SPIED: Best view of the Proton Prevé hatchback yet!

DSC00773

Thanks to reader Ekhwan Ismail, we have the best view of the Proton Prevé hatchback yet. He spotted this partially covered P3-22A test mule at the HICOM intersection of the KESAS highway, which is where Proton’s Shah Alam factory is.

We’ve showed you pics of a black example before, but these daytime spyshots give us a better view of the upcoming Prevé hatchback’s shape and lines. The wheels, which appear to fill up the arches nicely, are the same as those previously seen, but the seven spokes have been taped up to confuse. Also covered are the car’s nose and rear section from the C-pillar backwards.

At the Thai and Australian launches of the Prevé, Proton said that we can expect the hatchback variant to debut sometime this year. It could be pretty soon, given the number of recent sightings!

Click here, here and here for previous sets of spyshots. Theophilus Chin has an idea of how the Prevé hatch will look like – click here to see his renderings.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BMW fanboi on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Preve is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 44
    • Jimmy on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Yes, the original Tuah. Does Encik Azlan know that his greatest job is Proton Tuah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • waiting for rubbish commments coming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
      • Rubbish car of course lah get rubbish comments also. Problem bro???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 80
        • got it, i saw one now lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
        • The car hasn’t even been released yet and you can already say its rubbish. If you have problems with a car that hasn’t been launched yet, you have some serious issues. Get yourself checked.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Chow1 on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

Sorry, I think Proton is not just losing out, but already fall at least 10 years behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 50
  • Proton r the best on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:34 pm

LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • gOOsh on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:54 pm

cantik arr… harga??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Sharon on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Harga pun cantik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • ariel sharon on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:30 am

Kalau berani jual lah Preve RM99K…kalau betul sama global standard dengan Civic, Altis, Forte lah…takut apa lagi???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 94
        • farghmee on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:30 am

u berani beli kah?

berani ckp saja tarak guna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
        • doohhh on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:50 am

hahaha sbb harga kereta “global standard” pon x sampai mcm tu

• Nissan2Crazy on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:34 am

Preve is selling at the correct price, but not Civic, Altis nor Forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
        • kalo dah nama cam yahudi, mmg komen pun mcm org bodo…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
  • wow never thought it’ll look decent!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
    • haha … Proton haven’t abandon this lame word … wow …. wow …. wow, lucky i didn’t book the other car …. wow …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
      • Peyno on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:16 am

Woww impressed.. Good job proton… Rakyat sayang preve

Ps: love to see local car p2 salesman butthurt

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:54 am

that is forte koup rim!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • The Prevé Hatchback’s rims are 7-spoke, but the Forte Koup’s is only 5. Still, it looks VERY similar, I agree. Let’s wait and see if this is the final design or not, it could be just a testing unit though.

• nice looking ass …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 11
  • Look like mazda3 hatchback, hopefully proton also produce 6 speed manual for this hatchback model. Looking forward to this model, hopefully it will launch before hari raya this year hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
    • Proton ‘MUST’ have a 6-speed manual with CFE if wanted to stay compete… KOREAN are coming very aggressively in Design… in order to stay in league, Proton need to load the car with tons of tech and features… Preve is good start… this should be better!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
      • LOL..6 speed manual?..to cater ah beng like u?..how many ppl will go for a manual car especially in kl?..u think everyone also want to race like u ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
    • taboogen on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:59 am

6MT is in pipeline…

• Yes they will but there are some rumours from my friend that work with proton, the 6 speed MAYBE will go to international market not domestic, or maybe will be produce by R3 version only or the production will be as usual, domestic and international..but all the decision still not make by management yet..just rumours… cheers..

• SUV driver on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:52 pm

This is actually very nice looking. It could almost be Hot Hatch-ish car like Golf Tsi or Focus Hatch…Good job Proton. Hope to see this model on soon. I also notice bigger rims on the car. With good price strategies, this could be a great value for money car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 14
  • Kalun on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:04 pm

I’m surprise they cover up the front this time.
    Maybe a new facelift for the front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • look at the first spyshoot posted.. the front is covered… i think this P3-22A will get a aggressive bumper like Exora Bold.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • spyshotX on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:12 am

maybe the design strategy same like persona & gen2.. same bumper different grille.. gen2 don’t have that proton wing “pedang”.. only mesh grille to give that sportiness look.. maybe this p3-22a will follow gen2 grille design cue..

