Mazda 6 equipment and spec lists revealed on oto.my

s4-20134Mazda6Wagon5

An ad for the yet-to-launch Mazda 6 on oto.my has yielded information on equipment and specs for the D-segment sedan and estate. There are indeed going to be three variants, confirming what was revealed in a listing we talked about earlier: 2.0, 2.5 and 2.5 Grand Touring – the latter being the estate.

The ad, posted by Advant Speed of PJ, lists prices as follows: 2.0 sedan (RM154k), 2.5 sedan (RM181k) and 2.5 Grand Touring (RM185k). It adds that there are five colours available – Aluminium Metallic, Blue Reflex, Meteor Gray, Snowflake White Pearl and Soul Red.

The two SkyActiv-G petrol engines are direct-injected four-cylinder units. They’re mated to a six-speed auto. The smaller engine produces 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm; the bigger one does 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm. Fuel consumption is a quoted 17.4 and 15.6 km per litre respectively.

Click to enlarge.

Regardless of what variant you choose, you get six airbags, 60:40 split rear seats, push start, auto wipers and climate control, cruise control, a TFT touch-screen with MP3, AUX, USB and Bluetooth, front and rear sensors with reverse camera and a start-stop system, amongst others.

And that’s just the standard kit. The list of extras to be had on the higher trims are no less impressive, including auto-levelling bi-xenon headlamps, DRLs, LED tail lamps, keyless entry, i-ELOOP regenerative braking, i-Activsense tech, shift paddles, sat-nav and an 11-speaker BOSE sound system – click on the images above to find out more.

If word on the wire is to be believed, the Mazda 6 is likely to receive its official local launch sometime in the next couple of months. Not long now!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ABTguy on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Wow, 2.5 model comes with 19″ rubber !

• Jimmy on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:55 pm

This is deal of the year 2012/2013, I believed. Everything expected are included for their respective prices, including ESP and lane departure warning and 6 airbags. This is Japanese Mercedes below RM200k. And the look is there.
      Very good move, please support Mazda 6, I hope the rest are willing to follow. Mazda this time really treat us Malaysian with respect. No significant increases in prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:01 pm

And this is CBU. This just shows us how much you can buy with your hard-earn money. Say no to extraordinary greed from
        Voice out Keadilan everyone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Stuart on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:32 am

Driven in Australia, you will agree with me that this car is miles apart from any Japanese cars in its class. Definitely a continental class!

• theanswer on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:05 pm

even the old model, mazda still give a different (or better) ride than other jap brand.

• Alvin on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:21 am

If you’re going for the top range Mazda or any Japanese cars for that matter, makes more sense to buy the Mercedes Benz C180 at RM199K if the offer is still available. May not be as big but build quality and branding is on a whole new level.

I’m not sure why many of you are so impressed with the extra airbags and the minor goodies. This is the “D-SEGMENT” cars. This kind of specifications should be the BARE MINIMUM available even in the entry level D-SEGMENT cars. Just that Malaysian are usually ripped off by the Toyota and Honda brands that anything else extra offered by another competitors seem amazing.

Heck, at RM140K-RM150K price range, the car should be fully-spec up to the brim. Shame on those who try to price their bare boned basic D-SEGMENTS cars above RM130K. Yea, you know who I’m talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
      • Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:49 am

Why T & H D segment car offer so few goodies? Obviously mazda is doing a good job.

Yes conti vehicle is giving many discount, but the warranty and cost of repair scare me away..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:22 pm

The issue here is anybody who is doing good job should be praised, including Toyota Malaysia. No ganjaran, who will do a good job? Do you wish all Malaysia drive cars with 2 airbags and no ESP forever, including D-segment ones? What is your motive? I speak for many people who earns 10-20 times less, like what DAP does.
        Please read the full specs on all safety equipments, so these are your so-called minor goodies?
        I support Mercedes which is my 1st choice vehicle brand always. But I must say Mercedes Malaysia did the offer with their special intentions that you and me know.
        Your comment seems more appropiate if posted in Toyota Camry 2.5V articles/posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Alvin on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm

This is what I called jaguh kampung mentality prevalent among many Malaysian.

