2013 Toyota Vios – spyshots of upcoming third-gen?

vios spy 1

Seems that something may be stirring on the Toyota front, and it has to do with a perennial fave, the Vios. Apparently, the car under all that tape is supposed to be the third-generation sedan, which will debut later in the year, possibly at the Bangkok Motor Show in March.

If the shots, first seen on Chinese site Sohu Auto, are indeed of the car, then rather significant change may be on the way – the front especially offers a cleaner, tauter external shape; far sharper-looking than the bulbous one on call now. The different tape patterns seen in the photo set, however, does invite some hesitation in defining if all are of the same car.

The solitary photo peeking into the interior denotes a change of location for the instrument cluster – from its current central location on the dash, it’s now mounted in conventional fashion, in front of the driver.

No suggestions on what the powertrain configuration is to be, but the ongoing 1.5 litre VVT-i mill will probably soldier on; it’d be interesting to see if the four-speeder slush box will too. More details as we creep closer to the Bangkok show, which is when we’ll know for sure if what you see here is indeed the all-new Toyota Vios.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• malaysianwor on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:49 am

let’s see the bashing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
    • vioser on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:06 pm

this can ta bao beemer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
      • dugong on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:54 pm

no…it can tapau ferrari!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
        • vios_fan on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Civic, preve, elantra, forte all are ugly and so 70’s, this will be the hottest design soon. Peter Schreyer should learn how to design from Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
        • flat_tire on Jan 09, 2013 at 2:34 am

yeah sure.. can only tapau ferrari when the ferrari is in parking mode..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…the rear lamp give me some 1st gen of vios feels….

• umnokakipitnah on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:51 am

no more center instrument cluster..good!..and one more thing, replace that 4 speed gearbox

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
    • yup..i hate center type.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Obama on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Hurray..new vios..expect it to price between 90k to 100k now with less specs than Korean car…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • gen y on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:57 pm

In your dreams….

• nice looking or not is very subjective for Msian. but pls upgrade d stupid 4 speed gear and change to dual VVTI engine la. no more old tech for us pls.

• Looks like china car to me, come on toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 27
    • vteckononnya on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:59 am

how to look like china car when you cant even see the car?
      china spyshots are all like that dude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • yamaha sikoru on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:08 am

in picture, you are looking a TAPE car, what the problem with you make a earlier statement?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:43 pm

You are a 100% pure sorhai with no added preservatives.

Come see me if you have a kimchi. I will give you the best price in town after I show you the Hilux

• seancorr on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:54 am

By the looks of it..the design cue might be following the next generation Altis too which is a good sign.

Hopefully Toyota adds more features into the next gen Vios. VSC wouldn’t be too much to ask right?

• terryble on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:57 am

At least not the roundish looking car…
    hopefully no more plasticky interior and 90k price tag as well~~

• takhtukiwiki on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:57 am

The interior definitely looks more premium. The outside is still a little conservative. But again, the Vios is not supposed to be a looker right? It’s supposed to be a straightforward, reliable and affordable car (not in Malaysia because of NAP of course) and it usually fulfills ts mission quite well. I believe Toyota will definitely stick to the Vios philosphy of evolution and not revolution, playing it safe and reliability/frugality. Why not if it works for them. I just don’t know why Malaysians have to smuch hate for the Vios. Channel your hate towards more productive issues such as why NAP is making us pay 3-4 times more than other countries for cars therefore pushing OEMs to strip security options down to keep wide margins. Not Toyota’s fault but Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • keretamahal on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:34 pm

its so premium looking you could stick a lexus logo and bintik-bintik lights a la audi onto the car and then drive proudly back home to your RM890,000 15×55 luxurious lifestyle property in Puchong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • armandd on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Blame UMW instead.

• wuttaheck on Jan 08, 2013 at 10:59 am

cheap a$$ camouflage

• conventional setup for dashboard…smart move for T.

• hafizrahim on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:01 am

No matter how many people hate it..vios still d best. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 72
    • Dugong is always a dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • keretamahal on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:36 pm

it d best of car for d uitm graduated people work in d JKR grade 27 and below.

Ikhlas daripada:
      d’friend from d’pusat tuisyen bahasa inggeris in d’lembah keramat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
      • Datuk Jack. on Jan 09, 2013 at 5:15 pm

u really make this HafizRahim down like hell.. he face will be chop as a dugong hardcore fanboy..

• Datuk Jack. on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

yeah another vios japanese fanboy wannabe… this car is lower grade than saga flx se i told u..