• flat_tire on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:05 pm

it looks as if somebody had puked at its rear end..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 78
  • hey Danny can you censor the CX-5 number plate? privacy duh…

anyway the hatchback does look nice! perhaps this should be the better looking preve, just hope that the tail light design does not spoil the look of the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Maybe the back look a bit like this
    http://paultan.org/2012/04/23/youngman-lotus-t5-could-this-be-protons-new-suv/dsc_8105/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • yippi33 on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:11 pm

that might be true…the back profile looks similar to the youngman

• IPreferProtonTuahAnyway on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:43 am

But according to funtasticko’s spyshot, the rear light slightly lower than the Youngman T5.

• IPreferProtonBungkusAnyway on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:56 am

But according to Business Times news, Proton losing further 3 percent market share. HAPPY DAYS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • doohhh on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:58 am

yeahh the red color

• sepul on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:17 pm

interestingly, all spy photos showed the rear view of the car

anyone managed to snap the side profile and the front? interior?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Peyno on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Perodua ah beng n jepun celup entry level car lover butthurt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 32
    • yea .. and their sales beat the crap out of you P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • peyno on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:39 am

we rakyat/buyer. no a salesman…. nothing to do with slaes figure… as long they can give better spec and safety to rakyat

• The Die Maker on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:12 pm

P2 totally 100% from japan…all managemnt from japan.. Luckly only the md are Malaysian.. Sbb nk wayg je.. Huhu

• Absolute Rider on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Should I repeat my opinion in my previous post? Anyway, hope it has:

1) At least with rear LED combination lamps (including the brake light).

2)Proton Preve Sapphire concept front bumper!! It is really nice!! You got the design, so use it and don’t waste.

3)SID light. Please don’t use red. Please use blue or black. If you got LCD SID, then I have nothing to say, for now. Haha….

4) Custom design your In Car Entertainment (ICE) system. Current Preve lack of the usage of space. Many space left behind. Equip with bigger screen and better buttons with chrome finish.

5)Xenon head lamps. Then ok, but with global standard and trend. Whiter beams for example. Proton should start to develop HID with active or adaptive head lamps such as BMW, Merz, or even Kia (K9 for example).

6) Safety. Use more Ultra high tensile steel via Hot Press Foaming. Increase strength, lighter weight and increase fuel efficiency. 6 airbag (curtain) for high line variant.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
    • Pontiac on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:34 pm

In your dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 86
      • Sharon on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:15 pm

That his opinions. Some suggestion and not like some people like to condemn others only by thinking he’s the best and he is the only one who is correct!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
      • What the hell is your problem?? At least he came up with many positive ideas that will improve the car. And you are just too stupid to come up with anything other than “in your dreams”.

• Kalun on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Support you the most!
      But point No. 3. Red means sporty. But at least they should change the dial font!
      A new ICE would be great. Maybe costly but if Mazda can do it, proton can do it too.

I have a huge problem on Preve catalog colours. I like the white and black. Besides it’s rubbish. Doesn’t match the car at all.

Those colours works on Proton Saga and Exora. Not Preve.

• heard rumours that proton will use Android software based in their new P3-22a radio..but don’t know it is same like our phone or not..just wait and see..

• The problem is how good are Proton technicians if software glitch issues. Ketuk-ketuk a bit to repair it? 5 days car tidor at service centre again? “Biasalah Proton” excuses again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • gkl83 on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm

I spotted it today 5pm too at KESAS from Seafield junction toward to Proton Shah Alam… managed to capture some video of the Preve HB rear side only…

• Absolute Rider on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:40 pm

By the way, PROTON PLEASE TAKE NOTE on your WELDING PROCESS & TECHNIQUES.

2) Engine sound especially CFE cool start problem. Hopefully, all fixed by now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Fixed? You mean they have changed management?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 56
      • hahaha..u are sooo salesman type..doesnt know anything about technical and engineering. like certain perodua salesman..bila tanya lebih sikit pasal technical, balik2 dia jawab..”ni toyota pnya teknologi maaa..ok pnyaaa..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • Habis Proton high technology, tapi tak buat duit.

