Proton Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Standard – new variant makes turbo MPV more affordable by RM10k

exora-cfe-std
UPDATE: It has been confirmed that the Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Standard uses rear disc brakes, not drum brakes, as shown on Proton Edar’s website spec sheet

Proton has added a new variant to its Exora MPV range. With the new Proton Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Standard, one can now have a turbocharged CFE engine in the more affordable Standard spec. Previously, turbo power was exclusive to the Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Premium, which remains as the range topper, six-seater Exora Prime aside.

The Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Standard is priced at RM69,000 on-the-road with insurance and metallic paint, which is slightly over RM10k cheaper than the RM80,012 Premium that was launched in December 2011. Further down the range, there’s a basic Campro CPS, manual transmission variant.

exora-cfe-std-spec

The Exora Bold Standard uses the same powertrain pairing as the Exora Premium and top-spec Prevé – a turbocharged 1.6 CFE engine with 138 hp and 205 Nm of torque, paired to a CVT gearbox. 0-100 km/h acceleration is done in 11.3 seconds, while top speed is 185 km/h.

The listed performance figures are identical to the Premium, but since the Standard is 86 kg lighter (1,400 vs 1,486 kg) we won’t be surprised if it’s slightly faster.

Like the Premium, it comes with ABS, EBD, dual airbags and all round disc brakes. Also missing are leather seats, reverse sensors, Bluetooth and DVD functions for the ICE system, steering wheel buttons, cruise control and auto folding wing mirrors.

exora-bold-std

From the outside, one can tell the Standard apart by its steel wheels/wheel caps, and the lack of front fog lamps and rear spoiler. Do share with us if we’ve left out anything, because all of the above were picked from the spec list on Proton Edar’s website, which is not at all user friendly for comparing spec.

Click here to read our test drive report on the Exora Bold 1.6 CFE Premium.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 299
  • atleast proton ddnt remove abs ebd like perodua did to alzastandart.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 292 Thumb down 3
    • Nissan2Crazy on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:17 pm

5 years warranty RM69k Auto CVT turobo CFE..
      Good bumper design.

1 good family car, powerful, naik bukit, go highway with the CVT 6 speed + CFE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 257 Thumb down 15
    • Jimmy on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Good, safety equipments are selected over auto-this-that items.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 5
    • Kalun on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:48 pm

They should discard the old Exora Bold CPS.
      It’s 4k more expensive than this one and yet underpower than the cfe.

For real man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
  • TongKat_proton on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 313
    • broken or not no prob..power windows have lifetime warranties maa…but those power windows stories basi already

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 13
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 162
        • Are you talking about kia? Yes..i’ve had waited 3 month to get my starter replaced…waiting for sparepart

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 5
    • i think you bought your proton from perodua dealer…my 2009 blm working fine without any issue until now…just alignment problem

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 12
      • mclaren01 on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:45 am

Power window problem still have. Is just whether you lucky or unlucky. My 2012 persona have 2 window problem in 8 month. But good side, have life time warranty and fix the window immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Try Hunter p600 alignment machine. It solve me cars

• Poor you still stuck at problematic power window age…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • zainal abidin on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:15 am

This is speaking from experience :
      EXORA has no power window issues. SAGA FL/FLX has no power window issues. At present only PERSONA and PREVE have power window issues. Except for SAGA FL/FLX ,practically the same vendor but different design but why they still ‘rosak’ only proton @ vendor can answer..

• Nissan2Crazy on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:48 pm

wow.. nice exterior.
    Such Extreme upgrade! with nice exterior, comfortable seat, NEW CFE for just RM69k!

Best deal o 2013.

I can see how aggressive and Good in Marketing is DRB Hicom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 10
  • azrai on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Dear Danny,

The Executive in CPS model discontinued and replaced by this Exora Bold CFE Standard. So the CPS model only available in Basic/Standard manual form only. I think it is a wise move since the Executive variant cost RM68k for manual, and RM72k for 4 speed automatic transmission.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Thanks for your input!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
      • and one more thing that’s wrong from the brochure. went to showroom to doubleched already, the rear brake are disc as well, which makes all-disc around. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 5
        • detech on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:29 pm

whoa are you joking or serious?
          This is VERY GOOD deal!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
          • alldisc on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:30 pm

yeah, saw 1 unit on display outside masjid darul ehsan at subang jaya, yes.. i saw rear disc brakes as well!

