Citroën appoints Naza Euro Motors as local distributor

ds4

Automobiles Citroën has appointed Naza Euro Motors (NEM) as the official distributor for the Citroen brand in Malaysia, effective Jan 1, 2013.

Things will kick off for the brand and NEM with the opening of a 3S outlet in the Klang Valley by the end of February, which is when the model line-up to be brought in by NEM will be announced – no details, but expect to see a different (and expanded) range from previously. The month will also see the introduction of an official website.

In the coming months, new Citroën 3S centres are expected to be launched in both the northern and southern regions. Elsewhere, a dedicated call-centre (1-800-222-808) has also been introduced for existing and new Citroën customers. With regards to existing warranties for Citroen products in the country, NEM says that it will honour all warranties given by Automobiles Citroën.

ds5

Speculation about the distributor change began last August – PSA Peugeot-Citroën was rumoured to have informed previous brand distributor Brooklands Motors back in May that it was ending its franchise agreement with the Malaysian company.

Naza already has Peugeot under its umbrella, and the consolidation of the two French marques under the same roof follows a global direction to restructure the brands together in an effort to improve efficiency.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Well that’s good news, but the DS3 is way overdue in Malaysia.
    I know that there are probably zero market potential with the DS3, considering it’s 2 door , but bring it anyways and in limited numbers if you have to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • wuttaheck on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:13 pm

If you actually did your research or even have have slightest interest in Citroen, you might already know this — Brooklyn already brought in a few units of DS3…last month I checked only 1-2 unit(s) left and they were selling those with huge discount, since they need to clear their stock before this dealership transfer. I’m talking about 10K-20K discount. So AVH, what are you waiting for?

• neutral on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:47 pm

they brought in 3 units i think….without any marketing at all…nobody really knew that they brought it in…same with the DS4…no official launch…just a preview on the C4 launch then straight to sale…they sold a few of those. Though I wouldn’t think that NAZA would provide the best service in the world, they will be much better at marketing and selling the cars. Expect to see more Citroens on local roads.

• I actually could’t find a single place online that says the DS3 is in town except for the Singaporean plate version running around my neighborhood few months back.
        How much are they even selling for 1 unit?

• neutral on Jan 02, 2013 at 3:13 pm

there was a citroen brooklands sales staff on autoworld forum that posted some pics….they sold it at 130k i think…they brought in 2 or 3 units only…DS4 is priced at approximately 150-160k…very reasonable especially if u go for the manual 200hp version

• wuttaheck on Jan 02, 2013 at 3:28 pm

I don’t have the figure, and didn’t bother to ask as I’m not shopping around for a new car. I called them to inquire for spare parts for my C4…damn expensive, better go to other Pug/Cit specialist

• DS 4 is here as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x3WvmXPimkc

• kadajawi on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Thank god. They should just use the same showrooms and especially the same SC. With a bit of training a Peugeot mechanic should be able to work with a Citroen as well. Engine the same, gearbox the same, …

Now how about a C3? That would be a different sight on Malaysian roads.

• shawal on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:51 pm

hoarder… shud set up an intervention

• Pat San on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Looks like most of the car distributorship are going to “GRC” so how are we to “turunkan harga kereta”…sigh…..

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Naza now has sells Pug and Citroen to sell. This is quite good knowing the fact that Naza has improved the Pug’s sales in recent years. I hope this will improve Citroen Malaysia in the near future too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:00 pm

one of the main reason for peug strong sales are the product itself, beginning with 407 and 307 and then the SW versions.. and later the 308 which contributed a lot to peugoet sales for the past few years.

the 406 and 306 failed to make any impact on Malaysia after peugoet big comeback with 405 some 20 years ago.

• The Kia Spectra WAS a joke, look at the resale value for 2005 model compared to City, almost junk level…maybe the prices will go up to, like what happened to Chevy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Hey you have no right to talk about RV. That’s Sam Loos’ patented one-liner.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:52 am

you have a point there but keep in mind Naza has also played an important role in Pug’s sale in Malaysia. Naza has done well in term of marketing and putting more dealers. Plus, they have also put up quite a lot of service centers (even though from what I heard it is not that good) which improves Pug in Malaysia slightly.

• yeayyy.. ds5

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 3:39 pm

A big Citroen must be comfortable. It had to have the hydropneumatik suspension. But instead it has a sporty stiff and harsh suspension. It is almost as if someone at PSA went to the wrong briefing and thought this was going to be a Peugeot. Especially since the rest of the car is tuned towards comfort.

