All-new Lexus IS – official pics of third-gen car leaked!

2013-lexus-is0011
UPDATE: New hi-res images added

A new Lexus IS is due, with the current car having been with us since 2006. Although it still looks very good to these eyes, other premium rivals have since moved on to a next generation. We already have an idea of what it will look like, thanks to the Lexus LF-CC Concept from Paris 2012 (click here and here to see more), but here’s a set of freshly leaked official pics of the third-generation Lexus IS.

This set of leaked images are low res, but we can clearly see the resemblance to the LF-CC Concept. Like the new GS, Lexus’ F30 3-Series fighter wears the company’s new signature spindle grille and sharp lines throughout for an aggressive appearance. These pics are of the F-Sport variant, which is like M Sport and S Line, not the full blown IS F.

We also have a preview of the new IS’ cabin, which has a layout that’s somewhat similar to the GS’ dashboard, with a large central screen and slim AC vents sandwiching an analogue clock. Edgier though, which should suit the younger IS buyer.

The new 2014 Lexus IS should be making its debut at the upcoming North American International Auto Show in Detroit, so stay tuned for full info. Like what you see so far?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I’am expecting hoards of comments saying that this is an ugly sonuvabitch, or that is a more expensive Toyota and it’s better to get a German. Since there is no comment of writing. And if the comments later is fill with some positive comment, than it will really surprise me.

But I’am going against the pack by saying it’s actually impressed me. No it’s not pretty, but no Toyota since maybe the 2000GT has been. It’s flamboyant, unique and different. It’s definitely more unique than any of the formal Germans. It looks like something only the Italian could do. Sorry BMW F30, this thing just topple your reign as my personal favorite interior of the segment. Love the LFA digital LCD(I think)meter binnacle and aluminium finishing.

For a Lexus to look not boring but rather exciting actually and drive [Jay Leno garage reviewd it] surprisingly well. I have to say, Toyota, you’ve done a second miracle after the 86!! Bravo. Now please bring this miracle to the normal Toyota line up. We want an exciting….okay maybe just the looks….Vios and future Altis for repentance against the universally disappointing Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 20
    • Alvin on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:44 am

Sexy looking car but yes, just an expensive Toyota. Selling at almost RM300,000 over here you might as well buy it’s competitors (C-Class and 3 series) at substantially cheaper price and better branding.

The pricing for the lexus range is marked up like crazy by UMW even for the so-called tax-free Lexus CT 200h. Not worth to buy in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 24
      • neutral on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:14 am

very much agree with you…CT200h is quite overpriced here…they seem to be taking advantage of the tax exclusion to make big fat profits…anyway…I think the interior is stunning…exterior is a bit overkill…especially the front…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Kinda surprise me, I did’t know Lexus was under UMW. But true the the Lexus is a full 30k premium over the Beemer , vorsprung durch technik or the Merc. But we are comparing the old model IS, a car so boring, I count it to sleep. This I believe can put up a fight.

It will sell for the same reason why Hyundai sells here, it’s different, unique and I’am getting tired of looking at C and A4 arses up the road and Kidney grill 2 cm from my rear bumper.As far as just an expensive Toyota, well, looking at the GS, that’s more than a expensive car, that could very well be a Teutonic fighter, I’ll pick the GS over any A6 or E but the F10 5-series still leads supreme in my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
        • Honda lover on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:59 am

To AVH,the current IS 250 is better than this all-new model in terms of design.Current IS is more elegant.So I like the current one compare to this all new generation which is just sporty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
          • Respect your view, but I view the current IS as an excellent, high quality but rather dull car……
            …This is one is far more exciting but overly dramatic, should tone down the spindle grill at least, but is a major improvement

• Pictures don’t do justice this car here, there are linesand curves and details u cant see in pictures..
            The real metal will make you think differently..

• looking-Good on Jan 16, 2013 at 2:58 am

A4 catching up ur bumper.. u must be driving a slow car or drive slow~

• Derek fernandez on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:55 am

To be honest while prices arent cheap i dont think they are overpriced in malaysia considering the spec list and fully imported status of lexus in malaysia. A very much inferior spec locally assembled bmw costs just as much or even more. Add to that the stuck up service of the bmw sales team vs the godlike treatment the lexus guys give, i would buy a lexus if not for the driving dynamics of the beemer.