• wait…u r sales man or salesgirl? or gurl wanna be? i’m confuse

• Sharon on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:55 am

problem with your brain amoi. I think better get i5 fixed

• sepul on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:09 am

the management changed since drb took over

you must be that Ononimous/Pumpkin person, your comments is similarly sarcastic

if you don’t like proton, why bother comment here? critic is fine, but make it constructive and professional.. and mind the language

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Bongcs on Jan 11, 2013 at 2:24 pm

dia cakap macam ini kat cyber world boleh lah, tengok monitor, type keyboard jer. cuba you suruh dia cakap face to face kat public.

• Aha… Proton… kat sini boleh lah puji puji & syok sendiri, thumbs up puji puji … see you you dare to do it face to face in public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • Absolute Rider on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:00 pm

I think P3-22A deserves a THICKER leather steering wheel. Better grip and control.

2) Plastic cover head lamps easy turn yellowish and get blur! It happened even to other makers such as BMW and Merz. Can use glass material just like old years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Saja nak dekat dekat dengan BMW & Merz …. berdiri sama tinggi …. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
      • Peyno on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Perodua salesman menyamar as jdm, conti car ‘s salesman tertekan

• Absolute Rider on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Kasihan amoi, terutamanya. Hampir kesemua komen dia sudah tidak dapat baca terus. Macam mana mahu jual kereta, jikalau dia betul-betul .. penjual kereta. Banyak yang cakap dia penjual kereta pero2. Cakap tidak tentu pasal datn tidak tepat. Kalau dia yang melayan saya, minta maaf lebih baik saya jalan saja.

• Ye ke? daripada P1 sales jatuh dan jatuh sampai tak berani share sales volume ngan MAA

• Absolute Rider on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:20 am

sakit hatikah bila saya mahu cakap merz, BMW atau jenama lain? Itu adalah kenyataan bukan macam ada yang cakap kosong.

• Kalun on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Heavy and cannot be shaped easily.
      That’s why they don’t use glass.

• Absolute Rider on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:59 am

I know but got problem because of using plastic materials.

• takut senang pecah..nk tukar bkn murah..kan?
      tp kete mana eh yg pakai kaca?

• ahlian on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:26 am

itu rolls royce headlamp saja pakai kaca satu bijik RM12K sekali tukar hahahaha

• waja 4G18 lampu depan kaca.. waja campro tak tahu…

• Garfield on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Can easily be restored for RM60 a pop lah. Some place can do even cheaper

• absolute passanger on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:43 pm

dude, try wash your headlamps using toothpaste. the yellowish thingy would come out easily and voila it will be as good as new.

• Please match with sportier yet more practical detached over the door panel side mirrors (like 2013 Mazda6 or Tuah concept) instead of attached near to A-pillar like Preve.

Front design better ape Tuah conceptm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • saiful Iso on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Congrats proton,,hope this new preve hatchback will launch as soon ….good luck proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Fredo on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:03 am

surely can get the car before Eidulfitri this year….hehehee

• Sayang BN on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:00 pm

WIRA 1.6 SAGA 1.6 WAJA 1.6 PERSONA 1.6 SATRIA 1.6
    SATRIA NEO 1.6 EXORA 1.6 PREVE 1.6 PREVE HETCHBACK
    PUNNNNNNNNNNNNNN 1.66666666

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • ///M Owner on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Selling my Preve for the hatchback. Hatchback on weekdays, ///M’s on weekends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:19 pm

i’d prefer them doin an estate or an aeroback ala a7

• roadrunner on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:49 pm

pls dont use GT radial champiro tyre! Continental acceptable lah..

• Celicazz on Jan 10, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Theo’s renderings shud be updated, we can see that the rear doors are carried over from the sedan. so, that 3rd quarter shud be changed.

i dont think the front changed that much, maybe just diff surface treatment for the grill, or just a diff grill.

do hope for that ZF-sourced 6-speeder manual though. CFE can have diff state of tuned, manual can take more that 205Nm, 138hp.

• hope they will update proton’s s2k rally car with this.

• Saiful on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:34 am

I’m just wondering how soon is the real launch of the product between the time of test mule sightings like these happens.

