Hyundai Sonata YF Facelift now on sale in Malaysia

sonata-ad-01

Was reading the newspaper over the weekend when something jumped out – an ad of the Hyundai Sonata Facelift by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors, which I’ve scanned for you here. It has been two and a half years since HSDM launched the YF Sonata in Malaysia, so this facelift comes at a good time.

It’s not a major revamp, but the facelifted Sonata has enough new bits to distinguish it from the original YF. There’s a new, simpler grille in front, with built-in LED positioning lamps and fog lamps for the 2.4L Executive model, which also gets HID headlamps. At the back, the refresh brings wrap-around LED rear lights in the form of a light bar, as opposed to a row of individual LEDs.

The LED repeaters on the wing mirrors are now slimmer and sleeker, and there are new design 17- and 18-inch wheels, the latter reserved for the 2.4L Exec. The bigger engined variant also gets six airbags, audio visual navigation and automatic dual-zone air con.

sonata-ad-03

No change under the hood of the 2.4L, but the 2.0 model gets an engine swap from Theta II to Nu. The Nu is a new engine family that debuted along with the current Hyundai Elantra MD, and this 2.0 Nu is a longer stroke version of the 1.8 litre Dual CVVT unit from the Elantra. It makes 166 PS and 201 Nm in MPI form.

The Sonata Facelift has also popped up on our auto classifieds site oto.my. Pics from the oto.my ad give us a better view of the new features, and we all agree that the new rear lights are much better looking.

The oto.my ad quotes RM145,888 for the 2.0 Executive variant, which is not too different from the pre-facelift sticker price. We shall wait for the official press release for full specs and pricing.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ononimous on Jan 07, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Aha! This car gerenti Sam Loo no.1 favourite car after Hilux!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
  • Beemer on Jan 07, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Wow…. The overall body kit and rear led lights are stunning!!! However, brand image places an important position here. I’m not saying Hyundai is a small company,don’t get me wrong; they are huge and very successful indeed. But when comes to excecutive sedans, the Japaneses always have the higher edge! I believe most of us Malaysians would prioritize brand power and status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 58
  • DewaSemut on Jan 07, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Danny Tan,
    Does this mean we can expect an engine swap from Theta II to Nu for Optima K5 soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Alvin on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Too expensive for what it’s worth. Previous gen Sonata only RM120K, now the price starts at RM145!

Korean cars are not known for their driving dynamics or secondhand value but at least they are quite value for money at one point in time, offering better specifications yet cheaper price than their competitors. Now I don’t see it anymore.

Even if you leave out the Japanese makes for comparison, the Kia K5 is still a better buy if you’re going Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:11 pm

All I can say is, please buy more kimchis brand new so that I can make my used car company public listed soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 45
  • pumpkin on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Saw this yesterday at 1utama…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • Jimmy on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:36 pm

For any brands, please do not buy their cars if they use customers’ new cars for test drives. One way to know is they use red plates instead of a registered unit. Unless you like paying new-car price for a used unit. Trip meter readings can be changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Josh Ling on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:23 am

i think it’s unfair for you to make such a conclusion about every car dealer, because almost all car dealers that i know of in where i live, sometimes when they had a new car launching they would be forced to use red plates for the demo cars, because they simply couldn’t register the car in time for the launching, especially if the car companies wanna keep the launching as secretive as possible (e.g. proton preve’s launching).

and from what i saw, the demo cars were all wearing registered car plates after few days or weeks (proton edar branch here always had this registration issues, and their demo cars were running with red plates for weeks before proper car plates were in place). how i know they were the same demo cars? simple, they were all wearing stickers and decals on their bodies. i don’t think the dealers will painstakingly take down all the stickers and decals of the previous cars, and paste them on another new cars just for the sake of “cost-saving” or earning more profit right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Please do not strip off the new cars’ wrapping plastics. Earn honest money ya. I am not referring to Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • ben yap on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:54 pm

still price above RM140K?