• obviously you live in a shell.. Lexus is NOT just an expensive Toyota.

in your mind then, Audi is just and expensive VW? and Porsche is just an even more expensive VW?
        or VW is a really cheap Porsche.

being naive is ok, but being naive and stupid. thats just ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • paullytan on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:00 am

I am 100% sure this car Does Not offer ‘Rusty Seat Frame’ / ‘Rusty Aircond Vent’ !

• I totally agree with you, especially: “It looks like something only the italian could do.” This statement hits the spot.
      The interior of the new IS really outshines other competitor in the same segment, be it quality, overall feel, sense of occasion..
      The exterior too, there’s a shadow of the previous IS, but it’s not traditionally “handsome” as we always perceive, and yet the design draws you to it, then it “invites” you to discover the sophistication behind it, like a piece of excellent art.
      And as a bonus, Lexus have miles better reliability the the Germans..

• It needs some time getting used to. To me, that ‘organic’ headlamps is the only bummer, I could have even call it handsome if it were’t for that organic lamp. with those sharp lines. Now with the high-res released, I can say that the spindle grill can also be toned down by adding a blacken bar in the middle instead of the full on Audi grill. I actually like the rear end. Interior is king! overall, striking is a word I will use to describe the design.

I did comment that is quite ugly in one of the comment below, but now that I’am looking at a high res pic, and awaken eyes (it was 12:30 when I comment that) I take that back. No it’s still not good looking, but is neither ugly. It really has a very Italian feel to the design, a love-hate relationship, Alfa and Lancia looks are’t love at first sight, it grows on you.

Am I disappointing, no far from it. This is still essentially a Japanese car, a country that makes more souless machine than any parts of the earth, yet this thing really has a character to it’s design. Unlike other Japs where we like it for being a great machine, this feels Italian, it feels ….and I may regret this…..soulful.

• Dr rif on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:59 am

My god this is UGLY. Have a look at the Topgear MY site for full size pics. Looks like Predator. Toyota is blind. First Camry, and now this!!

• Dr rif on Jan 15, 2013 at 1:28 pm

http://imgs.abduzeedo.com/files/articles/predator/17.jpg

Lexus designers watching too many predator movies…

• DonkeyKong on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:19 am

That’s one helluva ugly car. Such a big step backwards compared to the minimalist, sleek and elegant current model of Lexus IS. This type of look will look old pretty quickly, just like Hyundai’s tacky “Fluidic Design”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
    • true, it will age very quickly….but lesser chrome or chrome accent should allow it stay longer than the Sonata.
      I forgot to write in my comment but yeah, it’s quite ugly, this is the F-sport version, fingers cross for the normal one to look less…..dramatic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • frenzy on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:58 am

Instead of ugly, i rather call it unique.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • Honda lover on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

Lexus’s spindle grille not suitable for this all-new generation IS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • yamaha sikoru on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:09 pm

looking good but rear light look like sad, most excite adapt LFA instrument panel!!!

• skypirate on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:59 pm

i disagree, the best looking part of the car is actually the rear 3/4, the front is too polarizing.

• dreaming of maserati on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:52 am

another predator design again…yawn zzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • baboos on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:36 am

IS for young fella. so probably a good strategy. but for old uncles, not really. the GS is lovely for them. but for me, this is somehow way too cocky.

• that interior is top notch

• looks like lexus is fast becoming the 2nd audi by using the same face(with minor difference) for all its models.

the spindle grille suits sport-orientated models like is & gs better than large models like ls & lx. just my 2 cents

• Anon Kneemas on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:34 am

Keep in mind this is the optional F-Sport. I think the car looks great (I see parallels with the Mark X in proportions/elements) but I reserve 100% judgement until I see the normal variant, a different color, different stance and different wheels. Overall its a step in the right direction imho, the design is very expressive and mostly non-derivative without being too cheesy. I wish the rear exhaust tips are better integrated ala the LS and GS though but I suspect its to aid the aftermarket industry.