If this was the specs being offered in US or Europe, nobody would even raised an eyebrow but here we have someone who said they deserve to be praised LMAO. It only look good because you’re comparing it with cars like the Toyota Camry but in itself it’s just normal and they priced it highly for what’s it’s worth.

My intentions are clear. I say Malaysian deserved better for what we’re paying. Otherwise price it appropriately (that means cheaper if you’re only giving basic specs)and not RM140K and certainly not RM160K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
          • Stuart on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:08 pm

You are truly blind. This car is more than just the specs, I can see Mazda have invested a lot of effort in their skyactiv technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Bro, this is not US nor Europe.. Normally these spec only available for conti level, look at Camry , 2.0G doesn’t offer keyless entry! That is a 160k car

You should be happy that Mazda offering this model,yes the price is quite high, but, better than monopoly by the rubbish Camry, LED light located at spoiler, lol. What’s save cost product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • 199k for a C180? Don’t be misleading. It’s 227K WITHOUT insurance and that’s just a basic model. Minor goodies? Tell me which model below 200K with all these so called ‘minor’ Istop, Ieloop, iactivesence, lane departure warning, smart city brake, etc etc…? Even this C180 don’t even have half of what this Mazda 6 offered. Don’t be ignorant, look at the price here in Australia www.mazda.com.au. Their cars should be half the price of what we are paying here. Now compare the price of this full spec Mazda6 with same spec sold there. It’s H&T that’s overpriced and definitely not this Mazda6.

• Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:51 pm

I think c180 Mercedes is offering 212k, don’t know still got promo or not in year 2013

• unforgiven on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Cannot really understand why Merc is being compared with Mazda… funny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Pontiac on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:13 pm

We become like what u said because we feel dizalimi fro
        Toyota and honda with 2 airbag. Thats y we appraised someone that can make a difference.

• OMG…frankly, among so many japanese branded cars…MAZDA is the BEST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • With the spec sheets revealed,it is confirm that the all-new Mazda 6 sedan and Grand Touring will be launch in Malaysia.
    Can’t wait to see the first Japanese estate.Hope it will launch soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • If i am not mistaken this would not be the first jap’s estate…subaru brought in before…what i mean here is the official dealer not grey…

• Henry Ford the XII on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:46 pm

The Nissan AD Resort is also considered as estate or not?

• ernie on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:14 pm

this car is what i call heaven on earth!

• Nonsense on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:17 pm

wish for a 2.0 engine with other specs are the same with 2.5 engine. sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • powershot on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:37 am

same here. dont mind if they bump the price a little as long as they similar specs with the 2.5.

make it the only difference are just the engine

• Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:51 am

The 2.5L engine acceleration is even faster than VW passat, Audi A4, and F30 320i !

That’s why you pay more more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • theanswer on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:06 pm

true. but have to remember the raodtax will cost u 700+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Stuart on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Over 180K car and you want to complaint about RM700 road tax? Per year?

• 0-100/top speed: Mazda 2.5 7.8s/223km, Passat 8.5s/220km, A4 1.8 8.3s/225km, F30 320i 7.6s/235km, C180 8.9s/223km, Camry 2.5 9.1s/210km

• any taker for my existing Mazda 6 2.5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Did u lose ur RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
      • Sam, i believe this M6’s RV will soon catch up the Camry. Just wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • >6 airbags across the line
        >ESC is standard

Am I living in Malaysia? Congratulations to Mazda for not underspeccing their car!

This example should be followed by other makes as well.

• Saros on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:56 am

Agreed, big thumbs up for 6 airbags, DSC and TCS across all variants!

• Davinnci on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:52 am

Haha Your Camry sunk into the drain.. As well as RV. Seriously a vehicle without TC is just another crap

Welcome to the party Mazda, T & H no longer rules the market

• Your jaw finally back in place? Your jaw must have dropped down after looking at all the long list of specs missing in your Toyota..luckily you still can use your fingers to type..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Fake fella up there.

