The paultan.org 2012 Top Five cars list – the writers each pick five that impressed them the most this year

leader

We’ve wanted to do this for the longest time, come out with a year-end list of the cars that dazzled us in a particular calendar year, but somehow it never quite panned out. Now that we’ve got a bit of a team where writers are concerned (!), there really is no excuse not to do so, and so, here’s our first ever Top 5 list in our very last post of 2012.

Why five? Well, most lists have 10, but instead of going the “Top 10 selected by the publication, and by group consensus” route, I decided to get everyone to each come up with the five that most impressed them this year, and as such this is an individual pick list of the cars we drove in 2012 (yes, to make it on a list, the choices had to be ones that were driven). Whittling it down to five makes it a tad more difficult – for one selection becomes a pickier process. Well, at least that was the plan!

Technical competence and resale value (hello, Sam Loo!) may be deciding factors when it comes to buying a car, but emotion has much to do with the choices made too – arguably, save for those who aren’t into cars and view them as mere transportation, we make our ride choices, like we do people, with our hearts. Hence the brief to see what tugged at our writers’ heart-strings, what was memorable, or was simply a delight to be behind the wheel in. Something along different lines, you might say.

We love cars, but more importantly, we love driving them. Ultimately, our pick is about what floated our particular boats in 2012. We hope you enjoy reading it as much as we did writing it, and in ending, have a great end to the year, and we’ll see you in 2013!

JONATHAN JAMES TAN

Compared to the others, I haven’t actually driven very many different cars this year, and so have a pretty short list to shortlist from. Still, there’s more than five, thankfully, so I am just about able to provide you with a rundown of the makes and models that got my motor running in 2012.

5. Peugeot 508 GT

508gt

I do love diesels. It’s not just the inherent high torque or that you don’t have to fill up so often; driving and owning a diesel car is still somewhat of a non-conformist thing in Malaysia; a sort of rally against the norm, if you will.

Except with the Peugeot 508 GT, you’re also disproving the antiquated perception that diesels are of a class inferior to their petrol-powered counterparts – the 2.2 litre HDi-powered GT is in fact the range-topper, benefiting from double wishbone front suspension, snazzy 19-inch alloys and higher levels of interior trim and equipment.

Plus, its 204 hp, 450 Nm of torque and 5.7 litre per 100 km fuel economy make the GT a more-than-worthy alternative to the petrol variant – and it’s a sweet-sounding mill, too.

4. BMW 330d (F30)

f30-1a

Of all the cars in this list, I drove this for the shortest time, but it was the one that surprised me most. We were in Munich, and I was the last car behind a BMW M135i and MINI JCW. The two cars burst into life with loud, sporty barks (mine with a muted clatter) and shot out of the press fleet centre. That’s it, I thought, I’m about to be left very, very far behind.

The 330d’s blown 3.0 litre straight-six makes 255 hp at 4,000 rpm and 560 Nm of torque between 2,000 and 2,750 rpm. A power-to-weight ratio of almost 158 hp per tonne collaborates with BMW’s quick-shifting eight-speeder to yield a 0-100 km/h time of 5.6 seconds.

I caught up all right – grinning all the way. And I was the one with the 4.9 litre per 100 km combined fuel economy (quoted) and the most comfort, equipment and space.

3. Bentley Continental GTC V8

gtc-v8

The second costliest car in my list, and by far the most exhibitionist – those who get stage fright are advised to look elsewhere, provided they aren’t short of a couple of quid in the first place. Whisked along by a twin-turbocharged 4.0 litre V8 that produces 500 hp and 660 Nm of twist, the open-topped Conti GT gets to 100 km/h in under five seconds and can exceed 300 km/h.

I could use all manner of superlatives to describe the way it drives, but it’s the sense of occasion that sticks with you – cosseted in liberal lashings of chrome, wood and quilted leather, I have never since felt more like a Hollywood A-lister or Monaco playboy than I did that fine day.

2. Bentley Mulsanne

BentleyExhibition027

Another exercise in excess – the most expensive car here, with a bank-breaking retail price of around RM2.4 million. If the Conti GTC makes you feel like a celebrity, the Mulsanne turns you into an aristocrat. While the GTC is all about being seen in, the Mulsanne isolates you from the outside world, reminding you that you are indeed more equal than others.

This is a Bentley for the traditionalists, and so the venerable ‘six and three-quarter’ litre V8 (soon to be phased out) is the order of the day, pushing out 505 hp and a colossal 1,020 Nm of torque. The fact alone that Crewe’s engineers managed to make an engine whose design is over four decades old Euro 5-compliant earns the Mulsanne a well-deserved place in this list.

1. MINI Hatch John Cooper Works (R56)

DSCF3327-e1356947994258

How can a MINI possibly be mentioned in the same breath as a Bentley, or two for that matter? Well, it’s all very well handcrafting something to stratospheric levels of luxury and perfection, but you’ve got to charge the world for that, and that means it remains out of reach for many.

Of course, there are more affordable cars that offer just as much fun, but we’re concerned with cars we’ve driven this year, and despite the MINI Hatch’s age, few others – especially the JCW-tuned version – offer pocket rocket thrills wrapped in such a complete, solid package.

The hot MINI does look the part, and with 208 hp and 261 Nm of torque (279 on overboost), there’s some serious go to match the show. Handling is very sharp and precise, and the ride’s actually not as hard as you’d imagine it to be. The fact that the car I drove had a manual gearbox (the only one in this list) could’ve helped its case a fair bit, and naturally contributed much to the driving experience.

CHRIS NG

With an influx of shiny new machines on the road, it has been a busy year for car companies and journalists alike. Variety, as they say, is the spice of life, and the roads have never been livelier.

From the gaggle, I’ve come up the five that have made an impression. So here it is, my list based on a very unscientific measurement – the irrational need to go around the block one more time.

5. Mitsubishi i-MiEV

Mitsu iMIEV

If the i-MiEV could talk, it would say, “Welcome back to the future.” That’s right, electric cars aren’t something that was just invented; the old battery packs were the size of small cars and possibly cost as much.

The i-MiEV heralds a new way of getting around town cleanly and quickly. It’s small, light and full of zest to move quickly off from standstill. Honestly, this thing is fun to drive. But mind the range. You have to think before you travel with this car, as the infrastructure to recharge the EV isn’t up. It’s OK though, since it isn’t for sale yet in Malaysia.

4. Honda Jazz Hybrid

Honda-Jazz-Hybrid

This car being in this list is a surprise. In truth, I didn’t think that Jazz Hybrid would be any good – the engine is smaller and the hybrid system has made the car heavier. Yet, it works.

The acceleration is perkier, chiefly in the lower end of the torque range, thanks to the electric motor. The uprated spring and dampers have also made the ride more stable, with less body roll and yaw. Plus, the ability to squeeze more mileage out of the small fuel tank also helps keep money in the wallet longer.

3. Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

The thing that I don’t like about SUVs is their size. I know they’re meant to be practical, but I’m not willing to give up drivability for a few extra acres of boot space. The CX-5 is different. Sure, its 2.0 litre engine desperately needs more lower end torque, but its nimbleness more than makes up for its lack of zest.

It’s kitted nicely too, the high-spec AWD coming with sat nav, sunroof and BOSE sound system for under RM170,000. Which makes this one value for money.

2. Honda CR-Z

Honda-CR-Z

There are fast cars that aren’t special and there are not-so-fast cars that are. Here’s one of the latter – the Honda CR-Z. It’s a reasonably sporty hybrid with a peppy acceleration and lively handling that lets it earn some cookie points. But when compared to the Polo GTI or the MINI Cooper, for example, the CR-Z becomes less than spectacular.

Yet, it remains a car I want to drive long after the engine has been switched off. It’s the hatchback that I’d gladly pick over others without giving a second thought. There’s something about this car I can’t put my finger on that makes it special. And that makes the CR-Z all the more captivating.

1. Porsche Boxster S

Porsche-Boxster-S

I can count myself fortunate to have been behind the wheel of a 911 Carrera S, Carrera 4 and a Carrera 4S this year, all brilliant cars in their own right. However, it’s the Boxster S that has made a lasting impression. And it isn’t just because of the full aural assault from the engine, made especially enjoyable with the top down.

The ‘charm’ is found in its powerful, naturally-aspirated flat-six mounted just behind the spine to bring balance to its chassis so that it handles as easy as swiping fingers across an iPad’s screen. Just as intuitive too, which makes it more personable, like an extension of the self. Which is why the Boxster S is my number 1 car of 2012.

