Ford EcoSport caught testing in Thailand

headlight ford ecosport 1

Ford’s EcoSport has been caught testing in Thailand – Headlight Magazine recently ran spyshots of two examples of the compact SUV parked at a petrol station, both clad in a yellow and black dazzle pattern scheme.

It looks like all is going to schedule with ASEAN plans for the EcoSport, which made its debut in Delhi last year, at least where production is concerned. At the regional launch of the Focus last March, it was hinted on a presentation slide that the B-segment compact SUV was set to be the second vehicle produced by the new Ford Thailand Manufacturing plant in Rayong, following the Focus.

headlight ford ecosport 2

The production schedules and probable market debut dates weren’t revealed then, but given that test mules have come about, series production shouldn’t be too far away. If anything, the vehicle, which sits on a Fiesta platform, might make its debut in the Kingdom later this year. Other ASEAN markets, including Malaysia, are of course set to follow once that happens.

There was talk last year that the EcoSport, when it debuts, will very likely wear a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine, the same unit found in Thai Fiestas. Will we get one with a 1.6 litre Ti-VCT mill here? The Indian debut vehicle had a 120 PS and 170 Nm 1.0 litre three-cylinder EcoBoost unit, but the lump is unlikely to feature in these parts anytime soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I’ve always thought small compact SUV were the moost perfect car for Malaysia, like the RR Evoque, XC60 or Volkswagen Tiguan. Their mix of reasonable performance and comfort , reasonably high ground clearance and small[ish] body, mean it can tackle Malaysian Highways, potholes fill roads and city roads better than most cars.

After the demise of the Kembara, Nautica and Rush aside, you have to fork out close to the 200k mark for these cars. So I hope that this or maybe the Juke can make these cars within reach for the lower middle class…..in other words, price it below RM110k and it’ll be perfect!

• Nissan2Crazy on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:18 pm

it should be the price range of Fiesta.. it’s selling at such price at worldwide.

i would expect RM85k.

• I hope it is…..I said under RM110k because you never know , this is Malaysia

• kadajawi on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Take Wira, raise suspension. :) Like this: http://media.beta.photobucket.com/user/mattdk387/media/2011-04-02193513.jpg.html

I’m sure some genius will lower the Ecosport…

• Roger Tan on Jan 07, 2013 at 2:46 pm

This would be interesting!

If it comes to our shores we should be getting the South American interior instead of the soon-to-be-redesigned-for-Europe one?

• finally its here..
    will it come to bolehland also? with 1.0 ecoboost plz tq

• intermilan on Jan 09, 2013 at 9:47 am

Even if ecosport and fiesta world-wide price is at similar range, i bet this 2nd gen ecosport, even when its made in thailand i.e. same as fiesta, it will be priced higher than fiesta in Malaysia.

SDAC will manipulate the SUV image to its full potential. Its expected.