• mempayo on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm

look at the colour variant at http://www.proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Exora/PricingSpecs-(4).aspx#info

• Abraham Tawi on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:50 pm

More missing items are:

1)Door Visor
    2)Tailgate Garnish (Chrome bar)
    3)Blacked-out B and C Pillar
    4)Body-Coloured Side Mirror
    5)Body-Coloured Door Handles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • Mienzz92 on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:42 pm

Don’t expect too much accessories on this car since its Standard version

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
    • nazri on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:13 am

it’s not a big problem, you can purchase it at accesories shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • kelvin on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Is it worth to buy? Do I need to support Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 66
    • littlefire on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:44 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/business/article/toyota-set-to-overtake-syed-mokhtars-proton/

Toyota set to overtake Syed Mokhtar’s Proton Sales also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
    • when i bought my bold few months back, wasnt actually thinking about ‘supporting’ proton. just thinking bout my family & myself. price is ok, spec ok, so why not?

i tried to stay away from potong, but cant accept the fact u paying more for a lesser spec, just because of the brand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
    • Daniel on Jan 13, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Kekeke…no need to support la, they get injection from govt every year. Its either u want some of your tax money back in the form of a local car or pay extra tax to buy an import which, the tax eventually goes into Proton. Kekeke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 72
    • faudzirYNWA on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:08 pm

It is a good buy… and you have the freedom to make your choice…

• Sollehuddin Aziz on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:53 pm

sptutnya Proton hentikn pngeluaran enjin N/A utk Exora…sbg lgkh mngurgkn kos pngeluaran. Ambik cth Peugeot 5008, VW Sharan yg enjin d kluarkn dlm versi Turbo. MPV semestinya perlukn lbh kuasa, N/A x sesuai.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
    • MoFaz on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:13 am

ada juga orang nak / perlukan Exora tapi takmau bayar mahal or tak mampu beli kalau mahal sangat. Exora Standard RM60k je.. jauh lebih murah dari Exora CFE Standard RM69k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • theanswer on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:51 pm

betul. tpi jgn bagi piligan. cfe dh cukup bagus utk semua kenderaan. exora, preve atau mungkin satria neo.

• If Proton sell Exora Standard CFE I think the price will be around RM65k.. That is cheaper 4k than Exora Bold Standard CFE..

• Daniel on Jan 13, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Mungkin dah ada agreement dengan engine parts supplier. Parts luar & dalam enjin NA & CFE berbeza. Nak tak nak kena beli juga sebab dah ada MOU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • mempayo on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:55 pm

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Exora/PricingSpecs-(4).aspx#info
    there is no colour to choose..

• carcoon on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Been waiting for this news to come out on Paultan. A little late since it was launched yesterday and been buzzing around for weeks.

The salesman and the brochure which I got on Saturday (before it’s launch) told me that the rear still using disc brake. Hopefully they are right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • AbuAiman on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Other blogger who get chance to go to the showroom confirm that this standard car is using disc rear brake behind the standard rim.. proton-edar page not reliable.. sigh~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
  • akmal faiz on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:11 pm

why it is not in manual?i thought it was,,how unlucky,,i am really hoping that cfe engine can be paired with manual transmission in the future…preve hatchback maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

it’s ok for proton to remove those accessories and make the MPV cheaper by RM10K. after all those are for for asthetics purposes.

worth the buy for RM69K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Jan 12, 2013 at 12:52 pm

i second you… might as well get sports rims and DVD player from accesories shop.

• Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:23 pm

much better than perutdua’s stretched myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 13
    • pacifictuna on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:56 pm

haha…. hotdog Myvi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • ntah.. on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:20 pm

both the alza and exora has it own pros and sons.. no need to bash around here.. I love both the alza and exora.. Some might found that the alza is perfectly compact while some might need the larger and powerful exora..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
      • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:00 pm

yes…every vehicle got its pros and cons. Kancil got pros compared to Porsche. But at this same price range, the Exora is much better deal.Its a proper spacious MPV. Ppl that buy alza might as well just buy a myvi. Alza is redundant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • oh for every underpowered mpv sold, P1 is selling 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 37
    • awooo on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:12 am

Wei, I have an Alza…..love it!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • nazri on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:33 pm

not bad for who searching budget MPV with turbo power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
  • Sorry if I read correctly, no reverse sensors? Such a big car with no reverse sensor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • MoFaz on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:18 am

i remembered long time ago, bus ticket conductor need to go to the back of the bus and say “lai, lai” while the bus driver is reversing to park the bus.

• powershot on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:43 am

hope its not true. its ok if they remove the reverse camera. but, the reverse sensor?

what car nowadays doesn’t have a reverse sensor? with the rising number of inexperienced new drivers on the road, reverse sensors should be mandatory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • nazri on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:16 am

i agree with your statement, but we can purchase reverse sensor at acceseories shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • cvt only? manual?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • mustafa on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:52 pm

now that they gonna lose the 2nd spot to Toyota, they reacted and give cheaper no frill option…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • V12Kompressor on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:01 pm

did you guys actually take a good look at the real MPV itself?