• Sabahman on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:12 am

I have driven the current IS and I can tell you it is no BMW. It is no Mercedes either. It is a luxury Toyota, which is fine if that is what you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • HONpengDA on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:56 am

Only those moron will buy this sucka japanese brand,i rather go to jerman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
  • Kyoshooo on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:09 am

The interior is nice but not the headlamp and tail lamp, very very ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Gavin on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:37 am

from the 3/4 view it retains so much of the old design so your brain expects the front to be the old one, so the face looks like a bad pokok cherry bodykit

• Vishnu on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:08 am

It’s not pretty, but it’s not ugly either.. kinda like Uma Thurman, or Kirsten Stewart, or Angelina Jolie and Milla Jovovich at some angles…

Obviously is a very personal opinion, but personally, she’s no Emma Roberts… :D

At that price, you have many options, but honestly, this would turn my head more often towards it, and not to mention give way in traffic for it, more so than any 3-series or C-class I encounter..

• Baldwin on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:17 am

Dislike the outlook but definitely thumbs up for the interior and premium refinement that comes with it!

• Kalun on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:18 am

Eh! Sam Loo,
    Got RV or Not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo Jr on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Sure la…its a Toyota! You can trade in at 95% selling price after 1 year!!

• c14man on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:59 am

if cars can talk… and you see them in your rear view mirror on the high way,
    Merc will be: Excuse me, Merc coming though.
    BMW will be: Kindly move aside, BMW is here.
    Audi: Get away, Audi’s here!
    Lexus (spindle grille): F*** off! LEXUS IS HERE!!

• Lexus FTW on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm

HAHAHAHA u made my day!!

• Just got chased home by an F10….yes the modern BMW with the Corona DRL(was it?) and rather charismatic look dose’t shouts, it’s more of a :”Move aside, you’re in the way boy”

If cars have personality, The BMW is the charismatic playboy, the Merc is the Formal Gentlemen, the Audi is the Smart Engineer. The Lexus…..it used to be the Cash-strapped Nerd, but with the current redesign, is more of the party clown, the funny and unique but still lively, that gets thing moving.

• I would say, before you say UMW is overprices the lexus, go and have a look on custom form first, then you will know how much is the COST of the car. Clearly declared on the form, complete with all the taxes. Not fair to say something without facts.

• Modesto.hann on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

Too many lines on the body, still simpler is better. This version looks nasty,ugly.

• Jaybond on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:45 am

2 things:

1) The interior design is not as flamboyant as the exterior design, which is a kind of strange combination.
    2) Rear lights could have been better designed.

Lets wait and see if the new Lexus could match (or closely) BMW 3 series for driving experience.This is the decisive factor to penetrate the world premium sports sedan market.

• LexusBiskut on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:48 am

The exterior is errr..fail, but the interior looks very nice. Price close to 300k i dont think it can sell much Msian will go for the usual suspects the BMW, M’ces and Audi.

• AhBeng on Jan 10, 2013 at 12:45 pm

I’ve got a mixed feeling with this.. It’s beautifully ugly.

• kicap on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:11 pm

emmm…where to hang the plate number ah at front side?

• Julian Lee on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:46 pm

stupid ugly grill spoil the car, just like all the new lexus also ugly. conclusion: lexus will never match BMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • And no one will match the stupidity level in your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • You are talking as if Lexus (the company or anyone associated to it) did something bad to you…
      Let me guess: Lexus is you ex girl friend and she dumped you, and now you hv a a new girl friend (BMW) , but still bear a grudge to your ex..

• cosmo on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:58 pm

most probably u can’t afford 1, thats why u seem so angry… poor thing…

• But will beat the Audi easily.

• Interior is nice, but exterior is very Geli…

• kingston on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Bring out the 2nd generation ISF! :D

• Carson on Jan 10, 2013 at 3:34 pm

First impression: Mask Rider’s car, especially the front! :)

• slimershine on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:21 pm

looks like karipap to me..

• Painter on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Lexus never cease to amaze me with their radical and out-of-the-box design.

Gone are the boring continental design of German automobiles.

• David D on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Damn, this is damn salivating. I mean, one quick look at all the compact execs in its class, this together with the Volvo S60 both share the mantle of the best looking compact execs out there. Drove a barebones parallel import IS250 last year here in KL, and it really is a great car to drive. Bloody agile, well made, and feels special too. The only things that turns me off is a damned tight rear seat space, which is really cramped with my driving position set in my position.

