MINI Countryman JCW performs 360-degree backflip

Publicity is something most, if not all carmakers want, and while some work on ad campaigns highlighting continuous improvement, some just flip their cars backwards in the air. MINI has teamed up with rally driver Guerlain Chicherit to perform the world’s first “unassisted 360-degree backflip” in a car.

While we’re not quite sure what “unassisted” really means, the word alone sounds scary enough. Our fearless French hero fires up a heavily modified MINI John Cooper Works Countryman and chucks it briefly around a shipyard before aiming it squarely at the ramp…

I can’t wait to see what happens next, either. By the way, that’s a height of 12 metres the car achieved.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• hondaSA007 on Jan 04, 2013 at 1:39 pm

sap sap sui la, i can do it easily with a perodua viva n myVi…we jus need the Right Car for the stunt!

thumb me UP perodua supporters!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
  • I bet ken block can do double that height :)

• ben yap on Jan 04, 2013 at 2:17 pm

It crashed and sold to M’sia through AP as recond car.

• Jimmy on Jan 05, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Recond cars are legal lou chin. Putting compulsory taxes on spectacles is legal robbery.

• black on Jan 04, 2013 at 3:06 pm

i see this many time during my balik kampung trip..

• jolly_idiot on Jan 04, 2013 at 3:36 pm

There won’t be the 2nd part as the driver crashed and dead.

Sayonara…

• Gavin on Jan 04, 2013 at 8:37 pm

looks like mini body on farm tractor

• darker marker on Jan 04, 2013 at 9:43 pm

the video stopped la……Cant confirm it was a 360 degree flip….

but

I can confirm that this is marketing gimmick….

Time waster…

• downsys on Jan 05, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Darker Marker: Of course it’s a marketing gimmick. It’s a very well made ad, playing on the word ‘landing soon’. I think it’s brilliant. Although the Countryman is still one ugly beast.

• Redrules on Jan 05, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Well, at least it’s not a cartoon advertisement.

• PetrolLeg on Jan 05, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Unassisted? Modified is already assisted, why not take a stock and do it. But anyway, the message that they probably want to send is fun and exciting,

• Eh, isn’t this Chevy Sonic punya idea? :p

• Ismail saad on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:13 am

So it landing bandly?

• Ismail saad on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:14 am

So it landing badly?

• it crashed and mini cooper wants to show that it’s roof strength meets the new safety requirements by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)