balance of window graphics, wheelbase and overall proportions creates a premium presence surpassing other vehicles in the B segment.”

rio-runabout-contest

In conjunction with the Rio’s launch, Kia Malaysia has set up the Rio Runabout contest, where one lucky winner will drive away with the new Rio. There are also other prizes up for grabs in the contest, which throws up word puzzles for you to solve.

Solved puzzles will earn you pictures, and the first 10 players to collect six pictures will win invites to the Rio launch party. Then, a final challenge will determine the winner of the grand prize.

A new car is up for grabs, so no further motivation needed, we presume. Go to kiario.my/riorunabout for more info and to join the contest. Stay tuned for more!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bob The Builder on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:07 pm

4 speed auto? U serious bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
    • OMG…wat so suprise? Overall much more better than T&H loh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 25
      • Obama on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:00 pm

I heard it is selling for RM50k….i hope..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
        • Sundei on Dec 31, 2012 at 5:08 pm

huh? 50k new year joke?? xD

• Sundei on Dec 31, 2012 at 5:09 pm

huh? 50k ? new year joke?? xD

• dozy888 on Dec 31, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Too expensive!!! Should price between RM38K – RM 45K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 32
          • and i think Proton should price saga aroung 12k-17k !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
        • rickyll on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:25 pm

The OTR price should be around 65 -75K unless Naza is going to fight off the onslaught of Nissan Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • theanswer on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:38 pm

cant be. i bet..cheapest somewhere around 60-70k. definitely not the same as myvi se.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • bengbeng on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Too bad rm60k but handling like boat. Feels like plasticky. Joking 4AT transmission. But merely tainted in good hadsome look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
        • oblong on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:48 am

Guys…according ‘Master’ Sam Loo 2nd Rule in Car Buying Bible that all kimchis will have depreciation of 50% within 1yr of ownership…1st Rule – One have to buy T-Brand car for ‘peace of mind’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
        • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Depreciate 50% in a year. Buy pre-owned

• i tot oni toyota give 4 speed oto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 13
      • Sekai on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:01 pm

hahah..i think for daily driving in heavy traffic the engine only run in 1st n 2nd gear..haha.beside its 1.4l only…cheers!!

• GrandFather on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:54 pm

In US true data:
      6 speed 1.4MPI give u 12.7km/L in 100% city driving.

this lower efficiency of 4 speed AT:
      = ~ 12km/L.

think about it before make a purchase. :)

fact that need to be share, so people can make wiser decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • alitstar on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:17 pm

I think 4 speed for city driving is just perfect. We are not cruising on the highway with a champagne on one hand, are we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • theanswer on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:39 pm

too bad…not many ppl cant think wisely when they purchase 4 speeder camry 2.0. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • Toyota mah, why should think much? You always don’t go wrong for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • ABTguy on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Ai yoh yoh ……

Why 4 spd auto ? To be sincere at least bring in the 6 speed box lah KIA MALAYSIA !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • rickyll on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

This is Naza’s usual tactic or marketing strategy. Kia Rio will first be launched with 4 speed auto. After one year or so, there comes the slight face lift with 6 speed auto together with paddle shifter. Then, Naza can add another few thousand to the selling price. Smart! Isn’t it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
        • jeanloo on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:04 am

4 speed technology more reliable ma. Malaysian car need to last 15 years in order to have good resale value. You see previous honda city comes with 7 speed. Good in fuel economy, but now all got gear box problems. I think we would be lucky if it is price at RM 65k for the lower spec version. I would get one if it is price at that range. Anyway, i saw the real car in a trailer at Penang Juru tol. Maybe can see the car already in showroom in the next few days. The looks of this car can kill man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Kia Fans on Dec 31, 2012 at 6:55 pm

yea!.. Dafuq with the lousy 109ps 1.4L engine + conventioanal old 4 speed gearbox..

malu betul then driving Saga.. T.T.
      even the ppl say lousy vios got a better engine.
      torque and hp can run at lower rpm.

and, this Kia 1.4MPI is not really fuel efficient as Vios 1.5. @@

How u want make me proud? KIa? come on? 70k?+ are u serious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • sorry, i rather be seen in this baby then a dugong. 4speed or not don’t matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Absolute Rider on Dec 31, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Only bring in 4 speed auto? Kia has 5 and 6 speed manual for Kia Rio Hatchback!