ANTHONY LIM

It looked simpler than I thought at first, but as things came down to a shortlist there were surprising omissions (like the two mentioned in the fifth choice). That which I’ve chosen has been memorable for the right reasons – an accelerated heartbeat or a chuckle or five as you chug along are as good as any. Most importantly, they are rememberable, even now. Some, very vividly.

5. MINI Roadster Cooper S

Mini Roadster

Picked ahead of the VW Mk7 Golf and Lexus GS 250, both impressive offerings, simply because of the fun factor. While purity – and arguably, direction – has been diluted with the broadening of the MINI range, the R59 restores faith with its winsome, spirited character.

Some cabin ergonomics are quirky, and it’s no measure of something like the Toyota 86 dynamically, but that doesn’t stop the Roadster from offering plenty of glee bombing along at speed. Roadholding is superb, and the car shines on B-roads. Being able to tear around in topless fashion just cements the appeal. Shame it’s not coming here, ever.

4. Mitsubishi i-MiEV

Mitsu iMIEV

Still a way to go before EVs get to a workable reality, but this one brightly lights up the path towards there. Clean and quiet shouldn’t equate to gratification, but the i-MiEV provides oodles on that front. A thorough surprise, the week with it was a gas, if you’ll pardon the expression.

The torque offers gobsmacking pull, but the rest of the car isn’t bad either. Yes, the interior is rather low rent, and that body shape is more fragile cuddly than car, but it actually drives well enough and can chirp along at 140 km/h without ever giving the impression that it’s all going to come apart. Great fun, and for once, the silence isn’t deafening.

3. Peugeot 508 SW GT

Pug 508 SW GT

Perhaps a little less mesmerising the second time around than a year ago, when it absolutely captivated in Spain, but the oil burner remains a veritable lion in my books (in wagon form, the prettier of the two bodystyles in my eyes). Good heart from the 2.2 HDI, as always, with impressive tractability heading the list of pluses.

Arguably, the suspension feels less supple on the less-than-perfect blacktop that happens to be Malaysian roads, but on the whole the SW GT is keen and lively, chassis-wise. It’s been a while since I behaved badly from a tyre scrubbing POV, but I did so with this one. In a word, delectable.

2. Mercedes-Benz W176 A-Class

Merc A-Class

Transformation-wise, this one surely ranks as the standout for 2012. Dowdy gets replaced by radical, and the entire package – set to appeal to the younger buyer – works a charm. There’s much to like; aside from the rakish looks, the cabin is well appointed and offers a sense of occasion.

But there’s more to just window dressing. There’s inherent drivability, and there’s definitely character. The A 250 Sport epitomises the fresh take best – with its ever-willing mill and dynamic ability, aided by a sterling, non-intrusive ESP, this is the best bog-standard Benz yet from a driving point of view.

1. Toyota 86

Toyota 86 1

Yes, the price tag isn’t exactly favourable, the interior isn’t all that natty, and it could certainly do with a few more ponies under the hood, but what a gem of a car. Superb from seating position to chassis dynamics and feel, this one does more than entertain both heart and mind. It stirs the soul.

Sharp and responsive with the electronics on, and an absolute hoot when off (add oil and soap to tarmac for some scrumptious sizzle), those who adore driving will find this one a joy. The delicacy and detail of its strokes – and the fact that it’s a Toyota – makes the 86 all the more impressive. Easily my pick for the best driving car of 2012.

DANNY TAN

Time flies, doesn’t it? A blink of the eye, and the year is coming to an end. 2012 has been a great motoring year for us at paultan.org – a raft of good cars came our way, along with some good times behind the wheel.

My personal view is that technical brilliance is nothing if it doesn’t deliver joy to the driver, so my fab five is as much of a “Top 5 Moments” list as it is a “Top 5 Cars” list, starting with the one day that made my year. I’ve actually wrote my list reading No 1 to No 5, so for actual flow you should read the list as such.

5. Honda CR-Z 6M/T

CR-Z 1

The Renault Megane RS is a great real world driver’s car, but if I were a car mixologist, the cocktail will be made tastier and deadlier with the six-speed manual gearbox from the CR-Z. Honda knows what makes a good stick shift, and the CR-Z’s 6 M/T follows form with a short throw and nice mechanical feel. Worth the admission price alone!

Gearbox apart, the CR-Z is fun to drive with very quick steering and fast reflexes. You won’t be winning any races, but it’s good, affordable fun. Won’t be buying one because of that fish face, the useless rear seats and the image it brings.

4. BMW 328i Sport

BMW 328i

The BMW 3-Series is once again the complete sports sedan, bar none. If the allure of the previous gen E90 was starting to fade in the face of fresher rivals, Munich blew all of them into the water with the squinty-eyed, flat-nosed creature that’s the F30.

The 328i Sport that I drove was so well balanced, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Loved the effortless power and pace, and its softer edged character compared to the E90. There’s also more space and a better looking cabin. More efficiency, more desirability, more everything.

3. Renault Megane RS 250 Cup

Renault Megane

I sound like a broken record whenever I talk up the Megane RS (how many drive experiences have we done already?) but this is my list, and you’ll have to bear with me for two minutes. Sorry!

As I told a friend recently, I am king of B-roads in the Megane. How? Better drivers are usually in lesser cars (for me, that includes every hot hatch in the market) and drivers of better cars (Porsche and above) are usually less committed on the road. Feels good to be king!

2. BMW M3 E92

BMW M3 E92

When it rains, it pours! The day that we did the dirty on the Toyota 86 was the same day I had my BMW M3 experience, a box that I believe car enthusiasts must tick in their lifetime.

I’ve had a brief go at the E90 M3 Sedan before, but nothing prepared me for the riot that was driving the M3 Coupe flat out in Sepang. That raw, snarly tune from the high-revving NA 4.0 litre V8 is to die for, and you can indulge in rear-end slip moments without praying for forgiveness each time. Looks stunning while standing, too. The next M3 won’t be like it, and I’m sad to see it go.

1. Toyota 86

Toyota 86

Short but sweet. Didn’t have much time with the 86, but the day with it had it all, from highway cruising to unlocking its deep-buried treasure chest of promised talents – sideways, of course!

A rare gem. The 86 will be a rare sight because of its quarter million price tag and basic nature, and it’s a true gem not only because no one else dares make a lightweight NA RWD coupe today, but because it delivers plenty of smiles.

From the driving position to its throttle adjustability at the limit – sideways, of course – there’s plenty of evidence that the 86 is a car made by people who love to drive, for people who love to drive, above all.

PAUL TAN

You’ll see a stark difference with the cars on my list compared to the rest of the paultan.org crew. Limited test drive opportunties because of business development commitments over at Driven has narrowed down the cars that I managed to test drive in 2012 down to those that I felt needed the most attention from the style of writing that I could offer – the day-to-day drivers. Even then, I didn’t manage to test much, but these are the top picks from the cars that I did manage to try.

5. BMW M5 (F10)

BMW M5

Which car enthusiast can forget BMW’s The Hire series? It was the ultimate in automotive-branded entertainment. My favourite was the one with Madonna in the M5 – I fell in love with the E39 M5 thanks to that video, and though I couldn’t afford an M5, I did eventually buy an E39 and gave it the ‘M5’ look with a simple bumper switch (friends and those in BMW Club Malaysia will know what else went into that car, in the engine bay!).

I’ve had the opportunity to drive the F10 version, which has regained its V8 power but traded two cylinders for two turbochargers. The M5 impressed with its day-to-day drivability, much improved fuel consumption over the E60 model and good “comfort mode.” Still, it’s a brute when you want it to be – it’s the only car where I can say I tried taking a 0-100 km/h acceleration video but ended taking a 0-200 km/h one instead!

4. Toyota Prius

toyota prius

One of the most value-for-money cars you can get in Malaysia, due to the absence of taxes. With the facelift, it looks even better, and with the introduction of a new luxury spec, Prius owners finally get luxuries like a JBL sound system, leather seats and seat heating. Most importantly, you also get the full suite of safety features such as seven airbags and stability control, making it a very appealing alternative to a Camry.

Fuel consumption is a diesel-like average of 5.0 litres per 100 km easily. The electric motors add instant torque and adds drivability. Most importantly, the ability to go into EV mode gives you a taste of pure electric motoring, even if its simply maneouvering around a parking lot most of the time or rolling along the jams around Mid Valley while you wait for your turn to get into the jockey zone.

