SPIED: Third-gen Suzuki Swift ahead of local launch

sswift1

UPDATE: Price list out, and additional details now incorporated into the story.

The Malaysian launch of the new Suzuki Swift isn’t far away now, and this sighting of a transporter full of them heralds the subcompact’s arrival on our shores. Much thanks go to reader Nelson for this shot, taken in Alam Megah.

Now in its third-generation form, the Swift is slightly longer and more rounded than before. Engines available globally include a 1.2, 1.4 and 1.6 litre petrol, as well as a 1.3 litre diesel, but the release of the official price list (thanks go to reader Fandy) confirms that we’ll be getting the 1.4 litre K14B, which offers 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

Features for the Malaysian model include dual airbags, ABS and EBD, automatic climate control, 16-inch alloys and a keyless go/push-button start system, according to that mentioned in the price list. At point of entry, two automatic variants are available, the 1.4 GLX and higher-spec GLX-S, priced at RM77,888 and RM83,318 respectively, on-the-road with insurance.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Allen on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:37 pm

It will be launched nationwide this Thursday. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • YeapyEvo on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Bring in Swift Sport Manual!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Ramun on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Ru sleeping bro? Sudah lama ada la swift sport. Pls do not hesitate to purchase it… Remarks: it only consume RON97 grade fuel. Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
      • neutral on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:50 pm

r u sleeping bro? sudah lama ada la swift sport, tapi yang old model swift sport. He’s talking about the new swift sport, don’t try to be smart here. And yes, swift sport is recommended to only consume ron97, my sister drives one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • And he’s talking that manual transmission is a must for Swift Sport. Most hot hatches in Europe are paired with manual gearbox. Only Malaysian drivers are quite lazy then choose auto ‘box. Please read properly before commenting.

• Who’s actually going to put money down for a manual? One person? Two? If not many, the company may not waste time with it if they are not gunning for big numbers in the first place. So many ask for manual but how many actually do buy one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Unless you are in the high end sector, most Auto are just slushbox. Can’t even overtake properly. It’s true that Auto command a significant portion of a cars sales, just saw an imbecile with an auto GT86 [SERIOUSLY?].

But that’s why we respect automakers that at least put some time to consideration into bringing manual…..Honda esp bringing in a full spec manual, and Peugeot which place the manual in a higher spec[FTW!!!!]. If the automaker can bring in, even just a small amount of manual, CBU, we driving enthusiast will forever be happy. Have fun with your slushbox!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • I drive a manual and am proud of it. Of all my previous cars, only one was auto and that was a long time ago. Nothing beats 3 pedals.

• True, I drive a manual too, every single day, overtaking is a gem and if you can tolerate the jam, I don’t see any downside of having a manual.

I, or more specifically my family, has three car, a manual, a fully auto car and a semi-auto. The problem with my manual car is that it’s and old car, 20 yrs with 220k on the Odo meter.

Still looking for a fun to drive manual. Most manual are lowest spec car, and the cheapest fully spec manual is the CRZ.

• BrianXYZ on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:53 am

You can’t call others imbecile just because you can’t afford the GT86. Please test drive one AT first before comment. I don’t understand WHY just by driving ‘Manual’ then suddenly one becomes ‘true driver’ or ‘driving enthusiasts’??

• well maybe you are right, imbecile is a bit too far. Is his cash after all.

Anyways ‘why’ manual makes it a true driver or driving enthusiast. No it dose’t . If the Camry or the Accord were to come in manual, I will happily skip it and get the auto.
            It depends on what car you are driving. The GT86 is a performance car, or more specifically a fun-car. If you are going to get a box that makes it slower while forking out 6 extra grand, isn’t that beating the point. The 86 isn’t meant to stuck in a jam or cruise down the highway. Doing that to me feels like taking a trapping a Tiger in a cage…..reminds me of somewhere.

Like I said, I’ve have three types of cars at home, all are 1.5 though the autos are far newer. You can never really get the performance down with a slushbox. And the 86 and performance cars like it, where the engine is so beautifully, changing gear without a clutch feel so….automated. Manual gives a driver far more control than the computer. And a clutch gives you a 3rd control of the engines power(gas pedal and gears are the other two). In the end of the day, you feel much more livelier in a manual for its direct effect. Though today high-end autos can change faster than any human hands, the manual will still give you more man-to-machine interaction.

• By driving manual transmission, we can really feel the engine, the car and understand the system, the connection between the driver and his machine become closer. Most autos in Malaysia is an old slushbox with single-clutch and with poor fuel economy.
          Only true manual driver will feel the ‘shiftgasm’ when they can downshift and heel-and-toe properly. It’s a sweet little thing.
          But not all cars are better in manual. Cars that is designed with dual-clutch auto box will perform the best in it.
          A Ferrari 458 Italia or McLaren MP4-12C won’t be better in manual.
          But cars like GT-86, MX-5, Golf GTi, Boxster and Z4 are the best in manual. Only pussies buy them with auto.