The brochure of it stated 4 wheel disc brake and the web says the rear is drum. So which is true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Mohd Kamil on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm

My exora’s air-cond brokedown after 3 years. It was found out that the cooling coil is leaked. I was told that the car has 5 years of extended warranty, but suprisingly the air-cond parts are excluded. Is it my fault due to the air-cond failure???Pity me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Kalun on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Sorry brah! My Hyundai’s air conditioning broke down after 3 years.
      As I found out, my cooling coil of my car leaked! Coincidently, it has the same problem as your Proton. Awkward right.
      Taken me to several air cond service until it eas fixed. Finally!

Air Cond need to service too la. That is the thing that people always neglect. Ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • anti proton on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Overpriced meh.. better don’t buy la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 109
  • Last year was crowned as best value for money mpv around and oh yeah, again it makes one of the best value for money MPV for not only below 100k mark, but even below 70K. Thanks for the rear reverse sensor removal(which i think shouldn’t be omitted for this kind of transport**sigh) but yeah, that’s what made it achieved exactly 69k price mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • nokiafags on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:47 pm

that’s what most malaysian want..powderful car with cheap price tag..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Great Deal…. Drb.. This is what i call as business!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • Oh no, reverse sensor such a simple standard item also taken out?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Celicazz on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:23 pm

One new wheel cover, bet they’ll use it on basic line preves.

tire size all the same?

• yes i saw 205/55 R16. you can always buy 2nd hand one and swap straight away.

• More missing items are:
    1)Front and 2nd row armrest.
    2)3rd row Headrest.
    3)3rd row hand grip.
    5)boot lamp
    4)There’s actually has a couple of fog lamps place to be put later date, which is flat on the brochure.

p;s/ been seeing both color silver and white. White one still looks gorgeous eventhough some of exterior items has been omitted, must be because of that steel cap design i guess. Good looker in flesh rather than photo, although it’s a standard one, you can always change the rim and add a spoiler, walaaa,will look like a premium spec already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Eugene on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:26 pm

How can an MPV don’t even have Reverse Sensor? How can Proton over-look this??? Proton pls include the Reverse Sensor soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • NONICKNAME on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:26 pm

I can understand if they remove ABS/EBD for this bulky MPV to cut the cost. But they shouldn’t remove rear disc. User tend to tekan kaw2 this MPV and enjoy the torque. It will take time and effort to stop this bulky MPV with no rear disc, dangerous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 66
    • got lah, peeked the rear steel tyre already. the brochure was wrong! hate that only simple stuff for that so called global player website pun boleh salah.

• Bro, ABS and EBD > rear disc brakes.

No point u have rear disc brakes if the tyre locks when u slam on the brake pedal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • rosdi on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Nice one!… Proton should have come with this variant instead of the CPS Exora Bold! Get rid of the CPS and only of this variant and the premium exora bold for people who can afford more.

• rosdi on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Remove ABS better than remove disc brake? That is interesting…

• Now this is what I’m waiting for! A turbo engine in a standard spec exora! Just change the ugly rims will do…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • I wonder if Preve will be offered in Standard CFE form soon and almost 11K amount of different as well, roughly it will go like 61K++ price compare to the Premium spec. Wow! Who knows right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • that would be nice. And im sure sales will pick up if it happens.

• I also like that idea…Preve with 5/6 MT CFE standard spec….

• Exora driver on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:50 pm

I’m a CFE exora user. What I would like to share are:
    1) suspension noise here n there after 3 month usage
    2) Noise insulation was freaking poor during rainny day n pick up
    3) do not trust the FC that stated by proton. The most best FC I achieved was 12l/ 100km, which means rm0.23 per km. Usual day was 0.30 per km
    4) cvt jerking when start car
    5) yes it’s best for traveling in group
    6) air cond best in its class (best use in msia)
    7) feel so unsecured when the car was going downhill will full load 7ppl
    8) I would like to sell it off due to high FC and proton servicing was not convincing, but resell value was super low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 76
  • Amir Sufyan on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Where is exora replacement…? Its about time..at least face lift kaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Dzulx on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:44 pm

I found one nice conversion to commercial van.. Done by private i guess but nice.. Proton should also privide commercial van option

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Interesting idea! They would simply have to remove the rear seats, rear windows and all unnesessary gadgets. Same as VW is doing with it’s Caravelle/Transporter.