• arcana on Dec 31, 2012 at 8:22 pm

yeah…..quite good specs coupled with excellent safety kit…..but i’m really baffled by the 4 speed auto box.

• I’m quite offended as well. 4 speed auto is a relic of the past. It is a well know fact that a 3 or 4 speed auto is extremely inefficient because one must rev a lot more in the early gears for proper pick-up. Higher revving means lesser fuel efficiency. However, I’m sure Kia had their reasons as to why they chose a 4 speed instead of a 5 speed or CVT transmission. Still, I am very glad that the car comes with 6 airbags ( rare for a B-segment car in Malaysia )and is also very well equipped overall. Anyway, let’s not judge the car based on figures alone, that’s just half the story. We’ll see if the sexy Rio is able to sell well in our market in due time.

• yuoun on Jan 06, 2013 at 9:35 am

Maybe to make it more obvious between 4 and later 6. If 5 and then 6 comes there is lesser market demand because no obvious upgrade between the two

• polo saga on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:07 pm

looking forward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:29 pm

To Kia dealers (not Nazakia): Do you feel proud when your customers trust you?

• Bimmer on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:08 pm

What is a frong fog lamp? Is it a frog?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • powershot on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:21 pm

year 2013 is the year of the hothatches. looking forward to it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • sedan on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:22 pm

can’t deny..it does looks good.come with decent feature..but,i must say KIA need to improve on powertrain and NVH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • RVP20 on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:37 pm

is this means Kia Rio sedan coming to Malaysia as well?

• Nenek Jack on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Habislah Preve sedan, hatchback…nobody will buy it…Rio Sedan and Hatch will kill off Preve soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 48
      • rifle on Dec 31, 2012 at 2:25 pm

nope..preve sedan & hatch is C segment, rio is B segment, it is a contender of proton gsc that is still in progress

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • Whatever segment that crappy car is, it still crappy. Despite selling lower than Vios price, it still lose out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
          • kadajawi on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:07 pm

The Vios is a vastly overrated car. In the B segment I’d say it is worse than pretty much every other B segment car. But it wears the Toyota badge.

Give the Preve a Toyota badge and they could sell it for 100k. Easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • Garfield on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:06 pm

U r right, totally. But ppl are bound to draw comparisons to Preve as they do now against City and dugongs. At the end of the day is Preve’s sub 75K price more worth than the other cars under the B-segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • But why people still buy B-segment dugong than the technology rich preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • atuk_kau on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:51 am

Because vios has 4 speed gears, without esc. That’s brilliant features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Anyway, do you think a Vios with P1 badge can sell? You have tried it with Lancer…. hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • unimagine0124 on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Bcos preve full of complaint nowadays. They are going bankrupt .

• So now you know how bad P1 logo is hah? and how does P1 came in to this lousy stage?

• BrianXYZ on Jan 18, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Aiyohh, why all the paultan forums will end up with P1 bashing 1? Kesian lar P1. Always kena bash.

• siazshuakme on Dec 31, 2012 at 9:57 pm

aiyoo. y some ppl still fail to make fair comparison. pls la guys, apple vs apple..dont jump to another segment

• KangKang on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Danny Tan, any news that SX spec come with paddle shift?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 31, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Don’t think so

• Danny: R u sure is 4 speed auto, i think is 6 speed, correct me if i am wrong, but please check it for us for the further information TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • umnokakipitnah on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:47 pm

price it below 70k and it will be a hit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • Aaron Isaac on Dec 31, 2012 at 12:55 pm

6 speed manual coming in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Well It’s quite expected, 6-airbags and LED DRL will be the main attraction over the Japs or P1, in compensation for, and I have to admit, rather disappointing performance specs. 4-auto honestly feels down , even the engine numbers is eclipsed by the dugong, maybe it will make up for better fuel consumption[?]
    ……looks?, well that’s based on different opinion
    So now all we need is the price so we can draw the line.