• I can’t afford those. My Gen2 CPS (M) Enhanced is good enough for weekend play. You don’t really need really expensive cars to enjoy driving. But then, ‘enjoyment’ means different things to different people but to me, maybe i’m olskool. i prefer 3 pedals to enjoy driving.

• Farhat on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:39 pm

FINALLY, it has come! The current is seriously getting old and still pricier as ever, should either keep the current price for new ones or make em cheaper.

• Danial on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Seems like they are following the Mini’s with elongated body. But how about the door, any special door dedicated for the kids?

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Just don’t send in Suzuki DISASTER (Desire) to our shore…. it will be a total Disaster.

Used to own Swift GL 1.0 in the 90’s, it’s great for long distance run.

• I hereby demand for a swift sport version in manual.

Anyways this sure Could prove a hit, but competition have stiffen up since the last gen swift, So I hope Suzuki malaysia has something up their sleeves with this car.

• _xXx_ on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Came late by 3 years. Good inventory control….

• Yes European has been using this gen for so long LOL. In fact, this Swift has been used for 1st stage and 2nd stage rent car in Nurburgring track. Google for rent4ring.de

• hvannees on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:00 pm

loooong time…. come atlast!

• simsim on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:19 pm

From the look, it is Mini alike; lower and rounder. I just drop by Suzuki showroom last week. If the price is same as existing, it will be good for consumer.

• Avenger on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Saya masih mempunyai persepsi bahawa Suzuki adalah motosikal….sebab itu saya kurang berminat dengan Suzuki….bayangkan kalau Kawasaki ataupun Yamaha keluarkan kereta kelak….tentu kualiti nya akan diragui…tapi Honda pun ada kapcai juga…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
    • Bro yamaha might not produce car but they do co-developed engine…and by that a lot of good engines even for supercar…

• moha774 on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Yamaha is under Toyota, so no worries there for them to produce cars, but under Toyota Altezza’s boot is a Yamaha engine…

• sepul on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:01 pm

you mean bonnet.. boot is for storage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:45 pm

mau ckp hood kot. hehehe

• alldisc on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:02 pm

hood and bonnet is the same. hood is US english, bonnet is british.

similar to boot and trunk, the difference is US and UK english terms

• Yamaha makes the V8 engine for the Volvo S80 as well. go and explore the world more instead of sitting under a coconut shell.

• alldisc on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Kawasaki ada jetski, yamah dan honda juga ada generator elektrik

• theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:34 pm

didnt read enough abt yamaha. Toyota 4AGE was developed by yamaha. they also developed engine for ford.

• alldisc on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:51 am

Toyota 4A-GE was an in-house developed engine by Toyota, along with all other A series engine from 1A to 8A.

Yamaha co developed Toyota’s own 3S-GE engine for Lexus IS200 making it a hotter version compare to other IS200 with 6 cylinder engines and that involves only the cylinder head (not all)

only in Lexus LFA supercar does Yamaha involve with designing the entire 4.8 litre V10 engine known code as 1LR-GUE

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:09 pm

VVTi Engine was co-develope btw Toyota and Yamaha and was first comercially introduced in Celica since early 90’s.

Kawasaki Motor is just a tiny subsidiry of Kawasaki Heavy Industry Ltd.

And for Suzuki, Kizashi is among the latest model produced from so many model. Thats why it’s known as the 4th largest vehicle company in Japan after T, N and H.

And for you son, please use your Internet wisely, get all the information and don’t be a laughing stock…..

• buy proton last on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Save yur perception in yur pocket la bro….n go live in a cave

• tokmoh on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:27 am

Kawasaki made bullet train since before you were born, I presume: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/0_Series_Shinkansen

Meanwhile in Malaysia, 160km/h train also haven’t finish. KTM boleh

• Avenger, nice updated-kind-of-name. But are you living in the early 1990’s?

• hvannees on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:32 pm

read at sell & buy website. engine will be 1.4 vvt dohc for 76k.

• Chris on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Is this CKD or CBU version?

• Bersih 4.0 on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Finally my baby has arrived,can’t wait to go to the showroom to see the actual car.

• ninja on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:21 pm

PLease talking based on fact, if know nothing just quite… Paul tan!! this car is 1.4l not 1.2l.

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:35 pm

You’re right ninja, have updated this in the story.

• breyton on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:21 pm

the most exciting launch of the year. the new suzuki swift that looks just like the old one….
    BOOOOORRRRIIIIINGGGGG….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • u must be driving toyota unser i guess…

• I like the old Swift looks, we can’t expect every manufacture to make a significant design change like the Kimchi.
      Many cars looks exactly the same as the old one….Ahem, 911?

