Suzuki Swift – third-gen launched, RM78k-RM83k

DSC_0137b

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile has officially launched the third-generation Swift in the country. The five-door hatch arrives in CBU form, but CKD production is expected to begin in a couple of months once the initial run of 900 imported units from Thailand is accounted for.

A single version is available, this being the GLX 1.4 VVT, with the GLX-S being the same car but dressed up with a bodykit. At the heart of it all is a K14B 1.4 litre mill, with variable valve timing, offering 95 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm. In comparison, the M15A 1.5 litre in the previous-gen had 101 PS and 133 Nm at an identical rpm range.

DSC_0179b

The unit is paired to a four-speed auto transmission, which features a new straight-shift pattern. The company says that the Aisin-derived gearbox isn’t a carry-over from the old car, but a redesigned unit.

While the shape doesn’t veer very much away from the tried and trusted look of the old car, the new Swift is a larger vehicle in every sense. Overall length is up from 3,755 mm on the old car to 3,850 mm, while the wheelbase is 50 mm longer, at 2,430 mm.

DSC_0181b

Width has been increased by five mm to 1,695 mm, while height is the only thing unchanged, at 1,510 mm. Both front and rear track have also been increased, by 10 mm and 15 mm respectively, to 1,480 mm and 1,485 mm.

Mechanical improvements include a newly-developed steering system offering improved response to input and a more linear feel as well as revisions to the front MacPherson/rear torsion beam suspension system, resulting in greater rigidity. The braking system now features solid rear disc brakes.

DSC_0153b

Inside, the cabin in the new car features a new black and silver colour scheme, with black key tones accented by silver details. On the equipment list are a leather-covered steering wheel, a two-DIN CD player with MP3 and USB functionality, an automatic climate control system and a keyless entry/push-start system.

Safety kit consists of dual airbags, ABS and EBD with brake assist, and the 1,000 kg vehicle rides on 16-inch multi-spoke alloys, wrapped with 185/55 series rubbers.

DSC_0168b

Five exterior colours abound, these being Snow White pearl, Mineral Grey Metallic, Super Black Pearl, Ablaze Red Pearl 2 and Boost Blue Pearl Metallic, the last two being new shades. Oh, as for the corresponding Swift Sport, that one is due in at some point, but no date has been bandied as of yet.

As previously reported, the Swift GLX 1.4 VVT is priced at RM77,888, on the road with insurance. Opting for the Suzuki dress-up pack, made up of front and rear lower lip, side skirts, rear spoiler, door sill guards, black-coloured front bumper sticker and silver-coloured grille garnish, adds RM5,300. No, Neelofa doesn’t come with the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This car needs a manual option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 14
    • jun jun on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:58 pm

this car baru masuk malaysia kah?ayooo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • In japan 1.2l with duat vvt with 92hp… we only get old technology vvt only 1.4l and 95hp…

Finish the old stock engine…..

• Wisdom on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Bigger & heavier, but weaker engine. 4 speed auto?
          Recipe for low sales. No need to ckd lorr.
          * The kitted one got Honda Insight face. Coincident?

• JeremyNg on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:24 pm

reserve that for Swift Sport !!!

• Ada turbo kah?

• JeremyNg on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:10 am

Nope no turbo !! They do it the old school GTi way ….. light weight and a high rev NA engine !! 0-100 : 8.7sec

• Terrifying Racing Driver on Jan 11, 2013 at 2:40 pm

so low rev confirmed no power.
            not economical!

• Alpha on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Dream car for most college kids. =P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
  • kelvin on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm

What can I say about the interior. Like something is missing compare with it’s exterior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • RON97 on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm

The best Suzuki product is RG Sports 110. Others are crap..
    And that lady is Mizz Nina, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 74
  • wuttaheck on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Neelofaaaa!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
  • late launch. but good car within the price segment.

looks much better than the old one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • PauKaya on Jan 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm

a manual gearbox please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • jangan kena tipu, pakai scrap engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • if only they gave the neelofa option… hehe… :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • Seems like Neelofa is going to be the ambassador for this new Swift. However, this is just overpriced. Wait till GE13.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 25
  • BMW fanboi on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Preve is still a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 113
  • Black Dog on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Yawn!zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • ben yap on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:07 pm

why suzuki come out with lower power output model? i cannot understand that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • stevo on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:13 pm

1.4 engine doesn’t mean that this is slower than older 1.5 swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • JeremyNg on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Bro it weight 1000kg only …… power doesnt mean everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • fauzi on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

buy one get neelofa kah…..?
    hahaha….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • rear light on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

I just want that Neelofa.. you can keep the car.. thanks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • Daniel on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

is the chassis modified from the previous model or is this a completely new chassis?

can’t seem to find any info elsewhere.