• DewaSemut on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Just do the 3S thingy under one roof lah (Peugeot & Citroen). Paint half of the current Blue Box into whatever color Citroen represents.. hehe :P

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Blue and red clashes…

But yes, they should combine their efforts. After all Citroen and Peugeot is similar, but Citroen is tuned towards comfort and Peugeot towards sportiness. So when someone comes into the showroom, test drives a Pug and says nice, but too uncomfortable, the SA can suggest the Citroen version instead. And when the potential buyer is scared about service the SA can say it is the same as Peugeot. Same SC, same mechanics, same internals, same company.

More PSA cars on the road mean more experience for mechanics, more SC etc.

• Dr Mamak on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:24 pm

I sure won’t buy from AP King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
  • shuk rocco on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:30 pm

yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Hope the prices will be as good as current peugeot line up and the technicians are well trained , not like the current batch @ Peugeot SC

• alibaba on Jan 02, 2013 at 2:49 pm

BAD NEWS!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Another Naza? The step-mother of all automotive problems in the country.

Proton is the mother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 49
  • rickeng on Jan 02, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Anything by naza you guys can forget about it.you will know the power of naza when ur car breakdowns & it will take long time to repair or wait for parts,their after sales service is top notch i mean all the way from bottom,just check all the forum u will know.Cars is good but not the dealr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
  • Need to admit NAZA balls here. Few years back in Malaysia nobody dare to buy Kia for example. I still remember one of my friend bought a Kia Spectra which end up as a joke among our colleagues. But, now see how well Kia penetrate into Malaysia!! Then they bring in Ducati, Aprilia, Harley, Peug, Chevy and now Citroen. To convince Malaysian mentality with odd car brands not an easy task, presume we comfort with Japanese brands. Really, they have big ballssss here! Good for domestic market and avoid our home ground flood with Japanese type, refreshing scenery!

P/s: gomen/future gomen need to revise local tax structure for vehicles! No point bring in new vehicle models with insane price tag~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:02 pm

nazakia sales were very strong from 2002 to 2006. they have nothing to be proud when it comes to sales figures today, but be ashamed of themselves for failing to keep up with momentum.

i sincerely believe they have lost it.

• Naza Peugeot did not have so many problems in their car. The only thing is the car technology is much improving compare to 10 years ago. So the SC must able to cope with this technology, sadly the SC is not up to that yet.

The current batch of Peugeot SC is poor (at selective SC only)
    All our comment heve will point to Glenmarie, how about other SC at newly open damansara, or Pj or sg besi?? very less comlaint heard?

Perhaps choose other SC will have u peace of mind. My 2 sen.

• Dan, good suggestion. Maybe go to the newer ones where customers don’t have to wait, and wait and wait.

• vee-oh on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:48 pm

beautiful car..should be reliable with the new technology

• alldisc on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:06 pm

citroen cars are always associated with reliability issues.. no matter whether it is C5, Xantia.. and XM being the worst. CS, Pallas, CX and BX all also contribute to the same.

the least are ZX and the less exciting Xsara. and perhaps the C1 and C2 but unfortunately those never see our roads. dunno what is the story with C3, C4 and their picasso models though.

• jacksonkua on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:30 pm

So far my DS4 doesn’t give me any single at all.

I was wondering you own any Citroen car?

• wuttaheck on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:22 pm

I don’t think so. We normally received this kind of hear-say comments. It all started by non-specialist mechanics who doesn’t know their way around Citroen. This is to cover up their lack of knowledge and to justify the hefty bill which is caused by re-work.
          So far, my 7 y.o C4 doesn’t give me much headache. Except for routine oil change & wear & tear parts, I only had to change the alternator & rear absorbers just recently.
          I said this before & I’m saying it again — you need to have passion to own a Citroen. Give it a try, and you’ll know what I meant. I still think & believe that my 7 y.o C4 is still better looking and fun to drive compared to other newer soul less H & T brand, be it in the same segment or same price range.

• vee-oh on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:56 pm

u sure know ur way on citroen…coz i dont understand a word bout ur citroen story :p

• Vee-oh- i doubt you know anything about citroen other than hearsay

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 3:53 pm

The C1 is a co-production with Toyota. It better be reliable.

Yes, the technically more conventional Citroens are more reliable since mechanics are more familiar with the tech. The interesting models are too advanced. That makes them so brilliant, but that also means you need an expert. The Citroen SM is a very reliable car… If you maintain it properly. Which means you need to have a Maserati expert to service the engine. Then it is fine. Give it to someone used to service simple engines and boom it goes.

• Alldisc- these are old stories . Citroen nowdays if you bother to check uk power survey citroens reliability are up there with the germans and japanese makes

• silver on Jan 02, 2013 at 7:24 pm

saw a ds5 in france the other day… OMG it had me drolling… haven seen such a beauty for quite a while…. can’t wait for it to be in malaysia

• Yeay..cant wait to trade in my old c5 to a new c5 wagon

• the DS5 is one hella good looking car

• buy proton last on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Haiya…takde komplen ada pun komplen maaa….