On the other hand: For a commercial vehicle it still lacks the diesel engine which is very important for export…

• Good idea! Do the same to Savvy also. Savvy Van, rear windows covered like panel van. Another commercial van option. Memang bagus pakai jual sayur, buah jambu, jagung, buah rambai, jual kuih apam balik, jual baju, jual seluar dalam pun boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • in europe there is a polo van, golf van, fiesta van and vans of most popular b/c segment hatchbacks.

• iLoveFord on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:36 pm

exora = premium MPV.
      please dont spoil the image.

u can go convert it by yourself.

out there there is Nissan NV200 at RM70k+ or Daihatsu minivan at RM55k+.

Exora has no good place to stand… Selling Exora basic van at RM50k will kill Exora’s image, sales of the van will also be limited. since RM50k will be using the less power CPS, not CFE.

• You’re right, but I was talking about export.

In export markets a commercial vehicle is more or less a tool. Businessmen are looking for the best “tool” for the job for the best price, they don’t care about the brand too much. For instance the Wira pickup has a quite good name in Australia. It’s not “loved” by it’s owners, but accepted as a good way to move small goods from A to B.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Actually in Germany people do look for brand when buying a commercial vehicle. Mercedes is quite popular due to reliability and good after sales support. Time is money for businesses, and AFAIK Mercedes will fix the vehicle 24/7, provide a courtesy car… This sort of stuff. Or look at business laptops. Come with next business day on site support. Normal laptop have to send in and wait a month…

I guess other markets are similar, and I just don’t see Proton being able to do this kind of support anywhere outside Malaysia.

• Extrimist on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:41 pm

ABS and EBD are not enough. 1400kg 7-seater MPV should also has Brake Assist.

Actually they can just sell one variant, which is the same variant being sold in Aussie ?comes with ESP?. By manufacturing just one variant, production efficiency will increase,manufacturing cost can be reduced, thus probably can be sold at nearly t same price with current Premium.

80k MPV with ESP is mouthwatering since the cheapest MPV with stability control being sold now is around rm120k – Chevrolet Orlando

• sutheshkumar on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Danny, this version also uses rear disc brakes and I think it is best to mention this that Proton has removed the automatic fold in side mirror function for the Exora. The reason given is the module for the Exora had problems but the electric fold in is still there.

• kelvin on Jan 11, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Why they take away the reverse sensor? The car is huge to reverse.

• daniel on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:51 pm

exora is a pice of automotive shit,mine with is 2010 exora cps with endless problems,aircond,headlamp that has become an aquarium,abs,rear drums that sounds like a lorry brakes and worst service experience under the present drb hicom.i regretted the purchase very much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:53 am

Naked true out there! Pity you and most of Malaysian, get conned by this Jaguh Kampung No.2, now own by cronies ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
      • gramb on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:25 am

If like that almost proton cars are malfunction. Then why they are moving on roads?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Enthu on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:22 pm

this is good for malaysian families!

affordable MPV that is actually competent IMO with the CFE variant

Thumbs up proton!
    (Never thought i’d say this)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:51 am

Go and tell our PM, when he attend UN general assembly, tell the world that this MPV is good for the world family!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • Chow1 on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:45 pm

I own both Wira and Myvi. Over the years, I spent so much more on fixing my Wira than the Myvi. So my experience tells me that Proton is not realiable. Who can prove to us this Exora is realiable and problem free for at least the first 5 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:50 am

Only many peoples can tell you a lot of problems with this jaguh kampung product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Expatriate VN on Jan 11, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Still come out with countles variant to look for blind supporter buyers ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
    • Tell that to vw, bmw, merc, toyota, honda etc, same things do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:20 pm

You damn don’t get the points. Others do it to boost sales, P1 do it for “no choice” @ to arrest decline sales, not increase sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
  • Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:09 am

The worst case scenario are, they couldn’t solve 2 major issues. Pulling to the left even had done alignment 9 times and engine stall between R and D without any error code detected.

Urge all EB owner to launch official report via [email protected] and make sure all SC note your complaint in the service record. It seems that all customer complaint was not fowarded to upper level and was not attended accordingly.

It’s time for DRB to make a major recall for those 2 serious issues.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:49 am

They can’t solve more than 2 issues, actually almost all issues, which is unique to Jaguh Kampung No. 2 only!

Aheem …….., history of all time jaguh kampung achievement award – “open door paid toll”.

This also take more than 10 year by give life time warranty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
      • tongkat_proton on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:30 pm

That’s why I asked ” Has Proton fixed the power window ? ” , see everyday a lot of proton open door to pay toll. they can’t wind-down auto_ly.
        Conclusion is Proton Quality Control still need a lot to learn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • neforit on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Please don’t be a liar here . please read more, almost all issues are rectified already

• esang on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Is there any other automakers give lifetime warranty in Malaysia?