• Fredo on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:56 am

Proton have improved many major problems found in Preve for this hatchback. example of problem that should not be found in the upcoming hatchback:
    engine noisy during start due to a failure valve between the cylinder head and engine block, engine oil leak at turbo due to banjo bolt & VVT crack, engine jerking due to detached OC valve, new ecu and tcu tuning mapping for more power, improved cabin noise/ wind noise…and many more…thanks to the overwhelming comments and feedbacks on preve….so, this hatchback is the one to go for….if u can recall, this scenario will be similar to those Gen2 > Persona era..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • DewaSemut on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Fredo… are you working at Proton?

• spyshotX on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:35 am

i second u.. no public/customers would have known such technical details on the problem.. i bet he’s one of the engineers working on the hatchback..

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:52 pm

The unreliable after sales. The proof is, they will attend the issue after so many complaint. If owner didn’t make any followup, the case will be considered solved.

The current issues still going on, Aquarium Head lamp, Engine die-off during gear change (CVT3 only), Steering pulling to the left (EB), Catalyst Converter Overheat and Air-cond failure (intermitten). No need to mention other small issues.

• If these problems you listed were found in their latest model preve…then I must say the reliability of their product is indeed questionable. It feels like the Gen2 saga resurface again with the preve…quality and reliability issues…over promised under deliver…

• Joe Radzif on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:02 am

Cun…

• vee-oh on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:26 am

looks stylish wor

• crocked_knee on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:26 am

if they came up with manual transmission for the CFE, i think i will be tempted. just for laughs. based on reviews of the preve so far, it’s quite a nice car to drive. a cheap-ish sporty hatchback with manual transmission is hard to come by nowadays, and a manual preve CFE hatchback would fill quite a gap in the malaysian car industry. just my two cents…

• alex chan on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:43 am

Demand for manual car is very low in the real world. i doubt there will be a manual preve hatchback.
    only a few person here demand manual..majoriti msian prefer auto, sorry to say.

me myself prefer manual, but sadly 8 out of 10 person i met demand auto (lazy to change gear)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • g-mey on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Yes.. its true.. i will only buy a car with manual trans if i can afford 3rd car..

• agree, this one looks smart! good job proton, work double hard, smart n faster!

• qwerty on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:21 am

this car will look so good with the 5-spoke rims on the Exore Bold. 7 spokes look too tame IMO.

make it 17” or 18” for the sportier version. yum!

and since they have a turbocharged engine, they could start having different variants using the same engine with different tunings, like what the Germans are doing.

• Interesting

• orbea on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:06 pm

.try la bw preve dulu..then baru comment..

• Young Padawan on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Dammit. Waiting waiting waitinggggg. come on fasterrr.need to change car ASAP. i dont wanna buy pondan myviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • SSaturn on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:09 pm

I get attracted by the Mazda Cx-5 butt only :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Expatriate VN on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Best view of the butt-less buttock ……. Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • alfarabi on Jan 11, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Anyone know how Preve is doing globally? ie in Aussie?

• I think its better than newly launched Swift as well. Milestone better. at the same price region, at least.

• More to look like a Wagon than a Hatchback, the rear deserve more sportier looks as the front look really Nice.

• Feron on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:14 am

The hatch and roof shapes make it look like that, Panjang dan bongkok.

• Rakyat on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:52 am

Can see satria sales drop after preve hatchback is launch

• protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:05 am

that CX-5 is mine…looking better than protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Absolute Rider on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:49 am

Proton, for high line variant, please put in 6 speakers. Thank you.

• NIEKO on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:57 pm

according to DRBhicom there will be a Perdana replacement that is coming next year ,does anyone now how true is this ..pls reply

• member keja dkt proton ckp new proton car pakai engine from petronas (EO1), if we lucky we can get EO1 + CVT 7speed or EO1 + CVT 6 speed Tiptronic or EO1 + CFE + CVT 6speed Tiptronic or EO1 + CFE + 5Speed Mt..Price below 70k hahah wallauweii..

• At least proton have choise to be part in WRC or APRC

• Jason Wong on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Eewwwwwww..

• khairy on Apr 28, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Very2 sad story, I got my preve last week, WYx 12xx only 3 day drive the car…..less then 3km, suddenly oil leak from engine compartment, top cover of the engine + oil sum, oil spread out…called back proton at shah Alam, very bad service, asked me to wait for 1 month, to investigate., how this can happen…shit,!!