• vee-oh on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:00 pm

lower spec version should be offered too, maybe price around 69K..is it possible

• sepul on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:03 pm

just saw the teaser on star paper today

• Wei Kiat on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:14 pm

4AT or 6AT ?

• theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:46 pm

only got cvt and 4at. my bet it’s going to be 4at.

• Hope they surprise me then. Third world tech, first world price. Memang boleh!

• Finally it’s here!

I’ve seen a lot of these babies in Oz. Looks good.

• armandd on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:16 pm

As usual with new car launch these days: No top of the range engine with manual transmission… Sad…

• Garfield on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Will they be keeping the GX (old model) in the line-up? It’s old but affordable, unless new-gen GX also coming soon. Looking at the price, is this CKD? Or CBU units sold as CKD?

• sundei on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:16 pm

CKD unit with lower specs, if available later will be few k cheaper as usual :)

• theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:36 pm

i want the old gx..because it’s 1.5!

• answering theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:05 pm

but this 1.4 K14B engine have better tork, so i bet it solve the sluggish prob in current auto tranny swift..

• totti on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:06 pm

1.4 selling 77K and 83K? what a joke?

May as well get a ford Fiestar 1.6 at RM 78 OTR.(after discount)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • answering theanswer on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:09 pm

ya ya ya.. got two air-bag only… seriously kedekut air-bag..better wait for CKD version..

• paparazi on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:27 am

agree with you!
        all cars should come with 6 airbag even small car,
        today’s human driving attitude getting terrible.
        Front, back, left or right side or top also kena bang!

• littlefire on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Yup, sad that we are getting the lower spec compare to others… For JDM spec, they have ESP & 6 air-bags.. What we have for our safety?!?

http://www.suzuki.co.jp/car/swift/safety/index.html

Even though our engine spec is better then JDM 1.2L vs 1.4L, but still it is downgraded from last gen 1.5L due to better emission or f/c? Anyway JDM spec are using CVT, how about ours? 4AT all the way?!? LOL!

http://www.suzuki.co.jp/car/swift/performance_eco/index.html

• JkySeow on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Previously 1.6 Selling from 73k , resize the engine to 1.4 but the HP still lowest than previous 1, selling from 77k? wat a joke!

• Modesto.hann on Jan 08, 2013 at 7:28 pm

This car can cruise at quite higher speed compared to its counterparts, just that the acceleration from standstill is a bit slow, feels as if the body is a bit heavy for a small car.hope the latest version will be improved, at least the pick up.

• abdula on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:12 pm

new swift????…really low spec compare to old…with higher price…and other country now prepared to bring new swift facelift model….

• The current Swift Club already vanished …hope the new gen swift will bring back the club again…

• kelvin on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:03 pm

When it come to bolehland, everything will become premium.

• _xXx_ on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:55 pm

after 6-12 months of ownership u see facelift elsewhere. After 12-18 months of ownership u see 4th gen elsewhere.

• polo saga on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:26 pm

overpriced again!!!

• Carl Wong on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:17 pm

FINALLY, after HOW LONG? 3 YEARS??? I’m not sure please enlighten me……. No hybrid version yet or hybrids in general from Suzuki??

• _xXx_ on Jan 09, 2013 at 9:35 am

1.4A – I might as well don’t drive. Bring in the 6MT1.6,ZC32S…

• the driver on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:53 am

Excuse me but was it not mentioned that Suzuki is quitting car manufacuring? To make the pain even worse, this 3rd gen model was out last year in 2012 and we are only getting it now? Strange days indeed.

• fast on rolling downhill on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:02 pm

tout that 1.4 to be around RM5x,xxx…suprised >than basic swift 1.5 at 63k

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:38 pm

they shrunk the engine and increased the size….wont it be underpowered?

• suzuki malaysia

keep it .

• dear suzuki malaysia

pls keep it .

yours truly

• powershot on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:24 pm

the new swift will be considered as a not-so-poor man’s MINI

• BrianXYZ on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:11 am

If that’s the case, then the MINI is the poor-man’s R8. Nobody is rich-man it seems.
      It depends on one financial capability and get the best car that suits him/her the best.

• Sarah on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:54 am

Nice looking car and more masculine

• Sarah on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:54 am

Nice looking car and more masculine :)

• innocence on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

wah….want to compete with kia rio?
    1.4 engine with 4speed also…
    but pricewise,i guess rio wins..huhuhu….

• angeleyes on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Contadted showroom. Launch will be on saturday 12th Jan 2013. 4 speed AT. How come they reduce CC (less HP, less tork)?? Besides emission factor, is it bcoz of $$$$??