• bloky on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:57 am

How about others which recalled only because there were legal actions taken against them. That’s much worse

• nazri on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:25 am

nak tanya, kalau tukar sport rim broke warranty or not?

• Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

Why you concern with broke warranty since their SC center charge sky high for spare parts and lousy service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
  • Looks like this standard Exora targeting Alza SE which both are similar price range. But why?

Exora supposed to fight Avanza, Gand Livina, Innova not tiny Alza.

Once again Proton show its insecurity against imaginary Alza which is not design to compete against Exora at beginning.

Would buyer buy this stripped down Exora instead of fully-loaded Alza SE (even with DVD GPS as standard)? Worth it to re-install the missing items in Exora later?

Proton ready to make loss just to compete lower mpv segment? He He He…ini macam kah DRB bikin bisnes?? Compete at loss?? What next? Sell Preve black bumper cheap version just to compete with Viva Elite???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 53
    • fiend on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:55 am

You acually answered your stupid question yourself. Of course at similar price you get lower segment unit with more gadgets OR higher segment unit with lesser gadgets. Just choose one.

Check your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:44 am

Jaguh Kampung No. 2 fight for his life by come out with strip down version to fight with Alza, and more worrying is Juara Kampung No. 1 big daddy, Toyota is trailing behind this crap car buttock!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
      • kimchi on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:19 am

Competition should be nothing between companies. You are not competent person i guess, afraid of challenges. Enjoy your low life

• Expatriate VN on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:46 am

Competition is nothing! then u r not only not competent, but dead wood as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • kimchi on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Hard to teach someone who are already dead and incompetent like you

• With so many goodies that P1 throwed in to their cars and yet still lose out to P2 in term of sales. Have you ever ponder why is this happening instead of faking hypes at blog?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

You guys go ahead buy Proton lah. It is charity Amal Jariah also.

But I’m happy drive my Porsche Cayanne now, and tonite I drive my son car Bugatti Veyron pulak HE HE HE HE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 54
  • Sgt Scoop on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:53 am

When I test drove the Exora Bold, the SA told me that the ‘mild turbo’ wasn’t a real turbo but just a tweeked engine. Is that correct?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • alldisc on Jan 12, 2013 at 1:31 pm

it is known as low pressure turbo or soft turbo. such concept has been in automotive for many decades

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:33 pm

You open up the hood, remove the black nonshiny hose and put it on the SA nose. Start the engine and ramp-it. And tell the SA, next time get the fact wright before selling any car. This type of SA always spoilt the sales. The problem is, there are so many of them in Proton Edar.

Soft or hard, it’s still a Turbine/Turbo, just depend on size and pressure settings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Darenz on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:07 am

Tau Pau Alza…
    But I think DRB HICOM is trying to clear out the CFE Engine stock so that they can faster put the lastest engine model bought over from Petronas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:39 am

Don’t worry, be patient, it’s comming your way by 3rd Quarter this year. 2.0 or 2.2TD, Perdana replacement.

Just get Paul Tan’s Paparazi to snapshot the mule when it came out from it’s hiding place for street test.

The next queue will be Preve Hatchback end of this Quarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • exorian to be on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm

really got 2.0 exora coming this year?
        have to wait for it then..

• best malaysian mpv car..keep it up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Much better than Alza SR version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • awooo on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:32 am

Yes, but the Alza SR cost around RM56+K in auto form which is more than 10K cheaper & for that, you get a less powerful but refine & frugal Toyota/Daihatsu engine which can return 9l/100 km in KL’s horrendous peak hour traffic jam. Easy cruising on highway 7.4l/100 km can be achieved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Can I suggest that maybe we add a bit of money to paint the side mirrors and door handles and that piece of thing above the rear number plate…

Could offer an option list for fog lights, spoilers and even rear sensors. Proton warranty and fitted by proton.

Rm70k for a mov like that it’s a bargain…

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:32 am

Nice one. The CFE should have been the ONLY engine for the Exora. It’s not a light car and the CPS isn’t a powerful engine.

On the flip side, why is Proton still dragging its heels with the Exora “Van”?

With lower taxes (low taxes on commercial vehicles) and more basic fittings and a manual gearbox, they might even manage to price it in the 40s. With heavy duty rear springs installed, it would be tremendous value to SMEs.

