KL motorists pay RM10 mil to traffic police every year

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt

Motorists in the capital pay fines of up to RM10 million yearly for traffic offences, according to a report published today by Bernama.

The Kuala Lumpur Police said that between January and September last year, 22,054 traffic summonses were issued, and 33,836 in 2010, totalling RM10.15 million. Fines incurred last year amounted to RM10.55 million.

Under the Road Transport Act 1987, road users who beat traffic lights have to pay a RM300 fine.

According to City Traffic Police chief ACP Rusli Mohd Noor, the summonses were issued based on camera recordings at traffic light junctions and by traffic police officers stationed on the streets.

The Bernama report states that the alarming figures show that errant motorists are more concerned about reaching their respective destinations on time than their safety. It adds that fines, traffic rules and tragic accidents have done little to change the attitudes of such motorists.

“Many motorists do not follow traffic rules. If motorists follow traffic rules, the roads will be safer for other road users, and it will ease traffic congestion,” Rusli said, adding that those who beat traffic lights endanger the lives of others as well as their own.

“Many people do not understand. If the traffic light turns yellow, road users should slow down and bring their vehicles to a stop.” He urged motorists to “learn to respect other road users too.”

Some have suggested increasing the fines for people who do not follow traffic rules. However, Rusli believes that increasing fines will affect lower income groups.

“Low income groups may stop breaking traffic rules but rich people will continue to break traffic rules and pay fines,” he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• That is the reported sum, what is the unreported sum? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
    • carlos on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:45 pm

unreported sum need to be reported by the giver.
      Don’t give = no unreported sum
      Giver = Receiver 2×5 = 5×2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • works on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:24 pm

“Low income groups may stop breaking traffic rules but rich people will continue to break traffic rules and pay fines,” he said.

Start implement community service for those who break the rules. minimum 20 hrs. i think people will think twice before breaking the rules next time if we implement this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • Gua beli kereta mahal2. Bayar tax maaa. Bukan kereta baru pon gua beli kereta used car saja sini Malaysia dia panggil recond. Sikalang u cakap gua tak boleh speeding pulak. U kasi tulun la itu tax lepas tu u nak naik harga minyak ka nak saman laju ka saman la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
  • bystander on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:35 pm

for the rich, problems that can be solved by money…are not problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • carlos on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:49 pm

What u mean? pay summon or bribe? Easiest way don’t become traffic offender and obey the laws.

Not rich + break traffic law = stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
      • many boleh like to pay bribe than summon…then talk like champion bout bribe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • i don know la y boleh people too afraid of being summon…if u dont do traffic offend no need to be afraid.. i dont really care…AES i don bother bout it…since i don broke those road laws..oni offender be wary bout those prob..

• Gegary on Jan 06, 2013 at 9:03 am

The PROBLEM is – some traffic laws and road layouts are stupid.

1) Some speed limits too unreasonable for certain stretches. Or sudden changes in speed limit.

2) Some roads are badly planned. You have to make some long detour to get to where you want to go, tempting some people to make illegal U-turns. Drive extra 2km, wait at traffic light / or skip all that.

3) Town planning is corrupted, lazy and mismanaged. Too many offices/apartments approved in one area that roads cannot support. Leading to traffic jam. So people very tempted to take short cuts when jams are stupid.

Only major thing that should be fined is drunk driving. The others should be up for continued debate.

• gOOsh on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:50 pm

with AES, the numbers can doubled/tripled in shorter period…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • “Low income groups may stop breaking traffic rules but rich people will continue to break traffic rules and pay fines,”

Rubbish!! Two parts to it – issuing fines and enforcement- Less than half the people issued fines actually pay up – so they feel no pain – Look at the numbers who turn up when there’s a ‘discount’ on fines – totally ridiculous way of running things.

The number of offences gets greater every day – witness the people who run red lights, motor-cyclists who ride in the opposite direction to traffic, cars that park on public walkways or on main roads like Bukit Bintang and Sultan Ismail causing more jams…. the list goes on. We’re getting to be more and more like a third world country where anything goes!

What is needed is strict enforcement – like Singapore, Switzerland, London, New York … very few people flout traffic regulations due to stiff fines and proper enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • PeguambelaHebat on Jan 04, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Just get rid of the traffic lights would solve the problem ultimately. Build more fly-over! more tunnels! more parking lots! wider road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Geetha Mohan on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Can the fines be reduce to RM$20.00 in general. May be the traffic police is rich. The people have difficulty paying out the money. And on top of that blacklist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • DewaSemut on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Shame on you Malaysians! :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Justice on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:39 pm

There are other groups that don’t even need to pay fines; cronies-related, cronies & VVIP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • ben yap on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:40 pm

the RM10.5 million is excluding bribery. if include bribery, it will be higher than that.

on the side note, Rosmah’s diamond ring is more expensive than KL motorists’ annual summonses!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • Vince on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Certainly true… He urged motorists to “learn to respect other road users too.” But, isn’t this should be directed to some of the police outriders too???