• carazy on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:18 pm

and now I figure out why suzuki USA “bungkus”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • skypirate on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:43 am

suzuki USA bungkus is because they refused to bring in the Swift to that market, do more reading before commenting to save some embarrassment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Maserati on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Looks great! Of course this car will sell well too!

• frenzy on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Better than almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
  • mustafa on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:31 pm

target market maaaa…..

• consrito on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Body size upgrade but engine power downgrade? Hahaha.. God bless you Suzuki!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • The previous model 1.5 (M15A) already under power. This 1.4 (K14B) with bigger body.
    Cost saving activity product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • umnokakipitnah on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:05 am

bigger body but minus 60kg from previous model

• carazy on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:31 pm

future new owner start workout now, make sure u got underweight or normal BMI before drive this car!!

• swiftsport on Jan 11, 2013 at 12:51 pm

its K series la bro .. its not same with old model m series .. use ur brain to the fact ! new engine new technology .

• leslie on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:02 am

u hv to see the engine is under-square or over square!

m-15a engine is square engine.
      k-14b engine is over square engine.
      means it hv more power full pick-up and tough!

• kamil on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:32 pm

nice looking interior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Kia rio looks better than this :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
  • kolejeon on Jan 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Good luck with this pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • joeJO on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:06 pm

cun,cantik,kompak,sporty,garang….tp sayang gile babi mahal…!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • Nissan2Crazy on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:21 pm

waiting for CKD RM65k Auto version.
    and futher market liberalisation at RM55k to get 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • JeremyNg on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Any sign of Swift Sport ??!! I wan the new swift sport which is a very good car =)

Btw it cost more in Malaysia compare to older generation while in some country it actually cost lesser den older generation 0.o

• mr_em on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:23 pm

dont worry Swift Sport will also arrive by mid-year, assuming everything else going smoothly…

• Chris on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:30 pm

WHAT!!!! 4 speed auto??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • ninja on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm

neelofa tailgate are nicer than swift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • keretamahal on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:45 pm

the fiesta is a more sensible option

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Aston Martin on Jan 10, 2013 at 6:55 pm

I would like to congratulate suzuki for successfully turning themselves into a proton. How they manage to turn a nice car into an ugly car is beyond my understanding!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
  • There is something bootylicious about the rear , like beyonce. Other than that is quite a decent design , I think Suzuki wants to tread mark the blackout A/B pillar and thick C as their own Classic design. And love the retro meter design.
    Specs are decent ( rear brake disc, yea!!!) but that is one disappointing gearbox, manual is needed for a car like this. And seriously, 5 effing grand for a body kit? I’ll wait for the CKD version thanks, or maybe the sport version(the best Japanese hot hatch).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Nak kereta cantik, cun, sporty, garang tapi nak murah..bagi swift sport pun cakap mahal gak..

• Kumar on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Tried to be like MINI COUNTRYMAN….sadly turn out abit out.Anyway….better than any PROTON cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
  • Myvi SE 1.5 is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 58
    • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:47 pm

this is CBU…so myvi better in what? better in being more overpriced!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Shahrul on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:32 pm

CBU from Thailand… Not japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • is there any difference if it CBU from thailand? I rather save a few thousand and drive locally made car with better spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • the between-lower-middle-income people on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:30 am

no doubt..this car for those who cant afford a mini cooper and don’t want to buy local car..the ego is very high but the money is very low..end up drive a swift but cant afford a house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • portnoy on Jan 11, 2013 at 3:51 pm

better in term of sampan handling.

• gOOsh on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:33 pm

P2 fans will say….”better buy myvi… lagi best…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • AH CAI on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:51 am

and P1 fans says ‘my neo/gen2 can smoke this stuff lahh’ oh craps!

• Xefron on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Yawnnnn…4 speed only? in before toyota also is 4 speed ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • mystvearn on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:42 pm

2 years+ late…

• hater gonna hate on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:43 pm

New Myvi? It just a facelift old stock!

Perodua please stop cheating Malaysian buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • facelift?? seems like u don’t know abt car, or eyes got problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • hater gonna hater on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:12 am

Another Lancer? It’s just a facelift old stock Inspira!