• anti-first on Jan 02, 2013 at 9:17 pm

yayyy….and about damn time too!

smart move by PSA to see that naza is the only local distributor who can “upset the balance” (read: slowly and surely, eating into the market share) of two certain Japanese brands which had milked the RV cows until the cows themselves kicked them right where it hurts the most! :)

awesome times are coming, indeed!

• kenny_lim on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:19 am

another brand goes down the drain bcos of the distributor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Jaybond on Jan 03, 2013 at 8:51 am

Appointing Naza as the new local distributor for Citroen is a very good move for the brand, considering the synergies Naza will have as the full representative for the PSA brands in Malaysia, although nowadays Citroen is more upmarket than Peugeot and some of their models compete directly with the German marques.

• Car manufacturer will choose retailer/distributor who has history in successfully delivering what they/PSA envision. Naza has successfully built confidence on Kia, Chevy and Peugeot to the malaysian public. Hence, you cant blame PSA for trusting in NAZA as they have successfully bring back Peugeot from the grave.
    Disclaimer… I am not working with NAZA or have any relation with NAZA group.

• intermilan on Jan 03, 2013 at 10:25 am

The grapevine talk is suggesting that Naza might position the Citroen higher than Peugeot.

That means they will/probably/have to bring higher-spec Citroen models (which largely consists of DS models i.e. DS3, DS4 & DS5 with ‘DStyle’ or ‘DSport’ trim) and sell it them at a higher premium.

Not heard of any CKD plan yet, so for now, all Citroen must be CBU units.

They won’t do it like how they did Peugeot back then i.e. CKD 308 (high-spec but with low/reasonable pricing).

Even with Peugeot, I heard Nasim is going to change strategy and will move the brand upmarket, meaning, selling new models at higher price / premium image. This has probably begun with the 508.

So for Citroen, I reckoned Naza wouldn’t start with a bang! like they did with Peugeot. Since Citroen DS range isn’t cheap to begin with, it will be interesting to see if Malaysians are willing to fork out extra $$ (than anticipated) for excellent-looking, high-quality, desirable Citroens of present.

Anyway, all the best to Naza Euro Motors.

Hopefully, this will mark a new beginning / chapter for Citroen in Malaysia.

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 3:59 pm

This would be a bad move. The C range of cars is already attractive, and the pricing is much more suitable to Malaysians. They can still offer the DS cars, but focus should be C. Affordable and sensible, comfortable cars. They don’t really compete with Peugeot since the focus is very different. So offering the comfortable and the sporty version of a car under the same roof makes sense. Covers the whole market.

• DS5 Please, i’ll be tempting to get one if they price it right and competitive.

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:03 pm

The DS5 is a pretty face only. Underneath it is neither here nor there. Uncomfortable sporty suspension combined with a lifeless and numb steering? How does that go together? IIRC it sits on the cheap C4 Picasso platform.

The real deal is the C5. Very comfortable (similar suspension as Rolls Royce, high spec S class etc.) yet decent handling due to the active suspension. Good looking. And decent value.

• intermilan on Jan 04, 2013 at 3:49 pm

You are probably right about the DS5. Heard the same ‘feedback’ on various oversea reviews. The uber-cool DS5 drive has room for improvement.

Perhaps Citroen would listen to ‘feedback’ and revise the suspension setup to give the DS5 a better drive (ride,handling etc) when they facelift it. The DS5 deserved better. But it was launched in late 2011, so facelift is a few years head of us, perhaps in 2014.
        Naza would be wise to bring it here, facelift or not, as many will die for DS5 pretty face alone. But need to give 5-years unlimited mileage warranty to really boost market confidence lah.

As for the C5, 3-4 years back, it is the deal, albeit looking more Germanic than French. It was launched in 2008 and facelift in 2011.. so now @ 2013, probably not so cool anymore as it is at the tail-end of life-cycle.

• Laura Teoh on Jan 27, 2013 at 2:50 pm

we had 2 DS3s, 1 auto 1 manual, which were here for testing and approvals, not meant for sale… thats why no launch/news about the cars lor… but before we could start selling, u know what happened :(

the 2 are otr already… if u happen to see 1, straight go buy 4d :D

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Naza should ckd assemble C4L, DS5, C3 II, and Peugeot 301 based budget sedan C-Elysee.

• Jack Philip Yong on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:05 pm

A great and new start for Citroen Malaysia.

• PauKaya on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:13 pm

ckd ds3?

• t.j.balan on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

citroen is a great car,hope Naza can do a better job then earlier franchise holder