Please do not indiscriminately ushering motorists to the side or forcing a sudden slow down in the heavy traffic or long queue just for the convenience of, most of the time sadly, a single car??? Kind to declare the list of people that require such “convenience” beside our commonly known VVIPs or VIPs?

There is such thing called Mutual Respect! Commoners are to be respected too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Speedwinger on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Rich will happily pay all the fines whereas the low income group suffers..
    Ban offenders from driving for certain period of time as punishment will be a more appropriate way? ;( haiz..
    Whats the point of having so many aes when the rich still don’t give a about it.. Purpose of aes is to reduce accidents but enforcers are taking advantage out of it.. Hmmm

• i believe when there is proof…u mean cronies/vvip(gov side) or cronies/vvip(oppo side) or both?…based on my guessing gov side rite..too easy..haha

• Black Dog on Jan 04, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Only KL? What about Klang Valley or the whole of Malaysia? Should I say every Rm10 million reported, Rm200 million goes somewhere else!

The cops always can come out with ridiculous excuses not to raise fines. Less people break laws, less business for them, less kopi money in their pockets! It’s an open secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Porthole the cause of most accident!! gomen can u Please repair the road??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • PeguambelaHebat on Jan 04, 2013 at 11:45 pm

I dun see any relationship between a Porthole and a road. I guess u watched too much Titanic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • yamaha sikoru on Jan 05, 2013 at 11:14 am

klang vallay road qualify for Rally 4X4 Track, obviously that cause a deadly accident that report mostly in newspaper

• dark wanderer on Jan 04, 2013 at 6:23 pm

easy solution, pay fine according to the percentage of your annual income. that way you hurt the wallets of the poor as well as the rich. such law exists in countries such as finland & denmark.

of course, policemen who ask for bribes is another problem altogether.

and the root cause of it all, transportation system and urban planning is problematic. nobody (or significantly less people) would break the law if these are addressed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Black Dog on Jan 04, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Wah, so big loophole? Almost everyone is already under-declaring to escape the tax man. It will even make more people go ‘underground’ with illegal money. We can never compare ourselves to Finland or Denmark where 90% of the people there are very honest. Here the opposite is more true.

• how sure r u with 90% finnish n danish honest?

• alldisc on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:52 am

its like going to japan and finding ppl queing while waiting for train to come.

you just know it.

• i wonder on Jan 04, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Did anybody ever think the cost WE have to pay due to accidents caused by those unlawful, speed at will, don’t care for anyone types?
    It’s OUR tax money paying for those fallen t.lights & lamp post, road dividers etc. Not to mention the traffic jam we face due to accidents (time wasted in traffic jam = money + more fuel burned).
    And now we have to sympathize by these types who break the law intentionally? Please.

• Kaizen on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Some traffic offenders break the laws because the system is too stupid.

Take traffic lights for example:
    In certain areas in the city, traffic lights shows green (for quite some time) even there are no cars around. Gov should improve this by investing on sensors in traffic lights to detect cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:28 pm

This.

I’m appalled the richest councilor, MPSJ can be so kiam sup to install sensors and timers at traffic lights around Subang Jaya, the most populated city in the country. Truly boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Yes, some countries has implemented this sensors. They give you priority to-go when there are no other cars. Helps to reduce lots of stress and cursing! Dumb system makes us feels like dumb drivers! hehe.

• turbo diesel on Jan 04, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Anybody caught beating the lights twice…suspend their license. They do it again ban them for life!

I don’t get this rich and poor thing…we used to have a demerit point system…what happened to it?

Its that simple

• berombon on Jan 04, 2013 at 11:49 pm

aiyaa… the rich normally don’t drive the cars themselves la, they employ drivers..so no hal la…

• i think the car plate(car owner) they will trace first not who driving the car if using auto system…if manual summon for sure the driver will ask bos to pay

• comrade on Jan 07, 2013 at 2:57 pm

agreed… even the car ownership put under their company/shop.. even saman ekor never kena…. there are companies paid a lot of summon ekor/ parking summons for the car their MD driving…on monthly basis like installment…

• PeguambelaHebat on Jan 04, 2013 at 11:38 pm

“Life sentence for those who broke the traffic rules will solve it once n for all” Bernama respondent told the blogger.

Very good idea!! support!!

• Carl Wong on Jan 04, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Low income law breakers? They would resort to ‘paying less’ at the road side……………..

• jinjangbukit on Jan 05, 2013 at 5:01 am

Anwar will abolish summons and speed limits when he becomes PM.. lol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Tak ADIL!!! sebab cuba anda perhatikan GREEN-YELLOW-RED …….. Kenapa YELLOW hanya ambil 2/3 saat kadang2 GREE (3 minit) —> Yellow (2/3 saat)—->RED (3 minit). Itulah sebab ramai masuk zon RED!. Sedangkan crossing panjang sebagai contoh di simpang 4 Ampang Park!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Yellow is for u to stop not to cross!