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Because Toyota is proven to be a car that does not sui kwan and kwai tai, unlike kimchis and euros

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • wakeUpUMW on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:03 am

Let me guess…UMW will fit in the ever green , all the while, always and only VVTI 1.5 with 4 speed AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • kingston on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:05 am

PLease make the thing look like the new Auris in Europe..

• _xXx_ on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:06 am

WOW!!! NICE!!! GOOD RV GUARANTEED!! (posting on behalf of Sam RV Loo…) LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • gizmo on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:08 am

if u buy a car with a center instrument cluster , it means ur not interested in rpms n kmh, means ur either a woman or a closet homosexual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
  • Looks more like a Honda.. Hahaa

• Looks more like a Honda..haha

• sepul on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:11 am

well, interior design look promising

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • keretamahal on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:41 pm

the interior promises you the impeccable luxurious lifestyle that you deserve.. vios..

(satria 1.3 (M) 1994 cukup la boy)

• taboogen on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:15 am

unlikely toyota will changed the power-train. since they know people will buy anything with the T badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • halefomar on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:15 am

Proton also use nice camo. Vios selotape?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Datuk Jack. on Jan 09, 2013 at 5:17 pm

trying to save as much as they can .. profit is a big concern for umw..

• sedan on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:18 am

auris-like headlamp?

• confused on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:26 am

This is by far the best camouflage I have ever seen. Hardly car design line can be seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • You think like Proton meh? camouflage also want to follow BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
      • Datuk Jack. on Jan 09, 2013 at 5:19 pm

its feeling like drive a bmw preve… kah kah kah kah.. anyway its true.. preve better than vios n city..

• Can Toyota improve the auto gearbox.
    And the engine. Finally the “dugong” era will rest in peace soon….. Extinct/ pupus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Rita Whora on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:35 am

Suzuki swift launching on the 10th……

• onono on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:36 am

For sure next 5 years all UMW staffs enjoy minimum 6 month bonus every year again…mana tidak ini new Vios soon easily selling 50k units annually…

• ben yap on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:43 am

hopefully they upgrade to 1.5 dual vvti and a 5 speed auto with manual over-ride.

than, that’s something to look forward to.

the car still looks like using the same platform as the current dugong, though.

• Looks very promising …. As far as I see, the blubber that make a dugong a dugong is gone. Replaced by some sharp lines. I have high hopes that it will look good , definitely better than the current ones.
    As far features? Ahem……Toyota, Look at Nissan Almera and preve….. Hey you hearing UMW ? Hello! At least 2 airbags for the entry variant….. And keep the current price…… Ta

• Kalun on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Most probably based on 2013 Toyota Vitz.
    100 percent! Trust me. I be correct because the previous one is based on Toyota Vitz/Yaris.

• mrworldwide on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Dugong reborn…

• Peyno on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Still using 4AT n old tech timing chain???

Better buy kancil or saga
    Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • no change in gearbox and engine..

this car is not Toyotas money maker. so they wont put technology into it.

i’d be happy to be proven wrong though.

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:27 pm

dugong face-off..hope to hear the new city,than we can compare vios,city and forte(K3)all over again..oh plus preve hunchback

• khairulx19a on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:28 pm

another high resale values car hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Digir on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Even if they continue with the old 1.5 litre VVT-i and 4 speeder, it will still continue to dominate as the best seller B-segment, unless UMW priced it above RM100k mark.

• Peyno on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Rakyat not stupid anymore.. Rakyat hv more choices.. Almera, fieasta with better spec n better price

• sonyman on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:46 pm

yeah, 110K vios TRD, hehe why not? there are so many supporters out there. Heck you place the same price as Altis 1.6 also there will be people buying.

Because it is a Vios mah. Vios got what? nothing, only make UMW richer.

Hopefully the engine and gearbox remains and raise the price another 10K or so for the TRD. i just wanna see how many great loyalist out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 08, 2013 at 7:55 pm

no need to hope…its a sure thing coz Sam Loo says so…wahahahhahaha

• it seems toyota still remain the current Vios shape. the interior doesn’t look interesting at all.

• Brace yourself. New sheet is about to flood our roads ><

• alex chan on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:50 pm

this is what we called QUALITY!..keep up the good work toyota!!…rakyat will flocking to toyota showroom at no time!…because we rakyat choose value and quality..and rakyat will vote PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • Peyno on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:09 pm

No more center meter??? Failure design??? Last time said eagle eye theory la.. Bird eye concept la… Yeahh if PR win cronies company likw umw, tan choong, pnb, drb, sime darby will die,… Yeahhh buy real jdm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • LemonTea on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Most of JDM Toyota nowadays had switch back to regular positioning meter. Mark-X, Crown, Auris…even Toyota Vitz (hatchback version of coming new Vios) doesn’t use center meter anymore.