Loose the weight of 2 rows of heavy seats and basic trimmings, they could easily give it a 500kg payload…and yes, make the front seats fold flat like the new Vannette.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:44 am

Arena replacement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Kenari Owner on Sep 28, 2014 at 5:56 pm

I think the passenger seat already set for dual purpose..biz and passenger use..don’t u think?

• says says on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:12 am

Apsal la rpm enjin dia mengaum naik mencanak bila turun bukit…tak best ar…

Why is the engine revving in the higher rpm when going downhill…not best la..

Mcm ada engine braking jer…let loose la…let the driver decide…

High rev = high fc..

To potential buyer…test drive downhill..then you know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • CTRL-V on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Another copy paste comment, how many times to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • In engine braking, the engine is driven mechanically by the wheels and gearbox, not your fuel. The vacuum chamber in the engine will slow down the wheels.

Therefore engine braking does not use any fuel. It will save ur money compared to “tekan brake until brakes fade and crash”.

Dont be an idiot, do a research first.

• mizzuddin on Jan 15, 2013 at 2:06 pm

moronistic comment

• walauweh on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:54 am

itu namanya enjin braking. Xmelibatkan fc pon sbb gear yg pastikan enjin idup tanpa fuel input, byk kete ada function tuh. Aduyai…klu xnak dia rev, bg input, dia xkan ada enjin braking. Tekan minyak ckit, function enjin braking akan off. Itupun susahke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • pttinsan on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:18 pm

nak belilah exora ni,minat plak aku tengok,makin hari makin cantik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • BakKutTeh on Jan 14, 2013 at 12:10 am

all the missing features seems ok except reverse sensor,seriously? pretty much all standard cars have it now and that thing dont even worth anything.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:21 am

If you look at EB CPS Standard also dont’t have reverse sensor. It’s not a big deal as you can buy it from any Spare Part shop or Accessory Shop total cost including installation will not past RM400 (the most)

• agreed. why so lame that you can’t even reverse without sensors? how did you pass your parking test? if you’re that bad, just go get it from an accessory shop.

• bojed on May 12, 2013 at 7:15 pm

One of the most worrying thing about reversing a big vehicle is that there might be a small child playing/sitting/walking behind your car unnoticed.

Don’t discredit the importance of the reverse sensor, or a person who complains about the lack of it.

What a turnip.

• for those who can’t do proper reverse without the aid of reverse sensor (prfftt…)..just install the mirror that vans once had…

• If Mitsubishi 4B10 used in Inspira 1.8 was choosen as the engine for Exora Bold, I think it work better than CFE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • People,

Do not buy proton.

You will regret it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
  • Arthur Dayne on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Will the price drop after elections?

• Pok Ali on Jan 20, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Pakai exora bold cfe xsampai satu tahun, lampu brek belakang bermasalah, kabur sudah buat aduan tetapi hingga sekarang belum diganti

• Abg Long on Feb 05, 2013 at 4:22 pm

no reverse sensor!!! if we put it ourself then the warranty will void.. proton ohh proton..

• faroyadal on Feb 27, 2013 at 2:01 am

dun wori Abg Long, i owned basic exora and after 2 year driving it, i can confidently park the mpv in any space. asal bisa tegal biasa la Ang Long….

• Never try never know on Feb 21, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Almost 6 months my exora bold still no problem. FC under control. Speed 100-120km/h suit with the type (MPV). If proton upgrade to 2.0 CFE, it will be much better. **** star for Bold CFE.

• Azrul on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:56 am

Saya dah guna setahun cfe …tiada masalah..FC jgn tgk pd meter..memang tak tepat…saya kira secara manual…minyak jika jalan jauh mmg jimat…pernah dpt RM0.15sen sekilometer…plg mahal pun 17 sen…tgk cara memandu n kawasan..jika 100% town..mmg kuat..100km rm30… Ron 95….

• admirer on Feb 26, 2013 at 5:00 pm

the exora got 4disc brake, but no head rest on the third row seat

• Aidil Azhar on Feb 26, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Hi All,

Im in the midst whether wanna take this exora bold premium or not… im considering other mpv below 90k aswell.. no need to listdown.. karang byk pulak biased review.

so..im just crossing my finger whether i shoud pay or not since loan has approved.

at first wanna take bold standard. but dun understand why they remove side mirror door handle paint and tailgate bar paint just to reduce the cost. to change the rim is easy but to send for painting is hassle. so i applied for the premium.

to all exora bold owners.. hows ur car doing? are u happy..is there any major problem.. minus the power window problem.. (its too lame to discuss bout the window)… coz im thinking to use this for long run for maybe 7-10 years. my concerns now is just the reliability. others features in this car pretty impressive..

please no basher.. i just need exora bold owner review.

just need help..