• PeguambelaHebat on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:31 am

The yellow is not practical n logical that’s why ppl chose to disobey. They should just get rid of the yellow and replaced with “Flashing Green” before the light turns Red. Flashing Green is for motorists to hurry up Not to stop (which might cause collision from rear vehicle due to sudden stop in the case of yellow light).

• ur method flashing green even more dangerous…”hurry up” better said “full speed”.red emergency stop…lol

• Avenger on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:01 am

Saya selalu travel luar daerah…sebulan sekali mesti kena saman di PLUS laluan utara…saya rasa ralat sebab selalu lebih sikit je…118 macam tu…polis tak boleh gunakan timbang tara ke…sebab kalau bawak 110…ngantuk lagi bahaya…tapi kalau bawa betul betul laju…160 ke…tak kena saman pulak….

• Ooo gitu. hang bawak la 160 ke…jadi tak kena saman ler. kalu laju2 kamera jadi buta, tak nampak. hehehe.

• alldisc on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:58 am

mana ada mengantuk kalau 110kmh. kalau mengantuk tu sbb … you are not fit. mudah dipengaruhi oleh faktor cuaca dan sbgnya. the answer is stop and rest. know your limits and dont force it.

pada pergerakan 110kmh, anda bergerak 30 meter sesaat.
      pada 160kmh, anda bergerak 44 meter sesaat.
      beza 14 meter itu boleh membawa makna hidup dan mati nyawa anda, keluarga anda atau keluarga orang lain.

jangan angkuh dengan kelajuan 160kmh anda, ada sebabnya mengapa speed limit di cipta di malaysia dan hampir semua negara kecuali artik dan antartika.

• The whole of KL city is like a ‘pressure cooker’ for drivers, more so during peak hours. The next 10, 20 years we mwy need ‘flying cars’ over the highways and roads. If they change all to digitised traffic lights may help alot. What! this will reduce their revenues greatly!!!!.

• and oso reduce corrupt driver(bribe giver)…boleh is famous with corrupt driver who champion bribe story

• Betul! we shout and curse at corruptions in the high places, but we also ask the police…’bolih settle ka?’. nah RM50!. My only (so far) traffic offence was, did not sign on the license card! it was just a horizontal line ma! He was forced to write the summon in the dark with a torchlight grudgingly. hahaha.

• alldisc on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:16 am

the last time i gave money to police was 2002. then i realised bribe is not answer and will not solve anything.

for the past 10 years, when i made traffic offense.. i just admit it – its my own mistake and just ask the guy to saman me. and i had been a lot more careful nowadays.

the lesson is – we dont give, they dont dare to ask.

but i like the way how hong kong or taiwan if not mistaken solve corruption issues involving policeman that is by paying high salaries to them. i think our malaysian chinese friends surely know this story. that makes the police officiers not interested in bribery unless the amount offered is very high; which will not make sense at all.

• Malaysian on Jan 06, 2013 at 3:48 am

Should use the AES investment money to upgrade to sensOr type traffic light system.

And also standardize the whole malaysia yellow light timer, some is 3 secs some 5 secs and some even 1sec.

And also buy better quality traffic light such as LED type or do more routine check on traffic light condition instead of waiting ppl to complain only come to repair. Need proactive government servant.

• nigga on Jan 06, 2013 at 4:18 am

collect points.
    too many points, suspension of license.
    take them off the roads.

• Kl man on Jan 06, 2013 at 9:00 am

Where the rm10mil go after saman colected

• sharfox on Jan 06, 2013 at 6:35 pm

Good! They should encourage people to break more rules so that they can collect more. This is to help the economy to grow. Imagine they is no traffic summonses?…. Disaster lorrrrrr……They should target a double or triple of summonses this year. Increase the collection by year. Congrats to the outlaws. You contribute to the economy. I would say you are all patriotic in your own way.

• Nice pict of Bangkok traffic! :)

No point voicing opinions, regardless who you choose, make sure all of us VOTE in 2013!

• MHussain on Jan 07, 2013 at 4:39 am

Im amazed at some of the comments. I lived in Malaysia for 7 years and the complete disregard of motorists for their own safety and that of others shocked me. Nothing can justify breaking the rules of the road, especially since the consequence could be the death of another human being. Someone blamed the problem on bad road layouts and poor town planning. Amazing. Tell that to the family of then next road fatality.

• Aniki on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:00 am

So how they spent with it? Improve the camera to capture more income or try to make less of traffic making more flyover to avoid traffic jam? We all know the answer unless CHANGE!

• Just be Safe, Drive Safely. Better be late then never reach! Your love ones are waiting for you.
    SAFETY FIRST.