• Vios_Dugong on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:00 pm

CODE NAME : VIOS 381A

• Aduhai on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Aduhai.. Dok bash toyota ke honda ke.. Banyak excited or banyak Meh ke.. These 2 brands will sell like hot cakes in Bolehland forever.. That’s the fact..

• dugong on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Oh mighty toyota, pls give us the awesome 4-speed SUPER ECT and the ultra powderful and efficient 1.5L world class award winning magnificent 1NZ-FE VVTi engine. Remember to provide the head turning,neck snapping, stunning TRD bodykit too!!

• Chris on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Eh… if it is still the same 1.5 engine and 4 speed auto, then no thanks.

• boring on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:02 pm

if they could remove VSC in Camry, they could take out ABS in this one too.. no thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • sonyman on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:49 pm

i support fully, take out the seat belt as well. ABS, Airbags and seat belts.

that be great to look at.

• Matchy on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Front looks ok… but the back….

• anbaDSP on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:21 pm

TO ME KOREAN MUCH MORE BETTER NWDAYS…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Kimchis are great value for money if buy pre-owned. The 1st owner would have lost 50% within a year when they trade in

• tokmoh on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Looks like porn to Sam Loo.

Come Msia, UMW sure give us the oh so reliable, good fc 1.5L with *drums* … 4-speed AT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Medic on Jan 09, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Yup,Sam Loo just wet his pants after reading this news.He should wear diapers when it is launched.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:52 pm

I only get excited when more people buy new cold door kimchis, coz I make more money trading these cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • saravanan on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:26 pm

I’m willing to bet my bottom dollar Vios will be based on the latest YARIS as is the current VIOS available in Japan and North America …..sadly it will carry the same engine, tranny and chassis…..economies of scale….I would love to be proven wrong! Google YARIS and compare the photos and you will know what I mean.The Japanese and North American model only comes in the hatchback guise:)

• dugong on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:57 pm

http://paultan.org/2011/01/23/2012-toyota-vios-artist-impressions-based-on-new-vitz/

looks cheap n fugly

• vee-oh on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:15 pm

wah current Vios dugong so many people said this & that, all bad thing…but it still sells a lot…how come

• bcoz malaysian doesnt care + blind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Oh common that’s bias, the Vios has and always has been the safe-choice for Malaysian. A simple, reliable and easy to maintain but otherwise mundane choice to anyone that possessed half the knowledge on cars.

And if I’am not mistaken the Vios was launch in a time where this segment, 2 airbags was the trend. Malaysian or more specifically, PT keyboard G.Is, can’t really forgive the Vios. Even before this one is launch, hope is lost and begin a full scale comment assault on it.

Toyota certainly did improve the looks, it is now up to UMW to see weather they will be gracious enough to grant us a decent specs, or face a coup d’état. I am 50:50 on this, with the Mirage and the successor to the dugong title, the Almera, all possessed decent specs at lower price, no cooperate firm will ignore this threat, but UMW is no ordinary firm.

PS: BTW I like that name, Bios, the name of a German-Japanese song I’am currently addicted to…..ta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • GreenWave on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:01 pm

The design look hideous..perhaps better than current design.. :D

• Nissan2Crazy on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:10 pm

get Almera IMPUL at RM79k!

or Vios J at RM78k? .. hahaha

• Bangkok Motor Show sounds like very frequent !! Anyone going ? Can kill 1 bird n feed 1 bird at the same time but come back to be stoned…

• sonyman on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:52 pm

yes, new model coming, cant wait to look at the spec sheet and pricing.

by the time it comes in, how many face lift would UMW do to the current unit, cause by then probably the vios going to be slow down in sales. Probably another 3 facelifts to go? Change some light and so on. Probably reduce another airbag for the E Vios. And increase the price by another 3K each model? Wah by then the new Vios TRD can touch 100K man, very close to VW Polo sedan. So at least it is competing in the Orang Putih region.