• nanami on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:04 am

I owned bold standard white colour for 2 weeks now. really recommend this model. Others accessory and paint you can add later. Just like you buy a house. Add little by little, more satisfy.

• Petai on Mar 02, 2013 at 11:52 am

Saya guna Exora bold CFE premium dah 2minggu. From North to South dah pergi. Even saya dah naik jalan Tapah – Cameron Highland to Kuala Lipis. Handling is superb macam kereta German. Power is sufficient. Interior surface is good, Tak mudah calar macam Inspira. Puas hati. Kalau budget tak mengizinkan, Exora CFE Standard is a real best buy at the moment. I really recommend it. A better buy than Alza.(not that Alza is a bad car, I love Alza as well)

• nanami on Mar 04, 2013 at 8:10 am

Saya dh guna cfe standard for 2 weeks, the only problem is that the salesman forget to tighten up the battery terminal + and – nuts. just realized it on the 12 days I owned it. Thank god nothing happen.

• Petai on Mar 11, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Thanks. Checked my battery connection. Longgar. Thank God nothing happened during my drive. Thanks for sharing. Another problem is handle pintu driver ketat. Got it checked kat SC (raub)but was told this is normal but adjust sana sini,end up my driver door tak tutup rapat. Got it checked again in Ipoh, they adjusted back. Pintu tutup dah ok tapi handle masih ketat.. Kalau dah patah baru datang balik tukar kata depa!! I think Proton SA and aftersales service really need improvement. SA do not know their products well. Service centre scratched my car paint and deny it. The service centre (raub) main asal boleh attitude.

• Will get my standard cfe exora next week…this is my 2nd exora as i sold my exora standard manual to upgrade to this new cfe standard. …i use this car since 2010… it really bring my family to more holidays than my e90….i would just buy a 3rd one after this warranty ends….great car…just need to enhancing on proton QC department. …

• shamshuri on Mar 31, 2013 at 9:41 pm

baru beli exzora bold turbo standard x sampai sebulan brek down kat dalam pekan 3 kali adusss malunya

• rauna on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Baru pakai 2 bulan, servis baru sekali, dah kena tow…memalukan…dah 3 hari blom dapat jawapan apa yang rosak…sangat mengecewakan…terpaksa sewa kereta…sehari dah rm80…seminggu??? proton nak tanggung???

• Norman on May 14, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Good but could do better.Bluetooth/USB steering wheel control shouldn’t be remove.Youll be surprised to see Indonesia Exora star the same variant as this got the extra features

• Exora poor quality? mengapa saban hari kereta ini dibeli? bullshit untuk yang komen negetif untuk exora, maybe you tidak menggunakan exora ni, just mendengar komen dari pembullshit pembullshit sahaja, me ada guna exora m basic cps sudah 3 tahun, it ok, power ok full 7 pasengger ok pergi mana2 pun , kalau nak race gunakan sport car la…exora untuk family car. ok….

• steven on May 20, 2013 at 10:31 pm

i had booked standard cfe turbo.received infomation that now standard need to wait due to shortage of reverse sensor.sales advisor said that now all standard will have reverse sensor.i just wonder how long i have to wait my new exora

• second day use my exora bold cfe engine light appeared while driving. 2nd may 2013 send to proton sc hq at usj location beside kesas highway. After long day waiting it has been fixed. On 5th may drive to batu pahat from klang the light appeared again. Then send again to said sc. After a long hour waiting for the checking and fixing the car was ready to take back. The service advisor inform the problem has been solve. 4 hour after that the problem appeared again. Then need to arrange the car to send back at the proton hq sc for the third time within 2 week after i receive the car from sales advisor. Yesterday the car is being release back to me. So far the problem not appeared again. Here i just want to hilight is DRB just need to improve their sc services to their customer especially who had a bad time with their vehicle while waiting their car to be fixed by informing every hour or some time duration witch are reasonable

• I take my exora bold cfe from sales advisor on the 30th april 2013. second day use my exora bold cfe engine light appeared while driving. 2nd may 2013 send to proton sc hq at usj location beside kesas highway. After long day waiting it has been fixed. On 5th may drive to batu pahat from klang the light appeared again. Then send again to said sc. After a long hour waiting for the checking and fixing the car was ready to take back. The service advisor inform the problem has been solve. 4 hour after that the problem appeared again. Then need to arrange the car to send back at the proton hq sc for the third time within 2 week after i receive the car from sales advisor. Yesterday the car is being release back to me. So far the problem not appeared again. Here i just want to hilight is DRB just need to improve their sc services to their customer especially who had a bad time with their vehicle while waiting their car to be fixed by informing every hour or some time duration witch are reasonable for custoner to know the progress of repairing or servicing of their vehicle.This is not being done. Hope DRB could looked into it because customer always wondering what happend to their car is it in progress or have done anything yet. Talk about the performance of the ecora bold cfe is for me is very good and with the spacious of the interior cabin is worth of buying for family car. Proton just need to improve on service after sales and reliability of theircrespective service centre need to be monitor closely by proton and DRB management.