Proton please stop cheating Malaysian buyer.

• ureplyusuck on Jan 10, 2013 at 7:54 pm

below 100ps? LOL.. saga 1.6 can smoke that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • muserocknroll on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:47 pm

yes, but you have to mind for the Swift good handling. Saga can’t beat that fact. :)

• James on Jan 10, 2013 at 8:24 pm

a bit to late, I used to drive swift previously, what can I say is ye customer service suck badly,2 month to repair my car and didn’t get any replacement car, the customer service exec also wasn’t that helpful also, I think Suzuki need to improve in their customer service first. is a fun car to drive, but the service offer, suck big time, this is my first and last Suzuki product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • SC is the same almost every where else…VW Sg. besi also gave me a lot of frustrations and wasted annual leave to rectify problems caused by their staff

• James on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:59 pm

1 month my car stuck at the service center waiting for part, and take another 2 weeks to install it, the CRE person keep telling me bullshit, it happen last year.that when I decide to let go my car and change to VW, so far I’m satisfied with the SC

• Scared to trade in my presence car for new one because of the bad service centre image.

• CYTY HONEY on Mar 27, 2013 at 10:23 pm

OHHHH MY SWIFT……………..;)VERY NICE CAR

• armandd on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Engine capacity/power/torque went down, price went up. Good job Suzuki Malaysia! Best of all, they introduce it 2 years late to clear old stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • mr_em on Jan 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Swift Sport coming soon too…. rumour has it that it will arrive here may be around May or June this year (of course, assuming no problems crop up like last time with APs, Customs etc…)

• Wait for Ckd price drop

• homeng on Mar 10, 2013 at 4:13 pm

no difference bro, CKD price lower people here will still say its overpriced and that Myvi/Gen2 is better. Malaysia boleh!

• i want neelofa..

• first vitara, now swift… what do suzuki have in their mind??

• Cron Lam on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:37 pm

New model more ugly why? The back of the car so ugly now..God..Japanese car really ugly and ugly day by day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • paullytan on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm

rather wait for the coming soon New Nissan Big Tiida

• Carl Wong on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:53 pm

I only care about the fuel efficiency. Is this actually more efficient compared to 2nd generation? By how much? 2km/L? Still using a 4 SPEED AUTOMATIC my goodness & with a higher price……………..

• eXistanz on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Dont buy if you are looking for fuel efficient car…suzuki will suck all ur money just for fuel.

• Sarah on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:35 am

Really nice car but quite late I waiting this car quite sometime and end buying big car for family purpose.

The target market suitable for youngster and university students.

• kentji on Jan 16, 2013 at 12:00 am

youngster and university students no more opt for 1.5 Lit engine and 4 speed gearbox with 60k+-

• pl4y3r122 on Jan 11, 2013 at 1:39 am

total rip off by suzuki malaysia. price gone up so high plus few tings missing..
    where’s de…
    7 airbags (including driver’s knee airbag), Electronic Stability Control (ESC.
    duhhh.. :(

• Sabahman on Jan 11, 2013 at 2:01 am

The Swift is a great city car and fun to drive. I almost bought one last year. But then I discovered Malaysia was still selling the old model and nobody could tell me when the new one would arrive. Too late!

• slimershine on Jan 11, 2013 at 3:19 am

meh.. fiesta is waaaaaaaaayyyyy better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • dogol on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:54 am

I think I’ll just go with City. Not the fan of small car though especially when its almost RM 85K.

• We have no choice because the price is always too high except for the local made.

• sambalbabi on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:16 am

seems like it has rear disc brake!:D but minus the engine, even the previous 1.5cc engine feels underpowered, especially in the lower range. or perhaps the new Aisin gbox can compensate the power band….but can’t deny that Swift has a very good handling and nimble to be driven for town use.

• Susuki on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:17 am

Damn rip off by DRB Hicom Suzuki! At least RM20K overpriced! Is this a moral ethic agreed by Japanese culture? Suzuki Japan just close one eye?

Obviously DRB ensure even Suzuki cars price above Proton Preve. MITI apa lagi angguk kepala saja peduli apa DRB tipu rakyat!

• Susuki on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:20 am

You can expect the new MPV Suzuki Ertiga price also gerenti RM100K way above Exora price.

Another rip off again soon by DRB!

