Qoros developing Volkswagen CC-like model

Young Chinese brand Qoros is developing a Volkswagen CC-like model for 2014 or 2015 which will slot between the recently announced C-segment GQ3 and a future flagship model, according to Sohu Auto, who posted these images.

We can see what appears to be a panoramic roof that tapers gradually towards the rear, whereupon it kinks upwards at the boot lid. The rear window is nicely kinked too, and the rear wheelarches flare out more than the front ones, creating on the whole a rather muscular and sporty tail end.

There’s a pronounced swage line that begins just aft of the front wheelarches and cuts through the front doors and half of the back doors. It’s simple and uncluttered, to say the least – but then again, this has some way to go before it reaches the production stage.

Reports speculate a turbocharged 1.6 litre unit (which may also power the GQ3) for the Qoros four-door coupe, but we’ll probably have to wait for the Geneva motor show in March for any official details.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• PauKaya on Jan 09, 2013 at 2:53 pm

a car company half owned by the israelis…. boycott

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 48
    • Nissan2Crazy on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:57 pm

that’s preve sapphire front bumper design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Julian Lee on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:12 pm

why boycott just because israelis helped in the joint-venture? truly pemikiran sempit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • LatukBandar on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Israel and to the extend of Jews. Why hate them? They did something bad to Malaysia?

You might as well boycott the world, a large number of today’s scientific and technological contribution are from this tiny group of people.

You can start by boycotting Intel processor… jew owned. wait… you can’t!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • Stop using facebook then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Kalun on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:09 pm

There are Jews in the world. Some from Isreal and some from other parts of the world.

And If you don’t know, the are some JEWS that are Anti-Isreal.
      Some I saw in National Geographic. Some are famous one from US.
      So what’s the Hatred about the Jews and their societies?

No hard feelings though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Like boycotting does jack anyway.

• itulah sayang kan 50% syer Israel Corp pegang. Lg 50% Chery. Sblm ni Chery 55%, Israel Corp 45%

apapun ini model flagship diaorang 2020 untuk kereta sedan segmen D http://www.carnewschina.com/2012/12/17/qoros-concept-car-for-the-geneva-auto-show-unveiled-in-china/

• Definitely one of the best (if not the best) looking chinese car i have ever seen. It’s almost audi/jaguar-ish. Hope the production stays true to concept.

• Kalun on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:12 pm

I saw a BMW X5 chinese copycat in Top Gear.
      Damn it looks similar.

But maybe we won’t be surprise a Proton Gen2 look alike. Again!

• Black Dog on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:06 pm

The sport rims looks like it’s borrowed from the new Golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • powershot on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:23 pm

just bring it here. see how it fares in the Malaysian market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • powershot on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:50 pm

just read bout Qoros auto

a company founded by a joint venture between Chery automobile & Israel Corporation

• Joe Radzif on Jan 09, 2013 at 3:38 pm

No one to say it pirated?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Honda lover on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Nah you can compare this Volkswagen CC copycat to Protong,and not Japs or even contis.

• Wohoo on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Euro R front with aston tail pirate.. there..i’ve said it

• ariff on Jan 09, 2013 at 4:42 pm

looks more like an aston martin rather than a cc …

• celicazz on Jan 09, 2013 at 5:39 pm

is it just me, or d front quarter at the fender area really look like Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • powershot on Jan 09, 2013 at 6:57 pm

you should have said the preve rear should look like this car

• preve was planned to be in prod years ago, couldn’t look like this car that came much later

• chris yip on Jan 09, 2013 at 7:28 pm

This is not from Qoros, its a student design project from Coventry University, using Qoros DNA as a subject, designer is a student named Daniel Hoffrock.

• http://www.qorosauto.com/en/product/design/article3

yang ni jamie barret juga dari institut yg sama. ada dlm laman web QOROS. bgs Chery nya anak sykt ni. sayang kerjasama tu ngan sykt israel. maybe tujuannya nak dpt kan bakat2 (design, jurutera,marketing), supplier dan sokongan terbaik dunia

• 100 times better than proton la

• ah beng on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Preve is also Jew design, what! You mean u didnt know? Nincompoops!

• tokmoh on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Resale value good? If no good, sorry, Sam Loo kata tak nak.

Meanwhile…

“Reports speculate a turbocharged 1.6 litre unit (which may also power the GQ3) for the Qoros four-door coupe”

Guna Campro 1.6 CFE? Campro ke arah kuasa besar dunia!

• powershot on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:54 am

Funny. Proton’s engine alone can potentially go further into the international market instead of their own cars

• cardreamer on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

Yea..a good design concept..

Btw, definitely there are good jews and bad jews the same way there are good and bad of you and I…some jews even condemning Israel nation/Zionist and had a view that Israel should not exist..find out yourself..

That’s why in general people says boicot the Israel or Zionist, not jews..and there are muslim jews too..interesting right?

For how much you hate BN, you still live here in Malaysia and shake hands with them..when Malaysia boicot the Great Britain and Australia previously, does it mean we throw away our Airbuses and pull back our students there? Be reasonable, we do what we can as a tool to convey our displeasure and show our stand…

By the way..Proton shud better improve their design..Preve is a good start..

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:57 am

As long as its not kimchi ……

• alikato on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:49 am

i20 should come in to grab share from suzki, and price it under 60k would guaranty sell well.