Anyway, congrats to Peter Schreyer for the design and his promotion to Hyundai-Kia president

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Nenek Jack on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Bye bye Preve hatchback…all potential customers will buy this new Rio instead…much better new modern design and sure no engine bocor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 57
    • nabill on Dec 31, 2012 at 6:05 pm

ya bcos ur an auto market analyst for 30 years and u know wat works and wat doesnt….

• foongh on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:53 am

Nope, you are totally wrong, he has been working for 100 years lol

• kerol on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:27 pm

if the sedan comes, forte sales will decrease.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • 4G63T DSM on Dec 31, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Don’t think they will bring the Sedan in. If they do, it spells trouble with some of us that is eyeing on the new Forte. They will likely bump the price up to make room to slot in the Rio sedan.

With the current Forte going for 78-95K, there is already very little room to slot the Rio hatch in….my guess it would come in somewhere 65 to 75K.

• bring in the 1.6 turbo 6-spd manual!!!!!

• dRwh0 on Dec 31, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Nice..gonna be one of my list next year..

• This P1 must be scrambling to have meeting thinking they still in the run of winning any automotive competition.

• It will launch at 25 of january, price start at 72,888
    for LX model & 78,888 for SX model, belive me or not up to u guys…

• kerol on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:57 pm

better get forte 1.6 sx if price like that.

• Maybe u r right, but interms of design and spec, i will still prefer rio sx, because i likt the shadow of goft, and with sunroof, somemore is a hatchback.

• Dear Danny, i don’t think is 4 speed auto, is 6 speed actually, correct me if i am wrong. Please check it!

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:16 am

Kia pairs the 1.4 litre engine with a 4-speed.

• Dear paul, my friend work at kia told me that 4 speed auto is for 1.25kappa engine, if not mistaken, 6 speed is 1.4 & 1.6 mpi engine, but will see when it launch at 25 january.

• sundei on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:10 pm

everybody hope it comes with 6 speed transmission…
          but checked out the UK Rio,1.4 lit model paired with 4 speed gearbox only.

• downsya on Dec 31, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Danny, any news on the Rondo coming in here?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm

If I didn’t read it wrongly or Danny didn’t mess up the spec list, it certainly makes it interesting for both EX and SX trim levels to have 6 airbags as standard.

Given that, its most likely that the Kia Rio EX would probably be the cheapest car in malaysia with 6 airbags.

Sure rubs it into Proton for not including 6 airbags even in the top of the line Preve CFE. Shame on them. Likewise, Hyundai Malaysia should get an equal whip for the same reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • i_swear on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:10 pm

The only gripe is 4 speed auto. On the bright side, at least it have Vehicle Stability Control, where I failed to see why some D-segment have ommited this feature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • the between-lower-middle-income people on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:19 pm

this is hot..looks like a golf gti..can’t afford the golf so buy this one lorr..still hot than myvi..hot hot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • vee-oh on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:26 pm

good looking car…surely much more handsome than the Chevrolet Sonic..only Fiesta can match the look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • sambalbabi on Dec 31, 2012 at 4:26 pm

From the 2nd pic, looks like it has rear disc brake – better than lots of brunei plate Rio which spots arear brake drum.

• Gabla on Dec 31, 2012 at 7:12 pm

It is rear disc brake based on this post:
      http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2268590&st=740&p=57188652&#entry57188652

• Damn, the car looks good !

It has all the right AMOUNT of safety features. It’ll take some time for me to warm up to the idea of a 6-speed.

Ah well, hope that the price will be lower than 85 K, with Ford Fiesta sedan being the other car that has the right amount of safety features too.

• Damn, the car looks good !

It has all the right AMOUNT of safety features. It’ll take some time for me to warm up to the idea of a 4-speed.

Ah well, hope that the price will be lower than 85 K, with Ford Fiesta sedan being the other car that has the right amount of safety features too.

• I can confirm that price is 78,888 for thr SX model, and it will launch at 25 january

• Extremist on Dec 31, 2012 at 6:58 pm

Top 5 ranks for the cheapest car in Malaysia with stability control.