Don’t worry, you will not be shown the Hilux when you trade it in. The Hilux is only applicable to kimchi owners, plus some cold door sui kwan euro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • DewaSemut on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Wowww… would want one, but beyond my reach… huhu :(

• Good looks, good specs , good price……. What’s not to like about the 6?

• PauKaya on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:59 pm

if thats really the price…good job

• BeemerFreak on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm

With this amount of Spec in the 2.5 and considering it is being built in Japan, WHY THE HELL should I even consider a stupid old ugly inefficient Toyota Camry…….

Well luckily I am not, and hopefully more fools out there will not too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • sonyman on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:04 pm

where is the adaptive cruise control leh? suppose to include right?

• Storm on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:45 am

There is and they call it Mazda radar cruise control with lane departure warning and rear vehicle monitoring.

• sonyman on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:06 pm

this mazda 6 confirm better than camry 2.5 hoh? lucky buyers. i dam jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • What a nice car! Really look sporty and luxury. The spec also good compare with others.

• nice

just make whoever bought toyota camry looks more stupid

:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • tikus on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Well…There is alot of stupid people supporting stupid camry and think they are so proud of their stupid car.

• ToyotaCamry on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:52 pm

those who thumbdown this comment must be the new camry owner :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Thank God, I will be seeing more sport sedan on the road soon. My Mondeo is not lonely anymore…
    Mazda 6, I welcome u

• kentken on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Wow,it is look awesome! red is the best!

• Gavin on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Any comments on Mazda after sales service?

• Fahmi on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Kudos to Mazda for including 6 airbags and VSC on 2.0 model… Not like the “all new” camry which doesnt have VSC even on 2.5 models… The 2.5’s even had more advanced safety features which is unheard of before on a sub 200k car….

• Jimmy on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Absolutely true. Hopefully this pioneer move will lead to significant changes in car safety equipments in Malaysia. Please sayang the common rakyat, I am not even the kerajaan.

• Except for the conti….VW, Lion etc……

• FC for 2.0 sedan: 17.4KM per litre … Wow !!

• Fahmi on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Yeah still hoping for the best of Skyactiv, the 2.2L turbodiesel engine…..

• Why so many specs are not available on 2.0 model?.

• HONpengDA on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:18 pm

R.I.P toyota camry

• Jeff lim on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:51 pm

The actual price Otr price received is Rm160k for 2.0, rm185k for 2.5 sedan and 2.5 wagon rm190k! Ie. rm 5k more than Advertised!

• powershot on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:12 am

maybe price otr with insurance?

• Jimmy on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Bermaz please think carefully, looking at long-term business. Don’t simply increase prices if you see good response/sales, built your market first. Ensure extraordinarily good aftersales service to conquer UMW.

• where’s the 2.2 diesel?…thats the pick of these new mazda skyactiv model

• Darn, this M6 having the longest wheelbase in its class. 2830mm. however, the boot space is not that enough but whos care this is a sport saloon. anyone confirm when is the official launching? how about the incoming honda accord?

• Jimmy on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:42 pm

You are welcome to wait and see what Honda will and is willing to offer in her CKD/made in Thailand Accords. I hope Honda will make equally good or even better move.

• Which one better? New coming Honda Accord or this Mazda 6 ?

• Jimmy on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Mazda 6 is CBU Japan. 1st thing is always the safety equipment list, do you think Mat Sallehs are stupid?

• Jeff lim on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Original launching date was 2nd week of Jan. Now delayed till early March

• Fuel consumption of 17.4 km/l and 15.6 km/l for 2.0 and 2.5 respectively is unbelievable. Must be overated.

• Apparently yes it’s true. I’ve checked some website which indicates similar figure for combined city/highway. Cx5 was know to have the lowest fuel consumption in SUV category. Yes it’s believable.

• Davinnci on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:12 am

This is skyactive engine. It’s aim is to beat hybrid engine, not normal engine

• Mazda6 on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Sapa mau angkat saya punye M6 2.5 year 2010??

• talk a lot la these malaysians..like the damn car n can afford it, buy la..apa mau kecoh2?

NO ONE, including Mazda is shoving this crap down your damn throat.

Get a life already.