3. Peugeot 208

peugeot 208

Meant to be an affordable B-segment car, Peugeot has managed to inject a good amount of cool into this one. You can see a considerable difference between the effort put into the design in cars like the 208 compared to Japanese B-segment cars in general.

In the 208’s case, things have been taken a step further; inside, the split level dash takes centre stage, with a big touchscreen infotainment+navigation system at the heart of things. The car also drives well (the 1.6 litre diesel is good fun, but the three-cylinder 1.2 litre is also very smooth and revvable) and the suspension is very nicely sorted for a B-segment offering – it tackled the many cobblestone-paved Portuguese roads very ably.

2. BMW 520d

BMW 520d

You’ll forgive the word indulgence with this one, which you could say has been the longest test drive ever done by paultan.org. I had the privilege of getting the F10 520d as a company car for 1.5 years, and traded it back in to BMW Premium Selection for around RM270k (information for the benefit of Sam Loo), which if you calculate from the retail price of RM334k is approximately a 1.3% a month depreciation, pretty decent for a luxury car in the first two years of ownership. The ‘loss’ incurred would be a lower percentage if you managed to get your car priced lower as a pre-reg.

The F10 is a completely different animal than the E60, with EPS power steering and EfficientDynamics features as standard, and adjustable dampers as an option. The EPS power steering is far lighter at parking speeds, making maneouvreability easier. The adjustable dampers make the car feel like a better Merc than what you’d expect a Merc to drive like in Comfort+ mode, and you can still have the E60 era sharpness when you switch to Sport mode.

The 184 hp may not sound like much, but the 380Nm of torque and the slick-shifting eight-speed auto offers good kick when you stand on it. Eco Pro mode is Comfort+ but with an accelerator pedal programming that forces you to drive fuel efficiently – there simply is no way to drive inefficiently in this mode, unless you just floor it, at which point the system detects you must be really in a hurry and temporarily disables Eco Pro.

As a result, my 520d managed about 850 km to 900 km per full tank on average and I was only refueling my car approximately twice a month. At about RM125 per full tank of diesel, this meant my monthly fuel bills was only between RM250 to RM310, incredible for a car of this size, weight and power.

My only complaint is that BMW diesel buyers are treated like second-class citizens – in a quest to make the diesel models the cheapest in the range, the spec levels are low, although not as low as ex-rental grey import cars which don’t even come with adjustable dampers. The standard steering wheel felt so un-BMW that I had to spend a considerable sum switching to an M Sport steering. Another issue is that while interior design has improved significantly over the last generation, interior build quality seems to have dropped compared to the E60.

There’s also no real upgrade path for the 520d owner who has been bitten by the oil burner bug hard and would want to stick with diesel – not everyone can pull off a big 7-Series, and there’s a massive price gap of almost double between the 520d and the 730d. I ended up moving to the X5 3.0 diesel to try SUVs out, but would have gladly opted for a 530d Touring instead if it was available, as my main intention was for the more versatile boot space – the Quinny Moodd stroller is pretty large!

1. Nissan Leaf

nissan-leaf-test-drive-10edited

If I was Walden Schmidt, a completely different electric car would be at the top of my list, but since we’re limited to the experiences that a Malaysian motoring journalist can get, I’s say the No 1 car that I’ve driven in 2012 would be the Leaf.

Zero emissions, instant torque, and more than enough range for town usage. It has the size, space and drive of a regular C-segment hatchback, but once you go electric, you won’t want to go back. There’s nothing like that instant response and silent drive.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• smokey on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:23 am

Preve didnt make it into favorite top 5 list :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 61
    • GT-Rider on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 212
      • Simon Ng on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:44 am

Well said. Not only the list does not bother you. Other road user’s life does not bother you as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 11
        • GT-Rider on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 177
          • Automatic Earning System (For Cronies) on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:41 am

Dear GT Rider,

You are already very SMALL in everyones’ eyes judging by your immature comments above. Congratulations on your effort in single-handedly confirming what the world thinks of Malaysian drivers: Dangerous, idiotic and selfish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Well, I dare you to do that on traffic jam during peak hours. I’ll see how hard will you push your pedal to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
          • JeremyNg on Jan 03, 2013 at 9:35 pm

another NFS fans ??……… thought he/she was playing PS3 game !!! How the hell we gonna become developed country with this kind of mentality ??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Hadi75 on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Nobody care la what you drive…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
        • GT-Rider on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 117
      • 911-rider-club on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:43 am

No no no, ours is the Best, n we r not dead, yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • ureplyusuck on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:32 am

thats why ALWAYS p1 fails in everything..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
    • commenter here r not understand the article…its writers choice..y the F u guys complaint..just wait for paultan.org post article for commenter choice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • Where is K5? Useless post as usual…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 72
      • ThisIsSarcasm on Jan 01, 2013 at 6:59 pm

No K5 in the list = Useless post
        GENIUS !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 18
      • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:37 am

K5 will be the most dai mai car after 1 year old. easily devalue 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 56
        • Vader on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:18 am

again, pls show us 1 year old second hand K5 sell at RM70k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Trade in price is around 50% depreciated after 1 year, selling price around 70% to 75%.

Kimchi cars are great for used car dealers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 29
          • Vader on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:57 am

Come on, please stop keep bullshit..
            Kindly show us the 1 year old Kia K5 sell at RM100k where you twist your statement from 50% to 70%.
            Any website also can, i think a lot of people interest on it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:20 pm

The truth really hurst, but there will be some sorhais that never learn. This is where I make my dough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
          • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:50 pm

I would encourage more people to buy kimchi. I can go for listing pretty soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • Vader on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:19 am

we are still waiting any website or fact that show 1 year old K5 sell at RM100k!!!
            But not just empty talk!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2013 at 7:20 pm

I am still waiting for you to show you the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • David D on Jan 03, 2013 at 6:06 pm

I’d like to see the look on your face when a used dealer I know takes in a year old Optima K5 for 100k. That’s 30% depreciation. And this dealer is in Puchong, a reputable one. A 6 month old Camry 2.5 V? Make that 135-140k. Nothing more. That’s like almost 25% shaved off for a poorly-specced top line Camry against a well-specced Optima or even a Passat!

Wanna lie somemore? Go ahead, you’ve become from a annoyance, to an absolute parasite to the car lovers here. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Hey Sam Loo, you can be a resale value consultant at Paultan already hahaha…
    That said, great list and the little Jazz Hybrid being there is quite a surprise too. Is also amazing that some of you guys actually pick the CRZ considering many in the comments dislike the fact that is more of a hairdresser car.
    Hope we will get to see more awesome reviews this year and ahem…..more Hot and sometimes useless debates in the comment section.
    Anyways HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
    • BTW, can improve the speed on which you moderate comments, it takes at least 15 minute here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:55 am

I’m sorry. We took a break for new year’s eve, but we’re back at work now, and will be online to cover comments that come in at 4.30 am. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • I’ve just look at the comments and some have put up their own list. And I don’t want to loose out on the fun. I don’t drive much cars like some of you guys, so I’ll just list cars that surprised me launched in 2012.
        …..5)Toyota 86 – Hated for wearing a Toyota badge by some PT keyboard warriors, but when the world is going FF and Turbo. Toyota strips it’s safe and boring image for a FR and NA. FTW. AND IT WORKS! Wow the hard-to-impress Clarkson into making it his COTY…nuf
        …..4) Volvo V60 Polestar- 508 bhp? must be an M or an AMG, WHAT!!! A Sexy Swede with that POWER and AWD..FTW!!!
        …..3) Toyota Avalon -For showing us Toyota can design a good looking and not boring big sedan, With paddle shift!
        …..2) Honda N One – Sorry guys, I know some hate it, I just love how adorable that damn thing is, Turbo and AWD means it’s not all show.
        …..1) Tesla Model S – Electric car that can do 400km and smoke an M5 while being GTR cheap [US], not possible. Elon Musk shows middle finger and sexy car shows with all above spec….nuf said.

• Jimmy Ng on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Tesla Model S makes it on my list as a car to watch. Too bad, it’s not available here. Specs is impressive. 0-60 mph (96km) in 4.4s. With a top speed of 206kmh, for the 85kw model, it’s a topper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Turbo man on Jan 01, 2013 at 2:27 am

Consultant? More like an annoyance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
      • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Checked out the trade in value of your kimchi in 2013? Another 15% down from Dec 2012, easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:39 am

No kimchis in the list wor, so paul is with the majority of smart malaysians that cherish RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
  • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:06 am

No love for the koreans? What says you, kimchi fans?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 36
    • Turbo man on Jan 01, 2013 at 2:30 am

No corvette and mustang too. So what does that tell u about American muscles?

