Domino’s orders two slices of Renault’s Twizy EV

dominos-twizy

Pizza delivery experts Domino’s has ordered two slices of Renault’s funky two-seat scooter-car EV, the Twizy. The Swindon, UK franchisee from the popular chain delivers until 5am all over Swindon and surrounding areas, so the silent Twizy is described as perfect for nipping around residential areas without waking up the neighbours.

The funny little thing is also a doddle to park and zip around in, thanks to scissor doors and dimensions of less than 2.5 metres in length and 1.5 metres in width. To top it all off, there’s no road tax or fuel bills for Domino’s to worry about – the Twizy’s battery is charged using a standard 13 amp socket, giving an official range of up to 96 km.

Twizy is the world’s first mass market fully-electric compact two-seater. It comes in a choice of three trim levels (Urban, Colour and Technic) and is priced from £6,690 (RM32,650) in the UK. Battery hire is available from £45 (RM220) per month. Click here to read and see more of the Renault Twizy.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I’ve slap myself many times, but no matter how much I slap or how much I like high performance cars , I still lust after the little Twitzy…..
    …. Bring it to Malaysia , BRING IT NOW!!!!!

• shawal on Jan 09, 2013 at 8:38 pm

nuthin beats d speed of delivery guys on motorcycles, 20 mins 9 times outta 10!

• As much I like the speed of two wheels , quite some time ago, when I ordered pizza from Pizza Hut, after an hour the pizza is not here, I called pizza to confirm my order, another half an hour, the pizza came, I went and yelled at the delivery man once he disembarked from the motor. I felt ashame when he told me his comrade met an horrible accident and he has to take over his duty.

From than on I decided to think more before I act or talk, but old habits die hard. And I took in an almost sadistic view of motorcycle ever since which than evolve even more when I got my driving liscence. I have a bad experience with 2 wheels, that left a scar I can never heal. I vowed never ever to personally ride a motorcycle as long I blood continues to pump in my veins. I can understand those who work in the countryside but in the city…… Nuf said

Personal opinion, no offense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • darker marker on Jan 09, 2013 at 8:52 pm

mat rempit style delivery is malaysia’s way

Where other country in this world that one can practice mat rempit-ing (using company bikes) yet getting paid for the delivery job??

malaysia bole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • In Malaysia..motorbike is still the best mode to beat the traffic ..but if RM33k..i want one!! But dream on…it would be RM60k i believe…

• kadajawi on Jan 09, 2013 at 9:18 pm

33k is for the vehicle only, you need to add the rental for the battery.

Also it doesn’t have an aircon, AND you are shaded by the windscreen. Might get a bit warm.

It is cute though, and looks quite cool in the flesh. A head turner.

• This car cannot sell here!!! Because our automotive policy is the best in the world, EV are not proper cars. JPJ and our Gov cannot change policy just like that because it will not benefit the politician and the AP master. That is why we are the world leaders of vehicle policies eventhough our dream cars are Mercs, Beemers, Ferrari etc.. ;-)

• kadajawi on Jan 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Don’t forget that the smart fortwo was and is an overpriced car on other markets too. The smart has a list price of 10275 Euro. For the empty naked version with the smallest engine (61 HP). 102 HP will set you back 17220. The Yaris starts at 11835, Polo 12450, Fiesta 10950, Ka 9100 (still more spacious than for two), 208 11600, 107 9650. All 4 seaters, rather than 2 seater. You always had to pay a premium for a for two, it was always around B segment price.

• lambo door hinges on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:35 pm

JPJ and our Gov cannot change policy just like that because it will not benefit the politician and the AP master.