2014 Audi R8 and RS5 Cabriolet for Detroit debut

2014-r8-12

Set to make an appearance at the Detroit motor show are two performance models from Ingolstadt: the facelifted Audi R8 and new Audi RS5 Cabriolet.

Audi has announced three R8 variants for the 2014 model year, namely the R8 V8 (430 hp/430 Nm 4.2 FSI), R8 V10 (525 hp/530 Nm 5.2 FSI) and R8 V10 Plus (550 hp/540 Nm 5.2 FSI). The V10 Plus will be coupe-only; Spyder versions are available for the other two.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltwtYi6ZjuY]

A new seven-speed S tronic dual clutch transmission (six-speed manual available) takes over duties from the previous R tronic single clutch ‘box, and allows blistering century sprint times of 4.2, 3.4 and 3.3 seconds respectively. Top speeds in the same order are 300, 314 and 315 km/h.

Aesthetic changes include new LED headlamps (now standard across the range), a hexagonal grille, new door mirrors, dynamic turn indicators on the tail lamps and large round tailpipe trims.

2014-rs5-9

The RS5 Cabriolet, however, is powered by a 450 hp/430 Nm 4.2 FSI that enables it to hit 100 km/h in a smidgen under five seconds and continue towards a top speed of 280 km/h. The car was unveiled online back in September, so you can read our previous post for more details on the first drop-top RS5.

Both cars are expected to go on sale in the US in spring, with prices to be announced closer to launch.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• shawal on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:40 pm

monsieur clarkson once said and i quote ( when the r8 just launched) ” the audi will attract a bigger crowd then the 911 covered in free money ) , …1 of my best supercars out there…

• well, a seven-speed S tronic dual clutch transmission is all good, but I will definitely go for a 6-speed manual if I had the intention and the proper bank account to buy an R8, knowing the next model probably won’t have the manual tranny.

• GT-Rider on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Oh no, my beloved GT-R would be smoked by this beast!

Nah, it still cannot beat my lightning horse lol. Good luck Audi

• LOL, try not to crash into tree when you try to smoke any Proton or Myvi out there k. Take care dude!

• Dude stop, if you have a GTR don’t brag about it. go out an enjoy a GTR.
      Don’t make people like us who lust after a GTR but can never really afford one ,look like idiots who are growing up to bee someone like you, a GTR achieving psycho that can’t stop talking about his ride and show off in the highway, smoking anything on the roads before getting caught with your ride impounded indefinitely by the cops who will most likely take your impounded cars out for a ride and due to un-train skills wrap your car around a tree where you will be putting flowers every week after reflecting your past and wish you hand’t.

In other words stop bragging about your ride. I overtook many GTR everyday with my Saga, albeit they were parking at that time. Anyways if you truly love cars and want a Japanese legends, odds are you will want something with a manual and a RB26-DETT ,not that modern day porky…..
      .have a nice night

• For beating a GT-R you don’t need to spend so much money. RM105,000 for a S1000RR is enough:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv6oviSD5KA

• GT-Rider on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I’m not really interested in that RR but I can accept if you posted it because you felt offended with my ride. I did give chances to kapchai to beat me when I’m not in the mood, just to enjoy the scenery of yellow sky.

• Haa haa joke for early year 2013, even your GTR has 1200 hp would not break 240mph… This was a curse to japanese sport car & fc 3 or 4x than european sport car.. just to beat in quarter mile race…

• Jimmy on Jan 07, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Sleek, stylish and stunning. Elegant, no Ah-Beng feel typical perception on someone driving a transformer-like heavily tinted sports car.
    In the blue cabriolet, you still look very gentleman.

• Lame Auto Driver on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:59 am

A car like that should be ‘Manual’ driven!!

Malaysians cant drive manual car so they opt for the tronic…

• Avenger on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:15 am

400 lebih hp!….risau juga kalau keta keta power macam ni banyak dijalanraya Malaysia…mesti bawa lebih 200 km sejam….AES pun tak sempat ambil gambar nanti….

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:09 am

With great power comes great responsibilty…drive responsibly…dont risk live of others and yours. We’ve read too many super cars crashes these days.