Ah yes. I know. It’s that u r an imbecile!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 64
      • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:22 am

You’re more of an imbecile,dude. The Mustang or Corvette wasn’t even sold here or even in this region. Your examples doesn’t make any sense. I’m merely asking, and you reply with a hateful/rude comments. What a typical Malaysian la u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
        • Turbo man on Jan 01, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Eh bro.330d mentioned above sold here?

So not sold here cannot be made an example? Now who is the senseless one?

Rude? This is a post on cars in 2012 picked by pt.org. U r taking this opportunity to give a smart Alec point on Korean cars. So tell me, who is the rude one?

Let me tell u Wat is a typical Malaysian. Bash for the sake of bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
          • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 7:28 pm

I don’t think my first comment is in any way, bashing the Korean-made cars. And if you’re smart, you’ll answer by providing the strong points of Korean cars and try to convince the others here. And yet you chose to give nonsense example and calling me an imbecile (SUCH a mature move). You’re giving yourself a bad name.

I’ve already made my point and further arguments with you will just waste my time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
          • Turboman on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:30 pm

There is nothing mature/immature about calling u imbecile. It just means u are an imbecile.

Try to convince others? By starting another Korean car vs jap car argument? One thing for sure, i am smart enough not to start another such discussion as it leads to no where all the time. But are you smart enough? Since you started this discussion in the first place, I doubt you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
          • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I’m not going to continue this argument or whatsoever as clearly you are a person that is against the opinion of others.

Just a question. Why are you so aggravated by this? I mean, if I’m a fan of Korean cars, I won’t really care what others will think and said and just stand by my opinion and that’s it. And yet you are being some kind of keyboard warrior getting pissed at everything you see.

It’s better to stand by your own opinion rather than attacking other people’s opinion.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • Turboman on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Against the opinion of others and attacking every opinion? U don’t see me “attacking” or “replying” anywhere here except on your post.

So much for not wanting to continue this argument.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
        • beta-gal on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:50 am

Both idiot = turbo man + alpha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:53 pm

More like 100% pure sorhais with no added preservatives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • both of you are imbeciles. they clearly stated its cars that they managed to drive. so if it doesnt appear on the list,

1) maybe the cars arent good enough
        2) they didnt drive it in 2012
        3) car companies only gave the usual kowtow-ing print media the test drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:30 pm

I knew about the fact that they only put cars that they’ve managed to drive.I’m a frequent visitor of this site and I’ve seen that throughout the year, Paul and the gang did test driven a few Korean machines.

Cheers.

• Turboman on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Your point being?

I can’t wait for u to say it.

• No both are not imbecile, they are both rather knowledgeable guys with conflicting point of view.

On Alpha side, I think by putting, Kimchi fan is a direct assault onto Korean cars fan, in which I agree there are many and some rather annonying.

On Turboman side, I thhink he is taking it way to seriously by putting in the American muscle thingy, and all the fire heats up.

I like following pointless-but-car-related arguments, It is one of the fragments that fills the hole that is my boredom ,along with writing this comment. carry on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Jimmy Ng on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Guys, cool it. It’s ok. We are all car lovers. Let’s concentrate on the cars. Shake hands. Have a good day. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2013 at 7:22 pm

If they are knowledgeable, they would not have bought kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Vios also not on the list, so what’s your point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:30 am

Not a fan of the T brand too,bro.Haha.

The point being that there’s no Korean car in the list means that Korean still needs a lot of work. I admit Korean cars are looking handsome nowadays, with nice price and acceptable engines (not gonna talk about RV, later people think I’m Sam Loo,lol!) ,but the handling is lacking (I’ve tested quite a few Korean cars) except for the SUVs as I feel that most SUV doesn’t handle well (except maybe high-end ones?But the previous gen Cayenne 3.2 and 3.6 doesn’t handle well in my opinion too).

It’s just me, but I’d prefer to drive something with good handling and a good engine despite the looks (as long as not too ugly la).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:34 am

Oh, and I do realize that the list is the opinion of 5 automotive writers. But it’s the same with other Top 10 best car or whatever list. It’s all based on the person’s opinion.

And I doubt there’ll be Koreans even if they made it a Top 10. The only Koreans I like is the Genesis. Too bad it’s not available here. Even if it was, it’ll be very expensive.

• the korean cars are good appliance but NOT a drivers car.period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Jacksonkua on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:31 am

Why no Citroen DS4 & new BMW 3 series?

Anyway, my vote for Renault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
  • half-Blood Prince Perak on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:58 am

Wow, best car all over here… But personally prefer Porsche Boxster S, MINI Roadster Cooper S, BMW 330d (F30), Mercedes-Benz W176 A-Class! Wish soon I will be fill with all this “Great” sexy giant beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Fast lane tamer on Jan 01, 2013 at 7:25 am

Can somebody please tell me, why there is no proton or perodua on the list? They are both best seller cars in Malaysia for God sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
    • theanswer on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:20 am

because..it’s writer’s choice! if u want to pun p2 or p1..then it’s your choice. simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:12 pm

OK, I try to put in the list, but the category is for the least preferred top list of 5 cars for both Juara Kampung No. 1 and Jaguh Kampung No. 2 cars!

1. Perdana

2. Exora

3. Persona

4. Preve

5. MyVi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
    • Yes,they are the best seller, but they are definitely not the types that impressed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • armandd on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:44 am

Great reviews! I’m sure it would help viewers that wanted to buy new car. It’s funny though that Sam Loo is mentioned several times in the reviews, that simply shows how annoying you are buddy, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:43 am

I have been busy showing kimchi owners Hilux when they come into my yard. Out of pity, I gave one sorhai an extra RM2000 for the trade in of his Sorento. Really kerlian these owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
  • Gavin on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:41 am

Yay all the cars that i cannot afford, read also no fun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • Muchogrande on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:15 am

Jazz Hybrid at 90k cannot afford?

Just because there, don’t mean must read and complain wei. I suppose you must be the sort that goes into shops, looks at all the nice things you can’t afford and walk out, bitch about life and tell everyone “see also no fun”? Don’t read any more reviews or news about cars you can’t afford then. Ever. That might solve the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
      • Gavin on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:34 pm

What if i said yes even 90k is a stretch for me?

What you gonna say? my fault for being poor is it?

The review got nothing to do with us at all, just their own fantasy cars, i also can write lah like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Yes please do share your list. The nature of this list is clearly described. It’s not a “car of the year award”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
        • mamat on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Tau takpe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:45 am

Sam Loo – Commentator of the year.

Did we missed out kimchi car ? Hey no jokes ! Not a single korean car make into the list, where’s Forte ? David D, Turboman must have been real upset over this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
    • HDLJ,
      You should comment better so next year your name will be mentioned in the annual review. Oh and you will be iconic like Sam Loo
      Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • hahaha.. i guess ffjh is Turboman, in disguise!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Turboman on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Nah. It wasnt me.

Was out the whole day since 9am. Working on new years day. Yes. What a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Another well known dumb F…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Sam Loo the new legend since Julian Lee’s “BMW is better than XXX”

Don’t merajuk Sam Loo, after this ask paultan to post analysis of resale value, sure you bangga la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:45 am

From a kimchi used car dealer perpective (profitability)
      1) Kia Sportage
      2) Hyundai Santa Fe
      3) Kia Sorento
      4) Kia Optima
      5) Hyundai Sonata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Jimmy Ng on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:36 pm

The Santa Fe is rather good for a SUV. Traction control, hill descent control and rides and handles rather well. I don’t own one but happen to rent one in the US. Drove up from Brea, CA to San Francisco, Mammoth Lakes and back. Had the 2.4l version for a full 7 days totalling 1,600+ miles (2,560 km). Did well on the 5 lane freeways of California. It surprised me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • David D on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Jimmy, you should realize that this Sam is being nothing but a troll who keeps ranting about resale value, whereas being plain ignorant about the other more important features like safety, comfort and performance. Don’t bother replying him, bro. Even Paul’s team also took the oppoturnity to elegantly mock him after all his rants about RV, RV and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Jimmy Ng on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Well, we just have to be tolerant towards others. Being objective and informative in forums will be appreciated by all. After all, we discuss this issues becuase it’s our love for cars. :)

Anyway, noted and thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • what car do u own? proton? perodua? toyota? or honda? can u state one? i would like to know..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:55 pm

I never said Korean Cars are not good. Santa Fe is prolly the best value for money kimchi, especially the diesel VGT engine

Just that all kimchis have very poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • David D on Jan 04, 2013 at 12:57 am

Enough with the RV. Dude, do you need a blow to your brain before you realise cars are not about damned fxxking RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Wah, still driving your rotten cabbage?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • nekajis on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:04 am

yesvthe leaf and RM 10k battery in 5-7 yrs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • sudonano on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:20 am

Reading Paul Tan’s section on the 520D,

‘I had the privilege of getting the F10 520d as a company car for 1.5 years, and traded it back in to BMW Premium Selection for around RM270k (information for the benefit of Sam Loo), which if you calculate from the retail price of RM334k is approximately a 1.3% a month depreciation, pretty decent for a luxury car in the first two years of ownership.’