• Stealth on Jan 13, 2013 at 9:29 am

Then why you still come here and kecoh? Just read and shut your mouth then..

• YeapyEvo on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Best of both world, continental car drive feeling and Japanese reliability + CBU quality makes it the best buy in D segment, provided Bermaz don’t be greedy and increase the price.

• David D on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:18 pm

First came the Sonata, then came the Passat and 508, then finally the Optima K5, and now, this stunning machine of a family sedan. All way, way better equipped over Accords, Teanas, and the mother of them all sinners, the Camry.

For 150k and onwards, what more can I say? This car has just gone from slightly behind the podium finish, straight to the top when comparing its competitors right here in Malaysia. Granted, the Camry will always remain top in sales (bloody hell!!!!!), but one thing is for sure, for all of us who would buy this car, we can safely tell ourselves that we know our cars better. Safer, exciting, not to forget excellent as an overall package.

• gOOsh on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:30 pm

it’s time fr me to change my ride to D segment… so, options are camry & mazda6… but a no-no fr accord…

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:12 am

Safety always comes first, if you can afford. Resale value is all about putting in a FD of RM30OOO into UMW account which you can guarantee get back if you sell your car 5 years later when you sell it. This RM30OOO FD deprives you and your family the 5-year safety protection.

• Should be saying NO NO to Camry and consider between accord 2013 and this 6

• RedBeanBun on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:04 am

now compare with Japanese spec…

http://www.atenza.mazda.co.jp/spec/equipment.html?link_id=atzlnv2

• GoodnBad on Jan 13, 2013 at 1:20 am

Im a Mazda Owner. Mazda got good cars, fun to drive and good design. The downside of it, bad aftersales. Bermaz Motor has got the most inefficient and un-trained service staff. Up till its supervisor and managerial post. Now, a good car like Mazda, but a bad after sales. What do you guys think of this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Stealth on Jan 13, 2013 at 9:33 am

What do we think? I think you do not own a Mazda and here to spoil the party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • GoodnBad on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Oh, i own a Mazda that is why I can share my experience with you guys. I love the new Mazda6. But every time i step into the service centre. I came out unsatisfied and unhappy. why? Read below reply.

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

From the way you write, it is not sincere.
      Now, please tell us your motives.
      All readers please, read between the lines.
      Please look at the big picture for the whole automotive field in Malaysia, before you put up your comments everyonesss, especially in important articlesss with meanings.

• GoodnBad on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Now, i ask what do you guys think.. and for an opinion so that i can share my experiences with you all. It all based on my personal views on Bermaz Motor because i am indeed driving a Mazda. My motives are simple, i wanna know if people here buys a car and appreciates the after sales. Or buys a car because of the looks and price and deal with the aftersales later on.

I can share with you what i went through with Bermaz Motor. They lack of manpower, lack of experienced mechanics as well as sales adviser. They slot in too many cars and bookings for the day, took more than 3 hours of servicing and in the end, problems were not solved and I was told to go back and come again next time because of “too many cars”. Sales advisor had no clue on whats happening or any simple knowledge of the car.

Every single time i step into the service centre. be it the glenmarie or federal highway. I spent at least 3 hours waiting for general service or some check up even tho i made booking days earlier.

I sent my car in the other day to check on smell coming out from the air con with bookings made earlier. Went in at 9am, waited till 12.30pm only to be told that nothing has been done to my car yet as there were too many cars. I asked for the supervisor and was told the same thing, no apologies. They say they will call me the next day to make another booking when they “order the “parts” and after a week, no calls, nothing. I had to call them again and make another booking and non of them are aware of my problem.

I am speaking from experience and my personal opinion on this. Good car, bad service.

Do you still think I am not sincere in this matter? Are you satisfied with my motives now?

• Honda SC always make me wait 2-3 hours for servicing a car.
          But yours are even worst…. those japanese car maker become arrogant d when ppl prefer their brand..

