Datsun cars to be based on Lada Kalina platform

datsun-logo

In March last year, we were greeted with the news that Nissan will bring back the classic Datsun brand. Datsun, which is no strange name to Malaysians, will be relaunched as a budget brand pitched to high-growth emerging markets like India, Indonesia and Russia.

Now we know Datsun cars will be based on a Lada. “Datsuns will be built off the new Lada Kalina platform,” Nissan’s executive vice president Colin Dodge told Automotive News Europe. In May 2012, the Renault-Nissan Alliance and state corporation Russian Technologies agreed to create a JV that will see the Alliance take over AvtoVAZ, maker of Russia’s Lada cars.

The cars will use a modular platform with shared elements such as braking and fuel systems as well as steering mechanicals, Dodge said. However, Nissan’s top exec in Europe said that Datsuns would differ visually from the Russian car. “The upper body and interior will be completely different, You won’t notice it as a Lada,” he stressed.

lada-kalina

Datsun boss Vincent Cobee revealed that the brand will launch two models in the first year, with a third arriving in 2015. The cars will be revealed by the end of 2013. How cheap will they be? The Wall Street Journal cited sources including Nissan CEO Carlos Ghosn as saying the target starting price for Datsuns is 2,300 euros (RM9,275).

Datsuns sold in Russia will be made alongside Nissan’s new Russia-only Almera sedan at AvtoVAZ’s factory southeast of Moscow. Datsuns sold in India and Indonesia will be made locally, in Chennai and Cikampek, respectively.

Click here to see some old Datsuns from the good old days!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nissan2Crazy on Jan 02, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Mirage Rival at RM55k for AT standard.

come on! CKD to face the Market Liberalisation in Malaysia!

• The reason that everybody thinks Japanese cars are reliable, the 120Y. Damn those thing just won’t die, even with their rusty body hanging on.

Well at RM10k there is not much to complain about that price [though I’am sure there are some PT keyboard warriors are not satisfied still or have something to say]and there is not much to complain for what you are getting at that price.

But Datsun, your engine must be reliable and survive a Nuclear Apocalypse (hardy), a criteria to be a Datsun, that’s all.

• white fox on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:01 pm

9300 + 60% duty + 10% sales tax + 30% import tax (if not made by asean)

hmm rm21k++ lol cheap than local even with import tax sure kena ban if BN still in charge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • noname on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:07 pm

even the cheapest viva are 25k, how come can be sold at 10k at malaysia.

• Ooo… RM10K for Datsun in Malaysia…..Yes but in your dream

• fast on rolling downhill on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:16 pm

if you notice that 120Y engine is taken from Morris Minor..japanese JV and put austin family engine with changes in carburetion system into Datsun 1200 series..looks carefully side by side Morris minor and Datsun by opening engine hood. Then, you know ..who built reliable engine ! Not japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • ah beng on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:18 pm

i think the Nissan Almeera can be re-branded as Datsun Almeera also… :P

• dungduk on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

looks greats and affordable to everybody. i will one of the car buyer…

• Jimmy on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Nissan will make no compromise on quality I believe. The first chance is the best chance, once spoilt, difficult to get back the words of mouths. See these also ya Mazda dealers, yes Mazda is back to Malaysia and a lot of people are buying, please give good aftersales service (maybe it is already very good, I don’t know).

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 9:48 pm

A rebranded Lada? No compromise in quality? Ahahahahahahaha. Lada is worse than the worst from Proton. It is worse than anything that was ever produced in Korea. Including North Korea. Putin wanted to proof how reliable their own cars are and drove a new Lada through Russia. In tow? A couple of identical cars, some already being towed. Not even the Russians want to drive their own cars.

• Black Dog on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:47 pm

We are increasing being lump together with India,Indonesia and other less develop countries. It shows Malaysia has really back-track far away. Being in this category means cheap, cheap, cheap with less priority on safety. Haiz!

• Abuya on Jan 02, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Abah aku pakai datsun 120Y dulu. Korang jangan memandai nak mengagungkan kereta yg byk problem ni. Cuma satu je advantage kereta ni. Minyak jimat, kalah proton saga magavalve. Lain, kualiti ka, semua ke parit. Tahan lama sebab mmg design kereta dulu guna byk besi dan tebal2, tak nipis cam skrg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Thicker metals do not indicate better safety.

Most cars are build for “thinner” and “lightweight” materials because the rear and front of a car are designed to crumple and absorb damage in an event of a crash.

• John Ree on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:25 pm

if RM9275.00, sure i’ll buy one to replace my Rm21000 , 660cc viva..hehe

• abg_kon on Jan 03, 2013 at 10:06 am

“Nissan CEO Carlos Ghosn as saying the target starting price for Datsuns is 2,300 euros (RM9,275)”

When come to Bolehland …other car tak boleh punya…if this car landed here…expected price can be rm60k or above…if below RM60k maybe with very-very basic spec..no air-cond..pakai kipas only, car radio also keset player saja ma, kerusi maybe pakai kerusi rotan..cushion is from sabut kelapa, sport rim cover only, power window also option..and forget about ABS, EBDS or even disc brakes…maybe power steering also an option.. if dont agree u need to buy proton or perodua…

• DickKing on Jan 02, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Don’t really like the look and design :(

• It’s a Russian car!

• gOOsh on Jan 03, 2013 at 8:10 am

always remember my late grandpa’s 120Y… memories remain…

• Avenger on Jan 03, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Rasanya kalau keta mahal sikit pun ada baiknya…orang tak beli….jalan pun tak jem…boleh galak kan orang naik public transport lagi…pencemaran udara pun kurang….

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Guys. This is a Lada. LADA. I don’t care if it doesn’t look like one. Or that it carries a Japanese badge. It is a Lada. That is worse than Kia or Hyundai 15 years ago. They rebranded old Korean cars and it was an improvement over the local cars!

Why not just sell Dacia rebranded as Datsun? At least those are half way decent cars. No need for Lada… The only good thing to come out of Lada was the Niva, for those who want a cheap, crappy car that was a brilliant off roader.

• Leonardo on Jan 04, 2013 at 9:25 am

The Datsun brand will bring back the memories of my Dad’s Datsun Bluebird, bought in the mid 60s. Very relaiable car. Used it for almost 20 years. I drove the 120Y for my driving test, and passed on the first try. I hope they will not spoil the Datsun name with unreliable Russian quality.

• 240z come back come on! :D

• Designe of Datsun Kalina
    http://cache.zr.ru/wpfiles/uploads/2011/12/201112160916_00-575×361.jpg
    http://cache.zr.ru/wpfiles/uploads/2011/12/201112160916_00.jpg
    http://www.zr.ru/a/391800/
    Russian car news