Haha. Good laugh for new years day!

PS: Happy new year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:59 am

toyota 86 shouldnt be in list as well..its just a hyped up…just like late celica… its nothing!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
    • theanswer on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:47 pm

depends. some reviewer consider late celica as underrated. for 1.8 with vvti-L..and manual gearbox is not that bad. except most of celica here only available in auto tranny.
      for 86, the price is the reason why some of us feel it is over hype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Alpha on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:37 pm

The last gen Celica sucks.The 86 does not.I’m a Honda fanboy, but I’ve to admit that the 86 is a fun car to drive. It handles exceptionally well despite the relatively low power output. The only downside is that it’s priced too high in Malaysia for an “affordable sports car” elsewhere,

To say the 86 is nothing means you don’t know much about cars.

• I’ve tried to find someone, anyone, on the net that driven it and disagree with it, so far I am unsuccessful.
        I like the 86 cause it is honest car. It’s not here to break records or to pick up chicks in the Golden Triangle or Gangnam. It’s a car that puts that tries to biggest smile on your face. And it’s a FR. the late Celica is a FF. the dude above probably really dose’t like driving.

• skyrim on Jan 02, 2013 at 10:16 am

No offense, I have not driven it but by the look, both exterior and interior, I have my doubts. Suffice to say look does matter to me – it’s just me.

I had seen the car in showrooms as well as on the road. So, don’t mind me give another shallow way of looking at it, just by look that is:

Interior – plain simple, nothing fancy. Priced at RM230+, a F30 320i BMW would give you better internal, so my choice is clear for the money.

Exterior – It’s a sport car, so it’s small, fine. but when seen on the road, next to my car, 86 gives me that impression, you know, with 2 big exhausts in such a small body, the real of the car is just exhaust!; real lamp design is backward, etc. what a pity….

..so from visual..I can’t say I am impressed. You know, if you drive next to a posrche, GTR, Z4, TT or even CRZ, you would say nice sport car, but I can’t say that about 86

But I haven’t driven the car – so for the same money, would 86 ride beat A4 or F30? I don’t know, perhaps you tell :)

• I really like Skyrim honest comment unlike the mindless bashing above, great comment nonetheless.

The GT86 and it’s derivative is more of a Drivers car wheres the F30 is, a more practical car for daily uses. I have to agree with you that the Toyota dose’t really look the part and the Interior is yawning boring, maybe except the rear ,with it’s squat look at musculor twin pipes.But I’ve seen video of reviewers driving the car, and all of them show faces of a 5 year old receiving a new toy. Genuine smiles

It’s hard to describe what driving fun, balance and respond is the best I can describe, maybe the guys at Paultan can give a better explanation. But I like it because it is a Toyota, NO, don’t get me wrong ,It’s not about RV or loyalty or any of that bullshit. Toyota, like I said above to strip it’s safe and boring image for this car, that’s something different, and I like different that works.

Would it beat an A4 or a F30. No, you are probably better off with those Teutonic marques than this, those are also probably faster. As quote from Clarkson on the 86, ‘For those who hates this car, hates driving’ and for a person who takes a manual into the heart of PJ and take the long way home, well, I will pick the little T in manual [only douchbags buys 86 in Auto], If you have’t driven a Manual, I suggest you try it on a open road, nothing will come close to that joy.

Sadly I don’t have the cash, even with support for the 86, and the only full-spec manual I know off that is cheaper is the Honda CRZ. Hairdresser or not, I am still aiming for that little car .

• theanswer on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:23 am

yep true. like i sed b4, our T fault that put 86 price. it’s a true driver’s car. i dont find the power is low..considering today strict emission control.

• cosmo on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:17 pm

wow… seems like the toyota 86 really performs quite well here… many reviews i saw over the other magazines voted it as 1 of the best fun car… even the top gear’s jeremy clarkson named it as ‘the best handling car in the world’ ,it drive better than any porsche or even much more expensive super car… 250k for it, really quite not bad… but still hope Toyota can come out with the more powerful supercharge or turbo version… :)

• I can’t stop laughing when reading Sam Loo name there. Toyota is the best car for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • it’s hardly to find prius on the road now a days?

• pewpew on Jan 01, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Why 2 Toyota 86?

• Sam Loo on Jan 01, 2013 at 1:21 pm

I would like thank u all for the appreciation given and i would definitely increase my work in order to make people realised the importance of RV. So dont buy kimchis or conti. OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 44
    • sonyman on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:18 pm

like that then we all end up buying Vios only leh?

where is the fun in that? better ride motor bike like that lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • You have and always have been a joker.
      I still don’t get why people get so work up over your comments….LOL. But is a good thing, it makes the comments here much more fun.
      Continue to have a great year. looking forward to most of your worthless comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Drive Your Way on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Thank you Sam. Why not consider releasing a MV featuring RV style… inspired from Gangnam style? Lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:46 am

Fake Fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • what surprises me is no VW or Audi or Lexus was chosen by any of you.

can i share my best five? :)

btw happy 2013, guys^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Sergei on Jan 01, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Please google: sam loo site:paultan.org
    You can enjoy sam loo’s goodness there. i think if one day toyota honda’s resale value goes down he’ll have a heart attack

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:31 pm

I have made enough trading kimchis in 2 months to fully pay for a Camry 2.4V 2009

Now you know why I am all for people buying new kimchis and losing a fortune when selling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • SamNg on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:07 pm

What? All luxurious, expensive and high tax cars?

Why dont you list down all the cars based on prices here. Say, top 5 below rm100k categories, top 5 rm100k to 150k, so on and so forth. Or by sedans, family, 4 wheels, 2 doors, hybrids, sports cars, etc. Or by eurocap, or by environmental fctors, or by FCs.

Very unfair and not all rounded reviews here. Come on guys, you can do better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • chicken nugget1 on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:15 pm

the amount of trolls on this site….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • sonyman on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:24 pm

as you know, paul is BMW fan, Danny is more of a manual guy.

The rest i tak pasti, but i look here is like, hmm, some i like, some i dont like, but it is based on their personal preference.

so if i like skoda, i list skoda, but some dont like skoda, or havent heard of it. Anyway this is just a pick. nothing to worry, how about we list what you like.

1) Money no object.Sports, SUV and so on.
    2) Luxury Sedans, 3 Series, s40, s60, so on
    3) The D segments, camry, teana, 508, and so on
    4) compact cars, below 100k
    5) and of course anything lower than this would be best value for money small car.

liek that lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • skyrim on Jan 02, 2013 at 10:26 am

Sonyman! can’t agree more. The ruth is each reader would want his current car listed by PaulTan.org! Having said that, I have got this feeling that Malaysians would vote Myvi as one of their top 5.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jan 01, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Where is Proton Preve and Inspira?????Too low rated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • Henry on Jan 01, 2013 at 4:43 pm

My top five, in no particular order:

1) Toyota 86
    2) Beemer 328i Sport
    3) Ford Focus MK3
    4) Renault Megane RS 250 Cup
    5) Honda CRZ, 6 MT

• Carl Wong on Jan 01, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I only have 1 all time favorite, the 2013 Honda Insight Hybrid Facelift (why is it missing in your list..??). I think it’s much better than Jazz Hybrid with much more interior space, futuristic digital dashboard design. Price is slightly higher than Jazz Hybrid and of course no import tax…!!