Proton Preve CFE @RM72990 (C Segment)
    Ford Fiesta 1.6L Sedan @RM83888 (B Segment)
    Ford Fiesta 1.6L Sport @RM84888 (B Segment)
    KIA Forte 1.6SX @85800 (C Segment)
    Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD @RM89800 (B Segment)

Since this Rio comes with VSM, will it be the cheapest car in Malaysia equipped with stability control? Let’s wait n see..

• Dennis on Dec 31, 2012 at 8:49 pm

By looking at Nissan Almera price.

This rio should be in that region.

• JOHN L on Dec 31, 2012 at 9:35 pm

What’s the issue with 4 speed guys? This is a competitively priced B-segment hatch with good look and nice kits. Even Camry is equipped with 4-speed for 3 generations and sold for above 150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • InsaneClown on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Naza is planning to market the Rio like the Forte previously. Bring in the CBU with lower specs (4 speed auto) & then introduce the CKD later with higher specs (6 speed auto) as well as lower pricing. This is their marketing strategy since the earlier days. Anybody buying the CBU units now will curse themselves later.

• Kia Fans on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:37 pm

even CKD at RM60k.

I dont think i will buy it.

this car is pure lousy drivetrain.

ecpecting more from new Kia k3.

• Kia Fans: What is mean (lousy drivetrain), r u test drive already? even toyota dugong now with 4 speed, 1.5 vvti only provide 109 hp same as rio 1.4, maybe they have upgrade the drivetrain, come on lah, don judge too early …cheers….

• alitstar on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Those crying for 6 speed on a compact hatchback, do you even have driving license?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Kia Fans on Jan 01, 2013 at 2:42 am

I have. 4 speeder is not fuel efficient.
      makan minyak.

• kadajawi on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I have. And I drive a car with a 4 speeder. It is awful. 6 speed is much better. Of course, I’d rather have a 5 or 6 speed manual gearbox. Most efficient, most fun, best comfort.

• It’s not really “crying”… but if you’ve driven a 6-speeder before, you’ll know that it’s so much smoother than a 4-speeder…hence translating to driving pleasure! ^_^

• Cow Stroller on Jan 03, 2013 at 2:10 pm

I have, driving 6 speed dual clutch. Previously manual, CVT and 4AT all driven and no more 4AT please, thanks.

• 5 years warranty if not mistaken. This is a surprise.

• Looks like a budget POLO to me !! but NAZA has let me down b4 when they failed to carry out Korean KIA instruction to replace my driveshaft …

• mivec on Dec 31, 2012 at 10:44 pm

At 72k, Rio is not the cheapest car in M’sia to have 6 airbags as Ford Fiesta LX sport Manual has ‘7’ airbags as standard selling at 69,999.00 OTR with class leading Handling/Ride and NVH

• gOOsh on Dec 31, 2012 at 11:01 pm

cantik…

• Jab, Strong, Fierce! on Dec 31, 2012 at 11:54 pm

No complaints on both the interior and exterior design cues which has seen strong continental influential (btw, what’s with the crash pad album feature?). The lacking is the engine and drive train department which definately backwards when compared with the Germans and Americans maker. Suitable for those who want style but not substance heh

• petrolhead on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:57 am

why don’t give it the turbo diesel engine?

• kadajawi on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:19 pm

It probably has. Overseas. Over here diesel isn’t popular. And it makes most sense when driving a big and heavy car.

• Karl von Jitry on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:58 am

1.4 Rio must not exceed RM70k mark if Naza thinking about VOLUME and KIA residual value or after-sales service (3S centers) far from adequate.

I love to see KIa bring small 1.1 CRDi or 1.6CRDi diesel to beat cocky Japanese.

• if the price is very high, fiesta will be better choice

• shawal on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:20 pm

same with d aussie specs , either a 6 MT or 4AT pairs up with the 1.4MPI engine
    1.6 GDI petrol gets a 6-speed box instead

• shawal on Jan 01, 2013 at 5:32 pm

in aussie gets 4 choices of powertrain
      but here we only get 1 , the 1.4MPI engine + 4 speed sluhsbox , which is d same combo kia is selling aussie

• magma on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:18 pm

cun design..6 speed manual vroom2..