• You think like Proton meh? The Preve cannot sell still want to keluar hatchback. When hatch still cannot sell, then sell company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • peyno on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:46 pm

u bash proton like hell.. it wudnt make u JDM…rakyat know u justa a local car salesman.. not JDM or conti Salesman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • keretamahal on Jan 08, 2013 at 6:28 pm

if i were toyota, i will introduce 3-speed auto and stick the exact current avanza interior into the new vios and sell it for RM95K.

aunties, uncles, fresh graduates, grade 27 government staff, “daddy loves you princesses” in inti college and all other toyota fans including property speculators in Puchong will definitely buy.

toyota maaaaaaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Peyno on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Buy almera better… Vios.. Soo yesterday
    Malaysia.. Place where japs dumb their unwanted tech..
    Yet ah beng impressed a lot
    Prffthhh

• another car with senget center console? oh well…
    btw, hope it comes with legendary 4-speed auto + 1.5 engine, which works harmoniously to unleash the inner strength of the engine that churn out extraordinary performance to powered the car! :D

** sarcastic + trolling up there **

• someone SUPER RV car coming soon..for ppl always RV RV RV..

• ShiokSendili on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Who did the balut job on this ? Some tadika kids ah ? No need to balut macam nasi lemak la.. it’ll still be the same plain boring nasi lemak inside

• Carl Wong on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:22 pm

With the tape on the shape and interior looks a bit like………. Honda (City)…………..
    Toyota going Honda :]……..??

• chairguy on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Believe me. Its a junior Camry and its for junior ah pek. Same old and familiar engine, fine tuning toward better fuel consumption but sacrify the performance. Take out some critical equipments/instruments to improve UMW’s profit margin. Attached more chrome materials so to attract junior ah pek. Estimated slight price hike. We Malaysians, like to complain but still keep buying Toyota. Again it is the best selling car for non-national cars as we love Toyota.

• squall_shinoda on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:49 am

Ancient 1.5L VVT-i engine + dinosaur-age 4-speed auto = boring. Better buy a Honda City, Nissan Almera, Mazda 2 or even Proton Saga FLX than this tok kadok-age piece of crappy junk.

• Just to share.

The new crash test by IIHS – “Small Overlap Front Test” on T Camry is POOR. Same to T Vios as we compare the crash test video conducted by MIROS. The driver head is not land to the air bag but land to the dash board due to the weak body structure.

Refer to:
    YouTube.com
    iihs.org (http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=291)

• Joe Radzif on Jan 09, 2013 at 8:46 am

takde la cantik sangat pun…
    biasa jer…

• The Enthusiast on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:17 am

If the design language of the new Toyota is any indicator, this new Vios is ought to be exciting. And finally! They’re putting the centre dash back to the driver’s side. But Toyota could do more than the 1.5L VVT-i engine and the 4-speed autobox. Given the potentially huge market here, I think it’s only fair to bring the good stuff to our shores.

• dugong on Jan 09, 2013 at 1:25 pm

fuiyooh!!! New TRD vios can sell for 99k and ah beng / auntie will buy like hotcake!!

• No comment from Sam Loo so far? Toyota sales must be doing well to keep him busy.

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:51 pm

hes busy washing is pants after the incident…refer above. wahahahahaha

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:47 am

Trading used kimchis eating up most of my time, but its really worth it.

No pointy trading sushi or sui kwan euros, coz the margin is less than 1/2 compared with trading kimchis.

Buy low, sell high. Just need to invest in another Hilux to save my saliva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:54 pm

I only like to encourage people to buy kimchis, coz I will get to show them the Hilux when the trade them in 1 year later.

Then I will be laughing all the way to the bank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Who gets rid of their car after a year?

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

Kimchi owners, coz they would have realised that the rotten cabbage like Sonata/K5, Tucson/Sportage, Sorento/Santa Fe, Elantra/Forte is a real piece of junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • David D on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Dude, you piss people off. If I had the chance I would like to see you involved in a side impact crash in your beloved Camry. I guarantee you maximum hailat, as you would be fighting for your life in a car without side airbags. At that point, RV is nothing but a non-issue by that time. What a troll you are, deserving to be beaten up savagely for having a lifeless childish mentality just like Maserati and all the other idiot trolls in all posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo is likely salivate when this car hits our shores. Underspecced, of course.

• Sam Loo on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:55 pm

I saliva will flow when I see sorhai’s buying kimchis brand new.

My cash register will need more RAM to cope up with the transactions for used kimchis

• David D on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Lamborghini loses its value like water the moment it leaves the showroom. Same goes to BMW, Lexus and the lot. What does that tell you? Buy them low and sell them high, is what you should be doing, and you’re here, bashing kimchis like no tomorrow just because of your bad experience. Get a life or ship out. Pathetic.

• aero_solitude on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:02 am

will this be the facelift taken from the auris model? cross my fingers on that

• Norman on Jun 22, 2013 at 3:52 am

Interior and exterior is totally different but bad things gearbox and engine is still the same with previous gen ones except for different unit of ecu.