Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV launched, from RM600

Goodyear-EfficientGrip-SUV

We already have the Goodyear Eagle EfficientGrip for passenger cars, now here’s one for SUV and crossover owners, the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV. Goodyear says that the just-launched rubber is its quietest SUV tyre ever. The new model has the brand’s QuietTred Technology to give “an exceptionally quiet ride without compromising grip and handling capabilities.”

QuietTred is a combination of a noise-dampening Tread Design and a Shock Absorbing Carcass. To help dampen noise, a closed shoulder design prevents radiating radial noise sound waves, while an increased number of pitches optimise block characteristics to reduce noise harmonics. Also, a rib type design provides smooth tread geometry to lower the impact and radiated noise.

Besides the above, the new tyre also sports a high number of biting edges with equally high blade density that improves grip and control. The optimised contact patch provides matched pressure distribution in key areas of the footprint, allowing the tread pattern to work more effectively for better grip.

Goodyear-EG-SUV-logo

“People who own SUVs and 4×4 vehicles are mostly driven by the need to feel ‘in control’ and safe when traveling along on-road and off-road surfaces. But SUV owners today, who mainly drive in urban settings, know what it takes to truly enjoy their vehicle – the added driving comfort of a sedan in an SUV,” said Ivy Peng, MD of Goodyear Malaysia.

Based on instrumented interior noise tests conducted by Goodyear Innovation Center in Luxembourg under coast down conditions on smooth roads, EfficientGrip SUV outperforms its predecessor in both noise and driving comfort. Apparently, even when worn, the EfficientGrip SUV is as quiet as its predecessor when new. In addition, the new tyre is claimed to have 7% shorter braking distance on wet roads.

Available in 16- to 20-inch sizes, the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV is priced from RM600 to RM1,400 per piece.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 05, 2013 at 8:44 am

I dont see any 19″ ones

• Avenger on Jan 05, 2013 at 9:43 am

Tayar Goodyear ni bagus ke?….tayar kereta saya jenis run flat tyre….banyak complaint sebab tak tahan lama…senang rosak…sikit je masuk lubang…dah ada benjolan….mahal lagi

• skyrim on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:27 am

for SUV….guees I would try this in my next SUV tyre change :)

• I changed to Michelin Latitude Tour after I got the car from the dealer. My CRV is 2010 model and now the mileage is about 27500km. The front tire is about to wear down. My Michelin dealer told me that michelin do not bring in latitude tour anymore they will only bring in Latitude Cross….. it will cost RM750 per piece for 225 17 65…Michelin Latitude Tour has served me well…good in wet and dry. I was wandering how is the GoodYear Efficient SUV doing …..in terms of wet/dry grip…noise level …please update…

• just change to SUV goodyear efficient grip before CNY, not very good and not to my expectation. Noise level supposed to reduce, cannot even beat Michelin MX. Not worth the money, now stuck with it at least for another 30Km. It is a no buy for those considering.

• zanggief on Jan 07, 2013 at 2:04 pm

why no 15″…

• Paul or Danny any user reviews on the aforesaid tire…..terms of wet/dry grip…noise level….

• mantop on Oct 04, 2013 at 12:01 pm

CAR PRICES ARE WAY TOO EXPENSIVE!!! TYRE PRICES ALSO FOLLOW SUIT!!! DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY ANYMORE…THIS IS MALAYSIA…

• KK Wong on Oct 07, 2013 at 12:56 am

The Customer Service of Goodyear Malaysia sucks real time. I was using Goodyear on all my fleet of 56 cars/Pickups. Then some 8pc of the Fortera tires go bald in the middle in just 9 months/15,000km. Several claim were made to the Malaysia Head Claim Manager and he just ignore them. He don’t even want to know the problems at all and blame them on the cars instead. After that I have switch all mine Tires and listed companies tires to Michelin’s/Toyos and they even save more petrol and last longer. If buying and advising companies to buy more than 10,000pc per year does not make me an expert in tracking these tires issues, i don’t know what will.
    Please don’t get scam by Goodyear Malaysia making stupid promises that they don’t honor. These warranties ARE NOT VALID in Malaysia. No wonder their sales are declining monthly while other increases… If you don’t believe me, go ask the Goodyear Dealers and see what they say about warranties …