As one of the most fuel efficient car with low emissions it is the perfect dream car for me, and it’s my new car for 2013 :)…….!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Mat Global on Jan 01, 2013 at 4:58 pm

It does not matter which cars are in top 5 of Paul Tan and crew selections.They are all very good cars to drive.
    As for me who have owned a new BMW318i and 4 units of Honda Accord and also Nissan X-Trail i find that Proton Preve esp.cfe model deserved to be included.Being 1.6 c.c (light turbocharged) the car performs like 2.0 with 205nm from 2000 rpm.Not only that the suspension set-up is good comparable to Ford and Nissan cars which give comfort ride on all type of roads.
    In debut rally Sepang Endurance 1000 km run which took 8 hours plus Proton R’3 Neo and Preve outpaced famous Toyota Celica,Altis,Honda Jazz, Mazda 3 and Suzuki Swift.This victory speaks the superior driving qualities and robust chasis and what else with a heavier body of at @1300 kg Proton Preve (non cfe) still can triumph.
    Just look forward with DRB to fine tune whatever shortfalls of this new Malaysian model to win more hearts and get nominated for awards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Paul Without The Hoot on Jan 01, 2013 at 7:46 pm

wow, u owned so many cars, but still cannot differentiate L and cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:45 pm

No matter how they finetune the car, the most suitable award to be nominated for is and will always is Jaguh Kampung!!!!

• Nenek Jack on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:09 am

Pity this Mat Global still delusional about Preve.

Preve is like a teenage girl wearing wrong skirt for first date (rear design fail).

• rempit on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:34 am

preve ? i think you are qualified to own 2 feet .
      joker 2013

• leongh on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Thanks so much for your opinions. Yes, I’m going to test preve as it’s in my list. I know it’s better features than some sushi and kimchi cars.

• bystander on Jan 01, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Dear friends, as with everything else, the lists above are merely the personal favourites of each writer, depending on their personal preferences, etc etc. Why get so worked up? Don’t like their list, you can come out with your own, so chill la. No stress no stress… we can all agree to disagree :)

• Mat Global on Jan 01, 2013 at 8:41 pm

My 5 best cars selections are as follows:

1. Mercedes C200 CGI
    2. Mazda CX-5
    3. Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSi
    4. Proton Preve 1.6 cfe
    5. Hyundai i10 1.25 CVVT

• Expatriate VN on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:48 pm

That no. 4 in your list is “jaguh kampung” category!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • dugong on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Hilux should be no.1 since Sam Loo always say used car dealers like to show customers the hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • LatukBandar on Jan 01, 2013 at 9:33 pm

My 5 best cars selections are as follows:

1. Nimbus 2000
    2. Marauder (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDoRmT0iRic)
    3. Mattel Hoverboard
    4. Magic Flying Carpet
    5. Peel P50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Nimbus 2000? NAh I prefer the Thunderbolt
      Quite a contrasting interest you have, A Marauder on one side and a Peel on the other.
      BTW, if you like the Marauder, check out the Knight XV, smaller but equally cool and armored.

• preve 7/10 on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:14 pm

a lot of the young reviewers love japanese cars i suspect- honda and toyota esp. no audi, no vw, citroen, volvo. Ford Focus? incredible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • David D on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:26 pm

I didnt say Korean cars are best in the world. Don’t try to twist all our words, personally, i would say the best car ive driven this year is without a doubt, the BMW 328i F30. Brisk, sharp handling, and not to mention fuel efficient as well. A close second, would be the Toyota 86. Back to basics fun, with a little bit of tech included.

HDLJ, i may only drive a Korean at home, but that doesnt mean im a Korean fanatic. FYI, im considering a Peugeot 408 or Focus now as my next ride. So, beat it with your brainless bashing, name calling, and the lot, because the more you diss us this way, the stupider you would look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:29 am

What happened to all the kimchi lovers out there?

Most have done their homework and started to think about selling heh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:03 am

Haha, I’m glad you think the reviewers young (hopefully you mean us. If it is, then I wish!). A little recap to that mentioned in the opening of the story – the caveat was that we had to select from that which we actually drove in 2012. I drove only one Audi last year, and didn’t think too much of it (you’ll eventually read about it, I believe). The sole Volvo wouldn’t have made it either. I can’t remember the last time I drove a Citroen. The Golf Mk7 just missed out on my list, as did the Lexus GS 250, and if anyone’s counting, the VW Scirocco R, Merc SLK 200 (the R172) and Honda N-One would be the ones in a tenner.

Some musings about the Focus, since you mentioned it – would you believe if I told you I wanted it to be on my list? I was actually eyeing the Mk III as a purchase, in its hatch form, as it arrived. Having driven it, the focus (pardon!) has shifted elsewhere (also has a Blue Oval, but older – the C307 Mk II ST, we’ll see how that one plays out).

It’s not that the C346 is lacking, far be from it, and it is a very good car, polished and refined in its presentation. But as far as expression and character go, it’s a couple of worlds away from the chatterbox Mk I (the C170) I had for six years. It’s got the sharp suit and tie on now, and I’ve never done well with a suit and tie, so we’re probably better off not getting into a relationship. The current Blue Oval sitting in the porch doesn’t mind that it never happened.

Perhaps the C346 ST should be somewhere in the mix, but I didn’t drive it. Two of the team did, on separate occasions, but I have no idea as to the reasons why it’s not on theirs. To each his own, I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • David D on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:43 am

Good response Anthony. As the young generation, i believe as people who often get exposed to the ever-progressing car world, we would demand the same standards given to European markets as well as the American markets. Sadly, most brands had their reputations dented by incompetent distributors, especially after the after-sales service.

About the Focus, you are dead spot on. I haven’t driven the first-gen one, as i was still kinda some young boy, but as i got my licence few years back, i set out to enjoy the cars i tested. And boy, oh boy, at the end of the day, the Focus is still the best of all the C-segment cars to drive, with damned sharp of a handling akin to a razor blade. The C346 3rd gen still keeps up to its promise, with increased levels of comfort. However, the one thing i really dislike is it’s tight rear space, where with my height, i kinda struggle to fit in the rear with the drivers seat set to my position. (I’m 1.75m actually) Otherwise, it goes on to be the top mid-size family sedan in my book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:17 am

How did you arrive at that conclusion? There are 15 European cars in the list above, far outnumbering Japanese entries.

Speaking of Audi, I’ve always been infatuated with those things with four rings. I had a soft spot for the B5 A4, was mad about the B8 when it first came out, and stick my neck out everytime an A5 Coupe passes by. The B7 RS4 remains on my “to drive list”.

Handsome, classy and desirable, but the Audi driving experience always bursts the bubble, for me at least.

The proof of the pudding is in the driving, which is why the new Focus (much improved package, but some magic is lost) isn’t in my list. Drove the ST – it’s quick and suprisingly comfortable, but the Megane RS is the better hot hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • skyrim on Jan 02, 2013 at 10:39 am

I am with you on Audi, me too stretching my neck everytime one passing be or I pass by one LOL. Maybe one day, perhaps I should aim at the A4 new model (not the current facelift), when err? Whatever it is, the car has to beat F30 otherwise it is like changing religion :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • nice collection of car

• Suv Lover on Jan 01, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Why no top 5 suv of the year list??
    Btw appreciate Sam Loo for entertaining the crowd

• Expatriate VN on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Without NAP taxes, or follow Langkawi prices, the following are my top 5 picks:

1) Toyota Camry 2.5L

2) Nissan Teana 2.5L

3) Honda CRV

4) TOyota Estima 2.4L

5) Nissan Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
    • falcon on Jan 01, 2013 at 11:47 pm

La Camry je ingatkan Bentley lol. Preve pun ada 4 airbag tau

• theanswer on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:25 am

camry 2.5 without vsc and 4 airbags only is your top choice? hahah definitely J fan boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • Nenek Jack on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:54 am

Hahahah The worst is still the stone age Perdana V6 at RM102K price. LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • oblong on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:30 am

RV first…safety later…

• Expatriate VN on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:56 pm

It will have VSC, 10 airbags and other specs as in US market provided it come with Langkawi price and without NAP.

• intermilan on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:09 am

Thanks for the joke! :O :O

• WAJALUTION on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:27 am

My Malaysia’s best car of 2012

Perodua Alza 1.5 AT RM 58,503
    Nissan Almera 1.5 E AT RM 79,800
    Honda Civic 1.5 Hybrid RM 119,980
    Volkswagen Passat 1.8T RM 170,000
    BMW 320i 2.0T RM 238,800
    +
    Toyota GT86 2.0 MT RM 243,000.00

My Malaysia’s Worse car of 2012

Proton Preve 1.6 CPS AT RM 62,990.00
    Toyota Avanza 1.5 AT RM 72,603.50
    Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.4 TSI 5dr RM 169,888.00
    Toyota Fortuner 2.7 Petrol RM 179,007.10
    Toyota Camry 2.5 RM 180,900.00

Cars to look forward in 2013
    Perodua Viva replacement; Daihatsu Mira e:S
    Next generation Nissan Sylphy
    Next generation Kia Forte K3
    Next generation Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7
    New BMW 4-Series coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • bro… you’re super noob
      alza and almera how’s the safety rating?

btw,since when preve using cps???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:28 am

No Kimchis?