• civicEK on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Even in not same segment but preve hatchback will definitely win big time! (because in same price range).

• sundei on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Preve hatchback?? mana kau nampak? can show me pls…?

• civicEK on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:31 pm

go google la bro even in Paul Tan also showing d mule test vehicle already..

• sundei on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:31 pm

u really think “Paul Tan” reader doesn’t know what’s Preve HB??
          we are talking about car that is running on the road… not something not out and sales price not confirm….

• Nenek Jack on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:03 am

Nope because MITI telling Naza to price this Rio above Preve sedan, hatch price. You know lah NAP – Never against Proton.

Or else MITI will tell DRB to take over Kia franchise from Naza. Jangan lawan boss Dr Mamak punya arahan lah HA HA HA HA

• For those who has not driven a 6-speed before, give it a go. You will soon understand the difference between a 4-speed and a 6-speed (SMOOTHNESS) ^_^

• tok-kok on Jan 02, 2013 at 10:04 am

If Vios & City comes with 3 speed automatic, it’s still better than Kia’s 6 speed & Ford’s 6 speed Twin Clutch..
    Muahaha!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • omg 70k for a kimchi hatchback car

• battu on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:18 pm

4 speeder is ok lor. adequate for this car, 1.4L. a compact city car, similar to almera, vios. fc also should not be that bad. vios fc not so bad rite? a smooth 4 speeder can give a smooth ride and fc, just like vios and almera. the real blow here is no 1.6GDI version for us, at least not yet.

• civicEK on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:32 pm

fc for RIO is 12km per Liter bro hahahah really bad for 1.4cc 109hp car lololol :D

• sepul on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:47 pm

well, the given fc is only factory data.. the rest is based on your own driving habit

i drive a campro iafm and my fc is alot better than other campros.. i dare say it match the vios fc (if vios is any efficient in fuel comsumption)

• No power, No FC, No Brain, Launch very late and will be Outdated very soon but still priced at 70k? Ok just SKIP this!! i will keep my Savvy and wait for Mazda2 Skyactiv or Focus Ecoboost. Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • jonikk on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:57 pm

it should be the new Fiesta Ecoboost.. Not the current focus ecoboost one

• ahmad loy on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Do agree..you know what the car is..KIA Rio..very good price offer for body design,interior/exterior,safety features and add more “gajet”..BUT rubbish for engine performance and gearbox technology..wait for the better choice the new coming in..mazda skyactive 1.2L or ford focus ecoboost 1.1L or buying existing latest technology VW for TSi/DSG.

• rizcn on Jan 04, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Not a very good decision on pricing rm78888 for a 1.4 hatchback compared with t.vios or n.almeera or c.sonic. really a letdown..ecpeted +-rm75k

• A long time ago in a far away galaxy, people did drive a 4speed auto as it was high-tech at that time. Looks like Kia going retro for the transmission. Funky body with granny legs.

• retark on Jan 06, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Camry, vios 4 speed tak kecoh pun, granny legs? Whaddaya mean boy?

• wanzzz on Jan 07, 2013 at 12:55 am

Why thy not put the GDI engine to tis car?

• Muzammil on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:02 am

In 2005, previous Rio 1.4 costs me RM72k (fully imported from Korea).

• At the end of the day t will be t and h will be h , no matter wat most of you says . For me I would buy this over t or h in the same segment. . However as always the reader in paul tan does not represent the actual sales preferences of our malaysian market. .

• Rakyat on Jan 28, 2013 at 2:33 am

I’ll buy if it comes with Angry Bird’s stripes.

• cho chee mun on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:54 am

outlook very attractive and sporty. perfoamnce are yet tested. interior capacity not very specified. Auto siwtch start is new. comsumption expect low mileage per km.

• Yeoh Nick on Jun 03, 2013 at 1:21 am

Price on this spec it ok, but engine 1.4cc with 4 speed tranmision! Is very bad.