BMW X3 xDrive20i begins local assembly: RM323,800

BMW 01

The BMW X3 can now be had as a more affordable locally assembled xDrive20i variant, which reduces the price tag from the CBU model’s RM358,800 to a lower RM323,800 for the CKD. These prices are quoted OTR with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair, without insurance.

The xDrive20i variant incorporates BMW’s capable xDrive all wheel drive system, as well as a 2.0 litre four cylinder direct injection turbocharged engine making 184 horsepower and 270Nm of torque, mated to a slick 8-speed automatic transmission. Average fuel consumption is rated at 7.5L/100km while 0-100km/h acceleration takes 8.6 seconds.

The CKD X3 has an 8.8 inch iDrive display with Navigation, and is equipped with a 12 loudspeaker HiFi system. iDrive provides the usual connectivity convenience – Bluetooth, and USB support. Alloy wheels have been uprated from the CBU’s 17 inch to the 18 inch design you can see in the image above.

Other features include Driving Experience Control which allows drivers to choose between different mode settings for the vehicle’s accelerator, engine, steering and transmission at the switch of a button. Driving modes available are COMFORT, SPORT and the fuel-efficient ECO PRO. The Dynamic Dampers on the CBU model is now missing from the specs, so now suspension is fixed, thus Driving Experience Control doesn’t do anything to the suspension.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lane tamer on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:55 pm

What? Only RM30k lower than the CBU? U must be joking rite? But anything can happen in Bolehland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • underskinned on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Do you expect to be RM100k less?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
      • he didnt say 100k, but his respond was simply 30k reduction isnt realistic to what we know about our tax structure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Nissan2Crazy on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Soon, post-2016 Market Liberalisation.

U can expect this BMW 2.0L X3 CKD NEW selling at RM250k range.

No need PKR for that, Malaysian have been on track pursuing that. Perodua and Proton have been preparing for that. Even Peroudua itself sound it’s own scare towards it, and build a new company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
        • lol… later in 2016 BN will say: owh, due to unforeseen circumstances or lower car tax might caused automobile industry to stumble.. so we decided not to liberalize automobile industry. U noe… BN is good at making up stories and screw rakyat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • tishaban on Jan 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Unfortunately this seems to be the norm for most cars. Look at the pricing difference for the CKD Passat (~15k?), CKD Jazz Hybrid (~5k?) recently.

I can’t tell whether the very small reduction is because the govt is still keeping lots of money or if the dealers are pocketing a larger margin. Maybe both :D

• sutheshkumar on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm

at least BMW is kind enough to not remove most of the options from the CBU in the SKD plus the latter gets an 18 incher. The SKD-ed X1s gained stuffs than its CBU counterparts.

As for Passat, the CKD only gets the price reduction but the original CBU price is now marked for the better equipped Passat Sport. The Jazz Hybrid is the worst lot. It looses a lot of stuffs plus the quality of the car inside is just not as good as the CBU.

• unforgiven on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:37 am

The cost price for ckd is not cheap vs fully imported.

Inspira is more expensive than original made in Japan Lancer (langkawi price).Jazz hybrid ckd is more expensive than made in Japan (fully imported cbu – fully loaded car)

Why made in Malaysia is more expensive than made in Japan, where are those additional moneys goes? Who’s pockets?

• Biscuit on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:49 am

……..because quality wise, assemble in Malaysia is much much better than being assemble in developed country…..!!!!

• if they taken out the AP price for this car, i think there are other excise duties. but we Msian expect both to be taken away since its all CKD. BolehLand!!!!!!

• With this price, it is pretty attractive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Jimmy on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Please buy CBU, you will not regret, for sure. Not much saving after all. People who buy this range of cars must have at least RM30K to spend per month, on personal life, excluding properties.
      Likewise, people who have the ability to purchase and rear brand new Ferrari/Porsche cars all should have at least 6-figure rm income per month, and there are many in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • KillBox1Alpha on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:24 pm

358 to 323? and that too for ckd? Should be less than 300k..what a rip off..you can get a cbu Q5 around that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • sutheshkumar on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:17 pm

below 300k brings is close to the X1 diesel price and yes for the price you get a Q5, but without options. At least this one comes loaded.

• sutheshkumar on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:18 pm

below 300k brings it close to the X1 diesel price and yes for the price you get a Q5, but without options. At least this one comes loaded.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:29 am

You obviously havent seen what Q5 comes with…

• sutheshkumar on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:10 pm

I did and that one comes with added cost options. See the car which comes with the mark up price. Nothing on par with this petrol X3

• What is the meaning of CBU and CKD?

• you are new to the car world aren’t you haha. CBU is fully imported while CKD is locally assembled but the parts are still imported.

CBU=Complete build-up

CKD=Complete knock-down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Correction – “..CKD is locally assembled but some parts are still imported”.

• Jimmy on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:25 pm

His brain may be funtional at a higher level than most of us here; he may be asking something else, think about it. So there are at least 15 persons with high wisdom here to thumb him up. Good.

• sudonano on Jan 10, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Unexpected, but looks like it might give the Q5 a run for the money

• longjaafar on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Pleasant surprise. I did not expect them to locally assemble this model. But I wish they had reduced it to below RM300k. That would be something.

• Alpha on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:46 pm

When are Mercedes gonna bring in the GLK-class here to compete with Q5 an X3??

• Because the current GLK is only available in left hand driving…

• Alpha on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:00 pm

I see. Would be awesome if they made it rhd. I love the boxy looking GLK.

• Fahmi on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Why no xdrive28i in malaysia??

• u can have it at roughly RM400K plus judging by our funny tax structure. at least RM100k different compared to X3 xdrive20i. so would u buy? i dont think majority malaysian will buy either.

• David D on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:12 pm

323k can get you an Audi Q5. And you can save more with a Volvo XC60 that comes in right under 300k. However, one thing i’d admit for sure, is that the X3’s driving dynamics, being a BMW, would still be tops.

But, seriously, 30k reduction? It should’ve at least been 20-30% cheaper at it avoids the import duties!

• unforgiven on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:43 am

Tbh, ckd may includes free money in the pocket system for certain people.

Inspira is more expensive than original made in Japan Lancer (langkawi price).Jazz hybrid ckd is more expensive than made in Japan (fully imported cbu – fully loaded)

Why made in Malaysia is more expensive than made in Japan, where are those additional moneys goes? Who’s pockets?

• Avenger on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Lebih baik beli CBU…kalah membeli menang memakai…sebelum ini pun 3 Series F30 CKD memberi banyak masalah kepada pembeli…contoh nya kerusi berkarat…steering berbunyi…tingkap dan wiper bermasalah…dan yg pelik nya BMW tak pulak membuat apa apa recall untuk membaiki masalah masalah ini walaupun banyak komplain telah diajukan…Toyota bagus…sikit rosak aja terus buat recall…kalau saya tau mutu BMW CKD tak begitu bagus…saya rela tambah 30 ribu untuk beli CBU…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Calvin on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Looks like price increase for several 5 series model by 5~6k…

• kancil turbo on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:39 pm

With this price better buy lotus evora nice look and can bring amoi so proud

• K-Pop on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

omg i’m so in love with this… please proton, rebadge the x3, slap a 100k price tag on it and i’ll sign the purchase agreement!