• Davinnci on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:02 am

Me too, Honda SC services is good, but everytime it take me 2-4 hours, and I go there very early, 8am, still need to wait 2-4 hours.. Very few time I can get my car by 2 hours. Sad

• berombon on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Actually, you can also go to the Ampang SC, there’s one in front of Tawakal Hospital, there’s also one in Bangsar (these 2 are authorised SCs I think).
          Just don’t limit yourself to Glenmarie or PJ only lahh…

• Mazda After sales service is as good if not better than Honda or Toyota. In general, all of them service cost almost the same but most Mazda spares are from Japan vs Honda and Toyota from everywhere. Also i heard more recalls from Toyota and Honda in recent years. I owned the first version of Mazda 6 2004/5. I service my own car in my house since 2008 after the warranty was over (PhD in Mechanical Engineering). I kept my car at tip top conditions because Im fuzzy and even now it drives like new (also too deeply in love with my M6 and found it hard to sell it). Of course, Mazda mechanics I know are very helpful in sharing their knowledge about the car servicing needs. OK. i personally experience the knowledge of mechanics at different general service shop, most of them are good in hands on but poor in elaborate the issues or using the right method to service the car design(eg: use torque ranch to correctly installed the bolts and nuts; or using the right distilled water and coolant mixture for the cooling system). Since i owned it, service it myself, i can easily tell that Mazda is really reliable if well maintained. Since the car has a unique and fun driving dynamics, you get to feel more about the car reaction compares to sofa like camry (dull). So far no regrets of owning Mazda (SWITCH FROM Honda during my father era). In fact I want to have more Mazda fleet in my family if money is not an issue. Excellent car, low maintenance, quality spares, .. Without the scary service cost of BMW and … In order to appreciate Mazda, you need to know the car dynamics and design philosophy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • powershot on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:31 pm

your comment has left a significant point in my decision making.

thanks for the info

• Agree that some unpleasant experience happens but that doesn’t mean Toyota or Honda, BMW, … Are better. :-)

• Mazda6 on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:05 pm

That is why i service my car at Jalan Ampang coz both places you mention have alot of cars.

• Davinnci on Jan 13, 2013 at 9:58 am

Sad to hear that, I would try my luck. As long as the car is not Toyota will do. Toyota tipu orang

• I’m owner too. My service center at fed highway. So far so good. Sometime depends on which center and the personnel as well.

• It’s opened for bookings in Singapore. Pre launch owners should get their ride before cny. I must say this car looks awesome in real. It’s definitely a head-turner. Saw the estate in Frankfurt couple of weeks ago and the design looked so fresh and outstanding. Stands out from the crowd like the K5 does. Well I do wonder how the next gen M3 will look like. Hope the design and specs will be as good or better than this stunning car.

• matjoe on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:49 am

also looking forward to M3. while M6 is nice, but the price range is still beyond reach.

• Sometimes, Unpleasant experience happens even in Honda, Toyota, BMW….there are so many of such unpleasant experience happens in other car forum too. It is just a norm. Forgive and forget. Some basic knowledge of troubleshooting about the car problem would help to narrow down the root cause.

• keith on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:40 am

why the wheelbase was different in sedan(2830mm) and touring(2750) model? which is better for corner?

• I have driven my white Mazda 6 wagon for a month clocking up 2300km . City driving with an average speed of 30kph shows fuel consumption of 8.2l/100km and careful driving on highway 6.1/100km and heavy footed at times reaching 200kmh in the process leaving bmw523 and passat cc smelling fumes.
    Overall te car is miles better than accord and Camry which were my 2 previous cars. The finishings were excellent with very little cabin noise.
    The ieloop system works well when the temperature does not exceed 30c outside otherwise the start stop can be annoying. Windows are rather small a tight posqueeze if you need to stick your head out to pick up your parking ticket but the upside is less heat allowing the Aircon to cool the car rapidly. While 190k is on the highside for a jap car, its probably the best value considering the extensive list of equipment , the drive and power. I will recommend anyone who wants to enjoy driving rather than just commuting in a box if you stick to the usual psuspects and do not have over 200k budget.
    I can’t comment on the quality of the service for now. Hopefully the 3 year service package will provide troublefree motoring for 3 years. life is too short tothink about resale value and reduction of car duties.