Citroën 2CV successor could be C4-based, due 2014?

citroenccactus

Some of you may remember the little long-serving Citroën 2CV, or ‘Tin Snail,’ as it was affectionately referred to. Well, if Autobild‘s report is substantiated, its successor should be considerably less tin and snail.

According to the German publication, the model is codenamed the E3 Essential and will make use of the C4‘s platform. It will measure about 4.3 metres long and borrow styling cues from the C-Cactus concept (pictured).

A concept could be shown at the next Frankfurt motor show before the production car’s speculated launch in spring 2014 with a starting price of around €16k (RM64k). Word on the wire is that there will be two petrol units (82 and 100 hp) and one diesel (92 hp) offered.

Yesterday it was announced that Naza Euro Motors (NEM) has been appointed the official Citroën distributor in Malaysia, taking over from Brooklands Motors.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Black Dog on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:38 am

This is one ugly bitch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • wuttaheck on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:18 pm

french bitch it is! hehe

• You don’t know the original 2CV, build from 1948-1990? It also wasn’t “nice”:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2f/2cv_pinkdylan_frome.jpg

• cutester on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:45 am

The front looks like a snout… hehe.

• KL Stray Cat on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:11 pm

It reminds me of a character named Pug from the comic called Beano – from The Bash Street Kids section !!

• VWPASSAT owner on Jan 03, 2013 at 12:15 pm

My Eyes..Oh! My Eyes!!!

• oh wow … it looks like a panamera !

• encik boss on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:38 pm

like a hippopotamus =P

• downsys on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Dunno which is uglier. This, of the Juke.

• Blackmarket on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:44 pm

an enlarged mini cooper?

• ahmadnisfu on Jan 03, 2013 at 1:48 pm

As famously quoted in seniman bujang lapok “lobang hidongmu tatap menjadi pojaan hatikuu” (“your nostril will forever be my admiration”)

• powershot on Jan 03, 2013 at 2:17 pm

looks like the hippo from Madagascar or the pigs from angry birds

• Very beautiful car…dreams for it..

• kadajawi on Jan 03, 2013 at 4:26 pm

*sigh* Yet another cult classic that used to be a cheap car that is turned into some expensive fashion statement. Same like with the VW beetle, Mini, Fiat 500, …

Anyway I thought the C3 Pluriel (and the regular C3) were the follow up the the 2CV.

• momocultus on Jan 03, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Bad Piggies!

• sedan on Jan 03, 2013 at 6:24 pm

hippopotamus!

• looks like a piggy!! oink oink

• Actually it looks quite manly, i dont mind having one seriously guys. Perhaps you guys are not exposed to avant garde design

• gOOsh on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:21 am

different…

• wow…rip off version of nissan juke ^^

• _xXx_ on Jan 04, 2013 at 9:37 am

the designer should be fired at drawing stage…alamak, mass produce summore. Hopeless.

• kadajawi on Jan 04, 2013 at 10:48 am

Read the article. It will borrow styling cues. Which means it won’t be anything like the concept car.

• Avenger on Jan 04, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Citroen ni kat Perancis pun tak famous….saya baru je balik dari Paris…yg banyak saya nampak adalah Peugeot, Mercedes, Mini Cooper dan BMW. Orang putih pun tau kot yg keta ni banyak masalah…jgn bawa masuk Malaysia la…nanti NAZA rugi susah pulak

• Musalmah Endut on Jan 04, 2013 at 3:11 pm

OoOoOoOhh.. i like soo much. It has the juke bulat bulat thing infront!