• Norman on Jun 03, 2013 at 12:48 am

I’ve tried my cousin Exora Bold standard.Yes for some newer batch there’s free reverse sensor.Odometer show 1100km cause last month he drive from JB to Perlis.Found out that the acceleration is tad more faster than the executive or premium grade.I manage to get 10.6s with 4 on boards by GPS.So far he change to Volks Taiwan 17×8 rims with Falken 215/50-17 tire,Simota stainless steel drop in filter,Bosch iridium plugs,Semi leather seats and rooftop DVD with front DVD/GPS integrated unit.Oh ya the power is adequate for 5 full adults and 2 childrens.Power wise can’t compared with 2 litre but more or less slightly powerful than Wish 1.8/Stream 1.8/Orlando 1.8 or Grand Livina 1.8.Only hiccup is the cvt gearbox which hinder the maximum torque.In my honest opinion a normal 6 speed auto with manual option is best for a sub 1405kg mpv.Overall I give 3.5 stars out of 5 for this mpv.If only those steering Audio and third row headrest is intact then it’s perfect for a standard version.Proton should further reduce to 64k mark if they’re serious to make this a hot seller.69k is too steep,Imagine if you wanna to upgrade then the cost is almost near to the 76k version

• Steve on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Hi All Exora Bro s
    Just to check with youu all booked exora in mids of may, agents says NOOOO stock is due to some delay at HQ.Already wated for 3weeks.please guide.
    Thank You

• Looking for BIGGER car on Jun 07, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Why some idiots making debates here??? we are here to find out about this car.

• lllojat on Jun 12, 2013 at 2:57 pm

nak tanya ezora lama boleh masukkan turbo ezora bold tak..dan berapa kos pemasangan..

• saya nak tahu mengenai minyak auto cvt,minyak ni hanya ada dijual diproton saja ke.kalau nak tukar minyak auto brapa km dan kalau nak tukar ,sekali dengan filter dan gasket ke.harap dapat maklum

• arzahar on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:47 am

it still use timing belt..but now cars not use the timing belt.. that is the problem.

• azrai on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:31 pm

VW uses timing belt for all it new fleet in their group. What is your base?

• norman on Sep 09, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Little sidetrack.My 3rd brother trade in his 97 civic for this and with little extra cash he had he opt for semi leather seats,a central roof top dvd, 17 inch rims with 215/45 tires with some ground cables and Voltage stabiliser.Its already 4 months of ownership and he has never regret owning cause hes skeptical towards Proton.He went narathiwat Thailand last week with 8 on board and the car just work nicely without problems.Only complaint there’s no button function on steering and centre arm rest.Next project will be sound insulation and racechip

• Hondacarandbike on Dec 07, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Went up to genting with my cousins yesterday.im using rsz honda stream 1.8 and his using exora bold cfe standard with 17 inch rims..To my suprised with that kind of huge body the low pressure turbo can take 7 on board climbing genting hills without using 3 gear..Highways when I try tu push 180 to see whether the exora can catch up and yes….but interior can do much better though.Should tune torque power from 1800rpm onwards

• hhmsa on Apr 16, 2014 at 9:13 am

Exora should be redesign every year.. change the fender, front and rear light, bumper, the way it looks.. interior also.. dont show the laziness in design.. dont just stop and satisfied with existing product.

• Datuk Ridzuan on May 12, 2014 at 11:43 am

Can Proton Exora Bold Turbo 1.6 (A) use NGV ?

• Ariel on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:56 am

Saya telah menggunakan Exora CPS selama 5 tahun bermula JUN,2009.Tiada apa2 masalah setakat ini.Enjin ok,tingkap ok..Penghawa dingin sejuk dan ok..Dlm tempoh 5 tahun saya telah mengganti bateri sekali iaitu pada Sept,2012,dan tayar dua kali.Lampu depan dan belakang,radio,reverse sensor dll masih berfungsi dengan cemerlang..Cuma saya pastikan servis mengikut jadual,itu saja..Penghawa dingin belum pernah hantar servis,tapi masih ok…Kereta masih dalam keadaan 100% ok..

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Great value, however no longer available. So have to purchase Honda BRV