Perhaps they will make the top 5 most dai mai cars in the used car arena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • Iniesta Leong on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:16 am

According to Sam loo principle of buying vehicle, wine best option will be a bike and my top five will be

1. Modenas, locally produced and affordable bike
    2.suzuki ,
    3.honda,
    4. Yamaha
    5.kawasaki

I never heard Toyota is selling bike so it is not included in the list.

Forgive me if am being disturbing

Happy new year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:50 pm

You are good at fault finding! So according to LGBT principle of choosing partner! What is your top 5 pick?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Wrong, just buy T or H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Top 5 Vehicle with Best RV:

1.) BMX (not BMW)
      2.) Roller Blades
      3.) Roller Skates
      4.) Skateboard
      5.) Kapcai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Iniesta Leong on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:17 am

Sorry it should be our best option, typo error

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Best option some more this kaki mabuk! Modenas is the best pick! Best of the joke for the start of 2013!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • brgFx on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Well there are many things to comment rather than just meaningless avatar. Oh I forgot that you are Pumpkins dupe who would rather annoying than giving benefits for others

• lovescars on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:37 am

Nice selection by the writers, a really good selection and fun to read their reasons why.

Glad to see the humble CRZ make it with 2 mentions. It’s a super fun car to drive even though it’s not high in the HP dept. it’s got amazing handling for the price.

The new F30 is a sweet car but current owners are facing tons of issues with that car, most unfortunate.

If I had the dosh, I would go with the Boxster S. Just love how the Porsche handles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Nenek Jack on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:06 am

My guess about Sam Loo: he is a farmer from Cameron Highlands that’s why he always mention Hilux (top choice by farmers there beside Land rover) and he hated kimchi cars because Hyundai Kia more beautiful design than Toyota.

And yes Sam Loo keep a pet monkey smuggled from Orang Asli forest neraby!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • sam loo cousin on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:21 pm

What happens to you? At least he has his stance to put resale value as first priority in choosing cars. You only know to bash everything and everybody here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:05 pm

You are obviously a kimchi owner that has been shown the hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
    • Iniesta Leong on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:06 pm

the car pick by the writers here all are good car, aside from the bike lists , I personally will pick the followings:

1) the new BMW F30, ( with its strong branding )
      2) Nissan leaf; ( 100 zero emission car , good to the enviroment and save fuel)
      3) vw beetle or the mini ( for their iconic image)
      4) Audi A5 ( sleek and stylish design and powerful engine)
      5) Nissan almera ( make jap make car more affordable to Malaysian)
      6) vw passat b7 ( cause I own 1)

In any event it is just a matter of personal preference .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Nenek Jack on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:12 am

Best part of the lists it exclude Proton Preve.

Because of Proton, all those cars in the list become overpriced on average RM30K each from actual fair open competition price.

Preve…what a lunatic name lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • gOOsh on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:10 am

hei!! PROTON!! please wake-up larr…

• Sad to see no Range Rover Evoque in the list. I’ve never driven one myself but it looks stunning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Jeremy Clarkson on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:30 am

This is what i said :

“I like the GT86 because it’s come barrelling into the bottom end of the marketplace with a big dirty smile on its face and a suggestion in the way it stands that it wants to have fun with your middle parts. It’s a car designed for one thing only: fun.”

However, because UMW+Your Government is a SCUM, I have no choice but to pick Proton Preve as My No. 1 car for 2012.

• Jeremy 'Powerrrr' Clarkson on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:59 pm

I have really no idea who this imposer is but I like the fact that he has the audacity to use my name and my quotes.

I have given up driving Protons several years ago for they have made terrible products. A quick look at this thing call the the Internet shows that the Preve is ‘word that means proof. A name that embodies everything Proton aspires to and, ultimately delivers. But don’t take our word for it. Let the car be the proof of our commitment to be better.’

The only thing I can deduce from this as I have’t driven it yet because it’s not sold in the UK is that Proton has begin to get their job half done. Sorry, but the rear just dose’t look like anything like the front ,as if it’s design by two different man with conflicting interest’and the interior is laughable. The performance may be respectable in your country, but here anyone with a decent pay will get a Golf.

Now I do not know the situation that is in Malaysia, but I’ve already pick a car of the year, It’s the awesome 86. Sadly I do not know whats going on in your country and this UMW thing, but as a driving machine, nothing comes close to Toyota’s effort.

http://www.topgear.com/uk/car-news/jeremy-clarkson-car-of-the-year-toyota-gt86-2012-12-7

Sincerely
      Jeremy’s double

• alldisc on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:34 pm

here’s a message for you Paul, from Jeremy Clarkson – “I hate you!!”

thats for putting Prius in your top 5 list. ha ha ha!!

• Jimmy Ng on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Here’s my list that I’ve driven this year. I have 6 instead of 5. The 6th car is obvious. That’s my ride :)

1. BMW 335i
    2. Renault Megane RS 250 Cup
    3. Golf GTI
    4. Audi A4
    5. Range Rover Evoque
    6. Toyota Camry 2.0G

And, the best is the car that is fully paid up… :)))

• Threetwentydee on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Paultan and co should be commended on the Top 5 article as I have never seen so many comments on an article before …..both nice and err..bruisers too!

I believe all the authors are entitled to their own viewpoints and as the cars selected were not constrained to a certain dollar bracket or origin/make then fair is fair and I had a good read and understood where the respective authors viewpoints stemmed from…

My personal experience, having owned Proton, Toyota and Kia before is that I am never gonna touch them again unless financially stricken for whatever reason…having owned a E90 320i and now currently owning a E90 320d…sentiment is that the continental experience is what everyone should strive for. The ‘turbo diesel’ experience is akin to nirvana and I can relate very well to Paul Tan’s experience with the 520d..

In the end where budgets are what rules our day and where daily driving routes and cargo (read large broods too!) play a part in our choice of wheels…none of us car crazy dudes / dudettes will ever be satisfied with our rides and will itch for something better!!

• skyrim on Jan 02, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Another fellow convert, the ultimate driving machine…LOL
      YNWA

• I think the most comments I’ve seen , with a whopping 373 comment, is the P3-22A Hatchback spy shot a while back. This is only 140 at the time of writing.

http://paultan.org/2012/12/14/spied-proton-preve-p3-22a-hatchback-on-highway/

I still do not have the privileged to drive a continental European car yet, but I’ve sat on many. Boy It really is a different world. The Teutonics really have a thing for cars. Ever the turn of the century, the Germans rather make less quality stuff than more rugged stuff, this is evident during, sadly, WWII the striking difference in ideology rsulted the scary and nearly invisible Pz IV, Panther and the king of them all, the Tiger. They were all swarm up by rugged and less powerful Shermans and T-34 in the end.

But enough of my war shit-talking, got caught up in my own world there. The F30 3-series is probably the most perfect car on sale today as far as design and numbers go. There is little to fault that car and I’ve sat in it, and it has a simple but striking interior, driving position is spot on.

But I live in the middle-incomn group and a F30 is still a stretch. Hack even a Camry 2.4 is a stretch. The German cars are probably in the highest hierarchy of ownership. For most of us without the cash, we will have to settle Japanese or Koreans. If not , guess we will have to fall for Malaysian. I’ve still got years ahead of me, so maybe……

• beta-gal on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:25 pm

F30 the most perfect car? u must be kidding..

read more boy
        http://www.germancarforum.com/rust-issues-found-in-f20-1-series-and-f30-3-series

• Note the ‘probably’ and ‘from a design and number standpoint’

Well, all cars have their problems, and it’s a surprise to see this, someone is going to get fired. They take perfection pretty seriously in Germany.

• skyrim on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:44 pm

Thanks for the link. F30 has rusty seat frames, many owners have already known that. New buyers know that too but they still buy. At the moment we get rusty seat frames replaced free of charge.

There are other problems too – all summed up as QA/QC or assembly issues. Perhaps these issues will go away after few more months or one year from now or never (in which case BMW will be busy wasting resources to replace faulty parts).

However, many believe that driving pleasure found in F30 can overcome these so called problems. To reject the car just because of rusty seat experience is of course individual wise decision but many others think otherwise.