i would get a focus instead though it is a different class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
  • Cari fasal on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:12 pm

ok..
    BUT pretty expensive…
    no doubt most car(s) these days dont have 2nd value; go ask around 2nd dealer market.

no offense even with such cosmetic surgery however the engine and transmission still lack of combination power.
    hence lack of efficiency.
    yes no doubt hyundai styling is getting better if compare with the Jap and China mades..
    but nevertheless their efficiently is still not up to PAR and also to be frank having the car within the 5 years is OK but trust me speaking from experienced with previous version Sonata after 5 years it starts to falls a part (JAP is bit better on the build and lasting; yes of coz cannot compare to Conti).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
  • Cari fasal on Jan 07, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Just to share a quote from WIKIpedia…

Reception Hyundai Sonata:
    In a March 2012 comparison test by Car and Driver, the Sonata came in fourth place out of six cars behind the first place Volkswagen Passat, second place Honda Accord, and third place Kia Optima (cited from wiki).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Sonata/K5 can be Ichi Ban in ranking, but it will still have poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
      • Naruhodo, kon nihongo no hanasu, Sam Loo san
        Damn those self-Japanese lesson dose’t help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • Too freaky expensive for a korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Buy pree-owned. Very dai mai, especially Tucson

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
      • Medic on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:07 am

I love Tucson &i don’t care bout RV.Damn good SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • No way to on Jan 08, 2013 at 7:36 pm

medic i thought u now with VW after u letgo ur Honda..

hurm or u go to Hyundai after ur VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Medic on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:06 am

I have both…Hyundai to ferry family around & Vw to terrorise the road.(joking ler).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:42 pm

The tow truck operator will be your best friend very soon, since both your cars sui kwan and kwai tai all the time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • I’ve already liked my Sonata 1st FL so much; compared to Volkswagen Passat & Toyota Camry (test driven latter both), Passat seem too small for a D segment, and Camry seem too basic.

In terms of value, i paid almost RM150k for a big, comfortable, luxury, and look stunning Sonata (Exec Plus). Can’t be said the same for Camry EX (lowest spec) even smae price, and Passat much more expensive.

Most my frens after sitting in my Sonata would have a “wow” factor. I think the 2nd FL is really nicer than the pre-FL, especially the rounded tail lamps, etc.

The only complain is the handling is tuned for American market (left hand driver) rather than Asian market (right hand driver). Hyundai should improve in this handling section. That would make it the “perfect” affordable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
    • Cari fasal on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:17 am

are you kidding me.
      if luxury u seeking for then u should go for entry Audi A4 1.8T or C180CGI or 320i (F30).
      people whom dont have class or money (assume buy cheap things and already making believed they are good).
      come on people whom sat in YF never have seat down in better Jap (Camry or Lexus IS or Accord) and yes for sure they never event seat in a true Conti before.
      anyway; what can do; u have already buy; might as well make believed :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
      • I’ve sit in conti cars … why don’t you test drive a Sonata before speaking. Just compare C200 with Sonata sitting inside the cars will blow your mind away!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • Cari fasal on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:44 pm

sonata is crap.
          tested and yes its a total crap.
          C200/C250 CGI far superior.
          also its a luxury vs korean junk

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
          • Cari gado on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Your name really suits u well…or u suit ur name well…ah whichever lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
          • Cari Mati on Mar 30, 2014 at 12:56 am

Tested, doest mean you bought and drive on the road…I think, you didnt own even one of them car (but who care) and start talking without using ur mind. Indeed japanese have their RV in malaysia and cause you’re living in malaysia, u start believing that japanese so call luxury brand in malaysia, have become taxi in our neighbor country in thailand and indo. None of the car is prefect, and who care about the RV, if the purpose you bought the car for show off???Ppl who bought an Proton / Perodua can be determine as Rubbish? Cari Fasal?

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:43 pm

In terms of RV, I like people like you buying them new, coz when you sell, I make more a lot more money than Japs or Sui Kwan Euros

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • FluidicSculpture on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Danny, you forgot to mention, or maybe the media forgot to mention a few things.

