Honda CR-Z facelift to debut in Indonesia in February

honda crz facelift jakarta

Honda is certainly paying a lot of attention to the Indonesian market, at least where the CR-Z is concerned. First, the facelift made a surprise world premiere in Jakarta last September, instead of its planned Paris debut set for a week later, catching everyone off-guard.

Now, news has come about that the car is due to begin selling in Indonesia next month, according to schedule. Significantly, Indonesia is the second market to sell the vehicle after Japan. The car will be the first Honda hybrid to be sold there.

In related-news, the automaker says it’s aiming to boost its hybrid sales in the ASEAN region – currently Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand – from more than 12,000 last year to 20,000 units in 2013. No word on when exactly the CR-Z facelift is to debut here, but it should be sometime soon, within the first quarter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Medic on Jan 09, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Good opportunity to raise prices.Better comes with ‘real’ improvements,not cosmetic changes here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Aquila on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Earlier article on face-lift CRZ has this boost+ thingy like KERS.

• Kalun on Jan 09, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Use the S+ or KERS the proper way. Do it like the professional F1 driver.
        Use S+ only when you want to overtake another car. Especially in a 2 way opposite direction highway. Very useful!

• Dear Editor,
    Can u please find out from your sources within Honda M’sia on when the All New Accord Hybrid (2.0L) will be launched locally ? TQVM.

• bystander on Jan 09, 2013 at 6:08 pm

it may not come, since the import duty exemption for hybrids is only for 1.8 and below, thats why you don’t see the Camry Hybrid here.

• The exemption is for hybrid cars with a combustion engine of up to 2000 cc. So the all new Accord hybrid should be entitled for the exemption since the capacity of its combustion engine is just below 2000 cc. The current Camry hybrid is not sold here because it is fitted with a 2.5L gasoline engine.

• Now peoples start to understand that hybrid car is good. Worrying about cost of battery replacement is normal, like in the early days, people reluctant to buy automatic car. They said, the gearbox was very expensive. Now, everyone looking for automatic car. Next 5 years, everyone looking for hybrid car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • kelvin on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:45 pm

If it is not “so called” tax free, see people will look for hybrid or not.

• anti-lynas people will not like this news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • _xXx_ on Jan 09, 2013 at 5:25 pm

hello Ali, what everyone? Pls dun represent me. I hate AT cars especially CVT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • so, if, IF (a big IF since i’m now driving a car less than half the price of CRZ) i’m thinking of buying one now, should i hold my intention? the first quarter is not a long period to wait.

• tikus on Jan 09, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Protest agains Honda by giving rakyat lower spec on Jazz Hybrid.Shame on you!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • There’s nothing wrong with Honda, they’ve made decent cars, the new accord , and have the bravery to admit their mistake and change …the refresh accord. The EarthDream engine tech also means they’re also trying to move forward.

You want to protest, protest against DRB Hicom. See you at Shah Alam…..

• James on Jan 09, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Indonesia had enjoyed BRIO before us.. And we had the CRZ before them (thinking..as i did saw one yellow CRZ in Jkt)..but its great to see lower emssion cars in their town thats pretty much polluted with exhaust fumes.. Going Green is a great idea..

PS : bila honda BRIO nk masuk malaysia?

• shioksendili on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:47 am

Soon, emissions tax will be introduced here, you just wait and see.

• Tax exemption is for 2.0 and below, not 1.8.