Where do you really stand? – would love to read more of your view rather than one liner comment. Cheers

• Mat Global on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Why i buy Preve?

I test drive the car in May, i found that the car handling and comfort are excellent.The car to me has a presentable design.Interior is spacious and ergonomics is very good.
    Modern engines should have force injection-turbocharged for pick up power and fuel economy and also VSC for safety.Preve cfe have all these plus my favourite cvt transmission.
    Drive quality is very much like conti.cars that i have experienced with my previous Bmw 318i, Citroen C5 and Renault Megane.
    I don’t come across Japan or Korea makes 1600-1800 c.c that can drive as good.The only thing i wish Proton can upgrade fit and fittings of the interior/cabin to make it more appealing.

I ve worked as bank manager,Car sales consultant and now as a remisier and a partner to a used car dealer in Hulu Klang.Certainly, i know what car is good to drive and look at.My other valuable car is Nissan X-Trail.Choice is a personal matter. Otherwise, we all will marry the same girl.Thank you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • sonyman on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:51 pm

F30, dam sexy what, i also like, but the 6 series grand coupe, is even a nicer car,

anyway, conti is the way to go. That is why you must buy a good resale value car to finance your route to a conti world. what same same loo is trying to say is, he loves to collect korean cars. But he tells others to sell cheap cheap to him. where he buys a great resale value car like the camry, to finance his conti car of his choice, so he is not wrong, though he likes to think everyone else but him, is a not as smart as him.

So think about it, camry now, BMW F30 in 5 years time, you buy camry at 180K, 5 years down the line you sell camry at 180K, because Sama sama loo says so, you borrow 50 k to upgrade to a F30, instead of most ppl saying they cannot afford camry how to buy BMW. So everyone, think of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Jagdev on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Bunch of losers commenting on this post while Paul is laughing his way to the bank in his X5. Gnite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Maserati on Jan 02, 2013 at 11:53 pm

As expected ,not a single KOREAN crap in the list!

Mostly German and Jap marques! Of course they produce some of the best cars in the whole wide world!

Koreans are far far behind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
    • sonyman on Jan 03, 2013 at 8:36 am

dont worry maserati, one day the koreans will be in par and ahead of the Japanese bunch. Camry already fail the IIHS small side step impact. Accord pass flying colours, K5 Scored acceptable. sonata is marginal, so slowly camry will die first then slowly the rest of japanese will not die, but not improvement.
      Anyway orang putih car is still the way to go. Japanese dying breed, korean next uprising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • David D on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Keep up the hate dude. People like you are the reason why out car market can’t progress. With people like you who hate brands just because you don’t like them, it’s no wonder why Japanese car distributors here love shafting us till kingdom come with poorly-specced cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • sonyman on Jan 03, 2013 at 8:37 am

sorry maserati iihs test is called small overlap front test.

• Paul Si on Jan 03, 2013 at 10:53 am

My list:
    1. Land Rover Defender 110 HCPU
    2. Land Rover Defender 110 DCPU
    3. Land Rover Defender 110 SW
    4. Land Rover Defender 110 Hardtop
    5. land Rover Defender 90 SW

Feel free to disagree but I won’t pull you out of the ditch if you do.
    Happy New Year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Mat Global on Jan 03, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Continental Vs Japan

Between the two, conti.cars drive feel is better.To own one good conti.car in our upcycle life may not be a problem but to maintain one could be a long headache.
    A Bmw 318i maintenance cost is about 2-3 times higher compare to say H.Accord over a period of 4 years and 5th yr onwards can cost much more.

Take VW Golf for ex, my colleague 30km 2 yr 1mth car today (warranty 2yr) may have to come out with RM10,000 to foot for ‘mechatronic’ of dual clutch system failure,where all 8 sensors are housed.
    This failure leads to self erratic gear changers and lose of momentum.The danger warning light appears and the car can eventually stalled.

VW & Audi has since recalled 53,000 units in 2009, but in Malaysia the problem still persists.

Overall, i still prefer Jap. brand and i like Nissan in particular.This Jap. brand has that continental feel due to their colaboration with Renault.Its engine, drive and comfort are about the best.
    I am sure Paul Tan can agree with me on this.

But then again,i wish i can have that new Mercedes C200 CGI in my garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Contis sui kwan and kwai tai all the time wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • hermes on Jan 03, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Long time ago a Golf driver changed the clutch 3 times and the gears 7 times. That was in the first year of ownership. Then he sold the problematic car and did’t want to buy any VW car again, even after I poisoned him with the TSI and dual clutch thingy.

True story, feel free to bash.

• O-man on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Anyway. Good mix of cars from the reviewers.
    Its their preferences so just take it as it is. Why take it so personally! If you want to take your points really that bad then go venture into automotive journalism. At the end of the day the decision to buy a car will depends on what one heart wants ( guided to some extent by what you’ve read / research/ test drove / experiences etc ) and one’s budget allow.
    so just chill lah. We are adults so we should participate to benefit others. bitching and quarelling are school kids mentality. Just my 2 cents worth.

• MrCounterstrike on Jan 04, 2013 at 1:06 pm

My list of cars that are my preference:
    1.BMW E39 5 series
    2.Mercedes Benz W210 E class
    3.Volvo S80
    4.Honda Accord
    5.Toyota Landcruiser

• mentari-o-korea on Jan 04, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Nope, not a good review without K5 or Koup at least!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Kia and Hyundai can be the top 2 cars in Malaysia, but it will still have poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Sonata is now my 3rd most profitable model on the used car areana, coming up to no. 1 soon when more and more owners cannot afford to pay for the RM2500 service at 40,000kms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • David D on Jan 05, 2013 at 12:11 am

Prove it, that it costs 2.5k to service a Sonata at 40,000 kilometers. Last time I checked, it costs only 1.1-1.3k, due to the transmission fluid change.

Wanna lie? Get more creative before you shoot rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
        • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 05, 2013 at 1:06 am

He’s trying his best to spread false propaganda thinking that it will lower the RV of korean and conti cars. So that ppl will be scared and buy his underspec and overpriced fugly camry. But the truth is servicing at UMW ain’t cheap one bit. In fact its the same as conti cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • sonyman on Jan 04, 2013 at 7:05 pm

no lah, very soon a lot of people will stop buying toyota cars, because camry and lexus fail in new IIHS test, no worries. Honda will take over Toyota’s place.

Koreans are just behind. maybe very soon you will see a new update for GOA body. add more steel for the A and B pillars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Mat Global on Jan 05, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Sam loo may i know what cars you drive now.
    How u find your cars and what makes you decide your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Camry 2.4V.

And 40,000kms major service costs less than RM550 and UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • camaro on Jan 06, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Wow, a camry! How many airbags you have in there? 4? 6? 7?

• chlrf on Jan 06, 2013 at 6:46 pm

My father said lives are more important than money so he bought a 508. 6 airbags. How many airbags you have there?

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 06, 2013 at 10:08 pm

but the devil says money is more important than your soul/ life !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Make sure your dad has the tow truck operator phone no. of speedial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:22 pm

When a kimchi car dealer drives a Toyota, what does that tell you about kimchis?

Ultra Hailat lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Akio Toyoda on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:55 am

And when toyota’s president drives an Audi, what does that tell you? Go Google…

Lol…..HYPER Hailat lor

I know its a very cheap shot at Toyota, but so is Sam’s at kimchis

• giylee on Jan 05, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Nenek Jack or Expatriat VN or Pumpkins or William Hung or whoever you are, may i know what cars you drive now.
    How u find your cars and what makes you decide your choice.

-fixed-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Maserati on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Dont know why u still support Korean junk.Rubbish means rubbish lah.

You want respect,you gotta improve your cars to a outstanding level.Not just make a good looking car byut drives like a cow.

Korean gonna catch up? lol,goodluck to u! Elantra sales like crap! After all the hype,hardly see on the road.One or two seen in a month. Rubbish car with rubbish resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:34 am

100% support Maserati’s statement.

But having more and more new Korean Car buyers means that I get more transactions and profits when they sell their cabbage, usually within 18-24 months. Some will sell within a year knowing that they have made the mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Mat Global on Jan 06, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Noted your choice is Toyota.
    Among Jap. brands i ve been with Nissan and Honda only.

• hahaha on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Dont just list 5! many peoples not happy with it!
    Paultan should list 30 car of the years!

• kepalabapak on Jan 15, 2013 at 2:45 pm

where is EB?