Otherwise, this is Lexus, at it’s peak, and being desirable once more. Not the best to drive, but will definitely stir up the heart for car lovers like us.

• Hideous! juz HIDEOUS!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • It’s not often that I comment on car look but OMG… Hideous! juz HIDEOUS!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Megane on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Design too busy and radical . Strictly for those Ah Beng who have made it in life .

• Sayang BN on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Ciannnnntekkkkk

• shawal on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:17 pm

by far the most desirable lexus ive seen…
    but if it wuz my money , i’d splurge on an f30 m-sport

• Jimmy on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:44 pm

If we have the ability to rear a few luxurious vehicles, I wonder how many of us will choose Lexus.
    You can have a Selko with 30km water resistance performing accurately at -30 Cel with lifetime warranty selling at a jacked-up price of USD400K but people with big pockets will still look for Rolex or something beyond.

• cosmo on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:18 pm

me… i will choose Lexus over any german competitors… bcoz too much on the road(everybody driving the same car)…
      Lexus handling might not as good as A or B brand, but what the point u looking for extreme handling in a luxury car? why dont u just off with a Sport car in the 1st place??… not that u goin to corner like crazy everyday or perform donut at the roundabout… beside handling, i think Lexus offered almost an unbeatable package…..the Luxury interior , the comfort , the gadgets , and the ride quality( brand A and B are way too uncomfortable to be called Luxury car) is what a Lexus really shine… and ya, the 2nd to none quietness is something extra to its value… i dont think anybody will wan to listen to the exhaust noise(which most german car offered) everytime u drive, especially after the whole hectic working day. I just wan to get bck home comfortably, quietly , safely and also the sense of ‘specialness’… (at the traffic light stop after work, i was surrounded by a C200 in front, another E class at the left and two 5 series at my back, the first thing that run thru my mine was… “luckily i had bought a Lexus”

• Sam Loo Jr on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:28 pm

idiot should have just bought a camry 2.5v!

• 3uzfe on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:31 pm

..Lexus anyday..why so obsessed with german cars..uh…bmw suspension keras macam lorry eh…Merc or bmw kalu 1 minggu tarak start engine itu elektronik semua jam oo…itupun banyak local assemble sudah…Lexus is still Japan made and is more luxury than bm, mb or audi…

• cosmo on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:33 pm

ehh, its you again… btw , camry is for those who can’t afford a Lexus :)

ohya, if really wan buy camry , i think the 2.0 is better, bcoz the RESALE VALUE is alot better than 2.5 (normally ppl looking for 2nd camry wont want to buy a big capacity engine, coz the car cost cheaper but still have to pay the same as new car roadtax) opps, my fren , u bought the wrong car

• Ah Zai on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Haters gonna hate.
    If you dislike Lexus at first, you will forever dislike it… But till you drove one. You will find it differently.
    I’m a Lexus IS owner, but it was recond, due to flying sky price of UMW given, I couldn’t afford a new one. Well. I would say it’s my dream car since 2005 while I first got my Vios. And I’m driving it today, and daily.
    To me, everyone deserve to have their own opinions. Just like android and apple user, the war is not going to end, “Blah Blah Blah… I dislike this.”, “Blah Blah Blah… This not good lah”.
    Different car manufacturer have their own targeted market. There won’t be 1 car, that meets everyone requirement.
    To me, after a day of tiring work. When I got in my IS, “ahhh.. I feel relax, and I got the joy I wanted from it.”. And that is what Lexus trying to give their customers always.

Lexus – Pursuit the Perfection, there’s always improvement from them day by day. The very impressive IS-F, LFA, those are all milestone of Lexus.

Give them a chance, whether be BMW, VW, Benz fan boys. And remember they are the first Japanese car makers that is making luxury range vehicles. They gonna hit you hard one day.

• Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Lexus would be a natural upgrade for Toyota drivers.

It is also natural replacement for those German Marque supporters that are sick and tired of frequent and expensive repairs.

• funny on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:07 am

ugly or not. when it drives pass you haters, your heads gonna turn and stare at it at in jealousy the same time submerged in ur miserable feeling driving your little kancil or kelisa.