– Gated shifter has now been changed to more traditional straight type.
    – Lukas BlackBox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 07, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Thanks for sharing!

By the way, there’s no official press release on the Sonata FL, not yet at least. All that I know and shared is gathered from the newspaper ad and oto.my ad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • FluidicSculpture on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:28 am

Not sure about official press launch, but the soft launch was actually on previous Saturday. The dealer I am working with actually got hold of the car last Thursday.

Those who loved Audi’s lamp design will fall in love with the rear lights :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Those that are used to getting great deals on pre-owned kimchis will love people that buy them at full prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • I actually like the gated shifter of my Sonata, any good reason to switch to traditional straight type?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • FluidicSculpture on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:32 am

Forgot the link… :D
    http://i.imgur.com/K5sSA.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Jilbaber on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:32 pm

HSDM should equipped 2.0 variant with additional airbags as well..otherwise I don’t think this FL will boast sales..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Cari fasal on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:21 pm

they we trying to lower costs BUT max profit :).
      who cares bout safety.
      Eg Camry also no ESP some more yet price over RM170K and yet people buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Sazali on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Kiplinger Research – 2012 New Car Rankings – Compare Costs, Performance Ranking.
    Resale value after 3 years
    Honda Accord – 57%
    Camry – 56%
    Sonata – 43%
    = losses of RM20k over Accord and Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • No way to on Jan 08, 2013 at 7:40 pm

nope actually in Malaysia.. 2nd value is depends on buyer..

last time a 2009 2L honda accord buy time 140k.
      but in 2011 selling time was 70K.

actually nowadays in malaysia most cars actually no value already once out from showroom.

but hyundai/kia/chery is even worse.

hyundai coupe is the only hyundai/kia which have 2nd value..

hurm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:03 pm

RV is not equal trade in value.

Kimchis trade is value is much lower. As such, used car dealer love to trade kimchis at a higher profit margin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:44 pm

That’s the selling price. Trade in price, they will be asked to look at the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Sazali on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Toyota can build Lexus that scare the living daylight out off conti.
    Koreans cars are still nothing to shout about.
    Proton makes a lot of noise too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • nazri on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:13 pm

i love dynamic design form sonata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • its weird how sonata was compared against C250…even lexus …sighhh so not clever aaa…
    the fact is, sonata’s true competitor is merely accord and camry….at rm150k pricing, those two cars don’t even have smart entry/push start button..no sunroof, no gps, no rev camera, and yet, people still says sonata is TOO expensive even with all the accessories…..a very very weird world indeed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Cari fasal on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:15 am

Camry is better drive.
      Also more luxury :).

Its the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • Irfan Chek on Feb 26, 2013 at 7:10 pm

nope, i will be more attracted to the sonata design rather than the ‘basic’ camry.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:39 am

Yeah, the only logical comparison by manufacturer for Hyundai/Kia is perhaps Tata/Mahindra,Geely,Great Wall etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • eddy, so totally agree with you. people no longer compare apple with apple.

• Shahrul on Jan 09, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Can someone confirm if the steering wheel is now fully covered with leather? The pre-FL version, the area which got hold the most during driving is not covered with leather. A great oversight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:30 pm

The steering can be covered in velvet, the kimchi will still have low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • ahjib_kor on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm

korean and japan cars for those poor only, nowadays we only target on European cars like VW, BM, Mercedes, Volvo. Stick with your cheap cars, poor people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Is the NU engine reliable. It is hard to belief a new engine can be develop in so short of time. In my mind 1 thing for sure is definately more relable than Campro engine which is damm out. :-D

• Sam Loo on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Kimchi Engines can run like the good old Pajero; from Paris to Dakar, but in the real world it would still have poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • ACHHELAL GIRI on Mar 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

SONATA IS LOOK VERY COMFORTABLE COMPARE TO CAMRY

• Simon Mah on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:04 am

Any one has any comment about SONATA’s drive shaft issues which was a common weakness of previous Korean cars?