• Leonardo on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:27 am

1.) So this unit is less powerful than the previous 1.5L version? 2.) What are the accerleration times now as compared to the previous model? 3.) What is the fuel consumption now as compared to previous model? 4.) what are the emessions level now compared to the previous model? 5.) What is the ENCAP rating for this car?

• AH CAI on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:58 am

how about suzuki kiashi? mehhh

• Matthew on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:48 am

I find it hard to believe that in this day and age car manufactures are launching new cars with 4 speed auto gearboxes, technology first launched in 1977!!

• _xXx_ on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:07 am

K14B China made?

• i20 far better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • If engine capacity and output doesn’t matter you… I’ll advise go and get a Myvi, almost the same output but u save 30k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • VW Polo on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:55 pm

The new Myvi design really abysmal compare previous generation and the handling is worse in 110km/h Myvi floating like a boat.

I rather take Persona than Myvi.

• vee-oh on Jan 11, 2013 at 2:37 pm

why u no price below 70K? now i can afford Mirage only…but i already fall in love with this new Swift design

• Aliana on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:53 pm

I will not surprise Swift will sell well in Malaysia. The design really awesome and nice. Plus the interior improve compare with previous model.

Some people might argue that 1.4 is downgrade but it’s not the torque is higher and more light.

If got more money to spend I will buy the Sport version. Really cute and manly at the same time.

• MZaki on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Danny, Anthony,

Does it have isofix? Can’t find it anywhere. consider buying it as second car

• the current model has isofix, so i guess the new one would definitely have..

• “new redesigned better steering system”?? seriously, juz say lah rectified previous defective steering rack system…..i replaced mine under warranty 3 times in 2 yrs and a new one costs 5k!
    ok juz letting go my frustration and having said that im damn glad new model finally gotten rid of the defective rack issue…swift sport 1.6 6-spd MT come come come!!!!

• leslie on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:05 am

1.6 swift sport is outstanding car at earth!!!

• swifter on Jan 18, 2013 at 2:36 am

Just to let you know that Nikaijaya sc ipoh can solve this steering rack problem under 60 rm. the steering will become more tight but still good in handling.

• Yap Tai Wai on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:26 am

should pair with cvt gearbox…japanese swift was pair w it…

• 4 speed auto? @@

• Exproton on Jan 14, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Really ugly design such big lights for a small vehicle for real? design looks like such a turn off compared to the previous gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Avine on Jan 15, 2013 at 1:50 am

Even I have Mini Cooper S and Audi A1 which I’m conti lover but I do love the Swift’s design especially the sport version.

• simsim on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Can use a better engine and gear box for that price.

• kentji on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:55 pm

The unit is paired to a four-speed auto transmission, i rather get flx dude

• Better speed/handling with new engine ( even reduce cc ) , better space with less weight compare to previous swift. I gonna love it. But with my current salary, i just afford to buy persona. Myvi??? handling totally out at speed over hundred.

• Better speed/handling with new engine and new design gearbox ( even reduce cc ) , better space with less weight compare to previous swift. I gonna love it. But with my current salary, i just afford to buy persona. Myvi??? handling totally out at speed over hundred.

• sirehh on Dec 29, 2013 at 2:19 am

my bro and a few friends of mine who owns a myvi says that brake problem is common with myvi.. dunno abt the latest one but the previous version before 1.5 have this problem, send myvi to fix the brake many times oredy but still have the same problem.. so leceh la

• en yetty on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:59 pm

lower output,higher price!better buy myvi 1.5 lol!

• Melvin on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Which one should I buy?
    I eligible to pay up to RM950 per month. No other commitment
    1)Suzuki Swift (new)
    2)Ford Fiesta(dated)
    3)Mazda 2(dated)
    4)Forte
    5)Vios
    6)Honda City

• Repustin on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:24 am

Really awesome car as always!!!

• This car should be fix in hybird engine..

• FTZONE on Mar 05, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I would love to see the 3 doors hatchback imported into Malaysia with the same price as the 5 doors version!

• Samlok on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I love this new swift, don’t feel underpowered at all. Handling very good. I don’t c why this car need more gears as 4 speed is just nice. U no need to down shift many gears to gain power.

• sirehh on Dec 29, 2013 at 2:17 am

love this new swift, better in term of handling compared to perodua myvi. just a little bit underpowered to vios, but still manageable, not to the point of annoyed.. feeling more sturdy in comparison with myvi.. not sure about the fuel consumption yet but so far so good